Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top Ten Climbs in Ireland

• 13-07-2012 11:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

The Guardian has an article today on Britains Top 10 Cycle climbs

http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2012/jul/13/top-10-uk-cycle-climbs .

Has a similar list for Ireland (or even Dublin / Wicklow) been compiled on Boards before?

As a starter I would suggest the climb to Sally Gap from Laragh , for the scenic aspects and the climb from Rathfarnham for the workout and scenery.

Shay Elliot, from Glenmalure direction, goes through some pretty nice coutryside and climbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Mount Leinster from Borris - 11km at 6.9% makes it the toughest climb in the country (according to zanibike)

http://app.strava.com/segments/1509488

Strava has the climb part as 9.3% over 7.2km - may be the only proper Cat 1 in the country? (open to correction on this)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

In terms of beauty, my subjective opinion is

Healy Pass, Co Cork - from Adrigole side
    Borlin Valley from Kilgarvan Co Kerry
    Conor Pass Co. Kerry from the North Side
    Reentrusk/Ballaghacahereen Co. Cork
    Corkscrew Hill, Co Clare
    Gap of Dunloe, Co. Kerry
    Ladies View, Co Kerry
    Powers the Pot, Tipp/Waterford
    Wicklow Gap, Co Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Glengesh Donegal or the same mountain but from Granny. Great views if you can breathe.

My 2 cents.

• Sally Gap from Dublin - scenic route, great views back over the city and really really accessible for everyone.
    • Wicklow Gap from Glendalough - lovely climb, very scenic with forests, deer and the old mine workings - leads to a brilliant fast descent down the other side.
    • Corkscrew Hill - Makes you feel like you're in a grand tour with those switchbacks
    • Comeragh Drive - scenic nature of it makes up for not a great surface and a dangerous descent
    • Moll's Gap (on a quiet traffic day)
    • Healy Pass
    • The Vee from Clogheen
    • Mamore Gap
    • The Wall in Enniskerry (just cos it's awesome!)
    • not sure of the last one, but there must be something good in Connemara?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Ballagisheen from Waterville was my favourite climb in recent times, probably followed by the Healy pass from Adrigole. Toughest approach to the sally gap IMO is from Roundwood direction and the lakes make it pretty spectacular too. Hoping to cycle the Conor pass tomorrow from Tralee to Dingle, weather permitting, albeit on a loaded tourer which should be a challenge. Personally I find the short sharp shock type climbs (the wall, devils elbow, barley lake, grassamucky etc...) way more difficult than the extended drags. Slieve mann is never easy either mind you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Slieve Mann from Glenmalure to Aghavannagh would be on my list.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

My 2 cents.

• Sally Gap from Dublin - scenic route, great views back over the city and really really accessible for everyone.
    • Wicklow Gap from Glendalough - lovely climb, very scenic with forests, deer and the old mine workings - leads to a brilliant fast descent down the other side.
    • Corkscrew Hill - Makes you feel like you're in a grand tour with those switchbacks
    • Comeragh Drive - scenic nature of it makes up for not a great surface and a dangerous descent
    • Healy Pass
    • The Vee from Clogheen
    • Mamore Gap
    Eoin I ridden all bar the Wall so +1 on 1 to 7 Problem with Connemara is the roads run the valleys so I call Lally's/Tourmakeady Hill in Mayo from the shore of Lough Mask. A panoramic view of Connaght is worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

My top 7 (that I've done):

1. Mt Leinster from Bunclody incl the Mast Climb 2.6km @ 13.4%
    2. Shanrahan Hill 5.6km @ 7.1%
    3. Mahon Falls 4.9km @ 6.6%
    4. Connor Pass (S>N) 6.6km @ 6%
    5. Temple Hill 0.7km @ 15%
    6. Knocknalough 4.4km @ 6%
    7. My Hill ! 2.4km @ 8.8% (thanks Gary!)

On the 'to-do' list:
    1. Priest's Leap 5.4km @ 8.2%
    2. Short Mountain (S>N) 3.8km @ 8.3%
    3. Mullaghannish Mast Rd 3.6km @ 10.4%

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ROK ON wrote: »
    Borlin Valley from Kilgarvan Co Kerry

I love this climb, interesting and beautiful in equal measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

My 2 cents.

<SNIP>
    <SNIP>

Is that the hill at the start of the road from Eniskerry to Glencree (Strava link) ?

route66 wrote: »
    Is that the hill at the start of the road from Eniskerry to Glencree (Strava link) ?

Nope - that's barely a step compared to the wall :D

link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭thebourke

i came accross this website yesterday
    http://www.climbbybike.com/
    ...it gives gradients of a lot of the mountains in tour de france/vuelta/giro...
    it would be great if we had something similar for ireland..
    check it out...

thebourke wrote: »
    ...it gives gradients of a lot of the mountains in tour de france/vuelta/giro...
    check it out...

European climbs - they have their own difficulty rating based on a nice little formula that takes steepness and length of each interval on a climb into account.

http://www.zanibike.net/motore.aspx?lingua=eng&da=az

difficulty rating guide
    http://www.salite.ch/struttura/indice_diff_en.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sally Gap from Ballinastoe side is quite stunning on a sunny day when you crest Luggala and find yourself looking across the valley, with Lough Tay shimmering in the sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭RyanAndrew

thebourke wrote: »
    check it out...

It does! Select Ireland from the country drop down list - there are 55 climbs listed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 EMYVALE CC Monaghan

Our club use an a climb called "Brogan" this is located on the old Monaghan town to Clogher Co Tyrone road past Tedavnet. You travel to this hill from Brogan Crossroads, when you reach the top, keep right and there is another tough climb. Another good climb is take the Lisnaskea Road from Roslea Co Fermanagh( Rosslea is about 8 miles from Monaghan town) , travel on the Lisnaskea Rd until you signs on your right for "Carnmore", there is a tough climb of about 3 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭pc11

On the 'to-do' list:
    1. Priest's Leap 5.4km @ 8.2%
    2. Short Mountain (S>N) 3.8km @ 8.3%
    3. Mullaghannish Mast Rd 3.6km @ 10.4%

Wow, the short mountain, good call! Not many people would even know that existed. I would do it from North to South for the view.

There are other obscure Kerry ones that I reckon would compare to the classics. Almost any route across the Dingle Peninsula would be fantastic, not just Conor Pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

the slieve bloom climb from laois side lovely piece of road, drop into kinnitty not so nice thou.

prefer to get to featherbeds (kilkee) from cruagh road, love looking down over city as you hit the middle flat section, then that sharpe left switch back for final ascent to the top.

Agree with sally gap from laragh side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

the climb to the mast in the coolies bloody hard (from lordship)
    and not forgetting the cup and saucer;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭jrar

Was in Co. Down earlier today and saw 2 very different climbs

1) Rostrevor to Hilltown is a long continuous drag up over part of the Mourne Mountains - I reckon it was 5/6 kms long, possibly more

2) Very short but steep hill on the Banbridge side of Rathfriland - probably no longer than 300/400 metres but seemed quite a steep gradient though I was descending it so a little hard to judge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Of the climbs within pedaling distance of where I live (Kildare), I reckon Slieve Mann from the Laragh side has to be the hardest- sh*t road surface, very steep and quite long, basically all of the things that can make a climb difficult. Was down in Kerry last weekend to do the ring and there are some lovely climbs there. coomakista ( from Waterville) is really beautiful and not very hard, though quite long. If its beauty and difficulty you're after, look no further than the Skellig Ring from Portmagee to Balinskelligs. I drove over that road last weekend and there are a couple of very hard looking climbs, more crap roads and very steep, but with a great view of the coast. Anyone doing the Iveragh 200 next weekend has that to look forward to. Also, the Caha Pass on the Beara peninsula is pretty amazing for the view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 garstmax

My 2 cents.

• Healy Pass
    • The Vee from Clogheen
    • Mamore Gap

Where is the wall?

garstmax wrote: »
    Where is the wall?

The wall is here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

They're all piddly climbs. The Cliffs of Moher is by far the toughest - a 100% gradient. You'd need a fairly sturdy granny ring for that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

These two lads made light work of it...

cliffsofmoherbikes.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Hermy wrote: »
    These two lads made light work of it...

cliffsofmoherbikes.jpg

Some people just don't have any sense of self preservation whatsoever. Great pic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭RyanAndrew

I've tried to summarise our straw poll - and you can see it below. Formatting is not great so feel free to work with the attached document to improve it. One clear winner , the ride to Sally Gap from the Dublin side (which presumably also includes returning via the stunning Luggala rather than just turning around) - 4 votes - but Kerry would appear to win the county championship with the quantity and quality of the rides. The Wall in Wickow frightened me.

Climb Strava ref County Comments Popularity
    Sally Gap from Rathfarnham / Cruagh Dublin/ Wicklow Scenic route, great views back over the city and really really accessible for everyone. 4

Corkscrew Hill, Co Clare Clare Makes you feel like you're in a grand tour with those switchbacks 3
    Wicklow Gap, Co Wicklow Wickla lovely climb, very scenic with forests, deer and the old mine workings - leads to a brilliant fast descent down the other side. 3
    Healy Pass 3
    Slieve Mann from Glenmalure to Aghavannagh Wicklow sh*t road surface, very steep and quite long, basically all of the things that can make a climb difficult 3

Sally Gap from Laragh Wicklow 2
    Sally Gap from Roundwood quite stunning on a sunny day when you crest Luggala Wicklow 2
    Borlin Valley from Kilgarvan Co Kerry Kerry interesting and beautiful in equal measure 2
    Comeragh Drive waterford? scenic nature of it makes up for not a great surface and a dangerous descent 2
    Moll's Gap 2
    The Vee from Clogheen 2
    Mamore Gap 2

One vote
    Mount Leinster from Borris - 11km at 6.9% http://app.strava.com/segments/1509488 Carlow the toughest climb in the country (according to zanibike)
    Healy Pass, Co Cork - from Adrigole side Cork
    Reentrusk/Ballaghacahereen Co. Cork Cork
    Glengesh Donegal Donegal
    Glengesh Donegal from Granny Donegal
    Rostrevor to Hilltown Down
    Very short but steep hill on the Banbridge side of Rathfriland Down
    Lisnaskea Road from Roslea Co Fermanagh Fermanagh / monaghan
    Connor Pass (S>N) 6.6km @ 6% http://app.strava.com/segments/conor-pass-s-n-658725 Kerry
    Conor Pass Co. Kerry from the North Side Kerry
    Gap of Dunloe, Co. Kerry Kerry
    Ladies View, Co Kerry Kerry
    Ballagisheen from Waterville Kerry
    Skellig Ring from Portmagee to Balinskelligs Kerry
    Caha Pass on the Beara peninsula Kerry
    slieve bloom Laois
    climb to the mast in the coolies (from lordship) Louth? bloody hard
    Lally's/Tourmakeady Hill from the shore of Lough Mask Mayo
    "Brogan" Monaghan
    Shanrahan Hill 5.6km @ 7.1% http://app.strava.com/segments/shanrahan-hill-657058 Tipp
    My Hill ! 2.4km @ 8.8% (thanks Gary!) http://app.strava.com/segments/morrissees-hill-1158823 Tipp
    Powers the Pot, Tipp/Waterford Tipp / Waterford
    Mahon Falls 4.9km @ 6.6% http://app.strava.com/segments/conor-pass-s-n-658725 Waterford
    Knocknalough 4.4km @ 6% http://app.strava.com/segments/knocknalough-new-1516138 Waterford
    Mt Leinster from Bunclody incl the Mast Climb 2.6km @ 13.4% Wexford / carlow
    Shay Elliot from Laragh Wicklow
    The Wall in Enniskerry http://app.strava.com/segments/824925 Wicklow (just cos it's awesome!)

1. Priest's Leap 5.4km @ 8.2% http://app.strava.com/segments/priest-s-leap-cork-side-631196 Cork 1
    2. Short Mountain (S>N) 3.8km @ 8.3% http://app.strava.com/segments/the-short-mountain-s-n-652088 Kerry 1
    3. Mullaghannish Mast Rd 3.6km @ 10.4% http://app.strava.com/segments/mullaghanish-private-service-road-631195 Cork 1

Nope - that's barely a step compared to the wall :D

link

I did this last night; it's steep! I was even getting wheelspin if I didn't stay on the saddle - difficult considering the gradient.

It's actually a good time of the year to do it; the midges are everywhere and unless you can maintain at least 20 kmp/h you'll have them buzzing around you, taking the odd nip when you're distracted.

I averaged considerably less, recording a time exactly double that of the current KOM. And I've the bites to prove it:eek:

I did this last night; it's steep!

You only did the first half!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I averaged considerably less, recording a time exactly double that of the current KOM. And I've the bites to prove it:eek:

The section you're looking at there is the lower half of the wall, e.g. from Onagh bridge. If you cross the road at the top rather than turning left, you get the upper half which is the bit included in the Orwell randonnee and what many roadies refer to as 'the wall'. IMO, the bottom half is just as difficult, and full thing truly hellish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

sleive league, donegal
    4.48km

Glencolumbcille towards meenaneary

around 5km

and obviousley glengesh

You only did the first half!!

In my defense, I was only following Strava! If you look at the segment there, (link) it seems to overhang the road road where I turned left (aka gave up) instead of continuing to Old Long Hill where - I think you are saying - it should end.

Sounds like I'll have to go back to correct my mistake :eek:

In my defense, I was only following Strava! If you look at the segment there, (link) it seems to overhang the road road where I turned left (aka gave up) instead of continuing to Old Long Hill where - I think you are saying - it should end.

Sounds like I'll have to go back to correct my mistake :eek:

Yeah, there are a few segments knocking around that area - it'd be good if they could all be tidied up to just give two or three - the bottom half (which you did), the top half (to old long hill), and the whole thing (link).

RyanAndrew wrote: »
    I've tried to summarise our straw poll - and you can see it below. Formatting is not great so feel free to work with the attached document to improve it.

Cheers for that - some obvious ones popping out at the head of the peloton. Maybe you could stick it up on googledocs? Just one correction I noticed - Comeragh Drive has 2 votes and Mahon falls has one - unless I'm mistaken, those are actually the same climb, the one incorporated into the SK160 up past the waterfall - that pushes it up to 3 votes.

Emerging as the top 6:
    Sally Gap from Dublin
    Corkscrew Hill
    Wicklow Gap from Laragh
    Healy Pass (S-N or N-S?)
    Slieve Mann from Glenmalure
    Comeragh Drive/Mahon Falls

Just means we've to decide on the next 4.

If we can get a shortlist of 20/25, then I'm happy to do up a ballot sheet and count the results (according to PR). There's about 40 listed here so far, so it shouldn't be too much work to whittle it down to 20. (To avoid arguments, if there's a question over something making it into the top 20, then it's unlikely to make it into the top 10...)