Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 Drivers 2013 Line-up

• 10-07-2012 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,769 ✭✭✭

Confirmed that Mark Webber has resigned for another season with Red Bull.

Good news for Mark and probably good news for Massa ? though EJ was hinting strongly that 'the decision on Massa' had already been made.

I expect similar news on Schumi and Lewis to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭thegoth

Agreed. Could Lewis go to Ferrari ?!!!??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

thegoth wrote: »
    Agreed. Could Lewis go to Ferrari ?!!!??!!

Alonso has a say on who his team mate will be. I know things with him and Hamilton are not as heated as they were but i woul say he would veto a move. I think Ferrari will give him a team mate rather than a competitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

There was an interview with Alonso on the BBC before the British grand Prix and he said he would want a team mate he could trust - I think thats the worst he used. Anyway he seemed to be ruling out Hamilton although Hamilton never came up in the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,769 ✭✭✭Infoanon

press reports that Hamilton is in talks with Lotus - is this just to up the ante on a Mclaren deal ?

Cannot see Lewis going to Ferrari - whens the last time Ferrari had two number 1's ? '90 - Mansell & Prost ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

Infoanon wrote: »
    press reports that Hamilton is in talks with Lotus - is this just to up the ante on a Mclaren deal ?

Cannot see Lewis going to Ferrari - whens the last time Ferrari had two number 1's ? '90 - Mansell & Prost ?

Would Lotus have the money to temp him to move? Kimi has 1 year left in his contract and Grosjean is driving very well at the moment. Cant see it happening.
    I could see him going to RBR and Vettel going to Ferrari before him going to Lotus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ratedR

Hamilton will stay at McLaren. If even just for one more season for now.

Massa will go. A 4th place and a decent-ish performance is not enough to save him. He would have been out the door had Webber decided to sign with Ferrari and I don't think that's gonna change.

I'm not sure who will go to Ferrari, but it may only be a one year deal as Vettel is tipped to have signed a pre-contract to at least have talks for 2014. Maybe Massa will be kept, but I'm not sure. Kovalinnen in for a year ? There was talk to him going to McLaren had Hamilton left, because Catherham just arent delivering what they are promising.

It's funny how so much hinged on what decision Mark made though. I'd love to see him win the title this year and have the #1 on his car next year for what may be his last year in F1, or at least his last year in the Red Bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Heiki to Ferrari, I would seriously doubt that. Perez is the obvious one, no? Shown great promise, drives for Ferrari customer, was in their young driver programme wasn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

All the talk of Vettel signing a contract for 2014 with Ferrari just seems crazy to me. Vettel isn't going to jump from RBR unless they take a serious turn for the worse especially since a hell of a lot can happen in the season and a half until then. Sure they aren't as crushingly dominant this season but they are still topping the constructors by a decent margin with both of their drivers in the top 3.

I can't see the second Ferrari seat going to anyone outside of Perez, Di Resta and Maldonado. Perez would be my first choice to get it but Di resta and Maldonado also have plenty going for them.

That's assuming Massa gets replaced which I doubt has been decided yet. He's starting to look a little closer to the driver he was before the accident, hopefully he can get a good second half of the season so at least if he's shown the door he will be able to secure a good drive somewhere else.

I'd guess there will be very little change next year, the only question mark in the top teams is Massa and there doesn't seem like there will be a massive amount of change in the midfield apart from some possible musical chairs if someone goes to replace Massa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Now Williams have been getting in the points regularly, and with the financial rewards that brings, will they be as dependent on having a pay driver such as Maldonado? With the exception of pace, he seems to have a lot of the qualities that don't impress Frank Williams.

Well he's the one getting most of the points. And why characterise him as a pay driver when the other team member is feckin Senna? Compare their racing histories and see which looks more like a pay-driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

With Maldonado's attitude I could see him not having a team at all soon, unless he is doing really well. I would like to see him drop to a lower team anyway, he doesn't deserve a spot at Williams.

GarIT wrote: »
    With Maldonado's attitude I could see him not having a team at all soon, unless he is doing really well. I would like to see him drop to a lower team anyway, he doesn't deserve a spot at Williams.

Unfortunatly I dont think Williams would be running at all this season,or at least as competitive as they are, with out both Maldonado and Senna bringing their multi millions with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

How does he not deserve a drive with Williams? He proved his credentials by claiming a pole and win in Barcelona. He takes a lot of money to the team as well but he's shown that he's more than just a chequebook with his speed.

He needs to iron out the mistakes but he's more than proved his own this year

frostie500 wrote: »
    How does he not deserve a drive with Williams?

He is a dangerous driver that doesn't care about safety. Even one of the Sauber drivers said some of the drivers are scared to drive past him in case he tries to run them off the track. There is a general agreement amongst all the other drivers that Maldonado is too aggressive and careless for the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,473 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Problem with Maldonado is not Maldonado it's the race stewards, two or three times he's got off lightly for driving into somebody he's not happy with. He's had a mixed season but has shown he is fast, just needs a cooler head.

Farrari need a steady number 2 who can bring the car home and challenge for the podium. One of the Sauber or Force India drivers maybe. That's assuming they have Vettel lined up.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Williams wont let 20 million euro walk out the front door unless he does something really really silly.

According to the Guardian its over €55 million thanks to his home oil company throwing money at him,Senna is worth €15 million to them.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/mar/16/pastor-maldonado-f1-money-drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

He is a dangerous driver that doesn't care about safety.
    The same was said about Hamilton when he started and he has calmed down and is racing more intelligently now. I think Maldolnado will be given a few more chances yet, he'll be a great driver if he cools down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

A lot of the line ups rest on Schumacher as well, they might be waiting for him to make his move.

As for Ferrari, I dont think Massa will be there, I could see Hekki there or Perez, but it might be too early for Perez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

He is a dangerous driver that doesn't care about safety. Even one of the Sauber drivers said some of the drivers are scared to drive past him in case he tries to run them off the track. There is a general agreement amongst all the other drivers that Maldonado is too aggressive and careless for the sport.

People said the same about Eddie Irvine. And with some justification too. Like Irvine, Maldonado will probably gradually calm down and become a more consistent driver. I think his presence is beneficial to the sport - watching him overtaking or being overtaken is always exciting.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Just out of pure interest, if none of the current racers were contracted to teams next year, what would be your ideal lineup on the grid? ;)

They used to say the same about Senna....

Perez was a little bit OTT about Maldonado - Perez fluffed his chance at winning (ignoring conspiracy theories) while Maldonado Won and won well - no luck involved,no topliners crashing out - and I would not be surprised to see more podiums later this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

I can see some of the smaller teams giving the likes of Alexander Rossi a racing position. With two US races soon to be on the calendar the sponsorship deals he would bring in could mean big bucks for the smaller teams.

They used to say the same about Senna....

Whoa whoa whoa,lets not throw that around willie nillie, They both drive/drove for Williams, that's where that comparison ends. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Its funny how early silly season starts these days. We aren't even at half way in the season and people have been speculating about Hamilton for a few races.

My prediction is that with Webber signing for RBR Hamilton's bargaining position is substantially weakened. I suspect he will sign a 3 year deal with McLaren with a quiet exit clause based on car performance.

Ferrari will ditch Massa and replace him with Perez.

Schumacher will exit his driving roll with Merc and take up some sort of directorship. Di Resta to take his seat.

Assuming the above happens, I'd wager on KOV taking Perez's seat (Massa as an outside bet) with Alex Rossi at Caterham.

All very much in my humble opinion. Everything will be much clearer after the summer break.

Rascasse wrote: »
    Ferrari will ditch Massa and replace him with Perez.

I think next year is too early for Perez at Ferrari. Reading between the lines in everything he and Ferrari say, I'm fairly certain he will end up there, but not for a few years.

That's why I said Heiki may end up there next year, if only for a year.

ratedR wrote: »
    I think next year is too early for Perez at Ferrari. Reading between the lines in everything he and Ferrari say, I'm fairly certain he will end up there, but not for a few years.

That's why I said Heiki may end up there next year, if only for a year.

I'd respectfully have to disagree. Perez is in his second year of F1. He has had 2 years of GP2. That is plenty of experience to step up to a big team.

Ferrari, I think, would welcome someone that is young and has the potential to be their next big driver.

I just can't see Ferrari getting a driver in with the plan to turf him out in a year or two to get Perez in, just wouldn't make any sense.
    After Massa's 2011 and the majority of this season so far anything Perez did next year would be considered good. A few years learning from a proven champion like Alonso who is imo the most complete driver on the grid right now is also something that he's not going to get from Sauber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

It looks like Ferrari hold the key to deciding who goes where next season. They have a few realistic options, keep Massa or replace him with Perez or maybe Hamilton.

I doubt Hamilton would go to Lotus as they would be a step down for him in my opinion. That leaves him with the option of sticking with McLaren for another year or maybe go to Ferrari. I think he might give McLaren another year and if it doesn't bring him another championship then he may end up at Red Bull in 2014.

Whoa whoa whoa,lets not throw that around willie nillie, They both drive/drove for Williams, that's where that comparison ends. :pac:

Check the history books and you will find the same comments and allegations being made about Maldonado were said about Ayrton Senna. Prost and Lauda where particularly vocal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

id say lewis will stay with an option to go to RBR or
    ferrari for 2013 depending on the mclarens performance.

if schumi goes, then i'd say di resta will take his place with
    perez or maldanardo to go to ferrari. if schumi stays then the
    ferrari seat, assuming felipe will be dropped will heat up nicely.

Check the history books and you will find the same comments and allegations being made about Maldonado were said about Ayrton Senna. Prost and Lauda where particularly vocal.

Does that mean they are of equal talent and ability? Lots of drivers where accused of the same and never came close to what he achieved. I can't imagine in 10/20 years time hanging a painted picture of Maldonado on my wall and replacing it with a picture thats there of, guess who? ;) I'm growing tired of arguing with people about Maldonado, think this might be the last I say on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wasn't Senna supposed to be a complete bollox to race against? Running into people on purpose to win championships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭PJTierney

Feel free to quote and update this as the season progresses, it's got everything that I think is confirmed (Wiki link):

Red Bull Racing
    • Sebastian Vettel
    • Mark Webber

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
    • Jenson Button
    • -

Scuderia Ferrari
    • Fernando Alonso
    • -

Mercedes AMG Petronas
    • Nico Rosberg
    • -

Lotus F1 Team
    • Kimi Raikkonen
    • -

Sahara Force India
    • -
    • -

Scuderia Toro Rosso
    • -
    • -

Williams F1 Team
    • Pastor Maldonado
    • -

Sauber F1 Team
    • -
    • -

Caterham F1 Team
    • -
    • -

Marussia F1 team
    • Timo Glock
    • -

HRT
    • -
    • -

ScumLord wrote: »
    Wasn't Senna supposed to be a complete bollox to race against? Running into people on purpose to win championships.

That was more a case of "what goes around, comes around" for an annoying little French man. We're going way off topic now :pac:

It probably won't happen but I'd love to see Schumacher at Ferrari. And Kimi at McLaren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

That was more a case of "what goes around, comes around" for an annoying little French man. We're going way off topic now :pac:

No offence but thats a load of crap.

This is the problem that I have with the Senna movie, it completely clouds the fight between Senna and Prost.

There was nothing in the film, and therefore in a lot of peoples view of their rivalry, of the number of times that Senna pushed things to extremes and Prost conceded so that they wouldn't have an accident. Senna was incredibly ruthless on track and pushed things way to far at times. The fact that Prost bucked back is the only incident noted in the film from the 88 season is crazy when the full year was saw them fighting it out and Senna consistently pushing the boundaries of what was acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Hamilton would be a fool to leave McLaren.
    Vettel would be a fool to leave RBR.
    If Ferrari get Perez, which I think they will, then Massa will go from Ferrari but a Williams spot would be the only "step down" for an ex- Ferrari driver that I could see for Massa.
    I couldn't see him going to Sauber or some other "lesser" team if you know what I mean.
    The other changes will, as mentioned before, hinge on the 2 or three moves by the big players.

cadaliac wrote: »
    If Ferrari get Perez, which I think they will, then Massa will go from Ferrari but a Williams spot would be the only "step down" for an ex- Ferrari driver that I could see for Massa.

I don't think there will be a spot at Williams for him next year, Pastor won't be replaced after winning their first gp in 8 years(not to mention bankrolling the team). I also don't think they will replace Senna, he hasn't gotten the attention that Maldonado has but he's been consistently scoring points something that Maldonado hasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭cocalolaman

frostie500 wrote: »
    Senna was incredibly ruthless on track and pushed things way to far at times.

I agree. I've been always mentioning this but when someone mentions something BAD (god forbid) about the great Ayrton Senna then you must be mentally ill. There was a certain arrogance (lack of a better word) about some of the moves he pulled off, which basically say "Get out of my way, I have this place now."

My trusty can-opener still works I see.

As Brundle would say Senna liked to give people a simple choice, let him through or turn into the corner and have an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I don't think there will be a spot at Williams for him next year, Pastor won't be replaced after winning their first gp in 8 years(not to mention bankrolling the team). I also don't think they will replace Senna, he hasn't gotten the attention that Maldonado has but he's been consistently scoring points something that Maldonado hasn't.

Good point but would Massa bring more points to the team than Senna? That is the question Frank will be asking himself when an experienced driver becomes available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

A typically aggrandising statement from Horner in that Guardian article there:
    But that's perhaps where Red Bull are owed more credit than they are given for investing in young guys. Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne would never have had the opportunity to get in a race car, certainly at Formula Three level, without Red Bull saying: 'OK you've got some talent, we'll invest in you.'

"You can see now that's a model that others are looking at. Ferrari have started their driver academy, McLaren are backing some young karters, and obviously it worked for them with Lewis.

I think you'll find McLaren were running a young driver's programme long before Red Bull even existed, never mind entered motorsport, Mr Horner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

The other thing that doesn't crop up with all these rumours of Vettel-to-Ferrari is:

Why on earth would Vettel move from Red Bull, who have been the car to beat since 2009 (with the exception of about 5 races) to Ferrari, who have been struggling for all that time, and without Alonso, would be nowhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

The other thing that doesn't crop up with all these rumours of Vettel-to-Ferrari is:

Why on earth would Vettel move from Red Bull, who have been the car to beat since 2009 (with the exception of about 5 races) to Ferrari, who have been struggling for all that time, and without Alonso, would be nowhere?

true, but maybe like schumi when he went to ferrari in 96 he wants the challenge of being wc with a team that is a little short of doing so atm, that said with fernando leading the WC he may go on to win the title this year but RB will only get stronger and seb had the retirement in valencia which cost him victory

The thing is he has said he wants to drive for Ferrari, to such an extent he signed that pre-contract for 2014. By then he would have 5 years with Red Bull (plus 2 with TR) and may look forward to a change of scenery. RB may also feel there is better value promoting one of their development drivers rather than an even bigger contract for Seb.

If Mercedes are any good next season he may end up there. Very lucrative all round, esp with Schumacher gone.

For 2013 the only likely changes I see in the top teams are Massa and Schumacher to exit. Usual musical chairs lower down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

I don't think Schumacher will leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

As Brundle would say Senna liked to give people a simple choice, let him through or turn into the corner and have an accident.

Well if you are the fastest on the track you need some more space to go ahead than what track layout gives, especially if got one of the fastest cars on grid.

Maldonado is mostly crashing defending stupidly, and not with the fastest car on the grid. "I lost rear end".. oh no **** really?? and not once.
    Without the perfect Spain weekend Bruno would lead him 18-4. Consistency is more important for a team such as Williams is - for the next 1-2 years then could take more risks in fights for the win if they are still competitive at the time.
    I so hope Bottas will replace Maldonado - Williams deserves more gent driver than unreliable and impulsive south-americans.
    But Bottas is poor soo..

Hopefully Schumi will continue in 2013.

Hopefully Massa will disappear from F1, tired of watching him. Heikki deserves another chance on the top, maybe for a year in Ferrari and if not delivering kick him out of F1 also.

Why recycle old not-so-successful drivers downgrading them to lower teams when there is always long queue of hungry young lads. Yeah brings experience blah blah but every year rules change, sensors+computers do the most work..

Have no much clue what Hamilton is going to do - would see him happy with Kimi in relax Lotus atmosphere. Could be hot couple on a track tho.
    Big chance that Romain will continue (unless crashes out few times more) so Hamilton could have a year off and make some music :eek:

I just can't see Ferrari getting a driver in with the plan to turf him out in a year or two to get Perez in, just wouldn't make any sense.
    After Massa's 2011 and the majority of this season so far anything Perez did next year would be considered good. A few years learning from a proven champion like Alonso who is imo the most complete driver on the grid right now is also something that he's not going to get from Sauber.

The only problem with Perez going to Ferrari next year, if he does go, is that he'll be there as a very clear Number 2 to Alonso. That's the Ferrari way as we all know.

I think Ferrari may be in a bit of a prediciment with Perez. I think they possibly see him as an eventual successor to Alonso. But we all know what happens to the number 2 drivers at Ferrari. They become demoralised at always being the bridesmaid.

Irvine to Schumacher. (Although he maintains he was fine with it) Barichello to Schumacher (Maintains he thought they would be equal :o)

Massa was touted as a successor to Schumacher and he was a sort of mentor to him in '06. But then they brought Kimi in as head boy in '07 over Massa anyway. Lucky for Massa in '08 Kimi was asleep and he almost won the championship

And now Massa is whipping boy to Fernando. If they bring in Perez next year he'll never be allowed fight for wins unless Fernando is out of the picture and he'll end up another whinger and nearly man like Barrichello.

That's why I think Perez won't be going to Ferrari anytime soon. But maybe some day.

Also, does anyone have any views on Paul Di Resta ?

Seems the rumour is that he may not have a drive for next year, or at least he was hoping for a move forward (Merc or McLaren ?) depending on where Schumacher and Hamilton ended up. It always seems that contract talks, or lack of may be the reason behind Di Resta parting ways with Anthony Hamilton as his manager.