Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Captain's Prize Ballykisteen 1st Sept 2012

• 09-07-2012 6:28pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Some good news folks, Captain's prize officially booked in Ballykisteen on 01/09/2012, we have tee times from 12.24pm to 2.00pm going out in 3 balls as required by Ballykisteen.

They have given us a great deal for €45 including green fee's and a meal which consists of Turkey & Ham or equivalent menu options on the day of the event. The actual cost was €35 but we've added €10 for prizes, being the biggest outing of the year we'd like to get some good prizes for our winners.

While everyone is welcome to play, only those who've played in at least 1 outing this year can win a prize. We'll have a visitor prize so there is still something to play for.

Arranging the above would not have been possible without the help of the committee but a huge thanks must go to ballyK who got us this great deal. No pressure to take home the big prize on your home course now :p

Finally, with my tenure is nearly over and it's time to announce your new captain... Pistolpetes11 will be next years captain and I wish him every success. He's done an awful lot behind the scenes this year so he knows what's in store!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Fair play for organising it lads,looking forward to it. Should be a good turn out as it's a flaking track imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Delighted to be able to welcome ye to my home course. Hopefully we get a good turnout.

Big thanks to the current captain for all his work in getting the society up and running and to the success story that it currently is. Congrats to Pistolpetes11 on his selection, well deserved considering all the work he has been doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Is this the next outing lads or will there be another one before this?
    Only an hour for Cork City so I'd like to go. But would like to play an outing beforehand if there is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

I'm nailed down for this anyway lads! looking forward to it!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Reganovski wrote: »
    Is this the next outing lads or will there be another one before this?
    Only an hour for Cork City so I'd like to go. But would like to play an outing beforehand if there is one.
    Great question. We are extremely hopeful there will an outing on the 4th August as planned. We just need sort a few things out before announcing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Can't wait for this!! Thanks for getting the great deal Ballyk and welcome Captain Pete!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I've sat back and wondered how you have managed to organise dates that clash with my own society outings or various communions/christenings etc.
    All I can say is best of luck lads, I stayed in BK for a long weekend earlier in the year and played the course two days in a row. A very fine track indeed and I really enjoyed it (coupled with great weather for some strange reason), great mix of holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Looking forward to this guys, am available to caddy on the day after about 4 holes as I am sure I will have scratched the first four and will have torn up my card!!!

Congrat's to Pete on your appointment to the highest honour in the boards golf forum, treat it well and you will reap the rewards.......:D You have put the work in, but one thing you might do better for next year is arrange the weather:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Oh captain, my captain

Can't wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

Planning permission granted its all systems go......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Just got the ok for the Captain's. Was thinking of bring the wife and 2 young kids down and making a weekend out of it. Is the hotel nice? Any self catering accommodation?, as the kids are 3 and 1. Need a bit of room to let them run around. Is there a pool at the hotel as they just love the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Ben1977 wrote: »
    Just got the ok for the Captain's. Was thinking of bring the wife and 2 young kids down and making a weekend out of it. Is the hotel nice? Any self catering accommodation?, as the kids are 3 and 1. Need a bit of room to let them run around. Is there a pool at the hotel as they just love the water?

Yea the hotel is nice ! Bit away from anywhere so you / your family couldn't stroll into tipp town it would have to be a car journey. There are loads of self catering 2 bed houses there too. Yes there is a pool there also.

Just had an idea, wouldn't it be good to invent something where places like this could just put information up and potential customers could just click a few buttons and get this information !? :D

Ben1977 wrote: »

Good to hear you're going to make it Ben1977. It's not too far from Dundrum. Here's some info on the hotel.
    http://www.ballykisteenhotel.com/index.html
    There's loads of room to let the kids run around. You could even take them across the road to the racecourse and let them have a race around the track. You'd get a nice rest while they were doing that! :D

There's a pool in the leisure centre and a gym also. As mentioned there are also lodges attached to the hotel which you could consider booking. I've never stayed in either the hotel or the lodges so I can't tell you from first hand experience what they're like. Hotel should be good though as it got voted best wedding hotel in Munster the last 2 years in a row or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Thanks for the info guys. Thinks its on the cards to make a weekend out of it. Should have just looked it up, just abit lazy last night. Cheers anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Bit of a trek for me : /

Will probably have to pass

Best of luck and hope the day goes great for the Captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭kkelliher

sorry gents have to pull out as holiday booked for week away flying out on the day of the round.
    Hope you all enjoy what looks like a nice track

Guys with the Captains Prize only 3 weeks away I notice that we are still only at 18 on Teamer for attendee's, I am sure this number will increase greatly. I just wanted to send out a reminder to those wishing to attend etc...............Will be a great day and don't you know we will be guaranteed good weather in September:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

Wont make this. i have a christening to go to. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ssbob wrote: »
    Guys with the Captains Prize only 3 weeks away I notice that we are still only at 18 on Teamer for attendee's, I am sure this number will increase greatly. I just wanted to send out a reminder to those wishing to attend etc...............Will be a great day and don't you know we will be guaranteed good weather in September:D

That was some call to action there ssbob :D
    Still only on 18... come on lads.

I could have a Top 20 finish at this rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Sorry lads I'll be away for the captains but best of luck to everyone on the day.

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    That was some call to action there ssbob :D
    Still only on 18... come on lads.

I could have a Top 20 finish at this rate!

That call to action worked on me ! Just confirmed there ! Thought I had confirmed by text originally but obviously not !

See ye all there ! looking forward to it now !

That call to action worked on me ! Just confirmed there ! Thought I had confirmed by text originally but obviously not !

See ye all there ! looking forward to it now !

No confirmation from Staker either surprisingly, confirmed as of today:
    1. Freemount09
    2. MagsF
    3. Keano A Legend
    4. Ben1977
    5. ajcurry123
    6. ssbob
    7. link_2007
    8. Gmpd
    9. super_freddie
    10. scrubber72
    11. alxmorgan
    12. blockic
    13. BUACHAILL
    14. ballyk
    15. kiers47
    16. Scubapro
    17. L.O.F.T.
    18. charlieIRL
    19. Pete
    Have a look through the list guys and if you are not on it then why not? It's gonna be the best event yet!!!

No confirmation from Staker either surprisingly!!!

He'll be there alright I'd say ! That fella's like a junkie that needs to play more and more each month just to get the same golf high ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Happy to see you used the right verb there Freemount!

Lost the text lads but yeah, he's right,this game has me by the proverbials. Count me in.

So we're up to 20 now? Good stuff. Going to be in Ballykisteen tomorrow so will let them know our approximate numbers. Let's hope we get a few more between now and the big day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

ballyk wrote: »
    So we're up to 20 now? Good stuff. Going to be in Ballykisteen tomorrow so will let them know our approximate numbers. Let's hope we get a few more between now and the big day.

I don't mean to drag the thread off topic to much.
    But could you let me know how the course is ballyk? Condition wise. Might be playing there Sunday.
    Captains prize is there tomorrow is it?

kiers47 wrote: »

I don't mean to drag the thread off topic to much.
    But could you let me know how the course is ballyk? Condition wise. Might be playing there Sunday.
    Captains prize is there tomorrow is it?
    No problem kiers. Like most courses down this end of the country it's had a lot of rain. Greens are in good shape but not as fast as the day we played in Dundrum. A few of the fairways have soft spots. Most of them are ok. You won't be getting much run on the ball though!

Presidents Prize was on there today and the playoff is on at the moment. What time are you playing at?

No problem kiers. Like most courses down this end of the country it's had a lot of rain. Greens are in good shape but not as fast as the day we played in Dundrum. A few of the fairways have soft spots. Most of them are ok. You won't be getting much run on the ball though!

Presidents Prize was on there today and the playoff is on at the moment. What time are you playing at?

Cheers. Playing there at 11. Hopefully the weather will hold up... :-/

Played course today. Greens were strange varying speeds and some softer than others. Fairways were grand with some casual water and soft spots. Rough was tough.
    Was very disappointed with the bunkers. I forgot to ask in the pro shop and they might have been out of play but they looked as if they weren't raked since yesterday. A good few footprints around them. I landed in a heel print one of the times i ended up in there.

Overall course was alright considering the weather!!

Played well with a few wayward shots. Had 32points. Hopefully can go a couple better on the day. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I thought I had put my name in for this, must have not done it correctly, anyway I am in if someone can add my name.

Was going to make a night of it and bring the kids and wife but they want €195 for a lodge for the night, no family rooms in the hotel. Girl I got on the phone was so rude I guess business must be really good for them.

Anyone else staying in the hotel ?

J

Great to see some more players signing up.

Hotel is doing well. They seem to have weddings on about 4 days a week. Disappointing to hear that she was rude on the phone. There's a B&B just beside the hotel so you could try that and see if they have something suitable for you and the family.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Played course today. Greens were strange varying speeds and some softer than others. Fairways were grand with some casual water and soft spots. Rough was tough.
    Was very disappointed with the bunkers. I forgot to ask in the pro shop and they might have been out of play but they looked as if they weren't raked since yesterday. A good few footprints around them. I landed in a heel print one of the times i ended up in there.

Overall course was alright considering the weather!!

Played well with a few wayward shots. Had 32points. Hopefully can go a couple better on the day. :-)

Forgot to mention the bunkers were bad in my reply to you. They had been doing work on them earlier in the year and had done a nice job of them. Unfortunately all the rain has ruined that work. They're very penalising at the moment. I imagine they would have been out of play only for the Presidents Prize being on Saturday.

32 was a decent enough score though. I had 34 on Saturday. Playing there tomorrow afternoon in the county final of the Belvedere Cup against your club! Should be some craic!

I thought I had put my name in for this, must have not done it correctly, anyway I am in if someone can add my name.

Was going to make a night of it and bring the kids and wife but they want €195 for a lodge for the night, no family rooms in the hotel. Girl I got on the phone was so rude I guess business must be really good for them.

Anyone else staying in the hotel ?

J

I'm staying in hotel the Fri & Sat night ! Bought a voucher a while ago. 2 B&B, 1 evening meal, and a round of golf or a spa treatment each for €99 I think it was. It was out of date in May, but they are leaving me redeem it for this wkend so its working out well for me !

The mrs is going using the spa and "I'll see if I can get out for a round sure ?!" Its just going to be a big coincidence if there is 20 golf nutters from around Ireland going out for a game and I can slot in with them !!! :D

€195 for 1 night is abit saucy alright !? When I was on phone to them, the girl on reception was very nice in fairness, although under pressure, with phones going off round her that she had to look after, so as is the norm nowadays, they're probably streching the staffing levels to the max !
    Try those dealsites GG, the girl on phone listed out about 6 different ones that they use, pigsback, dealrush ... ... can't remember others that she listed off.

Played Ballykisteen this evening in the county final of the Belvedere Cup. Amazing how much it improved from Saturday. Bunkers were still poor but the fairways were in great shape and the greens were good also. Few more days with this sort of weather would do nicely.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I'd not get too hung up on the bunkers. If needs be they will just be GUR on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭super_freddie

Any chance I can get out in the first group for this? Might need to get away early on the day... if it's just a case of putting my name down on the Google docs spreadsheet when that goes up, that's perfect too.

Thanks,
    super_freddie.

Doubt we will have a timesheet. Just arrive on time and we'll get you out early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Anybody need a lift from Dublin?

Hi guys keep in mind that we have a meal and all booked for this event as it's the captains prize so would be great if as many as possible can stay around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Havnt touched a club in two weeks after 2 horrific rounds..thought the break would do me good.

Getting a craving for it now again so starting to look forward to this, it wont be long coming around.

Might head out this weekend to get the rust off.

Hopefully I saved the best performance for the main day!

No fear ssbob, I'll be hanging around after anyway to collect my prize :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Lads , unfortunately it looks like I will be missing my first outing this year , have a memorial on and had it in the diary for a different date by mistake , Only found out today I had my dates messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

blockic wrote: »
    Havnt touched a club in two weeks after 2 horrific rounds..thought the break would do me good.

Getting a craving for it now again so starting to look forward to this, it wont be long coming around.

Might head out this weekend to get the rust off.

Hopefully I saved the best performance for the main day!

No fear ssbob, I'll be hanging around after anyway to collect my prize :pac:
    Haven't touched a club since the Athlone outing such was the trauma it caused me. Have started to get the itch again in the last couple of days and am off work next Mon - Wed so hoping to play every day so I don't resemble a drunk Octopus come 1st Sept.

Lads , unfortunately it looks like I will be missing my first outing this year , have a memorial on and had it in the diary for a different date by mistake , Only found out today I had my dates messed up.

:(

ahh stones. Pity.

link_2007 wrote: »
    Haven't touched a club since the Athlone outing such was the trauma it caused me. Have started to get the itch again in the last couple of days and am off work next Mon - Wed so hoping to play every day so I don't resemble a drunk Octopus come 1st Sept.

I've only played once since, time to practice again!!!

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I've only played once since, time to practice again!!!

Your like DC, pissed as a fart after your big win, now to get back to the real business!

Sorry you can't make it Pete. Can't wait for it now. Just over a week away! :D

Got confused with the first tee time. It's actually 12.33 rather than 12.24. We've got up until 2pm. Someone might let me know closer to the time how many slots we need so I can let the club know how many we want to hand back.

I think we'll do a cut off on Wednesday 5:00pm and then you can tell the club.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I think we'll do a cut off on Wednesday 5:00pm and then you can tell the club.

We will also need to find out how many are staying around for grub afterwards so we can organise the groups who are not eating to go out first as they will want to head away.

I'll have their dinner !! :D