Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you meet your other half?

• 09-07-2012 1:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭

how did you all meet your current partner

i met mine online talked for a few weeks met up and 5 and a half years later we are still together :D

Mod note: Changed thread title from all caps to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

Why are all your posts about your boyfriend? We get it. You're in a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭nadey

Polloloca wrote: »
    Why are all your posts about your boyfriend? We get it. You're in a relationship.

you read all my posts :confused:

i asked a question and just said how i met mine

whats it got to do with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Yikes. :eek:

I'm nosey now and have to go read the O.P.'s other posts! :o

My current partner has yet to reveal themselves to me........ Think am destined to be old and alone........... :/ Major suck-age....... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Polloloca wrote: »

That's very rude. Why does it matter what she posts about she's not doing anything wrong?

If you look through my post history there would be a couple of hundred posts on nailpolish just because I post about the topic a lot should I stop? It's online forum and you can post whatever you like as long as it doesn't go against Boards.ie forum rules. There's always the option to hide people if you don't like seeing there posts.

Anyway I met my boyfriend through my brother (they were in a band for a few months) didn't get together till a couple of years later though. Coming up to 5 and a half years myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

I'm sorry if it came across as super rude, to be honest. It just a little bit tiring to see pretty much every thread (and post) posted by the OP about relationships/her boyfriend.

Agree it was out of line and that she has done/said nothing wrong ect, it's just a little repetitive.

To actually stay on topic, I met my last boyfriend through friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Ellsbells

In work

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Polloloca, you're right it did come across as "super rude" as you put it. Please don't post in the thread again. What someone wishes to post has nada to do with anyone so long as it's not against the charter. In future if you have an issue with a post or poster please don't hesitate to report the post. Thank you.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Kash

The short answer is 'at work', but how that happened was lucky:

My hubby is French and had worked in Dublin in 2003 for a while before moving back to France. Three years later, he got a phone call out of the blue from a recruitment agency asking if he would be interested in working in Clare. As luck would have it, he still had the same phone, and was between jobs... so he said yes.

He had to postpone his interview in Ireland because his passport was so battered Ryan Air wouldn't let him on the flight. Luckily the role wasn't filled before he made it over to Ireland, and was able to wow them at the interview.

I noticed his giant boots first (size 13 Docs) and quite fancied what was attached to them. There was a bunch of new French guys starting together and one was put sitting behind me... and I remember wondering if (and hoping that) it would be the guy with the boots.

It wasn't, but it was his housemate - and so he was regularly over in my area of the office, and despite his broken English, he made a big effort to find out about me - even giving me an mp3 player filled with music he thought I'd like.

Fast forward five and half years, we're married and waiting for baby number one to make an appearance any day now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The smoking section outside Bruxelles. The one good thing Fianna Fail did for me was bring in the smoking ban!

Together 4 years now, have a beautiful 3 year old little girl and we're getting married in February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Our mothers are friends so we grew up together, we were never friends because he's 5 yrs older than me and I hated the lads he hung out with.

On my 18th birthday I went out with some friends to our local, my first time there and he was there with his friends. He bought me a drink which I didn't expect at all and we got talking.

That's 16 yrs ago and we are married with 2 kids now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

I met my partner through his job.

He works in IT and my computer was broken so I took it into the shop he works in, after everything with the computer was sorted he asked me out, we dated for a few weeks, it didn't work out (bad timing for both of us).

Then last year we got chatting on Facebook and will be together a year this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

I met my ex husband when I bought his apartment from him.

I met my current boyfriend through an online car club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭javagal

Went to primary school with my fiance!
    Met again after secondary school-friend tried to set us up on a blind date but I said no.
    Fast forward a year, I started working with his sister.
    Almost 7 years later, have a house, doggie,engaged and overdue on daughter number one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Prettyfireworks

Volunteering at a local summer camp. We lived in the same estate, not two mins walk away from eachother but weren't friends. Met at the summer camp, quickly became best friends and eventually got together. Apparently everyone else knew before us that it was going to happen! We've been together 4 years now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 fumbles

I met my OH online on Plenty of Fish. We text for a few days, then met him out on a hen night..... A year later we're still going strong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

One my first day of work :)
    5 years together now

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

In a bar, through a mutual friend. Friend had gone off to get a round in and we got chatting more. Drinking ensues, there's kissing, he gives me his business card (laaaawl). Text him the next day for a date :) Together over a year now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

My OH and I met at our rowing club. We weren't friends or anything. I don't even remember ever talking to him before getting together:pac: He says he liked the look of me and that I seemed nice but he was too shy to talk to me. :p He tried to get my number from me one day but I went home too early! A mutual friend gave it to him. He texted me, I was SO surprised. That continued for the day, when at 2 a.m. he asked me out and I said yes, despite thinking it was a joke. :D Four days later, we'd our first proper date, chatted, walked awkwardly around town in spite of being "boyfriend and girlfriend" and kissed. We'll be together three years in August and we remain the oddity of all our friends, given how we got together:D Oh teenage love <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Met my husband on my first day in UCD as I was leaving for the bus and he was walking down the concourse to go his department. We both said hello and I remember saying to my late mother that the men in UCD were nice and that I had seen this gorgeous looking man there. We kept on bumping into one another until we started to date over 2 years later and finally married over 5.5 years ago. We have a 1 and a 2 year old now but have been through more than most in terms of illness and miscarraiges. I love him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

In work 15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

On plenty of fish, we chatted for a bit, then said we would meet up and 2 years later still going strong, my mum even refers to herself as his mother in law:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

Not meant my oh yet.:(

No American ladies around for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cat_xx

We were best friends in school then on a night out after our leaving cert orals he kissed me! Going out over 3 years now and are still best friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Online, almost three years ago. We chatted for a few weeks and then texted, but he got with someone else and that was that.

6 months later I got a mail on Facebook from another guy, trying to chat me up with the corniest lines ever. Turns out he was in a band with my now OH. I had to text him to find out who this weird-ass guy was that was sending me random messages, and we got talking again as he had broken up with the girl he'd been seeing.

Went to visit him in West Cork, I lived in Dub at the time. He made an absolute eejit of himself by accidentally insulting me, I still slag him about it. 2 years later we're still going strong, both living together now, I got a transfer in work and now live in Limerick, and he is originally from Limerick so he moved back.

Couldn't be without him! <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

In work. He is French but got a job in the same place as me. We got together about 6 months after he arrived. Moved in together after a year. Then when our temporary contracts were up, I got a job in France so we both moved over here. We're together nearly 6 years and have a 4 month old baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Met my ex husband on an aeroplane - still seriously considering suing the airline! :D
    Met my current BF online! Only 5 months ago but looking good so far. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Ayla

Travelling after finishing w/ school, I met my husband at the pub where we both worked. I was the new girl in town & really wanted to go out for a pint but didn't know anyone. He happened to walk by just at the right moment & out of desperation I asked him if he wanted to have a drink.

Fast forward 10 years & we have 2 kids, 3 dogs, 1 cat, 3 geese & a house-in-progress :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Another one for POF - met him a year and 3 months ago and we couldnt be happier. Wasnt sure I would find such a good match for me online - obv was open to it and now am so glad for it as I can't imagine we would have randomly met any other way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

First year of our Arts degree in NUIG, so that would be Oct/Nov 2000 sometime.... we ended up having mutual friends, and then did a radio show together in college.. fast forward to Oct 2005, when we started going out, which means in October 2012 we will have reached 7 years of dating and 12 years of friendship. Scarily long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

In work.
    He still tells the story of how I arrived in on my first day and he learned over to his friend and asked "who is that girl?" Later in the day, after loads of bonding over nerdy things and a shared love of sandwhiches, he said to that same mate "Yeah, I'm going to marry her"

5 years together now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

Met my hubbie while at school in a nightclub he was going out with my
    best friend for a while and i was going out with his cousin. Fast forward two years later i tried to set him up with my sister thank God that didn't work. Two years more just ended up together. Together 11 years married 4 and expecting second baby in September:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭flossie

I guess we met through mutual friend. Well, mutual friend was my ex's friend! Had met Mr Floss at mutual friends birthday years ago, and we became friends on Facebook. Never thought too much of it, actually thought he was a bit geeky and never had an interest. However, got chatting last year, friendship built up, he came to visit me inIreland in March. Got on great, as friends, but a few days after he went back to work i got a letter form him (the proper, handwritten type!) sayign he couldn't get me out of my head, did i have any feelings etc. It was a positive response form me, and we got together (we count April Fool's Day as our getting together as that's the day i responded to the letter).

Unfortunately he lives and works in Africa, so we only see each other every two months for a couple of weeks at a time, but we email, chat on the phnoe etc. The feelings between us are phenomenal, like nothing either of us have had before, and I truly believe that there is such a thing as being struck by lightning - it's impossible to describe, but just feels so right. So good that we've just booked a holiday together in January and February, which is 6 months away! :D

One happy Flossie here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭sleepyescapade

met through college, then he emigrated. Kept things going long distance and followed him over here last year. Living together now with 1 cat and really happy :) Together over 3 years in total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Met my boyfriend in college in 2006. Started going out at the end of first year (Summer '07). Both moved to London for our final year and now we're living together in our own place. Together 5 years now. :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Argument on boards about four years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

At a rave ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

through friends I suppose, and we were friends for a few months, got on really well. I kinda knew he liked me but pretended I didn't cos I wasn't interested, then one night I really really wanted to kiss him. I t was such a sudden feeling that I put it down to drunkenness and didn't act on it. About a month later I called over to see him and one thing led to another :) Together just over a year and about to make the leap into moving in together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

cena wrote: »
    Not meant my oh yet.:(

No American ladies around for me.
    Go to America - plenty of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

My current partner has yet to reveal themselves to me........ Think am destined to be old and alone........... :/ Major suck-age....... :(
    Anyone can meet someone any time, age (bet you're young) or length of time single are irrelevant. Try to have more perspective and positivity. A good chance they will help improve things for you on this front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

He was in my Monday morning double Maths class in 1st year of secondary school. Didn't start going out till we were 16 ish though. Still together now 4 years later :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

We were in college together, but only properly got talking on a field trip, and then I stalked him for about a month until we got together. It's been more than five years, I don't know where that time went!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Boardsie boyfs FTW ;) :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

I met him through POF. We had two disaster dates, and he didn't make the move on me on either. The only reason I kept up was because he texted well. I know that sounds odd but in person he seemed like quite the jerk and lovely in writing.

Anyway. The third date, he kissed me. Well the rest is history.

We have had major ups and downs but I love him a lot. We have been together nearly a year... jetting off to Italy together for a romantic holiday on Monday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Sleepy wrote: »
    The smoking section outside Bruxelles. The one good thing Fianna Fail did for me was bring in the smoking ban!

Couldn't agree more! Met my fella in the smoking section of D2. Hadn't set foot in a nightclub for ages as I don't really enjoy them, and don't smoke, but for reasons too dull to relate, ended up in there that night. Got talking to himself! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

On plenty of fish, we chatted for a bit, then said we would meet up and 2 years later still going strong, my mum even refers to herself as his mother in law:D

I call my sister's boyfriend my boyfriend-in-law! :D:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

TY trade fair in his school, I went to support a friend who had just moved schools, spent the entire time at his stall :P 4.5 years later, living and working together :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Not together long enough to refer to him as my OH but I met my boyfriend via friends. My friends friend became my friend and he is her brother.

I met him a number of times over the last year or two and chatted briefly but I wasn't interested in meeting someone. Had a number of nights where his sisters would do the whole "haaaaaave you met Ted?" thing. Or offering me a seat on his knee etc.

Anyway, without all their interference we were both out one night and got chatting properly, hit it off and haven't stopped talking shite to each other since. :D

Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Queing for a concert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

At a boards A/R/T forum meetup after a race in the summer of 2010. We were friends for almost a year and a half before getting together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I met my boyfriend in school when I was 13, he was moved into my class in the second year. We didn't hang out outside school until it was finished. Became close during our first and second years of college and got together just before third year :)