Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Mature Student Newbies.

• 05-07-2012 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

So who's Starting 12/13 as Mature Student.
    This your first time in college/University,Nervous Excited??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

eug87 wrote: »
    So who's Starting 12/13 as Mature Student.
    This your first time in college/University,Nervous Excited??

what ya studying dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭eug87

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    what ya studying dude?

Starting Computer Applications(CA) in September.Looking forward to get started but heard its a tough course but its expected from any degree course.
    What about yourself man?

Starting Computer Applications(CA) in September.Looking forward to get started but heard its a tough course but its expected from any degree course.
    What about yourself man?

I started as a mature student last yr dude. Computer Apps has a huge drop out rate and is very intense from what I've heard but I've also heard if u put the work in you should be grand:)

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I started as a mature student last yr dude. Computer Apps has a huge drop out rate and is very intense from what I've heard but I've also heard if u put the work in you should be grand:)

Cheers man yeah heard a few people saying CA has a big drop out rate but I thought long and hard before applying and its up there as the best computer degree courses in the country and also have experience in computer coding:).
    What about ur self what did you start last year and whats it like in DCU?

Cheers man yeah heard a few people saying CA has a big drop out rate but I thought long and hard before applying and its up there as the best computer degree courses in the country and also have experience in computer coding:).
    What about ur self what did you start last year and whats it like in DCU?

Have u been up to DCU yet? I did Multimedia, its a handy enough course:D

DCU is great, its what you make of it yourself, join some clubs & socs, get involved, make the most of it!:)

Yeah I've been to DCU (AKA crystal maze) lol.Very impressed with the facilities, it has a lot to offer.I be looking at the Poker society alright,also I be joining the gym too.
    I had Multimedia as my 3rd choice yeah cool man great hear life as a Mature is going great for u making me less nervous about September now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭muffinn

Sport Science & Health.

It was my first choice, I'm soooo looking forward to it!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭polkabunny

Just dropping in to revalidate the clubs and societies thing. Redbrick (networking society in DCU) is probably the most relevant to CA, and a lot of computing students join it.

Hope to see you all in DCU next year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭sandra0701

I'm actually second year, I started DCU last year.The beggining was very hard for me, everybody was half of age younger then me..after really easy fetac course DCU was biiiiig challenge...I'm not Irish, so stress was really doubled...but finally I finished first year with first class honours result. DCU is very busy, but when you put a lot of work, you're gonna be ok, I promise:) It's also very exciting, of course when you learn things which you like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭muffinn

sandra0701 wrote: »
    I'm actually second year, I started DCU last year.The beggining was very hard for me, everybody was half of age younger then me..after really easy fetac course DCU was biiiiig challenge...I'm not Irish, so stress was really doubled...but finally I finished first year with first class honours result. DCU is very busy, but when you put a lot of work, you're gonna be ok, I promise:) It's also very exciting, of course when you learn things which you like...

I am not Irish either and also have found that the course I just finished was handy enough. Fortunately I am TOTALLY interested in the course that I'm going to study. Excited about every single module so I actually can't wait till I start :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭CountryJoe

Starting in september myself, cant wait :) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭sandra0701

muffinn wrote: »
    I am not Irish either and also have found that the course I just finished was handy enough. Fortunately I am TOTALLY interested in the course that I'm going to study. Excited about every single module so I actually can't wait till I start :D

I was (and still I am)very excited, I was so happy when I got place and after that student grand, but first months were really terrible, I chilled out after first exams, when I saw my results. Second semester was much relaxed for me..but I put all my free time in it, I studied each day, each weekend...but it was really profitable, I was completely surprised when I saw my results after summer exam, it was the best recompense...where are you from?and what course are you going to do???I do analytical science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Starting September also. Got my first choice on the CAO so delighted. Will be checking out the poker society.

well done all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mogwaiii

Starting multimedia in September, fairly nervous about going back to college but the excitement outweighs it, at least right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭mrsherself

I'm gonna be starting wih dcu as an Oscail student. I'm gonna be doing five modules out of English. I'm 28, so I'm not that long outta college but dying to get back!!! Cannot wait until I have a student card in my hand again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭ChristinaIndigo

I'm not a mature student, but amn't straight out of school either. Just shy of 20 now, I'll be starting Communication Studies in September :) Still feels scary for me being mixed in with people that are straight out of the Leaving though, all talk of theorems & iambic pentameter have well and truly been ousted from my vocabulary :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

I'm not a mature student, but amn't straight out of school either. Just shy of 20 now, I'll be starting Communication Studies in September :) Still feels scary for me being mixed in with people that are straight out of the Leaving though, all talk of theorems & iambic pentameter have well and truly been ousted from my vocabulary :o

You'll be surprised by how many people on your course AREN'T straight from the Leaving! I started my course last year at 21 and was nowhere near the oldest. Nor was I the only person who'd dropped out of college before. Honestly, age isn't a huge factor in college - no one ever asked me what age I was unless I brought it up myself. You'll fit in grand, don't worry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭echo.lima

Was nervous myself about being stuck in the middle of the two prominent "college" demographics, that is the people fresh out of school having just completed the leaving and the mature students. Was afraid of being the "gray man" in a sense of speaking as I'm 22 and would have a different outlook on someone who's just out of school. Having said that, I'm looking forward to starting. :) good buzz..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Ah lads some of you are young. i went back to do a postgrad last year at age 27. I guess a postgrad is a little different but had guys much older than me. Didnt feel out of place at all.

That's one of the greatest things about college. I did 2 courses in Galway and 1 in Maynooth so I've a fair bit of college experience at this stage, and I have to say, age really doesn't matter much at all. You are all studying the same course, you all have the same worries and difficulties with it, and whether you're a 17 year old straight from school, or a 65 year old wanting a new experience - you'll both end up complaining about some awful essay you've to do!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭ChristinaIndigo

Glad to hear that there's a mix :) Thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Started masters in Feb, did my degree there though so after 5 years of DCU I just want to finish it and GTFO :)

Mr plough I know how you feel. I spent 5 years in nui maynooth and that last year was hellish.
    So when I applied for my teaching dip I applied for nui Galway. Great place! I live both colleges but I could never go back to maynooth. Too many memories anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

Yeah I'm starting multimedia hopefully, provided my appeal for a grant is successful.

First society I'll be joining is the radio one, altho I've heard that 1st years don't get too heavily involved in it at the start...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 school_sux

sandra0701 wrote: »
    I was (and still I am)very excited, I was so happy when I got place and after that student grand, but first months were really terrible, I chilled out after first exams, when I saw my results. Second semester was much relaxed for me..but I put all my free time in it, I studied each day, each weekend...but it was really profitable, I was completely surprised when I saw my results after summer exam, it was the best recompense...where are you from?and what course are you going to do???I do analytical science.

Hey I'm starting analytical science this year! :D can you tell me what the hours are like? do you like the course? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 matamaitic

Hi guys!

I've posted in this forum about the FREE, week-long intensive maths course for incoming mature students who will be studying any kind of maths module (eg in Accounting, Business, Engineering, Science etc): It's called Head Start Maths and runs from 3rd - 7th September (10:00 - 3:30 each day).

The programme is designed to help you make a successful transition to third-level maths by improving the basic skills you will need for your course BEFORE you start lectures.

However, looking at this thread, I see a number of people who are not classified as mature students, but have been out of school for a couple of years before starting in DCU - and we would be more than willing to offer you a place on the programme also, if you feel you need to brush up on your maths before starting back. If you fall into this category (ie not a mature student but left school a couple of years ago), but would like to register for the programme, contact mlc@dcu.ie giving your name, course and how long since you last studied mathematics.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 yummynom

maturish (22) student joining ye for Psychiatric Nursing :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭XPS

I started communications at 26 - loved every bit of it - I wasn't the oldest in the class but mature students tend to rely on each other as well as mixing with the younger classmates.

I'm now doing a PhD, still in DCU and still loving it. You will find that lecturers are also much more flexible to your life circumstances (kids etc, if you have any).

You may also find that the less worldly-experienced students will start coming to you for advice, if they think you are approachable. That was, eh, interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭duuuaaaane

Mogwaiii wrote: »
    Starting multimedia in September, fairly nervous about going back to college but the excitement outweighs it, at least right now!

I'm the same! Been out of college for 3 years now so starting to all feel a bit real!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

I'll be joining you all in September, Digital Media Engineering Degree. I'm 33 :eek:(34 on Sat) so i'm feeling a little (lot) apprehensive upon starting a course with a younger demographic.

From reading through this and other forums I'm hoping there will be other mature students on my course...

Here's to hoping and good luck to all who are starting in September.