Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath Heritage Tour 29th July

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Going to do it, probably, as it's right on my doorstep.

Registration here - http://regonline.activeeurope.com/builder/site/Default.aspx?EventID=1075003

I see they've changed the route, which is no bad thing.

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ah. They've no link to that registration on the site...

What distance are you doing? We're going for the 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

Hoping to do the 50k, have not done one before, so wondering what length of time a novice like me could expect to complete it in? I do a 20k spin most weeks around the Navan area, and ready to try something a bit more testing....

A bit over 2 hours I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

Do you think I'd be mad to do the 100k when I typically have only done 50-60k spins so far? I know some of the route (trim - tara - skryne) anyway.

There aren't many other bad hills on that route so that's why I'm interested in doing it.

http://www.meathsports.ie/cycle-tour/routes/100km-royal-tour.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

If you have done 50/60 kms prior to the event then you should have no problems. Pace yourself and ensure you have adequate hydration and nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ant

Surinam wrote: »
    Do you think I'd be mad to do the 100k when I typically have only done 50-60k spins so far? I know some of the route (trim - tara - skryne) anyway.

You should be fine. I did the 160km route last year and I'd only done 80km cycles up until then. If you get the chance to team up with others along the way, I'd advise seizing the opportunity. I did this on my own but cycled and chatted with various people along the way. After Slane, I was lucky enough to meet a friendly bunch from Orwell Cycling Club who let me join them and inducted me into the etiquette of group cycling. The aerodynamic benefit of group cycling and the psychological benefit of having people you can chat with along the way means you can go further and faster than you would on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

Has anyone got a link to the actual route?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭midlands1

awec wrote: »
    Anyone else doing this? :)

Any idea when signups open?

http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/IrishCycling/An_Post_Cycle_Series/Meath/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭midlands1

www.meathsports.ie should have all the info

Ant wrote: »
    You should be fine. I did the 160km route last year and I'd only done 80km cycles up until then. If you get the chance to team up with others along the way, I'd advise seizing the opportunity. I did this on my own but cycled and chatted with various people along the way. After Slane, I was lucky enough to meet a friendly bunch from Orwell Cycling Club who let me join them and inducted me into the etiquette of group cycling. The aerodynamic benefit of group cycling and the psychological benefit of having people you can chat with along the way means you can go further and faster than you would on your own.

Thanks! Yup my biggest fear would be to cycle alone for the entire 100k and then by the time I reach the finish everyone would have gone home lol :o

Here's the mapmyride for the 100k

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/100441903

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

think i might give this a bash next weekend.
    jersey looks lovely too:o

Are many boardsies doing this?

Picked up the jersey this evening, wouldn't be my favourite colour scheme (!) but quality seems grand enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

Are many boardsies doing this?

Picked up the jersey this evening, wouldn't be my favourite colour scheme (!) but quality seems grand enough.

got mine this evening too
    jersey colors fine by me ;)
    good luck tomorrow

Are there plenty left in all sizes? I'm worried I won't get a Small. :(

I couldn't tell how many they had left but I was the only one in the queue who picked a size small, if that's any consolation for you!

What are car parking facilities like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Last year they had an enormous grass field, and it's marked on the map again this year. Hopefully there's still some grass in it rather than just mud.

I'm doing the 160 this year - early start, but looking forward to it.

They said in the information pack that there will be free parking in the "porchfields" area which is across the Boyne from the Castle (where it's starting from). Registration this evening was in the hotel and there was a medium size car park right behind it - there's another car park in the middle of the town but I'd say that will be totally full tomorrow.

Daithi BC wrote: »
    Last year they had an enormous grass field, and it's marked on the map again this year. Hopefully there's still some grass in it rather than just mud.

I'm doing the 160 this year - early start, but looking forward to it.
    Ah so getting a space then is easy.

It was fine last year. I got there fairly early but didn't hear any complaints about parking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Is it timed in anyway does anybody know or just use your watch to do it??

tang1 wrote: »
    Is it timed in anyway does anybody know or just use your watch to do it??

Rule No. 8 from the notice I was handed at registration this evening:

"This is a recreational event, it is not a race nor shall it be timed in any manner - please consider that fellow cyclists are out for an enjoyable day, don't let your behaviour spoil that experience for them."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

Heading down to this in the moring. Doing the 100km.

Hopefully the showers won't be too heavy.

Best of luck everyone, enjoy the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

Good luck today lads will see you all there :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Great day! Weather just about held out for the 100km. Loads of food throughout and a good number of participants. Marshall's done an excellent job overall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭lookitsme

Just to past on a big thumbs up to the organisers, volunteers and everyone else who helped make the day a success. It was my first one of these organised cycles and i have to say i really enjoyed it. I did the 50k and paid 20euro and for that i had the option of eating nice sambos, salads, chocolate bars, and drinks and got a cycling jersey. Thats great value in my book. I did it in under two hours with an average speed of 27kph not bad for a beginner. I will be back next year.

not to sure about the pink jerseys, but at least people will see me coming.

Reckon I should be finishing the 160km about now, but unfortunately ended up in Blanchardstown A+E with a dislocated shoulder. Came off on a sharp hill after about 30km when the guy in front of me ran out of momentum and fell over and I had nowhere to go. Medical guys on the scene very quickly, and a big thanks to everyone for looking after me so well.

Hope everyone else got on a bit better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Reckon I should be finishing the 160km about now, but unfortunately ended up in Blanchardstown A+E with a dislocated shoulder. Came off on a sharp hill after about 30km when the guy in front of me ran out of momentum and fell over and I had nowhere to go. Medical guys on the scene very quickly, and a big thanks to everyone for looking after me so well.

**** hope everything is ok. Dislocated shoulders are a nightmare!!

Was it just me or Did anyone else find the 100km route tough?? I was completely drained coming over the finish line. Definitely not a piece of piss compared to ROK like someone told me!! Suppose the fact that I haven't been in a bike since the 7th July might have something to do with it! Anyways got around in 4.25 stops n all which I'm quite happy with!

sorry to hear that
    seen another accident outside kiltale too
    hope he is ok,just winded i hope

thehamo wrote: »
    Was it just me or Did anyone else find the 100km route tough?? I was completely drained coming over the finish line. Definitely not a piece of piss compared to ROK like someone told me!! Suppose the fact that I haven't been in a bike since the 7th July might have something to do with it! Anyways got around in 4.25 stops n all which I'm quite happy with!

yeah i thought it was tough too
    head winds and dodgy roads(or maybe its just me:D)

That was absolutely brilliant :D:D
    My first time in a group event, first time doing 100k also! Chuffed with my performance, averaged 29.9km/h. Even had enough in the tank to cycle the 22 km home after stuffing my face at the finish line.The two food stops were great although perhaps the first one was a bit late - it was way after Slane.

I had never ridden in a group before and it's amazing the difference in speed, remember looking down at the speedo at one point to see 48km/h and being shocked (the effort made it feel like only 30!). My max was 56km/h which I think I hit at some point after Tara or Skryne.

I kept with a couple of guys from the Killorglin cycling club for a while after Slane but they were so fast and didn't seem to take a food stop :eek: Weather was fairly good apart from the v heavy shower after the second food stop. Only saw one crash (guy seemed grand though) but a good few mechanical issues at side of road.

Well done to everyone who helped organise this, it went fantastic.

Sorry to hear about your injury Daithi, sounds really unlucky. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

meercat wrote: »
    yeah i thought it was tough too
    head winds and dodgy roads(or maybe its just me:D)

I think there are more drags and small hills in the Meath tour. Also they come early when youre not fully warmed up.The wind seemed to hit you from all angles and the road surface is lumpy in parts. Around Bohermeen want easy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭kavanagh_h

My congrats also to meath tour for great event. Food was great and love the jersey. Marshals were great even though i managed to miss the first turn. Very good value for money. H.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

@DaithiBC - were you #560 and wearing boards kit - I think I came around the corner just after that happened. I shouted and asked if you were ok but clearly you had other things on your mind. Hope it all works out. Any idea if dislocated to the front or back?

I think a few people got caught out be that hill - for a well signed event that seems to be one spot they missed.

General impressions were that it was a well run day - registration was a doddle, good marshaling and plenty of food.

I got the second food stop with two other lads and we saw Bohermeen CC was getting ready to leave so we stuffed a couple of sangers and a coffee in our gobs and chased after them - it was good group and the 50/60km rolled by quite quickly.

At the final food stop I latched on to a couple from Swords and benefited from their hard work by shamelessly wheelsucking for lengthy periods. I tried to do a few turns on the front but didn't have the legs for pulling at the speed they were capable of.

All in all a good day, despite the weather - finished the 160 in 5:44.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Pablo Rubio

Marshalls were a disaster today. We got sent the wrong way early on and ended up doing an extra ten KM due to incompetent marshallling and lack of decent signs on first left hand turn off the Trim road.Marshalls hadn't a clue what to do when we arrived at right turn onto Slane Road . Children marshalling the corner in Athboy??????. No marshall at lights as we arrived into Trim on the right hand turn from the Athboy Road.

Enjoyed the route but organisers not up to scratch today. Thats just my opinion anyway. Hope everyone enjoyed their cycle.Good turn out.

Marshalls were a disaster today. We got sent the wrong way early on and ended up doing an extra ten KM due to incompetent marshallling and lack of decent signs on first left hand turn off the Trim road.Marshalls hadn't a clue what to do when we arrived at right turn onto Slane Road . Children marshalling the corner in Athboy??????. No marshall at lights as we arrived into Trim on the right hand turn from the Athboy Road.

Enjoyed the route but organisers not up to scratch today. Thats just my opinion anyway. Hope everyone enjoyed their cycle.Good turn out.

I was talking to someone who was one of those who went straight on instead of taking the first left hand turn at Scurlockstown - he said they simply didn't see the sign pointing them left, it wasn't that a marshal specifically told them to go on straight (because there wasn't a marshal at that turn?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Did the 100km which clocked in at 107kms, there was a bit of confusion when the first 100 or so cyclists (including me) missed a left turn after about five kilometres, I wouldn't have known only for the frantic shouts behind me but there was too much of a gap ahead of me to warn the others.
    As it turned out a motorcycle marshall raced on ahead to re-direct the leading group but it added about 5 km to their journey. Otherwise a great day and I spoke to Mr. Skeffington for a few minutes, a few other cyclists gave me a boardsies shout but I'd no idea who they were, I was the one on a Raleigh record sprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I missed the first turn too, but turned back with everyone after less than a few hundred metres.
    Apart from the road around the food stop around 80Km which was terrible and the wind which I seemed to be constantly against, it was a grand day out.
    3Hr 40 for the 100 was ok for me, given my almost total lack of preparation and my almost solo ride - never seemed to find a group to stick with.
    Didn't see a single boardsie all day, but then I didn't stick around at the end as I had to shoot on home.
    Dunno if I'll wear the jersey much - might use it for commuting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Great day, I only started cycling in May and just completed the 160km in 06:30:00 moving time. Delighted with myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭kavanagh_h

I was talking to someone who was one of those who went straight on instead of taking the first left hand turn at Scurlockstown - he said they simply didn't see the sign pointing them left, it wasn't that a marshal specifically told them to go on straight (because there wasn't a marshal at that turn?).

No there wasnt a marshall there and i saw the sign but i actually thought it was pointing straight and since there were others ahead i thought it must be. Bells did start ringing in my head then a big group came back towards me. Sign would have been better on the left maybe?

It was good. Only criticism is that I don't see the point in having the actual food stop (with the sammichs and pasta) at 75km (on the 100 route, it was even further on the 160). Switch the food stop and the 50km water stop around if possible, I think the 160 route had rejoined the 100s by Slane?

Other than that great. Hill of Tara was grand I thought. Very well signposted and marshalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭micha5L

Bar the first left (Scurlockstown) the Marshalling was great. I only had to stop at 2 junctions. Waved thru the rest.

The food stop at 60k was well laid out and the facilities were good. Had a great cup of tea.

First time on a 100k. So thanks to all those who gave advice, and encouraged me along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Well organised and thanks to all...

Those hills nearly killed me, they were not speed ramps as some fecker said at one of the stops!! I didn't fall off or have any mechanical issues thankfully. Saw a few at the side of the road but the emergency help was fast...

The marshalling was mostly great, the food stop would have been better at 50km! Otherwise a great day and my first 100km too. Great encouragement from other cyclists!

Sorry to hear Daithi, hope it's not too bad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

I did the event today. I didn't sign up for the jersey/food etc, I just 'happened' to be driving by Trim so parked up and took out my bike which I just 'happened' to have with me. Sure, aren't they public roads!;)

Anyway while I have no right to complain, I was one of those who was halfway to Batterstown before a marshall came up and told us to go back. We did and ended up going down another wrong road - I think part of the 10/50 km loop.

So, I took off alone after the groups which must have had a 10km head start. Tried as best as possible to keep a high cadence (another new pedalling style I'm trying out). Passed a Boardie, think he called himself 'Cadex' maybe. I was in Orwell gear anyhow - so Hi!. Started catching stragglers at Tara and continued on the 100km route eventually catching the lead group though there were a few off out up the road.

Some really nice scenery and many more small villages I haven't been to before. Excellent trainng spin. Sorrry to hear about the crashes, hope all are well soon. Looked like a good afters/food was put on but alas I had no ticket! 30.9kph for 126km.

Jawgap wrote: »
    @DaithiBC - were you #560 and wearing boards kit - I think I came around the corner just after that happened. I shouted and asked if you were ok but clearly you had other things on your mind. Hope it all works out. Any idea if dislocated to the front or back?

All in all a good day, despite the weather - finished the 160 in 5:44.

That was me. The worst thing was they had to cut my boards jersey off me! Thanks for the shout. It was dislocated to the front, but they popped it back in at the hospital and it'll be fine.

Glad to hear you had a good day - great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

That was me. The worst thing was they had to cut my boards jersey off me! Thanks for the shout. It was dislocated to the front, but they popped it back in at the hospital and it'll be fine.

Glad to hear you had a good day - great time.

Can you get a replacement jersey?? That sucks with injuries of that nature!

Pembily wrote: »
    Can you get a replacement jersey?? That sucks with injuries of that nature!

I'm sure there'll be another gear order at some stage. On the plus side, I got to experience gas and air - great stuff!

Thankfully only almost came off once today and it was mostly my fault. Gravel on the road. :o