Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Army Speed Checks on N7

• 04-07-2012 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭

Was driving on the N7 today around 2pm and noticed a speed check on one of the ramps on the side of the road. As i got close to it i noticed the it was two men in army uniforms with the speed gun. Anyone else see them. Or any info on why they would be doing it. I also noticed a car pulled in by what i thought was an unmarked garda car flashing lights and Anpr camera on boot to find a man in an army uniform driving it. Anyone any info on either. Just being curious and was not speeding anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

War on Speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sounds more like a training exercise? Would the army even be legally empowered to do speed checks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

They are the military police out checking their own lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭mickjohnlong

sentient_6 wrote: »
    I was thinking that untill I seen the car with flashing light and the army driver had a normal car pulled over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

sentient_6 wrote: »

Hope so. Saw a army jeep boot past a gardai car at speed yesterday without a care in the world. Was on the n4 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Army vehicles are supposed to obey stricter speed limits than the civilian population, 80kph I think, so yeah its the army lads checking up on their own!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Why can the Cops not do Army vehicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

I was thinking that untill I seen the car with flashing light and the army driver had a normal car pulled over

But the driver was probably in the army. ;) Far as i know they're not only checking army vehicles but personnel driving their own cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Gay Byrne and the RSA's reign of terror and the persecution of petrolheads gains terrifying momentum.

Stand against the wall please....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Apparently there's a law dating back to the civil war that it is illegal for anyone including guards to stop a military vehicle.

Usually get waved through tolls in my 101 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

That was just a hair drier they had:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I agree with the stopping speeding part but the high tax/illegal vrt/daysulfest/scare people into buying new cars theme has gone abit far in Ireland at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

To quash a few myths.

Military police have power to do ther own lads driving military vehicles. There was probably a lot of military traffic on the road that day. Speed checks give the MPS something to do :)

The army have a heap of staff cars, could this be what was pulled in? They're not usually marked in the last few years .

An Garda siochana can do military vehicles for any breaches of rules of the roads, just like any other civilian and penalty points can be applied to their civi licence, but usually they won't stop a military vehicle in case there is weapons etc on board, instead they ring the local barracks and report the offence.

Finally military vehicles have slightly lower speed limits which are enforced by the military police.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Theres a 24 hour nationwide speed blitz starting from Friday.

The Garda Commissioner was on RTE News stating that every possible garda speed dection device would be rolled out on Friday to catch people speeding.

This is becasue the number of people killed in the month of June is the highest monthly amount in 2 years.

So the gardai have decided to crack down on speeding this Friday.

Be carefull out there and drive safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭mickjohnlong

To quash a few myths.

Military police have power to do ther own lads driving military vehicles. There was probably a lot of military traffic on the road that day. Speed checks give the MPS something to do :)

The army have a heap of staff cars, could this be what was pulled in? They're not usually marked in the last few years .

An Garda siochana can do military vehicles for any breaches of rules of the roads, just like any other civilian and penalty points can be applied to their civi licence, but usually they won't stop a military vehicle in case there is weapons etc on board, instead they ring the local barracks and report the offence.

Finally military vehicles have slightly lower speed limits which are enforced by the military police.
    The car that was pulled In by the army man was an Astra hatch with alloys and a spoiler on it which made me think it wasn't a state car the car the army man was driving was a black mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

paddy147 wrote: »
    Theres a 24 hour nationwide speed blitz starting from Friday.

The Garda Commissioner was on RTE News stating that every possible garda speed dection device would be rolled out on Friday to catch people speeding.

This is becasue the number of people killed in the month of June is the highest monthly amount in 2 years.

So the gardai have decided to crack down on speeding this Friday.

Be carefull out there and drive safely.(on Friday)

Fyp;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

If you are caught speeding by them, you will be sent to Guantanamo. I heard they have a good few free rooms now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

The car that was pulled In by the army man was an Astra hatch with alloys and a spoiler on it which made me think it wasn't a state car the car the army man was driving was a black mondeo

Ok so. I'm sure there is some logical explanation then, but as far as I know the military police inly assist the gardai when there is a "aid to civil power request" made. However the rate things are changing its quiet possible they have extended roles. Must ask my aul fella. He was in the military police for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I don't know if the army are allowed to pull a civilian on the street without a garda present or something ?

i dont even know how an army vehicle would pull someone over ?

i know if an army jeep or ford transit tried to pull me i'd ignore them and drive normally and safely.

but if a garda then tried to pull me with the army i'd stop because its a garda in an official car. (lights etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

I don't know if the army are allowed to pull a civilian on the street without a garda present or something ?

i dont even know how an army vehicle would pull someone over ?

i know if an army jeep or ford transit tried to pull me i'd ignore them and drive normally and safely.

but if a garda then tried to pull me with the army i'd stop because its a garda in an official car. (lights etc.)
    the PA's have marked jeeps same as the garda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

shanec1928 wrote: »
    the PA's have marked jeeps same as the garda.

Do they have the same powers of the law,"under the road traffic act" to target and pull over civilian/private cars for "alledged" speeding offences though????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Do they have the same powers of the law,"under the road traffic act" to target and pull over civilian/private cars for "alledged" speeding offences though????

Probably not, but who is going to argue with a bunch of guys with guns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Where'd you say the checkpoint was ? Wasn't near the border or anything, was it ? :pac:

iracheckinside_62521d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

No, they don't. They have no civil powers to stop traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

101sean wrote: »
    Apparently there's a law dating back to the civil war that it is illegal for anyone including guards to stop a military vehicle.

That would have caused mayhem on the Maginot Line: entire batallions of German troop transports pulled over to the hard shoulder on the border because of 'crackdown' on illicit speeders by Les Gendarmes. Why, it'd be enough to make one............go via Belgium.

Oh, hold on............ :D
    Paulw wrote: »
    No, they don't. They have no civil powers to stop traffic.

...that's all very well until we have a Coup d'État.... :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

iracheckinside_62521d.jpg
    "Is that a real twin cam ye're drivin' or a makey uppy one, hai?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

mb1725 wrote: »
    "Is that a real twin cam ye're drivin' or a makey uppy one, hai?"

"Naw big mon, she's an escort hai"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

The state of yer man at the 'RA checkpoints Troosars, wtf was he thinking? Looks like the village idiot with a scrabble bag on his head.