Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accommodation

• 03-07-2012 5:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭

Going to ITB in September and want to know is there any student apartments near by or rooms to rent? Because I want to stay with other students to get the college feel since there is no accommodation on campus ;) Also any clubs in the D15 area if you want to go out the odd night or will you just have to go into the centre?

Would appreciate some help. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Chief_Jack

Howdy and allow me to be the first to say welcome to ITB.

I have been at ITB for the past 3 years and lived in student accommodation for all of them. The problem with accommodation near ITB is that there really isn't any student accommodation close enough to easily walk to. If you want to be as close to the college as possible for your accommodation you will need to rent a house or rent a room in a family home.

However, if you really want the 'college feel' as you say you can stay in student accommodation that is a bus journey away. This is what I have done for the past few years and I do not regret it one bit, sure you need to get a bus every day but getting to live in a complex with hundreds of other students makes it worth it. I stayed in Hazelwood first year and then in Shanowen Square for my second and third. Shanowen is dearer but worth it as its a nicer, warmer place. From either location it is about a 15 minute bus ride to the college on the 17a which will drop you at the Aquatic Centre thats five minutes from the college.

The college organizes various student nights out in locations near and far away from the college. Normally their are pre drinks in the bell in blanch and then a bus takes everyone to the main event. For a regular night out I recommend the city centre, not because there is no where near by but its just that all the best places in Dublin are there and you can meet so many people from various colleges. Student nights out are always the best ones to go to and clubs in Dublin have numerous ones each week. Try different ones depending on your taste to see which you like best.

Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭RB100

Thanks for the info! helped a lot. I was looking at those places yesterday but thought it would be too much hassle to get in and out every day but it sounds grand. I read on here that someone who stayed there said it took them an hour to get in and out to the college!

Is there many students from ITB staying in Shanowen because I cant seem to find where anyone from this college stays ha. You are the first person that I managed to get through to ha

Haha honestly, from my experience very few ITB students live in Student Accommodation. I'd say 90% of the people live at home still as they're either from Dublin or live close enough to commute.

There are very few ITB students in Shanowen that I know of anyway but it never mattered to me. A student is a student so everyone is in the same boat really even if they go to different colleges. I think most ITB students who can't commute stay in houses or digs.

Out of all the people I hang out with from both my class and the clubs/socs I'm in, I'm pretty much the only one who lives in student accommodation. Which is great most of the time because hosting parties is awesome and people always crash in mine after a night out so the taxi back works out real cheap. And now for the summer I know enough Dubliners to always have someones house to crash in if I need it.

Speaking of clubs and socs, join some. I waited till second year to do it and regret I didn't sooner because they make everything so much more fun! Always places to go all around the country and numerous nights out and general banter. Come join ITB Ultimate, our team name is "The ITB Crowd", it's by far the best club in the college. (I may have slightly biased opinion on that with me being the coming years Club Chairperson :P). Come check us out on clubs and socs day anyways, we're pretty much all alcoholics and go on numerous trips to throughout the year to party with other colleges. Normally each tournament has 200 odd students at them. You play matches during the day, then party at night. Take place from Friday - Sunday normally in numerous locations, Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick, Edinburgh etc.
    Oh and the college pays for it normally :D

An hour? Ha Ha maybe if you walk it! You could cycle in half an hour I'd say.

So you're not from Dublin then? and is that ultimate frisbee? also what's the gym equipment like or did you not use it?

No, I am not from Dublin.

It is indeed, it sounds ridiculous at first but most people who try it find it fun and it's the most social "sport" there is at college level really.

The gym equipment is grand really, pretty much everything you'll ever need is there the only problem that the room is not that big but it is grand. You can also get vouchers for the aquatic center in the sports office so you can use the pool or gym up there if you want.

cool that would be handy! Now I don't want to seem annoying asking a ton of questions and I don't know if you will know about this, but I am hopefully starting Creative Digital Media and the IT uses Macs in the labs, so I was wondering will I need a Mac or could I just get a ordinary laptop?

No worries about the questions at all man, ask away. Unfortunately I am not sure about that as I do Computing not Creative Digital Media. But from what I know, it is just a few of the labs that have the Macs not all of them. Your best bet would be to e-mail one of the faculty about it but I doubt that you will need to buy a Mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Matthew1111

Hey am hoping to itb in sept as well nd am also hoping to do DCM..

Yea the accomadtion am looking into student accomadtion to...the hazelwood caught my eye cause of the price and the fact u pay by d week in stead of every semester Anya... Does the bus cost much....?? Is it still easy to meet itb students.....(not just 1s in ur cource...
    And is it really only 15 to 20 mins to itb

sorry about all the questions but I have only seen 1 thread other thread about student accomadtion in itb nd when I mentioned hazelwood I got replied saying I was mad so have being looking in to house renting bu seen its mostly digs..

Bu rather student accomadtion because u meet more ppl nd handy 4 house party's

Hey,

Well I lived in Hazelwood and would not advise it at all. Payment wise it is very handy with the week my week compared to a lump sum per semester but the place is just so damn cold at winter and impossible to keep warm. Worth noting that when I was living there it was a very cold year when we had feet of snow.

You can get a student 5-day rambler ticket for (I think) €16. This has 5 days on it, meaning that you can use it on any day you want and the day that you do use it on you can use that pass that day on as many buses as you want. Essentially unlimited buses each day. You don't have to use it 5 days in a row either, could use it over the space of a month if you really wanted.

Yes it really is about 15-20 minutes on the 17a bus, I've been doing it for 3 years so I know. Sometimes it can take longer if there's traffic but sure that happens anywhere. Best idea is to try not travel when the kids are going/leaving school as the bus goes right by a school which has heavy traffic at that time.

My advice would be to live in either Gateway, Shanowen Square or Shanowen Hall. Gateway and Shanowen Square are pretty much the same standard but Hall is a an older building and not as nice or secure really, but it is cheaper. All three places are full of students anyways and great craic because there's always parties. From Shanowen Hall or Square its about 5 minutes to the 17a bus stop, from Gateway it's right outside your front door.

It's unfortunate that the ITB student accommodation never got built in the end (was meant to be finished 3 years ago on campus but ****ing recession) resulting in us having a bit of a commute but it really isn't that big a deal and you get used to it very quickly.

Jack was the heating just broken that year or something? like were you just unlucky or is it that there is no heating in Hazlewood?

Also how would you get that 5 day ticket because that would be handy, my only worry is over time you would spend a fortune on bus tickets but I suppose there is no other option really

No, our heating worked fine. The problem is that the insulation in the place is terrible. Could spend an hour heating it up, turn off heating and then cold again in half an hour. Also the heating is electric heating which puts the electricity bill through the roof. Hazelwood worked out expensive that way as you essentially 'top up' your heating with pre-pay cards you get in the office, but when the heating gets turned on you can literally see the credit drop on the dial in the hall.

Shanowen square has storage heaters which will are electric they store heat during the day and then emit it at night...or something like that...i never really understood it but didn't care because the place was never cold, used to have the window open most of the time and everything. Dunno what Gateway is like because I never lived there but I've never heard about it being cold, Hazelwood is known for it.

The tickets can be bought in most shops in Dublin. Many have a little sign outside saying 'Dublin Bus'. Go in and ask for a 5 day student rambler and bam, there you go. Sometimes they ask you for a student card and you show them yours (you get in on your first day) but they very rarely ask.

You spend a bit on buses yeah but those tickets will save you a fortune. I mean, you get the bus to college and home say and then go out that night by getting the bus into town. That costs you one day on the ticket which is equal about 3.50, to get the bus in cash is normally 1.90. So if you use the ticket at least twice (and you will) in a day then you've saved some money. You probably wont be in everyday anyways so a ticket may last longer than a week.

Thanks I do like d look of gateway nd halls bu don't like d lumps sum pay at each semester...and square don't seem to by taking any1 for this yr.....so cud end up with Hazelwood r halls

Thanks not to be ignorant or anything bu gateway seems to b d cheap of d two as it's 99 a week compared to halls witch is 115 plus 15 for bills..... I just wish gateway
    nd square let u pay by d week as I b fit to afford it then

By d way Rb100 cheers for setting this thread up I've being looking for 1 for a gud while nd was going to set 1 up bu found this 1

[QUOTE=Matthew1111;79646818
    By d way Rb100 cheers for setting this thread up I've being looking for 1 for a gud while nd was going to set 1 up bu found this 1[/QUOTE]

No problem. I needed some info on it and the other threads on here are not the best for finding out about accommodation, chiefjack been really helpful so thanks to him as well

U can say that again, like ur self I am hoping to head to itb in sept and want to find student accomadtion..I know renting a place in blanch makes more sence but I like to be round other students instead of being nxt door to a famialy For example..I've also heard that d accomadtion list d college sends ou is mostly digs d annoying things is gateway is cheap 99 a week bu u have to pay b4 each semester witch I don't like...oh if all goes to plan we sud be in d same cource...

Yes he has being a great help...I didn't like d part on hazelwood as I was hoping for there

Chef jack do u know any thing about d school court r botanic house...?? School court seems nd looks nice while botanic house looks like a dump on d ou side by grand on d inside plus it's cheap at a 100 week....

Hears a link to d 2
    http://www.dcustudentaccommodation.com/

No problem guys, glad to help. I know what it was like when I was trying to sort out accommodation for ITB the first time.

If money is a problem and you want to pay weekly/monthly you could ring and explain that you want to do that, they MIGHT let you. If not you could get a student loan from the credit union, that's what I did and I just payed it off every month. It was relatively easy to get too and the interest was only like €20 quid! Once you've had an account there for a while and can get a parent/guardian as a guarantor then you're sorted, just keep up with the payments by planning ahead with your budgeting.

Square always fills up really fast!

Chef jack do u know any thing about d school court r botanic house...?? School court seems nd looks nice while botanic house looks like a dump on d ou side by grand on d inside plus it's cheap at a 100 week....

Hears a link to d 2
    http://www.dcustudentaccommodation.com/

I don't know anything about those I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Drodan

Chief_Jack wrote: »
    No problem guys, glad to help. I know what it was like when I was trying to sort out accommodation for ITB the first time.

If money is a problem and you want to pay weekly/monthly you could ring and explain that you want to do that, they MIGHT let you. If not you could get a student loan from the credit union, that's what I did and I just payed it off every month. It was relatively easy to get too and the interest was only like €20 quid! Once you've had an account there for a while and can get a parent/guardian as a guarantor then you're sorted, just keep up with the payments by planning ahead with your budgeting.

Square always fills up really fast!

Awwwh look at Ricky being all helpful and trying to promote the club, bless.

Drodan wrote: »
    Awwwh look at Ricky being all helpful and trying to promote the club, bless.

I don't know WHAT you're talking about and your stalking of me has reached a new level.

ps. I'll make it a better club than you EVER could!

Chief_Jack wrote: »
    I don't know WHAT you're talking about and your stalking of me has reached a new level.

ps. I'll make it a better club than you EVER could!

I set up the thing sonshine, beat that why don't ye.

Drodan wrote: »
    I set up the thing sonshine, beat that why don't ye.

You did too, how many years was it until you actually had members though? And then when you FINALLY did get members this year, was it now because of my brilliance and sheer presence that those people signed up?

No, it probably wasn't. :pac: I think it might have been the promise of parties and trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭toc2012

I accepted my place today, :) sports management and coaching, i'll be moving up from the sticks, but im originally from the area so know it quite well, it would be great to find 2 or 3 other students to get a house with in the area, or even a small distance (clonsilla / clonee) from the college cycling distance, i drive for when it rains,

If anyone is interested PM me and we could maybe meet up and arrange something??

toc2012 wrote: »
    I accepted my place today, :) sports management and coaching, i'll be moving up from the sticks, but im originally from the area so know it quite well, it would be great to find 2 or 3 other students to get a house with in the area, or even a small distance (clonsilla / clonee) from the college cycling distance, i drive for when it rains,

If anyone is interested PM me and we could maybe meet up and arrange something??

Well lad I wud b Intersted in doing that doing thing is I have to wait till august till d cao offers r ou

yeah no bother man looked at few places on daft, they seem to go for about 1100 for 4 bedrooms outside of walking distance (clonee 10k) but the same for 3 bed within walking distance (waterville)

I think if you get in contact with the college they'll help you with getting a place with others in the college and even from your own course, but don't quote me on that.

And Ricky, whisht now!

Drodan, any idea who in the college would be in charge of that,

toc2012 wrote: »
    Drodan, any idea who in the college would be in charge of that,

I'm not too sure mate tbh, best bet is ringing up the Student Information Desk and they'd know from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 handsjco

ya i would be interested in sharing if you are still doing thinking of doing that. I am also doing sports management and coaching and i am from Limerick so I would like to live in a house with other students cause I dont know the area well.

handsjco wrote: »
    ya i would be interested in sharing if you are still doing thinking of doing that. I am also doing sports management and coaching and i am from Limerick so I would like to live in a house with other students cause I dont know the area well.

sorry mate iv switched to sports coaching and performance in letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 handsjco

I am going in to first year in ITB and was wondering if there is anyone who would be interested in renting a house in the area because I will need a place to stay and would prefer to stay with other students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Threads merged.

Hi handsjco and welcome to the ITB Forum. I've merged you're thread with a pre-existing one. You may find what you're looking for here.

handsjco wrote: »
    I am going in to first year in ITB and was wondering if there is anyone who would be interested in renting a house in the area because I will need a place to stay and would prefer to stay with other students.

PM BADGINGARRA he could be still looking for housemates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Mebbie

Me and my Boyfriend are 20, and studying at ITB, were also looking to live in the Blanchardstown area