Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

broken enter key

• 02-07-2012 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

the enter key broke on my sons samsung notebook..is there any other way to use the enter button .ie. is there a backup way.. my local repair lad is on holidays for a week so thats why i am asking here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭U_Fig

you can use onscreen keyboard...

go to start>all programs>accessories>ease of access. it will let you use a mouse or trackpad to enter in keyboard values

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

There's a program called Sharpkeys that will remap your Enter to another key, F1 for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 kend805

thanks guys went with the sharpkeys works perfect now

the key i set up instead of the enter button will now not work and when i switch the laptop on it says press enter for system resume so nows its stuck there

any help at all

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Try pressing the space bar/tab button etc.

Nick

have tried all the buttons but still nothing..even tried connecting a mouse to it to see if i can get by this screen but nothing seems to be working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

See if you can get a loan of a USB keyboard. Might work although it may need to be configured in Windows first (which obviously you can't do at the moment)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Ease of access should still be available..

(Bottom left in Windows Vista/Windows 7)

Allyall wrote: »
    Ease of access should still be available..

(Bottom left in Windows Vista/Windows 7)

cant get by the 'continue with system resume' screen without the enter button and the one i re-mapped does not work now for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Re-map the key back.

Just out of curiosity have you tried going into safemode and checking to see if the Enter key works just to rule out any device/other conflicts affecting the keyboard ? also, when you say the enter key is broke do you mean physically broke or just not working ?. Also try holding down the Enter key for 20 seconds and see if it does anything.

Also you can try this...go into device manager...right click my computer and click properties at the bottom and go into device manager and when that loads up look for keyboards. Click the arrow beside keyboards and under that you will see hid keyboard device or ps2 device etc.. if there's two of them then right click each one and click uninstall. Restart laptop and on startup it will reinstall the hid keyboard device or ps2 device. test the enter key then. you will have to retrack the enter key back from that software to it's original location "enter key" you used.

If this doesn't work then maybe something spilled on the laptop keyboard that you may not be aware of ?. Keys not working usually point to spillage on the keyboard and if this is the case then it's a new keyboard i'm afraid. ask everyone that uses that laptop did anything get spilled onto it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

zenno wrote: »
    Re-map the key back.

Just out of curiosity have you tried going into safemode and checking to see if the Enter key works just to rule out any device/other conflicts affecting the keyboard ? also, when you say the enter key is broke do you mean physically broke or just not working ?. Also try holding down the Enter key for 20 seconds and see if it does anything.

Also you can try this...go into device manager...right click my computer and click properties at the bottom and go into device manager and when that loads up look for keyboards. Click the arrow beside keyboards and under that you will see hid keyboard device or ps2 device etc.. if there's two of them then right click each one and click uninstall. Restart laptop and on startup it will reinstall the hid keyboard device or ps2 device. test the enter key then. you will have to retrack the enter key back from that software to it's original location "enter key" you used.

If this doesn't work then maybe something spilled on the laptop keyboard that you may not be aware of ?. Keys not working usually point to spillage on the keyboard and if this is the case then it's a new keyboard i'm afraid. ask everyone that uses that laptop did anything get spilled onto it.

That's all grand but the OP has said they can't get into Windows

There has to be a way i'm just thinking of a way here.

Surely he has a spare keyboard around just to get into the system to try these things ? any desktop keyboard even a quick loan of one from a friend or neighbour, if not he will just have to get his hands on one to troubleshoot the system.

What I was saying is that maybe a dodgy device is messing with his onboard keyboard and if he at least tried to access safemode to see if it is a device that is causing the key not to work. probably won't work but still worth a try to troubleshoot it. He never acknowledged to trying safemode. the enter button could work on entry to safemode if a device at windows startup was causing it to stop functioning. Just because the enter key doesn't work in normal windows startup doesn't mean it won't work entering safemode as less devices are loaded. Once he presses the F8 or whatever button it is on the samsung laptop to enter safe-mode setup screen then when he scrolls down to highlight safe-mode and the enter button still doesn't work then we know it's not a device stopping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Hijpo

pop off the enter key and press it without the key. maybe food or a broken mechanism could be stopping the key from being compressed. cant find info on samsung keyboards so im just clutching at straws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

The remap is not working because it is a software remap and hasn't loaded yet. OP needs to try a USB keyboard and reboot.

sorry i have not gotten back to ye but i was away for a while but when i turned that laptop back on today after reading the newer posts the enter key which NEVER worked , is now working... dont now how or why but it is but thanks for the advice lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Hijpo

We did it while you were on holiday ;)