Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mullingar 2 day

• 28-06-2012 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭

I see they have route maps on lakesidewheelers website but i dont see how many laps we are doing on stages 1 and 3 for the A3 race.
    Anyone any info on it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

i didnt really think about it and just assumed it was one of each. would be nice to find out actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

These distances are the ladies distances - but the laps are the same.

Stage 1 - Starts at 12:00 Saturdayand is on a 20 mile circuit from Crookedwood to Castlepollard, Coole , Multyfarnham and back to Croodedwood. 2 Laps (total 70km) http://www.mapmyr...ide.com/s/routes/view/road-cycling-map/ireland/west-meath/94145685

Stage 2 - Starts at 6:00pm on Saturday evening, it is a 3km TT on a climb but it is not too severe. http://www.mapmyride.com/s/routes/view/road-cycling-map/ireland/west-meath/94149143

Stage 3 - Starts at 12:00 Sunday and takes in an 18 mile circuit from Crookedwood through Collinstown into the village of Fore and back via Castlepollard. 2 Laps (total 65km) http://www.mapmyride.com/s/routes/view/road-cycling-map/ireland/west-meath/94148519

Race HQ is at Mullingar Rugby Club on the Castlepollard Road just off the N4 motorway at Junction 11. Registration is open from 9:30am

Pre-entries close on thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

The times above are for A4 and Ladies, I believe.

I emailed the organisers and they said that for A3, stage 1 and 3 are on at 2 pm on the Sat and Sun, and the TT is at 8.30 am on Sunday morning.

I don't know the times for the A1/2 race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

I mailed the organisers about two weeks ago - or at least I emailed the address that's on the Lakeside Wheelers website asking the same question about how many laps but no one has replied to me.

So not knowing how long the race was I never registered. Then last night I saw the info Caroline has just posted on Facebook and thought that I might as well register after all, albeit late in the day... but now I can't find a link anywhere to register. Not on the Lakeside Wheelers website or on Run Ireland?

I presume registration has in fact closed already - ie Thursday morning not Thursday night?

I successfully registered (I hope) for the A3 race today on the website: http://www.lakesidewheelers.ie/mullingar-two-day-2012.

Numbers are limited to 80 for each race I think.

onimpulse wrote: »
    I mailed the organisers about two weeks ago - or at least I emailed the address that's on the Lakeside Wheelers website asking the same question about how many laps but no one has replied to me.

So not knowing how long the race was I never registered. Then last night I saw the info Caroline has just posted on Facebook and thought that I might as well register after all, albeit late in the day... but now I can't find a link anywhere to register. Not on the Lakeside Wheelers website or on Run Ireland?

I presume registration has in fact closed already - ie Thursday morning not Thursday night?

No no it's ok, it's there http://www.lakesidewheelers.ie/mullingar-two-day-2012 any trouble, just PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

I was disappointed that there is no one-days available.

I'm actually more disappointed in myself that I didn't fork out for a full comp instead of a bloody club comp licence at the start of the year. I would have had it well paid for at this stage with the amount of 1D's I've bought. I'm not arsed upgrading with the €65 balance at this stage, Mullingar will have to wait until 2013!

No no it's ok, it's there http://www.lakesidewheelers.ie/mullingar-two-day-2012 any trouble, just PM me.

I think it may be an issue with my browser... there is something not showing up properly! I've asked someone else to have a look for me - hopefull that solves it!

It's still there ... i promise I can see it. http://www.lakesidewheelers.ie/mullingar-two-day-2012

Try a diferent browser?

If you still have problem later on tonight (maybe try from home rather than work PC type stuff) let me know - I will try and get in touch with them. We need more ladies for a better race!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Caroline, I've deleted the last message you replied to since it wasn't genuine but contained hidden link spam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

Sorry, could someone confirm the TT is on both sat (a4/ladies) and sun(A1-3) or just sat?

I ask as I'm driving for a mixture of A4 and A3s :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

On the verge of signing up for this (a4), and was wondering what the likelihood of me getting dropped, never to be seen again is? As a relatively new a4...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

colm_gti wrote: »
    On the verge of signing up for this (a4), and was wondering what the likelihood of me getting dropped, never to be seen again is? As a relatively new a4...

Do it. It's pretty flat, and you're strong.

buffalo wrote: »
    Do it. It's pretty flat, and you're strong.

Did you race tonight? I got to the start line just as the last group was pulling off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Did you race tonight? I got to the start line just as the last group was pulling off :(

Nah, I've three days of racing lined up for the weekend, decided not to make it four in a row.

Bad luck though, only thing you can do there is go for a solo spin.

If you still have problem later on tonight (maybe try from home rather than work PC type stuff) let me know - I will try and get in touch with them. We need more ladies for a better race!

Thanks Carloine - I'm in!

My work browser nor my iPad liked the website but third time lucky! I got there on on old laptop. Looking forward to it now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭lalorm

Is it Stage 1 and 2 on Saturday and Stage 3 on Sunday? Or Stage 1 Saturday and 2 and 3 on Sunday?

Regards
    Mike

Depend which race you're doing - TT is on Sat for A4, Sun for A3.

well, did you enter?

lennymc wrote: »
    well, did you enter?

Not yet...had decided against it because I'm not sure I'd have that stamina yet, and because I have a 7 day run of 6am-10pm days in college and don't want to be shattered for them...but entry IS still open...and I won't be out on the bike at all next week...

[MRS DOYLE]Go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on[/MRS DOYLE]

so stage 1 and the TT are out of the way.
    Thoroughly enjoyed them, even tho they hurt, the course was lumpy, it rained, it was windy and I got a puncture (thankfully after I had finished racing for the day, on the way back to the car).
    Roll on tomorrow for stage 3!!

Do you reckon aerobars are worth it for the TT? I have em with me but not sure if I can be bothered putting them on. Wrecked after today's stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

was there gc sheets available yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Flankerb

Do you reckon aerobars are worth it for the TT? I have em with me but not sure if I can be bothered putting them on. Wrecked after today's stage.

I wouldnt bother you will hardly get a chance to use them. Climbing for most of it.

I used them tonight on the lower section of the climb and on the little descent before the next longer drag. Once you get over the climb, you have a good stretch of flat road to the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

How did it go? Race report please!

i didnt use them, i know a couple of people also didnt use them. The first climb is ok, second climb kicks up to 11% according to strava, once you get over that its all nice and flat and fast. couple of people were on full TT bikes but dont know how they got on.

segment:

http://app.strava.com/segments/1223606

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Stick them on, I used them into the climbs and then from the top it's just a pure power course, get as aero as you can and push push push. Still dropped 40ish seconds on the TT though :( Got 10th on the road stage though \o/ so happy with that.

did a 5:55 on the TT. Think that's ok-ish. Technically got 3rd on the 1st stage, but there were 45 others ahead of me in joint 2nd :D So have it all to do today.

lalorm wrote: »
    did a 5:55 on the TT. Think that's ok-ish. Technically got 3rd on the 1st stage, but there were 45 others ahead of me in joint 2nd :D So have it all to do today.

Well that was fun. Tough day. Tried to break away a couple of times, but didn't have it in the legs. Stayed up well to the end but died with 1km to go. A very lumpy flat circuit :rolleyes: Left everything out on the road. Legs are dead now. Well done to everyone that got up on the GC over the two days.

Regards
    Mike.

today was tougher than yesterday!! :)
    thoroughly enjoyable, and thanks to lakeside wheelers for an excellent event. Definately doing it next year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

9th today for me, happy with two top ten finishes in the stages.
    great weekend. found today much easier than yesterday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 dougal01

all done and dusted for antoher year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sheepfield

Rode the A4 - and enjoyed it mostly.

Firstly, well done to the winner from Dublin Wheelers who I know is a fine rider and with such a good TT deserved something. Lakeside put on this race each year and it is well attended and organised, so thanks lads.

It was near enough the most negative race I have ever entered. Everybody that moved was chased immediately.... fair play Ken Conlon from Naas CC and that legend from Waterford ("Jimmy Saville") who showed some tactical awareness and have big engines to match, plus the Lakelands lads from the north who gave it a real dig.

Just a question: with so many riders within 30sec on GC, and with teams there with numerous riders, why the fxxx did so many lads just sit in for a sunday spin? I know it happens in A4 and in truth, like myself, riders may not ultimately have the legs, but still and all, this leads to a messy finale (crashes/incidents in both stages) where everybody thinks they can win, even if they have to pass 50 riders in the last 300meters!!

Are A4 riders happy to ride to win a tenner for 10th place???

I won nothing myself by the way.

But I rode the best TT of my life. And tried to win today.
    Anyone else do something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

sheepfield wrote: »
    It was near enough the most negative race I have ever entered. Everybody that moved was chased immediately....

Just a question: with so many riders within 30sec on GC, and with teams there with numerous riders, why the fxxx did so many lads just sit in for a sunday spin? I know it happens in A4 and in truth, like myself, riders may not ultimately have the legs, but still and all, this leads to a messy finale (crashes/incidents in both stages) where everybody thinks they can win, even if they have to pass 50 riders in the last 300meters!!

Yeah, I'd agree with that. I certainly enjoyed the event. First stage, first lap I worked hard to stay at the front, I wanted to be sure and not miss any possible breaks. Tried to make a couple of them stick, was away for a bit with a team mate and then with 3 others but we couldn't/wouldn't get it together and inevitably got chased down. Then on the second lap I was tired from my first lap efforts but the pace dropped a bit and the group was spread across the road, making it hard and dangerous to move up. At the end it was manic and I had no interest in involving myself in a nervous packed bunch gallop, and those thoughts were further galvanised when the eventual crash came and a fella went down right in front of me. I had to slam on and come to a complete stop to avoid running him over.

TT was a bit of craic. I thought I did ok, but the A1/A2 times were awesome and ... incomprehensible really tbh. There are cars on the road that wouldn't match some of the faster times, honest to God.

Day 2. Felt weak as a little girl for the first 10k but once warmed up I was able to get to the front and start mixing it up a bit. On the tight left hander beginning the 2nd lap I jumped off after another lad and we were joined by 1 and then another but nothing coherent unfortunately. Once we were caught I found myself shuffled toward the back again and really from then on I just sat at the back. Again, the bunch were completely spread out across the width of the road, at times there were more riders on the wrong side of the road than not. Didn't matter if it was straights or hills or descents or blind right handers. So if you wanted to move up, you had to be similarly kamikaze. Not sure what you can do to counter it, but again, it was a big bunch to the finish and a near crash this time. A neighbouring pedal intruded into a rear kysrium, breaking 4 spokes - don't know HOW the guy stayed upright, but 100 yards later his rear wheel exploded. Plenty of drama anyway.

Lovely circuit in fairness today, and a change to arrive home dry! :)

I think maybe the perceived negativity is a result of a relatively level playing field. There's no one able to just ride away, and everyone else is pretty stretched. A bit more team coordination is required I think. A couple of teams there had loads of riders, so you'd wonder why they don't sit down together beforehand and plan some tactics - "you go, then you two go, then if they're brought back, you go, etc etc".

I'd love that myself. Much rather do an Icarus on it and come home with a losing war story than just ride around like a drone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

in the A3 race the bunch was spread all over the road in the last 5km, its just the way it is, moving up on the right sometimes is the only option

I think with A4 racing, you have you understand that's it's generally supposed to be for newcomers to the sport. So tactics may not be relevant to most of them. Just getting around and in the case of this race, finishing a stage race. Also, generally speaking the riders may not be strong enough and don't have enough muscular endurance to try and get away on their own.

For stage 1 and 3 I stayed close to the front for most of it. Within the top 5-10 riders. It didn't seem too slow to me and the wind was a big factor preventing people getting and staying away. The courses were lumpy but I was able to power over them. The run up to the finish however was a different story for me. I'm not a climber and would rather have had at least one flat finish for the sprinters. On Stage 3 I tried to get away but no chance as the legs were heavy from the day before.

Overall, a good event, but next year 1 hill finish and one flat sprint finish and/or a flat 10mile TT please. :)

Regards
    Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

levitronix wrote: »
    in the A3 race the bunch was spread all over the road in the last 5km, its just the way it is, moving up on the right sometimes is the only option

Well done to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Magilla Gorilla

I'd have to agree that I can't understand why some of the A4 guys who had a real chance to get up the GC or even win it didn't go for it. 15-20 seconds covered a lot of GC places before stage 3, and I thought a few of the lads in contention might have worked together to at least challenge the leader. There were a few half-hearted efforts, but no organisation. Fair play to the couple of lads who did attack.

I know it's only A4, but at this stage of the year most lads must surely have a few races done and should be able to push things a bit, if they have the legs. I did OK on the open road, but the TT beat me. If I'd been closer on GC, I would have burst my lungs to get a result on the 2nd day.

Well done to the winner though, he was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

I rode off the front in the A4 race twice on stage 3 and no one would follow, maybe it was because i was only 3 seconds back and people didn't think i'd be let away, but i think there was a good chance to stay away if we were up the road when we turned back onto the circuit. The wind wasn't that bad.

I even told people they could have the stage if they came with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭not sane

Just a quick thank you to all the members of Lakeside Wheeler's, it was a great well run event. I think you must be one of the most friendliest clubs in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Like last year, I loved the weekend of racing. I'm so impressed with the club running all those races in parallel and getting them right!

I have a report on my race up here: http://ryansherlock.blogspot.ie/2012/07/2012-mullingar-2-day.html

I mention it in my report, but I'm so happy that they gave the A1/A2 race (actually, all the races) good distances to race on. Too many times recently I have gone to races to find them shortened by 30-40km. Thank you so much to the club. If there was more of this before the Ras the county guys would have a much better chance of sticking it to the big guns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

Kindof agree with you on the distances. I need distance so it should stand to me but thought the bunch was a bit too small especially for the first stage as once the breaks were gone it was a long boring day to get to the finish in what remained of the bunch. A race of that distance (80mile) needs around 70 riders I feel. One thing I think would encourage numbers for longer races would be flatter routes for the first 50 miles and then a few hills for the remaining 30. Its sometimes discouraging for riders to do say a 10 mile loop with a hill 8 times. Obviously this might be harder to organise.
    Fair play to the organisers of last weekend as it was well run. My second year at it and will come back, thought the TT was fun with a tail wind