Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first car?

• 28-06-2012 10:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

Mine was an Alfa Romeo 145, I loved that car (probably because it was my frist) and despite warnings from people it never gave me any trouble except the bumper was very low on it and kept coming off if i parked too near a kerb, which happened alot because i was learning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

98 VW polo 1.4 3dr hatch.
    Loved that car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I think we did this before. Lancia Fulvia Sport 1,3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Anan1 wrote: »

wow a lancia, quite unusal for a first car, what year did you get it?

i did search 'first car' but got no matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Aka Ishur

Alfa 156 1.8 here, loved it for 6 months before selling it on for twice what i bought it for:D

Mercedes A140 :o
    Loved that car when I got it. Long time ago now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Diamond_Ninja

When I was 16 my dad bought an old Lancia Thema and told me I could have it as my first car, till he drove it and realised how fast it was :D

So he told me one day when I was almost 17 that he was going out to get me my first car, I was delighted of course, all my friends had little Renault Clios and Opel Corsas and I couldnt wait to have my own little car.. He arrives back an hour later with a 1997 1.4 Seat Cordoba.. I literally didnt speak to him for a week, I got slagged rotten in school because of my big car, I was devastated. I miss that car so much now, after I left school and the slagging stopped I realised how much I loved it, then my dad sold it, again didn't speak to him for a week (he cant win) :D

All the girls I was pals with in school still drive tiny little cars and would freak if they had to drive a big car, till last year I was driving a 2 litre (petrol) Volvo v40 estate, I love big cars, have my eye on a diesel Audi A4 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Well my first car is a modified Mk2 Fiat Punto sporting 1.2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭lisaj

1990 White Nissan Micra. The boxy type. Loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

When I was 16 my dad bought an old Lancia Thema and told me I could have it as my first car, till he drove it and realised how fast it was :D

So he told me one day when I was almost 17 that he was going out to get me my first car, I was delighted of course, all my friends had little Renault Clios and Opel Corsas and I couldnt wait to have my own little car.. He arrives back an hour later with a 1997 1.4 Seat Cordoba.. I literally didnt speak to him for a week, I got slagged rotten in school because of my big car, I was devastated. I miss that car so much now, after I left school and the slagging stopped I realised how much I loved it, then my dad sold it, again didn't speak to him for a week (he cant win) :D

All the girls I was pals with in school still drive tiny little cars and would freak if they had to drive a big car, till last year I was driving a 2 litre (petrol) Volvo v40 estate, I love big cars, have my eye on a diesel Audi A4 :p

Most of us had to buy our own cars :rolleyes: ;)

Mine was a MK1 Mondeo.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

01 Fiesta 1.25

I would definetly reccomend it as a first car. Never gave me any bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Diar

Mine was a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI
    IMAG0025-1.jpg
    Seen it for sale on Done Deal this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭lisaj

I'm still in a car from the 90's... I give out about it, but I'm first to defend it when people slag it off.

h3000 wrote: »

Ah I'd probably buy my kids their first cars too if I had the money, get them going on the road, but I love driving and think it should be learned from as early as possible.

I bought my mam her first car, she couldn't drive, got her a little '97 automatic micra and she passed her test without a single mark on the sheet!

(I'm not old enough to have kids who can drive by the way, I'd like to clear that up right away :p),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

1972 ish brown mini, 1 owner from brand new, 39k miles.
    Bought for the grand total of 75 quid, insurance was 790.
    Time taken to write it off........2 months.

This was in 88.
    Loved that car:D

Mine was a MK1 Mondeo.

That's true, I was very lucky. Didnt stop me being a sulky 17 year old at my ugly car though, I do appreciate it now :o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

'03 Citroen Berlingo 1.9d when I was 18, an utter ball of scrap! I only had it about 6months I think! Really don't why I wanted it! Twas a great place for spending some time with the gf before I got my own place tho ;)

It was a 1968 car, I bought it in 1988, for £800.

Don't suppose there's any pics of it floating about the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Mazda 626 coupe 89' 2.0i

I loved that thing. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Ah I'd probably buy my kids their first cars too if I had the money, get them going on the road, but I love driving and think it should be learned from as early as possible.

As would I, I was only taking the piss out of the sulky teenager :)

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

92 D 12839. The mighty Opel Corsa 1.0 City. 4 gears all of which were the same! Bought it in 1995.

Don't suppose there's any pics of it floating about the place?
    I have one or two somewhere, but can't find them. Here's a link to the same car, although mine was a bit more battered than this one! http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C272666

As would I, I was only taking the piss out of the sulky teenager :)

I'm a sulky adult now I'll have you know.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

01 Ford Fiesta 1.25. Got it for my 19th bday. Was only 3 years old with 17,000 miles. Kept it for 2 years and traded it in @ 35,000 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Lancia Fulvia Sport 1,3.
    Lancia Thema

Lancias were popular here? I only ever seen a Delta on the road and what looked like a Stratos on the back of a truck possibly a replica though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

An old Mazda 323, lovely little yoke

b9b2217.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

My parents made me wait until I had my full licence before I was allowed buy my first car. They were right :o

1998 Rover 400i 1.4 hatchback type. I wanted a 200 but there wasn't any that fitted my criteria at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

A black 1992 Fiat Tempra 1.6 :)

It still sits in my garden, slowly going into the ground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

1982 VW Golf. Great little car. I still have the more than well used Haynes Manual and the owner's manuals.

davet82 wrote: »
    Lancias were popular here? I only ever seen a Delta on the road and what looked like a Stratos on the back of a truck possibly a replica though.

I hadn't seen one before my Dad got it and haven't seen one since. It was a 1990 (I think) 8.32, the one with the v8 engine, he got it from an old friend of his that had had it for donkeys. Despite its looks, veeery fast car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

A 1.4 almera. It was a 1997 with faded paint all over. It was red which tends to fade so I attempted repainting it. FAIL! Ive had all sorts of audis and volkswagens over the years but I still miss "Daphne" all the same..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 nympho

A 2002 1.4 Focus Ford hatchback, magnum grey in colour, all the trims were colour coded and 17" MP3 alloys, twas a great first car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Dibble

A 1972 Beetle bought back in 1994. The colour was 'Texas Yellow'. It had a 1300cc with factory fitted high back chairs and a heated rear window. Get in!

18 years later and I'm so glad I never sold it. She needs a lot of work but I plan to get her back on the road this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Mine was a '96 Seat Ibiza in Salsa spec. It was 1043cc with a whopping 43bhp and 0-60mph in more than 20 seconds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭privateBeavis

94 Ford Escort 1.4 (and very important for me at the time was it had a rear spolier!)

(That was my first road legal car I owned, I also owned a vauxhall viva before that I bought for £20 when I was 15/16 that I used to practice handbrake turns in a field!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

2003 Alfa 156 1.8L in 2006. Had 3 years trouble free motoring in it. Loved it but had to sell it to buy a van as was building our house at the time. I still see it around from time to time, always gives me a smile. Will buy another Alfa some day.

Think everyone needs to have an Alfa at some point, I drove a 156 for a while too never had a bother with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

1997 seat ibiza 3dr 1 litre when I was 24, insurance was about 1200 euro third party! My mother had it 12 years and never gave her any trouble, i drove the bollocks out of her and she carked it on the N18 one day outside Shannon. I had her about 5 months. What a tool.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

first car? one of these in black, 99 ford Mustang. bought in California after moving there straight after college..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:1999-04_Ford_Mustang_coupe.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

A 1971 Hillman Avenger. I bought it in 1982 and it really did have one lady owner who only drove it to the shops :D . Lovely car.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hillman_Avenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    A 1971 Hillman Avenger. I bought it in 1982 and it really did have one lady owner who only drove it to the shops :D . Lovely car.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hillman_Avenger

There's a red 1973 (I think) registered estate version of those I've seen in Cork city a few times. It looks like it's in daily use rather than a Sunday drive classic car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭GarH

A 1991 Ford Fiesta 1.1 in white.
    A great little runner with absolutely no power in it. It even had a manual choke.
    Do any cars have those anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

1990 Renault 5 1.1L Parisienne (ooh get you!) at the age of 26! The shame - had bikes from the age of 17, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

1987 1.1L 3 door Ford escort. Red Go faster stripes down the side. Loved the freedom it give me but not the car:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

an 00 fiat punto, 1.2, i loved that little car, had to sell it to pay college fees:o
    still see it around the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

furtzy wrote: »
    92 D 12839. The mighty Opel Corsa 1.0 City. 4 gears all of which were the same! Bought it in 1995.

90-C-557 . Black Opel Corsa, 1.0l petrol I could do 200ish miles per week on £20!!! Black with go-faster stripes in green. Best car ever! I didn't want to get rid of it but it died on me eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

00 1.2 Punto. Pile of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Ha ha ha - I forgot about the manual choke!!! What was that about!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

First car that my parents gave me to drive everyday was a 1992 Lancia Prisma

First car I bought myself was a 1999 Fiat Punto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

No picture of it right now but IIRC it was a gold/custard yellow merc 200 - 1984 reg or so.
    In hindsight not a bad car but that colour - gold my arse it was custard yellow! LoL