Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bmw

• 27-06-2012 7:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭

i am looking at purchasing a 00 bmw 3 series diesel, i dont know a whole lot about cars anyone able to give a view on weather this would be a good buy? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭shooter57

Hi I drive a 320d myself , and am very happy with it , can't really answer your question for you as it all depends I suppose ,on price , mileage and condition. But as far as the 3 series deisel go they are generally a good car . Any other questios I can help you with just ask .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

i am looking at purchasing a 00 bmw 3 series diesel, i dont know a whole lot about cars anyone able to give a view on weather this would be a good buy? thanks

It an impossible question to answer as, at that age, its the current condition and maintenance history that will dictate if its a good buy much more then the type of car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭overthenest

thanks guys, i was basically just trying to find out if they are a solid car that they dont give engine or electronic trouble and if they are economical cheers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

thanks guys, i was basically just trying to find out if they are a solid car that they dont give engine or electronic trouble and if they are economical cheers:D

The answer is "They can be..."

You could find a **** heap, or you could land a good one. Find one you think you like and that you think is well minded and get someone you know who is mechanical to take a look. Or get a mechanic.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I'm going to be the pessimist and say that it's very unlikely you will find a 12 year old 320d in good mechanical shape. Even with lowish mileage of 15k a year it will have over 170k on the clock so unless there's reams of service history and you can get it properly checked out I would avoid it like the plague

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭overthenest

conzymaher wrote: »
    I'm going to be the pessimist and say that it's very unlikely you will find a 12 year old 320d in good mechanical shape. Even with lowish mileage of 15k a year it will have over 170k on the clock so unless there's reams of service history and you can get it properly checked out I would avoid it like the plague

avoid like the plague???? why so, it cant be that bad???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

It can be indeed, I agree with the previous poster.
    I know I wouldn't buy even 7 or 8 year old BMW without proper check over.
    I think that cheap and good BMW cant go in the same sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

Check out post "BMW (Bad) Service" in Motors section!! & maybe you'll review decision....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

megafan wrote: »
    Check out post "BMW (Bad) Service" in Motors section!! & maybe you'll review decision....:rolleyes:

That's a 2008 import.
    I have a 2008 318d and not a single problem with it. Great car to drive.
    Had a golf 1.4 tsi 170 bhp before that with 50k on it from new, FSH and it blew up, never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

megafan wrote: »

Not trying to defend BMW but the engine in the vintage of 320d that the OP is looking at is the M47, the one in the other thread is the N47. The M47 had swirl flap and turbo filter issues which were fine once they were addressed properly. The timing chain problem is really outside of the owners control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Cathyht

I'm on my 3rd 3 series, I had 1 diesel, 2 petrol. In ALL of my BMs I've had a problem, one way or another with the oil light coming on, oil leaks etc. But I love BMs, they are very comfortable and strong cars, safe in a crash. I buy a car which is from 2 to 5 years old and drive it for years. I bought the first 2 cars from different reputable garages and 1 on donedeal, without a doubt, the one I got on donedeal, which I'm still driving, was the best value and they gave me the best price for the car I had. I've also had least trouble with this one. Each time I went to buy a second hand car I had a friend who is a mechanic to come and check the cars out for me. Anyone with a BM I've spoken to has had trouble with the oil tank, leaks or whatever. You need to watch the dipstick in your BM.

This is an important piece of info to learn if you're going to buy a BM over 5 or 6 years old:
    The oil light works as follows:
    RED while driving: low oil pressure, STOP DRIVING IMMEDIATELY, have it towed, don't drive until the problem is sorted.
    Yellow while driving: Significantly low oil level, top up as soon as you stop.
    Yellow immediately after shutting the car off: Slightly low oil level, top up next time it's convenient.
    Yellow for about 15 seconds after turning on the car: Oil level sensor is not functioning as intended, regularly monitor oil level by the dipstick until next oil change, at which time you replace the sensor.

Apart from that, I'd recommend a BM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭pcardin

Ah don't mind him. Just a random "pub talk" type of comment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

pcardin wrote: »

Ah don't mind him. Just a random "pub talk" type of comment. :)

No it's not. Going by the opening post what's wanted is a reliable car. A thirteen year old diesel BMW would not be my first choice given that criteria. Especially for someone who knows little or nothing about cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭pcardin

coolbeans wrote: »
    No it's not. Going by the opening post what's wanted is a reliable car. A thirteen year old diesel BMW would not be my first choice given that criteria. Especially for someone who knows little or nothing about cars.

so because it's a thirteen year old car a rubish texts like "avoid like a plague" or "wouldn't touch with a barge pole" automatically apply? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

For what it's worth, I drive a 00 318 petrol. It had low mileage when I bought it several years back, and I've put reasonably heavy mileage on it since. Despite that, it currently stands at 130k miles.

It's running extremely well - normal wear and tear, but I recently had all brakes & shocks replaced. I get about 35 mpg on it (mix of town & motorway driving).

As many posters have pointed out - it all depends on what kind of condition it's in. I bought mine in good nick, and I've kept it in good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

pcardin wrote: »
    so because it's a thirteen year old car a rubish texts like "avoid like a plague" or "wouldn't touch with a barge pole" automatically apply? :eek:

I have a 13 year old E38 and its incredibly reliable. However i'd recommend anyone that does not do any work themselves and needs a car daily that they absolutely depend on, to indeed stay away from a high mileage 2000 3 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

what is your budget OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I have a 2000 3series and i love it i usually get an urge to change my car every year but since i got the Beemer i have no desire to change it. Its like most things if you look after it the car will serve you well and with BMWs preventative maintenance goes a long way to having a good comfortable car. What was said in a previous post about oil lights and stuff is true i just changed the oil level sender on my car it was a very easy fix the part itself can be expensive if you buy from an autofactors (i got quoted 147euro) i got it in a breakers for 30euro. They are a nice car to drive.

Head over to this site http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/ and ask some questions there the lads on that will give you some good info. Good luck with it if you get it.

Yes the breakers' yards do have them, but you have to be quick to get some parts. The control panel, particularly regarding the heating is one of the first things swiped from the yards.

I had a spate of someone making off with parts of my car last year, like the front grilles and the cover for the wing mirrors, I found Mick's garage brilliant for these (free p&p) I couldn't get these parts at the breakers' yards I tried. (the new grille etc., are very well secured now btw, this is well worth doing) The grille is a different shape and size on a lot of models. Obviously the person who was using my car for spare parts was very tired looking in the yards!!

One BM I had years ago, the oil tank was causing huge problems and then the rad burst, a coil and head gasket went. We couldn't find an engine to match for ages, but then the mechanic reconditioned the engine using spurious parts etc., and I got another 60k miles totally trouble free motor, for 1,300 euro. Thankfully I've only had impact with another car once, and the BM was so solid, just damage to the front wing and indicator. The other car was in bits, so I am very happy with how solid the BM is, it is really worth the tax and cost to run for the safety.

BTW lots of BMs you're looking for on Carzone. Just make sure you get a good mechanic to check it out before you buy. You may find you can afford a car from 03, people are shifting cars 10 years old. Good luck, safe driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

OP, why does it have to be a '00?

You could get a '00 for 3 grand that will give you hassle, where as you could pick up a '01 for 2 grand and have no trouble with it.

This is all hypothetical and as said before depends completely on the individual car. Service history would be key here and you may well want to look up some common problems these cars suffer.
    If possible seek help from someone that knows a bit about cars and try to get some sort of warranty

Me myself, id stay away.

By the way there is some tidy ones out there but people are looking for crazy money for them, up to 5/6 grand which isn't worth it for a 10 year old 3 series, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

JustLen wrote: »
    OP, why does it have to be a '00?

You could get a '00 for 3 grand that will give you hassle, where as you could pick up a '01 for 2 grand and have no trouble with it.

This is all hypothetical and as said before depends completely on the individual car. Service history would be key here and you may well want to look up some common problems these cars suffer.
    If possible seek help from someone that knows a bit about cars and try to get some sort of warranty

Me myself, id stay away.

By the way there is some tidy ones out there but people are looking for crazy money for them, up to 5/6 grand which isn't worth it for a 10 year old 3 series, IMO.

A 00 for 3 grand:eek: Where did you pull that price range from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

the below might be of interest to you op...

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=41307

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the below might be of interest to you op...

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=41307
    Ehhhh..... by the looks of it that's of interest to nobody
    conzy wrote: »

Says the lad driving a similar age 325i... You're not totally wrong though, but there's feck all difference because it's a diesel. The suspension would probably needed to have had an overhaul at that milage, and the first thing done should be replace the turbo breather filter. Apart from that, AFAIK the earlier pre-facelift 320d's didn't have the swirl flap issue, however the 00's might have. Only one way to check....

the muscles were very distracting..