Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorcheck.ie - €35 VERY well spent

• 27-06-2012 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

So I've been looking for a 520d auto, and spotted this beautiful looking car:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/520-D-SE/6613370060206540/advert?channel=CARS

Lovely car, was initially price at 24,900, but I was told on the phone they'd accept offers over 21k. But it was a bit suspicious that it hadn't been taxed for two years and had no service history. I did a bit of digging and the NCT cert said it was owned by ERAC Ireland, which turned out to be Enterprise Rent a Car.

Anyway, I checked it out on Motorcheck.ie and it turns out, there's a 'write-off condition alert' on the car.

So it really does pay to spend the 35 quid when you're considering a purchase, I'm glad I did. The dealer subsequently told me it was sold.

If anyone wants to see the Motorcheck report, PM me your email address and I'll send it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Bang up the reg there in case anyone is doing the googles on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 prometheus2012

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Bang up the reg there in case anyone is doing the googles on it.

08 D 51558

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

The dealer subsequently told me it was sold.

If it was a dealer is it permissible to name and shame him? This is disgraceful behaviour IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

But it was a bit suspicious that it hadn't been taxed for two years and had no service history.
    A bit? I'd have saved myself the €35. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

i love motorcheck too. last year went to have a look at a corolla diesel with 110k miles on it, motorcheck revealed it had over 200k on it the previous year.

similarly with a clio i viewed a few months ago at a dealership, 7 owner car in ireland since it was imported only a year or two ago, also had other issues too.

its always €35 well spend imo.

Anan1 wrote: »

Ha ha! The explanation for the two year gap was that it was stored in a warehouse because the company that owned it went into liquidation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

That car was sold yesterday.

Not to use an old cliché but this car really is in showroom condition.
    Its very clear (given mileage) that the car has been very well maintained.
    This car is a very genuine Irish BMW and comes with our preparation and standards which we have been applying since 1982 – some 30 years.

its as if he was going for a world record of how many times he could lie in one add.

does motorcheck tell you the nature of the damage?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm waiting until some poor unfortunate posts "I've just bought a lovely BMW 520D but....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Another dealer giving all dealers a bad rep.
    I see the proud SIMI logo is displayed in ad.

at the same time, if the car was advertised a few grand cheaper and the nature of the car was disclosed, who's to say its a bad car.

if it was repaired properly and the structure etc is ok then who's to say its a bad car? i know you will never know how a rent-a-car was driven but as i say if it was priced accordingly sure how bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

andyseadog wrote: »
    at the same time, if the car was advertised a few grand cheaper and the nature of the car was disclosed, who's to say its a bad car.

if it was repaired properly and the structure etc is ok then who's to say its a bad car? i know you will never know how a rent-a-car was driven but as i say if it was priced accordingly sure how bad?

Ehhmmm.... because it was written off?!

Written off cars should not be sold, especially when the seller is knowingly duping the buyer.

Vertakill wrote: »
    Ehhmmm.... because it was written off?!

Written off cars should not be sold, especially when the seller is knowingly duping the buyer.

"written off" is too broad a phrase.

sure i could finantially write off my 98 starlet if i get a fecking puncture :pac:, doesn't mean its a bad car if i fix the puncture. i understand it takes a lot more to finantially write off a nearly new 5 series but it doesn't mean if its been repaired to a good standard that it's a bad purchease neccessarily so long as its history is disclosed.

but as you say if it has been structurally written off then thats another story. hence why i asked did motorcheck give the nature of the "write off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Isn't this the dealer who published a book lately about clawing his way back in the recession?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

what is meant by the advertiser with: Dont be fooled by "porto type" sealers offering wonderfully low prices?

ian87 wrote: »
    what is meant by the advertiser with: Dont be fooled by "porto type" sealers offering wonderfully low prices?

gravel yard surrounded by a sharp fence with a potrocabin in the middle surrounded by cars, you know the ones :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭lostboy

Anan1 wrote: »

meh, could be many reasons for that, anyway well worth losing 35 quid to a motorcheck than losing 20k to a lemon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

That dealer is indeed the same guy that got up to his neck in debt and then wrote a book about it in order to win the sympathy and get us, the tax payer, to pay his debts. Good to see these same guys are able to quickly set back up again and continue to run scams:rolleyes:

http://www.politics.ie/forum/economy/177744-george-mordaunt-would-like-you-pay-his-debts.html

sure i could finantially write off my 98 starlet if i get a fecking puncture :pac:, doesn't mean its a bad car if i fix the puncture. i understand it takes a lot more to finantially write off a nearly new 5 series but it doesn't mean if its been repaired to a good standard that it's a bad purchease neccessarily so long as its history is disclosed.

but as you say if it has been structurally written off then thats another story. hence why i asked did motorcheck give the nature of the "write off"

1. The dealer told me he purchased it from a bank, possibly AIB, and it had been stored in a warehouse while a company was liquidated.

2. I asked him why the NCT cert was registered to ERAC Ireland. He said he believed that was the company that was liquidated. (It isn't, it's one of Enterprise's registered company names).

3. Motorcheck shows:
    Condition AlertYesCondition Alert DescriptionThe vehicle may have been damaged, flooded, stolen, used as a garda vehicle, or the subject of an insurance write-off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Yeah right.... One thing about paying a couple of hundred quid for a starlet and not knowing it was written off but if you paid 20 big ones for a bmw 520 then you would certainly like to know :eek:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

Another motorcheck saved me from big hassle car

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/3439202

I saw the car, above average condition but price is too good to be true and finance outstanding for it. Seller is buying and selling cars. I am not sure if he knows it or not.

shawnee wrote: »
    Yeah right.... One thing about paying a couple of hundred quid for a starlet and not knowing it was written off but if you paid 20 big ones for a bmw 520 then you would certainly like to know :eek:;)

as i say, "written off" doesn't neccessarily mean it was wraped around a tree or burnt to the ground.

as i say, if it wasn't structurally damaged and was repaired to a good standard, priced accordingly and its history disclosed, then why wouldn't you want to buy it. buy a 20k car the same way as a 2k car, on condition and inspection.

note : i don't agree with how the seller is trying to sell it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Diar

05 D 64129 AVOID the CAR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Diar

Does Motorcheck.ie give you the mileage at the time of the NCT? or How Does it work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

That dealer is indeed the same guy that got up to his neck in debt and then wrote a book about it in order to win the sympathy and get us, the tax payer, to pay his debts. Good to see these same guys are able to quickly set back up again and continue to run scams:rolleyes:

http://www.politics.ie/forum/economy/177744-george-mordaunt-would-like-you-pay-his-debts.html

This is the same lad who was offering helicopter trips to customers at the height of the boom.
    In Tipperary.
    From a Nissan dealership.

I'll give him a grade A for revisionism and bullsh1t, but he's no better than any of the rest of the gangsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

1. The dealer told me he purchased it from a bank, possibly AIB, and it had been stored in a warehouse while a company was liquidated.

2. I asked him why the NCT cert was registered to ERAC Ireland. He said he believed that was the company that was liquidated. (It isn't, it's one of Enterprise's registered company names).

3. Motorcheck shows:

So the motorcheck report showed nothing difinitive? Chances are the car had a claim, motorcheck is a pox imo, do your own leg work

Gary ITR wrote: »
    So the motorcheck report showed nothing difinitive? Chances are the car had a claim, motorcheck is a pox imo, do your own leg work

My own leg work (I checked out who ERAC were and the story didnt tally) would have involved bringing the car to CMC in Limerick for a checkover at a cost of €60. So I guess Motorcheck saved me that expense then, didn't they?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

My own leg work (I checked out who ERAC were and the story didnt tally) would have involved bringing the car to CMC in Limerick for a checkover at a cost of €60. So I guess Motorcheck saved me that expense then, didn't they?
    e car.

I phoned him about the car.

No mention of write off

No mention about 2 years parked up

No mention it was rental car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

e car.

I phoned him about the car.

No mention of write off

No mention about 2 years parked up

No mention it was rental car

And your surprised ? That garage doesn't have the good name it did when daddy Brian ran it. I know plenty of people who bought cars from him back in the day and his father was well respected. Unfortunately the same cant be said for the son.

But be careful what you say, he is on boards and is very handy with the solicitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/520-D-SE/6613370060206540/advert?channel=CARS

The advert has amateur touches. I normally wouldn't mind from a private seller but this guy is claiming to be a professional.

For example what is a 'sealer'? What has taking a swipe at the lower end of the market got to do with the car he's selling?

Is a 'very genuine' car better than a genuine one? What's the difference?

His whole website smacks of this rubbish.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

as i say, "written off" doesn't neccessarily mean it was wraped around a tree or burnt to the ground.

as i say, if it wasn't structurally damaged and was repaired to a good standard, priced accordingly and its history disclosed, then why wouldn't you want to buy it. buy a 20k car the same way as a 2k car, on condition and inspection.

note : i don't agree with how the seller is trying to sell it.

But why would you want a 2008 520d that was written off when you could buy one that wasn't?? It does take a bit to write off a car like that, you'd want to be seriously sh1t hot to be sure it was repaired 100% too.

Personally I wouldn't touch it.

Wouldn't be overly inclined to line the Mordaunt Group's pocket either.

Hard to reconcile " This car is a very genuine Irish BMW and comes with our preparation and standards which we have been applying since 1982 – some 30 years" with a write off regardless of how well it was repaired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭alias no.9

hoodie6029 wrote: »

The advert has amateur touches. I normally wouldn't mind from a private seller but this guy is claiming to be a professional.

For example what is a 'sealer'? What has taking a swipe at the lower end of the market got to do with the car he's selling?

You may also wonder if there was a market for second hand showrooms in clonmel, would he be trading from a showroom or a portakabin right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

This is why you check before you buy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

As an aside, why are so many cars on donedeal from Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Condi wrote: »

Not saying it to be a smartarse, just saying :)

I would also rather not know after purchase

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

hoodie6029 wrote: »

I read as far as POA and click the little X in the top right corner of my browser window.
    POA? PFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

3. Motorcheck shows:

so it could have been stolen and recovered with no damage at all?
    Clearly other evidences shows it probably a bit more dodgy than that but it doesn't mean it written off does it?