Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broadband in Roscommon Town

• 27-06-2012 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

What is the best broadband service available in town?

Trying to decide between Digiweb, Brisknet, Eircom and Vodafone. Is there anyone I should stay away from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

None of them are much good to be honest, eircom is about the best . The sticks don't really pick up a single so stay away from the mobile ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Sido

Yer man Dominick Connolly (he's the guy who was almost mayor) (he's a councillor) does Brisknet or whatever. He did a survey for me, that was very thorough. And said it would not work form me.
    I use a Three Dongle that cost around €19 a month - I got it from Car Phone warehouse (next to Aldi) I have had problems with it but it is the only thinbg that seems to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I tried Vodafone dongle and found it useless even though Vodafone coverage is good in the house.

On Brisknet now, find it brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Sido

As for Roscommon Toms suggestion of Eircom - forget it. They are after banning their users from downloading stuff, or banning them and that kind of thing. Not only are they insolvent they also see themselves as acting in some sort of "big brother/pig" type role. - These people need to be boycotted for the good of society in general!

Actually now that i think of it, the mast for Brisknet is on top of the Hyde so that should be deadly for Roscommon town.

I meant the speed sido, can't say I do any of the downloading so the eircom is best for me. I haven't used brisknet though so might be good, I used the vodafone and o2 sticks and they were next to useless, just no speed to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Sido wrote: »
    As for Roscommon Toms suggestion of Eircom - forget it. They are after banning their users from downloading stuff, or banning them and that kind of thing. Not only are they insolvent they also see themselves as acting in some sort of "big brother/pig" type role. - These people need to be boycotted for the good of society in general!

Sorry, bit of a generalisation there that contains lots of untruths.
    1. First off, Eircom do not monitor anyone. Third parties monitor those connected to a public torrent and Eircom have agreed to give those caught three strikes. They do this to save money by avoiding court cases. It costs a lot of money to continuously defend yourself in court against the music and media mafia who have very deep pockets and keep trying until they get somewhere. It's impossible to win against them, it's their main income source at the moment.
    2. They do not give out anyone's identity, they give three strikes but have stated that so far nobody has been disconnected.
    3. There are numerous other ways of downloading that don't leave your public IP address visible for everyone to see like torrents do. For this reason any fool that uses public torrents for music and film deserves what's coming to them. Google is your friend.
    4. Eircom block one single site, thepiratebay, it takes a second to get around. Thepiratebay torrents still work, they don't block the tracker. Again, Google will give you instructions in seconds, hardly an effective block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭risenbass

Eircom tends to cut out far too often for my liking. When it is working its good and fast but then there are times when it just cuts out and it takes 5min to load a page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

risenbass wrote: »
    Eircom tends to cut out far too often for my liking. When it is working its good and fast but then there are times when it just cuts out and it takes 5min to load a page.

You sure that's not specific to your own line? What are your line stats, login on 192.168.1.254 and find your Dsl statistics and post them here. Also make sure your modem is plugged into the main Eircom socket and not any other in the house. Also make sure that there's a filter on every single device connected, Sky boxes, phones, fax etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭risenbass

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    You sure that's not specific to your own line? What are your line stats, login on 192.168.1.254 and find your Dsl statistics and post them here. Also make sure your modem is plugged into the main Eircom socket and not any other in the house. Also make sure that there's a filter on every single device connected, Sky boxes, phones, fax etc.

TBH its my parents house and I live in Dublin. When I'm home I'll try some of these suggestions. Although I already have it plugged into the main Eircom socket.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

I found Eircom to be pretty bad too. Internet cut off numerous times per day, it was ridiculously frustrating! Rang them up countless times and they weren't very helpful in sorting it out either. Moved away since and have used Vodafone and then UPC - vodafone was decent but every now and again would cut off, UPC has been amazingly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

I use Meteor broadband with a decent 3G router. Get pretty decent speeds, at least 10x of what I got with Three. If your lucky enough to get decent coverage it might be good for you. You'll have to source a decent 3G router yourself though :)

Three has good coverage, but their speeds are horrible. Their the 2nd slowest broadband provider in Ireland.

Id stay away from Eircom, their broadband that's meant to be a stable DSL is slower than mobile broadband. Extremely unreliable.

From the times I've used in friends houses and gathered reviews Vodafone and their BT lines are excellent. Its expensive but heard no complaints.

Strange that Ye ate having troubles with the eircom, I have no problems. I find it very quick even for watching videos, I find the 3 g sticks useless but I suppose I also fnd mobile reception around ross town very bad too when compared to when I go to galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Strange that Ye ate having troubles with the eircom, I have no problems. I find it very quick even for watching videos, I find the 3 g sticks useless but I suppose I also fnd mobile reception around ross town very bad too when compared to when I go to galway.

Well I get around 3 bars of 3G coverage at the front of the house with Meteor and get speeds faster than what we had with Eircom or Three.

Sometimes it used to be fine. Sometimes in the evening it would get so slow. I get around 3-5mb download speeds during the day, around 7-10mb during the night anyway which is faster than Eircom basic broadband anyway.

Id love to be able to get UPC. Had them for three years in college and they were the best broadband provider id ever tried in price and performance. Too bad you can only get dish TV from them in Roscommon. Hopefully they will expand here eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

Rasheed wrote: »
    I tried Vodafone dongle and found it useless even though Vodafone coverage is good in the house.

On Brisknet now, find it brilliant.

Hi Rasheed, Are you limited to 1mb or 2mb, my neighbour got it here when they started out and they are not limited its more like 9mb. Was wondering it it still that way?

paddyp wrote: »
    Hi Rasheed, Are you limited to 1mb or 2mb, my neighbour got it here when they started out and they are not limited its more like 9mb. Was wondering it it still that way?

Howya Paddy, I've got the 2mb. I find it great personally!