Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sol Magee

• 26-06-2012 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Does anyone remember this buck from primary school, he was the wisest homeless man of all time. Myself and the lads are trying to remember some of his stories but we cant remember any..Please share you're Sol Magee stories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

he was a legend.

whoever he was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

he was a tramp or something, wasn't he? yeah i remember him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

never heard of him.
    you're making this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Hi wife, Touch Magee, was a dirty aul bit*h, every time you asked her her name she wanted a fingerin', weird lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

AH->Retro

He was a character from a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭daithimacgroin

didnt sol mcgee play for galway united

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I remeber one where he stopped by a farm where a farmer had been robbed by one of his staff and Sol helped him find out who stole it by saying "The thief that holds this rooster will make him crow" or something like that. (it was a loada bollox anyway.) and he found out who the thief was because the thief was too guilty to hold the chicken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Biffo90

The fictional character Sol Magee, knew him well

He was a legend of a man, I remember the drawings in the book painted him out to look a bit like Zach Dingle from Emerdale anyway I remember one story where he I dunno how now, but he ran into this miserable fella and his friends one night and they made a bet with them that if he could stay outside in a field all night that they would cook him dinner but if he lost the bet, he would have to cook them dinner. Anyway he stayed out in the field freezin his balls off the whole night and promptly went back to the house the next day. The fella answered the door and questioned him sayin was it cold could you see? and sol said he could see a candle in the window a the house, and then the miserable prick says ah sher that candle kept you warm so, you forfeit the bet now you have to cook me and me friends a meal.
    Now Sol being the decent honorable chap that he was said grand il cook ya yer meal, and he sent the lads away to get the groceries. Anyway the lads came back with the supplies all lookin well yano, dressed up for the free meal and what not, and gave them to sol in the kitchen. Sol started to cook away and the lads were havin the banter out in the dining room. after a while the lads were getting hungry so the head prick went and called sol and says "wheres the food" sol says "its cookin away howld on" so the lads went back and started havin the crack again. more time elapsed, no sign a the dinner, lads gettin hungry called sol, same story tis cookin away, grand.
    third time round now, few hours passed, poor lads ****in starvin at this stage, so the head prick goes in ta the kitchen bull thick by, and i remember there was a sketch a the fella shakin and holdin his stomach with the hunger, and sol in the kitchen eatin an apple, and he seen the dinner cookin away in a big pot (musta bin abita stew or sumtin) WITH A CANDLE UNDERNEATH THE POT!!!!!!
    and yer man (the prick) nearly broke down when he seen it. he starts givin out to soll, whats all this?, what a ya at? why a usin a candle?. Sol took of his hat, with a grin apperaing on his face and said "If a candle in a window across the field can keep me warm through the night surley it can cook a dinner".

I think it ended there cant remember after that..

Strange its the only Sol Magee story i can remeber, tryin to recall one about stone soup but i dont know if its the same chap or a different character alltogether..

Hon Soll Magee!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I remember stone soup, not sure if it was a Sol Magee story now,
    but what happened was this misering family take this hobo in on
    the premise that he can cook the tastiest soup in the world using
    only a stone and water. As he's cookin it he says mmmm mmmmm,
    oh this is lovely, but do you know what would make it even better
    ...Onions....

He does the same thing a few more times for different ingredients
    Carrots, potatoes etc. and then serves it up and everyone thinks its
    great.

The lesson is, Don't take hobos into your house or they'll