Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New holland TL100

• 24-06-2012 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭

The uncle has been thinking of getting a new tractor for a while but isn't sure what kind or how much to spend, there isn't a huge amount of value for s/h tractors about.

Anyway he has been looking around and has his eye on getting a newholland tl100 4wd and loader. He likes the TS's as well but reckons the left hand shuttle on the TL is better then the right hand shuttle on the TS's.

What kinda money would he be looking at for ten year old TL 100? And what should he be looking for with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

grazeaway wrote: »
    The uncle has been thinking of getting a new tractor for a while but isn't sure what kind or how much to spend, there isn't a huge amount of value for s/h tractors about.

Anyway he has been looking around and has his eye on getting a newholland tl100 4wd and loader. He likes the TS's as well but reckons the left hand shuttle on the TL is better then the right hand shuttle on the TS's.

What kinda money would he be looking at for ten year old TL 100? And what should he be looking for with them?

i see my old 02tl 90 with tanco t100 loader is going for 20+vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

the ts comes with left hand shuttle as well, i think its anything after 2000 has it, i know of a 2001 ts 110 with chilton mx100 loader going for 17k stg + vat, but with the southern vat number there wouldnt have to be any vat pay'd, 6500 odd hours and in good nick,
    there's a fair difference in the two size ways and if the yard is tight the tl would be better but the ts would grip a lot better, tl are a great pulling tractor but just dont have the grip of the ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

stanflt wrote: »

I wasn't far off before ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

stanflt wrote: »

out of interest, what did you pay for it on day 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

so about 20K for a 01 seems to be the ball park, that's probably as much as he is willing to spend. but compared to some of the prices he has been quoted seems good. he was quoted 12-14k for 1990 7610's. and extra 6k for a tractor 10 years younger looks like a good deal.

as for the TS/TL decision it'll mostly be stockman work, and a bit of ploughing and harrowing. The TS's are a bigger yoke but he reckons the TL will bit better in and around the yard.

how is the shuttle on them, one dealer told him to use the clutch all the time while another reckoned he should use it with heavy loading/speeds/revs but wouldn't need to for loader work at low speed and low-ish revs?

also is there a case equivalent or did they come later, saw a C100 passing a place over the weekend cant remember if it was a CS or CX but it looked like a TL in case colours.

reilig wrote: »
    out of interest, what did you pay for it on day 1?

26 incl vat 5years ago- will have to pay tax on it:eek:

so about 20K for a 01 seems to be the ball park, that's probably as much as he is willing to spend. but compared to some of the prices he has been quoted seems good. he was quoted 12-14k for 1990 7610's. and extra 6k for a tractor 10 years younger looks like a good deal.

as for the TS/TL decision it'll mostly be stockman work, and a bit of ploughing and harrowing. The TS's are a bigger yoke but he reckons the TL will bit better in and around the yard.

how is the shuttle on them, one dealer told him to use the clutch all the time while another reckoned he should use it with heavy loading/speeds/revs but wouldn't need to for loader work at low speed and low-ish revs?

also is there a case equivalent or did they come later, saw a C100 passing a place over the weekend cant remember if it was a CS or CX but it looked like a TL in case colours.

make sure you buy one with an electric shuttle

do the manual shuttles come with a wet clutch too? or are they the same and the 7635's?

Has anyone any experience of mchughs in Galway? They always seem to have ads for Tl100's and 7635's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

do the manual shuttles come with a wet clutch too? or are they the same and the 7635's?

All of the mechanical versions(l/h forward reverse lever beside the seat) have a dry clutch,you will be replacing the clutch every 2 Years at best,its a double clutch with a separate Pto disc and its an expensive job.The electric shuttle version is almost trouble free but most available here will be 02,nobody will be selling a decent 01 TL90 with a loader for 20 grand though,this McHugh guy will educate you on the second hand value of these things if you give him a call,hes probably getting 20k for 97/98 35 series with loaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭THE LINK WALSH

Id use the clutch on an electric shuttle TL to avoid having to calibrate it every Week,it will get very rough quickly if yer knocking into f/r every two minutes without clutching.

You will buy a Case CX100 cheap enough but dont bother if yer looking for a reliable machine,terrible gear linkages,troublesome engines and gearboxes,expensive parts no relation whatsoever of the NH TL series but a close relative of the McCormick CX range.Case's first NH TL type model was the JXU in 2005,a Case CS94 is a Steyr and would be a much more reliable heavy duty machine with decent build quality but these werent available with a power shuttle as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

As the last poster said you will struggle to get one for €20k unless it has high hours and/or direct sale.

For example, last year we went to look at a 1998 NH 6635 complete with Trima loader and that was €24k inc VAT.

I still think they are a great zippy tractor and ideal for stock work or lighter tillage work and probably will look at one in a few years time to replace a few older 3 cylinder Ford's unless current system changes radically.

The dry clutch would not bother me as the clutch shouldn't be used as a foot rest and after all they should last at least 2000 if not 3000 hours of work - look at all the loader work that was done with Ford 6610's/DB 1490's/Case 885's - no different in my view.

It's a pity they are so expensive. Had looked at getting a 6635 myself a few years ago. Saw a 97 one for 17k about 5 years ago, mad to think it's gone up in price since then.

As for the clutch, it won't be dogged don't think you could change direction without using the pedal on the mechanical gearbox s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Id use the clutch on an electric shuttle TL to avoid having to calibrate it every Week,it will get very rough quickly if yer knocking into f/r every two minutes without clutching.

first day out in tl100 with electric shuttle and think she seems to do better without using the clutch but think you have to take it out of one direction,stop the tractor and then engage the opposite,but am open to correction.whats involved in calibrating

So how is working for you one day down? What were working it on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

So how is working for you one day down? What were working it on?
    big difference to tl80 in the power department,even though she is the same size.and the electric shuttle is nice even though i didnt think the mechanical shuttle that bad either and i only did the clutch after 5 years because i didnt want it to go bucking up the silage .where as the 80 was at her best doing stuff she seems to be at ease.forgot to say mowing,raking and putting up 11 arces of grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

those kubotas dont look a bad machine lads, but i see a couple with small hours on dd, wonder were lads not happy with them. What do ye think of the TM 150? 170?