Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Atheist Blogger Decides to Become Catholic

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

The church of atheism better get onto that one, quickly.

Maybe censor her.

I mean, ultimately, it's just wrong for someone to speak against them like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Whatever about finding religion, it happens. Seriously though, Catholicism?

Could she not have found something with a bit more credibility?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Yeah, the only surprise I had was that she'd chosen Catholicism as well. Seriously, the Dane Cook of religions?

Still, overall meh from me. As long as she's not trying to influence national policies with her newfound belief, I don't see how this is terribly important.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Thread title changed from the bizarre:
    Many atheists do not believe atheist teachings
    To the current, more representative title:
    Atheist Blogger Decides to Become Catholic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Nice title edit there OP. The singular usage is much more accurate and honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Anna Nicole

Blowfish wrote: »
    Whatever about finding religion, it happens. Seriously though, Catholicism?

Could she not have found something with a bit more credibility?

She's obviously an astute and intelligent lady,why shouldn't she convert to Catholicism. Just because you don't agree with it, doesn't make it wrong.

Also, in next week's news:

"Catholic Blogger Discovers She's Actually Protestant".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭oldrnwisr

She's obviously an astute and intelligent lady,why shouldn't she convert to Catholicism. Just because you don't agree with it, doesn't make it wrong.

No the fact that it lacks any truth or evidence makes it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,724 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Just because you agree with it, doesn't make it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭georgieporgy

Dades wrote: »
    Thread title changed from the bizarre:

To the current, more representative title:

I'll allow that Dades, seeing as I have to, but I thought it contrasted nicely with another thread title.

If we're looking for plural content I would need about 2 minutes to add a long list of names.

I never said Catholicism was the only religion to follow.

The woman found something she liked/agreed with in Catholicism so why not convert?

I never made a laugh of anybody else's beliefs so please don't make a laugh of mine.

I never made a laugh of anybody else's beliefs so

?
    what has that got to do with anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't read atheist blogs, but from reading through the linked articles and some of the other bits, I get the impression that she considers philosophy and other metaphysical studies to be capable of providing an insight into reality, rather than them simply being intellectual masturbation.

That would indicate to me that religion suits her worldview better because it confirms what she wants to believe.

The church of atheism better get onto that one, quickly.

Maybe censor her.

I mean, ultimately, it's just wrong for someone to speak against them like that.

I like that comment. Good to see some humour instead of, well, see above...

Seriously though, has anybody read what she has to say for herself? Or are we all juveniles here?

We've read it.

We still think it's a non-event. And seriously: Catholicism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,724 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'll allow that Dades, seeing as I have to, but I thought it contrasted nicely with another thread title.

But the problem there is:

a) "Many atheists" =/= One atheist blogger
    b) "do not believe" - Atheists don't believe in a god. That's the only common factor. Catholicism however, teaches many different aspects of the religion.
    c) "atheist teachings" do not exist. There are no atheist teachings. There are Catholic teachings. Most of what atheists generally believe pertains to scientific teachings, which are not exclusive to atheism.

You would have been more accurate calling this thread "Ongoing Atheistic Scandals"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The woman found something she liked/agreed with in Catholicism so why not convert?

I never made a laugh of anybody else's beliefs so please don't make a laugh of mine.

Nobody is laughing at your beliefs.

People are saying what you believe has absolutely NO proof to back up the claims. But nobody is laughing!

bluewolf wrote: »
    ?
    what has that got to do with anything

Before everyone starts going on how wrong the catholic church is

Seriously though, has anybody read what she has to say for herself? Or are we all juveniles here?

she doesn't have anything to say
    i decided to become catholic
    still figuring it out
    stay tuned
    the end

?
    I believed that the Moral Law wasn’t just a Platonic truth, abstract and distant. It turns out I actually believed it was some kind of Person, as well as Truth. And there was one religion that seemed like the most promising way to reach back to that living Truth.
    "i like this one!"
    *shrug*
    good luck to her with transubstantiation

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Nobody is laughing at your beliefs.

People are saying what you believe has absolutely NO proof to back up the claims. But nobody is laughing!

Fair enough. What's your proof that what I believe in is rubbish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Shock horror, someone converts to a different form of belief.

Happens across the world all the time. Why exactly should we care about this one?

I never said I had proof of what you believe is rubbish.

I said that others have said that you have no proof as to what you believe is true, if what you believe is the Catholic doctrine of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You'll never be able to have real power in the church because you weren't born a man. I'd say thats a good place to start.

Just in case nobody explained this to you before, allow me.

You, or more correctly your religion makes claims including but not limited to the existence of a god, magic, an afterlife, demonic entities and so on.

Since you are on the side of those making the claims the burden of proof rests with you to show that these claims have merit or supporting evidence.

In short, where's your proof that what you believe isn't rubbish?

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Shock horror, someone converts to a different form of belief.

Happens across the world all the time. Why exactly should we care about this one?

IMO it's interesting because, normally if someone converts from one diety centered belief system to another, they are evidentally already the type of person susceptable to believing in this kind of belief system.

For an Athiest to then convert to Catholocism is a little different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

A brief list.

1) "Kill your son to prove you love me. jklol"
    2) "I am a loving God" - Kills the innocent first born son of every Egyptian
    3) "I have made you all in my image, and you are all equal.... except the gheys"
    4) "Here's a flood that will wipe out the world, but uh, for some reason only like 500 people tops will be affected by it. Oh and this guy will live to be a few hundred years old, but uh, no-one will know."
    5) "My son will die for your sins, but for some reason you'll still all be naturally full of sin."

5 fun points of wonderful contradictions.
    That and if the Bible is the 'Word of 'God', then why has it been altered and aspects changed with time.

On a scale of 1-10 rubbish and crazy, it's right up there with Scientology.

oldrnwisr wrote: »
    Just in case nobody explained this to you before, allow me.

You, or more correctly your religion makes claims including but not limited to the existence of a god, magic, an afterlife, demonic entities and so on.

Since you are on the side of those making the claims the burden of proof rests with you to show that these claims have merit or supporting evidence.

In short, where's your proof that what you believe isn't rubbish?

I have no proof. I don't need proof and never will. Through every difficult patch in my life, I have prayed and have found solace and peace. My religion has helped me through sickness and desperation. Its not perfect, there are parts of Catholicism I don't agree with but I have never doubted that God doesn't exist or that there isn't a heaven and hell. I'm not mental holy but when I need my religion it's there and has helped me.

I have no proof.

Good!

Bye now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

I have no proof. I don't need proof and never will. Through every difficult patch in my life, I have prayed and have found solace and peace. My religion has helped me through sickness and desperation. Its not perfect, there are parts of Catholicism I don't agree with but I have never doubted that God doesn't exist or that there isn't a heaven and hell. I'm not mental holy but when I need my religion it's there and has helped me.

Ever consider that maybe it was the sort of meditative effect that the praying causes that allowed you to feel "solace and peace"?

Also, yes I'm sure religion helped you through sickness and not science.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

wow, link bait, it's like being back in the 90's

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Good!

Bye now!

68 medical miracles, completely inexplicable by French medical board, that occurred in Lourdes.

Don't worry lads, il pray for ye all :D

If we're looking for plural content I would need about 2 minutes to add a long list of names.
    There are no atheist teachings so the comparison is non-existent. I could have put a snarky title but instead I put the most neutral and most fitting one I could think of.

There's no harm in a bit of mirth - but if I had to put my serious hat on - what seamus said:
    seamus wrote: »
    I don't read atheist blogs, but from reading through the linked articles and some of the other bits, I get the impression that she considers philosophy and other metaphysical studies to be capable of providing an insight into reality, rather than them simply being intellectual masturbation.

That would indicate to me that religion suits her worldview better because it confirms what she wants to believe.
    Seems like she was seeking somewhere to lay her hat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

68 medical miracles, completely inexplicable by French medical board, that occurred in Lourdes.

how many million went to lourdes and died a tragic death there or shortly after?

is lourdes killing people? :eek::eek::eek:

OK, fair enough. I understand that your faith provides you with a degree of comfort and solace. However, faith is not a means to know something. I don't know about anyone else in A&A but for me it matters what is actually true. As Richard Feynman once said: "I'd rather live my life not knowing than have answers which might be wrong." I'm happy to state what I know and can show to be true and say I don't know to the rest.

In the end, you are entitled to your beliefs and to believe in them on faith alone but similarly other people are entitled to call them out for the falsehoods that they are.

shizz wrote: »
    Also, yes I'm sure religion helped you through sickness and not science.

601273_311983555561104_31443704_n.jpg

68 out of how many hundreds of thousands of sick people that visited Lourdes?

Probability states that some people out of that many will actually get better.

Lourdes killing people? I'd imagine so. There's a lot of unhygienic bathing going on with old people. And in the summer Lourdes gets damned hot. Not a good place for an old person to be standing around for hours and fasting.

If there was any miracle at Lourdes, it was the ice cream available outside. That stuff was heavenly.

Sarky wrote: »
    Lourdes killing people? I'd imagine so. There's a lot of unhygienic bathing going on with old people. And in the summer Lourdes gets damned hot. Not a good place for an old person to be standing around for hours and fasting.

I'd say that mary statue or whatever rock those people kiss is probably the most diseased thing in the world.

GREAT SCOTT!!!!!!

I'm sold! Sign me up! When's the next Sabbath?

Dades wrote: »
    There are no atheist teachings so the comparison is non-existent. I could have put a snarky title but instead I put the most neutral and most fitting one I could think of.

There's no harm in a bit of mirth - but if I had to put my serious hat on - what seamus said:

Seems like she was seeking somewhere to lay her hat.

OK then, here's some more idiots
    http://whyimcatholic.com/index.php/conversion-stories/atheist-converts

Why would you call them idiots? That's pretty base of you tbh.

HOLY MOLY!!!

Sarky wrote: »
    Why would you call them idiots? That's pretty base of you tbh.

sorry. I was playing with the English language. should have said "idiots"

Urk - does this thread have to turn into the prove/disprove Anna Nicole's religion (complete with barmy miracle references?)

Way to kill a potentially interesting discussion of an odd "conversion".

OK, two things.

First of all, that's 68 miracles since the Lourdes Medical Bureau started which was in 1883. Lourdes sees about 5,000,000 visitors every year at current rates. Even allowing for an exponential increase in visitor numbers let's say that that's 100,000,000 visitors in the period we're talking about. So the miracle rate is 68/100,000,000 or 0.000068%. The rate of spontaneous remission of cancer is usually no lower than 1 in 100,000. It's all just a texas sharpshooter fallacy tbh.

Secondly, 68 cases of medical cures have been ruled to be unexplained. That's it. Unexplained. Just because we don't know how something happened doesn't mean you can claim that you do know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

georgieporgy - you're treading a thin line between interesting and trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I'm sure you'll probably find many atheists that have converted to Islam, Hinduism, Scientology and even Jedi.... What does a random atheist converting to Catholicism prove exactly?

sorry. I was playing with the English language. should have said "idiots"

It's not me you should be apologising to. You should be apologising to the people on this list.

OK, and here's a list of converts from Roman Catholicism to no religion:
    Wikipedia wrote:

I'm sure that we can continue to put lists like this up all day long but what's your point?