Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anton Savage Thread

• 18-06-2012 12:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭

I know he has a show on a sunday morning which has been covered here before to a degree but the guy is always on the radio as a guest presenter, expert etc.

TBH he wrecks my head, I'm of the opinion he only got the job and all the other work, based on family connections and is in fact, the smarmiest least talented objectionable piece of overhyped ****e, in the stinking cess pit that is the Irish media scene.

Anyone here care to object? Opinions? Sorry if this seems a bit strong but i woke up to the guy covering on the Ray Darcy show this morning. I didn't want him to ruin my lie so it was 45 mins before i got up to switch off. 45 mins of decent lie in i'll never get back.....

Anton Savage thread 74 votes

Awful
    0% 0 votes
    The Golden Boy of Irish Radio
    51% 38 votes
    Meh
    48% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,619 ✭✭✭Heroditas

He's boring and terribly dull.
    A plank of wood would have done a better job on "The Apprentice - You're Fired"

I seem to remember he was commentating on something in the meeja a while back (he had been asked on as a guest to give his analysis on something) and he was so far off with what he was claiming that I have found it very difficult to take him seriously since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Kdoc1

He looks remarkably like (well, a smaller version of) the American motivational guru, Tony Robbins. The type of guys who tell anyone that's willing to pay them, that they can be anything and achieve anything that they want. And it's simply not true. I think at this stage people can see through the flashing teeth, well coiffured hair, management-speak and well-cut suits - intelligent people want more substance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

He can be funny, obviously knows how to work the dials and buttons in a studio and can adapt to the tone of the different shows easily enough (Ray D'Arcy Show, The Last Word, Savage Sunday) and he's more often than not quite knowledgable on the subject at hand. Can totally understand why Today FM utilise as much as they do.

In the interest of balance, I will say I thought he veered from 'not great' to 'bad' at his TV job, and the links to the Kate Fitzgerald story (which has been done on Boards) seem unsavoury. I think he's good as a radio broadcaster and enjoy when he fills in for someone as a breath of fresh air as I would hardly ever listen to the radio on Sunday anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Kdoc1 wrote: »
    He looks remarkably like (well, a smaller version of) the American motivational guru, Tony Robbins.

haha.. it's just the sparkly teeth..

I think he's an okay presenter, but again I would be annoyed with the nepotism involved in him getting in to these positions.. I find both of his parents nauseating..

I was wondering about this show actually, couldnt find it on the podcasts.. I usually enjoy working on a sunday while listening to the three morning shows..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭boo3000

I know a lot on Anton has been covered on different threads as he shows up feckin everywhere, but i'm trying to consolidate it all here.

What exactly is the relationship between him and Denis O'Brien?

Also, I know i've nailed my colours to the mast on what i think of him as a presenter but has anyone else noticed how terrible he is with something lighthearted? I've heard him once or twice lately with comedians on and it's just the most creepy forced laughter imaginable. I can just picture a comedian with him awkwardly thinking, i'm not actually that funny and now i'm trapped in a small room with this soulless beelzebub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Beelzebub eh? Seems rather OTT. I don't normally reply to this type of thread (personal discussion of a celebrity) but, on this occasion, fukcit, I'll bite.
    I like the guy. Any time I hear him on the radio he seems to be well-briefed about the topic he's discussing and can explain things in a coherent way. I haven't seen much of him on telly but any time I have seen him I thought he did a good job. Lets put it this way: Craig Doyle, he ain't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭boo3000

Well i had meant Beelzebub because of his weird laugh thing, but now that you mention it......

I thought i saw an article in the Irish Times a few years back that said Denis O'Brien is his godfather, did i imagine that, is there a family connection?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anton Savage is so dull, has he ever said anything interesting? Does he have an opinion? Or is he just a mouth for hire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭tomtherobot

A prime example of how incestous and murky the Irish mee-ja scene is. He is absolutely dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I enjoy his motoring slot on The Last Word, and the odd time when he fills in for MC. I don't get to listen to his weekend program, but I think he's grand (in small doses). I don't doubt for one second that his having Prone and Tom Savage for parents helped him immensely, but I he seems to be reasonably informed when it comes to motoring segments.

I got a sense of déjà vu when I re-read my post. I was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Savage is exceptionally articulate and very well read on a variety of subjects, he seems rarely to be stuck for words. My main criticism however would be his pace, he speaks far too quickly, its clear he's an intelligent chap and is obviously able to think and articulate a breakneck speed but it doesnt necessarily make for goood listening all the time.

Yakuza wrote: »
    I enjoy his motoring slot on The Last Word, and the odd time when he fills in for MC. I don't get to listen to his weekend program, but I think he's grand (in small doses). I don't doubt for one second that his having Prone and Tom Savage for parents helped him immensely, but I he seems to be reasonably informed when it comes to motoring segments.

Bar when he said that making having headlights on in cars all day long would increase fuel consumption by 10%.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

boo3000 wrote: »
    Anton Savage Thread

Kate Fitzgerald, ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam dílis.

Kate Fitzgerald 1986-2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

He likes cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Anton is a great presenter. Super smart and very fair with his questioning.

Although - What the hell were Brian Ormond & Pippa doing on Savage Sunday a few weeks ago ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭tomtherobot

And while we're on the Kate Fitzgerald story

http://www.change.org/petitions/the-irish-times-appropriate-redress-of-the-kate-fitzgerald-issue

Also I can't help but notice some of the pro-savage comments here seem rather suspicious. Like the work of a communication clinic of some sort....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Sorry for the bump.

On his show today there is a kinda jazz song that plays behind a sound bite for show the show. Anyone know the name?

Plays around 34 minute mark of part two I think. Around 11.30am

Heard it in a shop in the Netherlands and its been buggin me ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jayzee

He's ok - not as smart as he thinks he is, and someone definitely turned the smarm factor up to 11, but if he really wants to work in current affairs radio and was willing to work on his knowledge gaps then I thnk he could be very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,316 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

jayzee wrote: »
    He's ok - not as smart as he thinks he is,

Yeah he's just introduced 'Robert Baer' who he's clearly never heard of, almost as bad on a current affairs programme as a chat show host being unfamiliar with 'Jerry Seinfield'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Anything else aside, he's probably the only person in the Irish media that is asked to speak about cars/motoring that is actually knowledgeable about cars/motoring. All of the others just waffle on about low tax, whereas Savage actually knows and loves cars.

jayzee wrote: »
    He's ok - not as smart as he thinks he is, and someone definitely turned the smarm factor up to 11, but if he really wants to work in current affairs radio and was willing to work on his knowledge gaps then I thnk he could be very good.

I'd disagree on the smarm thing tbf, he is mostly very self-deprecating, particularly when filling for Ray D'Arcy. He can also talk quite fast which isn't a smarmy trait I would have thought. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

He's ok filling in for Matt Cooper.
    He certainly has a better voice than "howya bai" Cooper.

His motoring slot is good but too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

Is he not going to be on TV 3 in the autumn doing some news stuff ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Anton is starting on Ireland AM from 7am doing a news review thing, I hear.

His 'Star' is shining very very bright !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i cant stand him TBH.

He's emblematic of everthing thats wrong with irish media IMO. A cynically manufactured creation to push the interests of his employer.

ya'd know he's his mothers son.

i tend to stream the sunday shows when the weekday radio is crap and his is ALWAYS the last as i literally can feel my skin crawl at even the notion of his theme tune starting.

few are those that cause such a reaction in me , fionn davenport up there too, but there ya go. if he and his are the future of boadcasting we'll waltze RIGHT into the next financial crisis uncommentated upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

I did enjoy listening when he covered for cooper the odd time but he seems to be everywhere now. He is a very intelligent and articulate guy but listening to him regularly one is reminded of the obnoxious school room know it all. His delivery grates with me in particular because he refuses to slow down. As an aside I'm also quite uncomfortable with the ever increasing pervasiveness of Savages mothers company , The Communications Clinic. Terry Prone has morphed into the social commentator of choice having been lazily annointed the go to voice of conscience by rte , newstalk and today not including her regular missives in the printed media. She's a poor mans Olivia O leary and should stick to the day job like her son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Radio5

Sure this is Ireland, where would we be without another media monopoly?

Surprised TV3 didn't try to get Grainne Seoige back if they are increasing news on their morning show. She's hardly staying with RTE for the joys of 2 "Up for the match "programmes per annum and that awful crime watch thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

who is he connected to?
    turn over when i hear him on,thinks he knows everything about cars too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

His mother is Terry Prone and his father is Tom Savage, chair of rte. He's MD of the Communications Clinic. I'm not a fan and as for his knowledge of cars, I've heard Geraldine Herbert catch him out more than once.

I just don't get his new gig in TV3 either but then again they also gave a show to Lucy Kennedy - sigh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I like Anton filling for Ray Darcy, and I enjoy his show on Sundays.

I will admit that the Kate Fitzgerald thing did taint my view of him, but I think he's funny, and I think he take correction of what he doesn't know well. He seems to genuinely research what he's talking about and can question people on most topics.

It's a pity for him that his parents are so high profile and in as much as I know nepotism is rampant in Ireland, if he was completely clueless he'd not be on Today FM (IMO)

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I like Anton filling for Ray Darcy, and I enjoy his show on Sundays.

I will admit that the Kate Fitzgerald thing did taint my view of him, but I think he's funny, and I think he take correction of what he doesn't know well. He seems to genuinely research what he's talking about and can question people on most topics.

It's a pity for him that his parents are so high profile and in as much as I know nepotism is rampant in Ireland, if he was completely clueless he'd not be on Today FM (IMO)

I agree. I had no idea who his parents were, still don't really, why would I care. I enjoy him presenting radio shows, but like yourself, the Kate Fitzgerald story did sour my overall opinion of the man. I would hope that he was just ignorant of things like depression, like Kate alluded to in her letter to the IT rather than malicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

I have absolutely no interest in listening to his radio show. The conflict of interest between him being MD of the Communications Clinic and him presenting a currant affairs programme is just too obvious. Savage interviewing politicians that his own firm media trained is just comical.

Radio5 wrote: »
    She's hardly staying with RTE for the joys of 2 "Up for the match "programmes per annum and that awful crime watch thing.

She'll stay there if she's picking up a nice wedge of cash to present that dross.