Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Roche GP 20th June 2012

• 15-06-2012 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

Orwell Wheelers are running the Stephen Roche GP next Wednesday 20th June. This annual event is Ireland's premiere criterium and is run on the 1.3km circuit around estate in which the Roche family grew up in Ballinteer.

The challenging, spectator friendly circuit invariably produces great racing action for the crowd lining the circuit and congregated in the central green area.

The senior race is open to A1/A2/A3 racers. Unfortuantely due to time constraints we are unable to run a separate A4 race.

Youth races will start at 7pm, with the senior race starting at 7:45.

Sign on is in Ballinteer Community School between 6:15 and 7:15.

This year is the 25th anniversary of Stephen Roche's memorable triple crown and to commemorate, there will be 3 very generous primes during the race.

Hope to see you there, either racing, supporting or spectating!

Full details here
    srgp_102.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

QUOTES FROM OTHER THREAD (NOW CLOSED):
    Just noticed this is one of the events being promoted as part of Dublin Bike Week. http://bikeweek.ie/sites/default/files/Dublin%20Bike%20Week%202012%20All%20Events.pdf

"A 1K loop course around the estate for all level of cyclists." :rolleyes: I guess they mean all levels above A3!
    Dowee wrote: »
    Is this always an A3 upwards race? Was hoping to do it next year as I grew up on the estate but have only started racing club league this year so I imagine am unlikely to be A3 next year.
    You're the guy who went on a solo break from Limit in the club league last week, right? I'd say you'll be A3 by next year if you go for it ;)
    Dowee wrote: »
    Ye that's me. Thanks for the faith in me but will I not have to serve my time as A4 and do some open races before I could move to A3?
    Yes, you need to get 10 points in A4 before you can upgrade.

THANK YOU, COME AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Thanks to 410 regular for the poster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

how many laps for under 12

Greyspoke wrote: »
    how many laps for under 12

It should be 2 laps.

Race on tomorrow. Weather is looking good and Mr Hobbs Coffee Van will be along!
    Meadow Mount, Churchtown...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Meadow Mount is in Churchtown.

At least it was for the 20 odd years I lived there! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 harley mom

youth sign on is on the big green area in the centre of meadowmount, the youth races will start at 7 oclock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Nico will be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

Carpenter wrote: »
    Nico will be there

Is he racing?

Dura Ace wrote: »
    Is he racing?

I don't know if he will be there and/or racing. I doubt that he would be racing if he was there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

hes raced it before. He said on twitter that he should be there by the end of the race tonight, so I reckon hes only travelling over this eve, hence won't be racing it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Race on tomorrow. Weather is looking good and Mr Hobbs Coffee Van will be along!
    Meadow Mount, Churchtown...

What's the circuit? Round and round the green?

Mein Gott, this was a savage race. Pretty fantastic to be started off by Pedro Delgado first of all, was standing right in front of him. When he started making jokes about getting on a bike, he was eyeing up my baby. He would've been disappointed if he'd actually tried her out though. :P
    But pace was high from the off, or at least, I thought it was. A2s caught us very promptly - lap and a half? So plan to try grab the first prime was out the window. Once the A1s joined in as well, it was just a case of hanging in there. All the accelerating out of the corners wore me down though, was pushing the legs hard continuously. They responded most of the time. Only time I found I could move up was coming up to corners, when the pace seemed to drop disproportionately - sneak up the inside, grab someone's line. Not sure if that's the done thing...
    Knew I wasn't going to win the thing with the calibre of riders in the mix, but thought I might grab an unplaced prize. Started trying to move up on the second last lap, but it was already too late at that point. Should've gone up a lap earlier - couple of A3s finished ahead of me, and two Orwells, so no prizes for moi.

Great evening though - crowd were superb, likewise the marshalls. It's super having a closed circuit. Having Nico Roche there was a great way to cap it all off, though it would've been nice if he'd said a few words.

Results: http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/lavery-takes-another-win-in-pre-champs-warm-up-at-stephen-roche-gp/

Fecking shattered now, just have to recover before the Sallygap finish. wtf is the time?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

buffalo wrote: »
    Mein Gott, this was a savage race. Pretty fantastic to be started off by Pedro Delgado first of all, was standing right in front of him. When he started making jokes about getting on a bike, he was eyeing up my baby. He would've been disappointed if he'd actually tried her out though. :P
    But pace was high from the off, or at least, I thought it was. A2s caught us very promptly - lap and a half? So plan to try grab the first prime was out the window. Once the A1s joined in as well, it was just a case of hanging in there. All the accelerating out of the corners wore me down though, was pushing the legs hard continuously. They responded most of the time. Only time I found I could move up was coming up to corners, when the pace seemed to drop disproportionately - sneak up the inside, grab someone's line. Not sure if that's the done thing...
    Knew I wasn't going to win the thing with the calibre of riders in the mix, but thought I might grab an unplaced prize. Started trying to move up on the second last lap, but it was already too late at that point. Should've gone up a lap earlier - couple of A3s finished ahead of me, and two Orwells, so no prizes for moi.

Great evening though - crowd were superb, likewise the marshalls. It's super having a closed circuit. Having Nico Roche there was a great way to cap it all off, though it would've been nice if he'd said a few words.

Results: http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/lavery-takes-another-win-in-pre-champs-warm-up-at-stephen-roche-gp/

Fecking shattered now, just have to recover before the Sallygap finish. wtf is the time?!

Sticky typo:D
    Three Primes representing each of the Stephen Roche Tripe 25 years ago
    Giro D’Italia Prime
    Dave Coughlan DTC Orwell Wheelers
    Tour De France Prime
    Ciaran O Conluain UCD
    World Championships Prime
    Philip Lavery Node 4 Giordana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

sneak up the inside, grab share someone's line. Not sure if that's the done thing...
    In a criterium it is THE thing.
    couple of A3s finished ahead of me
    And about 6 finished behind you, not bad considering the size of the A3 bunch at the start. You were consistently in the top 10-20 on every lap, not bad for a climber :D
    Great evening though - crowd were superb, likewise the marshalls. It's super having a closed circuit.

Crowd enjoyed it too, I saw the crash on lap 3/4? like in Formula 1, exciting stuff for spectators, painful for the competitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

That was only mighty fun.
    and fast!
    Amazing craic to be racing so fast through an estate, fair play to all involved in organising it.
    and did i mention fast out of the corners, but thankfully not fast into the corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

Impressive win by Lavery... He got up the road a few times and looked strong. Then with 5/6 to go he just waited and positioned himself well!!

Had 2 bike lengths (I reckon from where I was standing)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

A great evenings entertainment. I was down at the hairpin for most of it and there were a few hairy moments but thankfully nothing too bad. Glad the weather held up.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Thanks for the vids Hermy - can see I finished 16/17 I think; to quote GlennaMaddy:
    not bad for a climber :D

Crowd enjoyed it too, I saw the crash on lap 3/4? like in Formula 1, exciting stuff for spectators, painful for the competitors.

Didn't look too bad, it was a couple of riders in front of me. Had to skirt in between a couple of fallen bikes to stay upright.