Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steel Toe Capped Boots?

• 15-06-2012 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭

Hey everyone,

Did a quick search regarding this and couldnt find anything. Im just wondering does anyone know the legal issues regarding wearing steel toe capped boots in public? I was fairly certain it was illegal unless for heavy work purposes as they could be regarded as dangerous? The only reason I ask is that with recent raining/flooding Im constantly getting soaked doing small deliveries in the rain and a pair of steel toe capped boots I have would be ideal for keeping dry, or even just running into the shop etc. Any insights or experience with this would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
    Michael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I'm sure you could get boots that keep you dry without the steel toe cap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

they're only allowed on sites
    As you say they could pose a risk to the general public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Didn't know that. When I was in school I remember them being banned by the school but didn't know that they were illegal.

the guards do be checking for them now and again
    80euro on the spot fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

M cebee wrote: »
    80euro on the spot fine

I'm surprised by this after working in the construction industry for years I've never heard this mentioned in any of the numerous safety courses I've had the misfortune of attending.

Could somebody quote the relevant law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

80euro on the spot fine

I don't think this is correct.

Current company I work for insists warehouse workers and all drivers wear steel toecap boots.

AFAIK if you are working in an environment where there 'may' be a danger of injury to your feet you must wear appropriate footwear.

This also includes workers in kitchens due to the danger of knives being dropped. Workers behind meat counters would also come under this remit.

If you think that proper safety boots are going to keep your feet dry I don't think any Garda is going to arrest you for wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

the only time steel toe capped boots are illegal is when they're being used to kick someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

What a mad concept, illegal shoes!

I've oddly proportioned feet and for years the only comfortable footwear I've found have been a particular style of Dr. Marten steel-toe boots. I've yet to be hauled into jail, although a bouncer did once refuse me entry into a night-club - how was I to know people wear shoes to those kind of places?

Did you know golf umbrellas are illegal too, they are only allowed on 18-hole golf courses, although you can apply in writing to the local Garda Superintendent for permission to use them on pitch and putt courses too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Are you absolutely sure about that? I've been wearing them day and night for over 20yrs and never heard anything about the legalities at any H & S courses I attended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭candlewax

Thanks for the replies everyone, as I said I was curious, and as much as I can go buy another pair of boots to wear out, Id rather not have to incur the expense seeing as I have a perfectly good pair (though steel toe capped obviously) sitting there. I suppose the best answer is to call into the local garda station, but Ive a funny feeling Ill just be told to wear something else.

Cheers again!

Just checked with a friend in A.G.S. There is NO legal issue with wearing those boots casually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Is this a joke thread? Op are you really going to call a Garda station and ask if your boots are legal?

MagicSean wrote: »
    Is this a joke thread? Op are you really going to call a Garda station and ask if your boots are legal?

Agreed. You'd think this thread is more at home in After Hours:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

MagicSean wrote: »

first real laugh off boards this year

make sure you have tax and nct op if you're calling
    to station

people have inadvertently got done for this when parking outside

and dont wear your boots to the station obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I've been wearing steel-toe boots for years and never had any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭candlewax

Cheers again everyone, I know it seems like a stupid question, but at the end of the day whether it seems like a joke or not, Id rather know for definite if it is illegal or not to wear them in outside of a work environment rather than have to deal with any problems down the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

The only footwear that should be illegal are these
    us-ugg-boots-clearance-5251-02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

candlewax wrote: »
    Hey everyone,

Did a quick search regarding this and couldnt find anything. Im just wondering does anyone know the legal issues regarding wearing steel toe capped boots in public? I was fairly certain it was illegal unless for heavy work purposes as they could be regarded as dangerous? The only reason I ask is that with recent raining/flooding Im constantly getting soaked doing small deliveries in the rain and a pair of steel toe capped boots I have would be ideal for keeping dry, or even just running into the shop etc. Any insights or experience with this would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
    Michael

wow i'm amazed with this post, op you seriously mustn't have to much in your life to be worrying about if something crazy like this is bothering you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Boo those are awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Many safety boots now have a type of resin plastic in the toes. Makes the boots much lighter and gives similar protection ratings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

make sure you have tax and nct op if you're calling
    to station

people have inadvertently got done for this when parking outside

You should listen to this poster OP, they're obviously a mine of useful, correct information. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

The shoes Tesco give to their staff working with stock are steel toed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

candlewax wrote: »
    The only reason I ask is that with recent raining/flooding Im constantly getting soaked doing small deliveries in the rain and a pair of steel toe capped boots I have would be ideal for keeping dry, or even just running into the shop etc. Any insights or experience with this would be greatly appreciated!

If you're doing deliveries and handling stuff, you should be wearing steel toe caps. They're safety shoes/boots.

You can get steel toe caps shoes that just look like ordinary shoes. Even trainers. I have seen them all. I had a job sorting out 30,000 pairs one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Loads of people wear steel-capped shoes and boots at work every day and wear them to go home for lunch, they also wear them travelling to and from work in the morning and evening. I've seen a pair my brother wore and externally you could not tell the difference between them and an ordinary pair of shoes.

And as the previous poster has pointed out, people who do deliveries probably also wear them. I bet the lads who work on Guinness and Heineken trucks delivering barrels of beer to pubs wear them all day, ditto drivers delivering domestic and industrial gas cylinders. Do the Gardai arrest them?

The OP is being given completely nutty advice, when was anyone ever stopped by the Gardai and had their shoes checked for steel toe caps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

All I have worn is either a Boot or shoe with Steel caps for 30 years and Never have I heard of this.We use to wear a biscycle chain as a belt,Is that illegal too?:D

there'd be no legal issues with the new resin type anyhow
    I think the issues with steel toe caps in public arose because of skinheads or bover boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

If I turn up to work without mine on I'll be sent home. Same goes for hi vis jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

there'd be no legal issues with the new resin type anyhow
    I think the issues with steel toe caps in public arose because of skinheads or bover boys

You're the main cheerleader for the claim that these shoes are illegal to wear on the public streets.
    they're only allowed on sites
    As you say they could pose a risk to the general public
    80euro on the spot fine

Can you quote the legislation please and can you also comment on whether Guinness and Heineken delivery men are illegally wearing them when delivering barrels of beer to pubs?

i'm not a lawyer and i can't comment on the legalities or otherwise of guinness and heineken's work practices

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

You've already commented on the legalities. Wrongly. So why should anyone believe a word of any of your posts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

These or crocs? Jail time for both. Especially on men in public places.