Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice, pigeon shooting

• 14-06-2012 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭

hello there lads have a good one for yous all ive been doing reading up on this now for a while and few uk lads do it all the time,
    pigeon shooting outfitters, in other words lads that are looking for a good day out shooting pigeons now i know over here were different than the uk lads we all have our own land here for pigeon shooting but some fields not as good as other places, now my own postion is that i have a nice few acres than can more than facilatate a good few lads from rape to wheat and corn over the most of the south east in different areas,

your advice lads please good idea or bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Whats the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

hello there lads have a good one for yous all ive been doing reading up on this now for a while and few uk lads do it all the time,
    pigeon shooting outfitters, in other words lads that are looking for a good day out shooting pigeons now i know over here were different than the uk lads we all have our own land here for pigeon shooting but some fields not as good as other places, now my own postion is that i have a nice few acres than can more than facilatate a good few lads from rape to wheat and corn over the most of the south east in different areas,

are you looking for lads to pay for shooting pigeons:eek::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

the questions is to go ahead with pigeon outfitters as in lads pay for days shooting yes
    and lads have there own insurance and own ammo im only supplying the fields adn no big bag birs no big fee and there would be no permits requreied just keep it simple so lads in the rebublic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

the questions is to go ahead with pigeon outfitters as in lads pay for days shooting yes
    and lads have there own insurance and own ammo im only supplying the fields adn no big bag birs no big fee and there would be no permits requreied just keep it simple so lads in the rebublic

Do you own the fields?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 johnperch

i think its great browning im looking for some pigeon shooting along with my friend wouldnt mind travelling im from kildare if you offer a days shooting id be delighted but its your call you can pm me if you want thanks johnperch

60 percent of them there garv why iswould there be a issue with not owning them once i have permission and im with the shooters for the day on the land so they are my guests for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Would love to try a bit of pigeon shooting myself, but not in great country for it here, and the farmer that used to sow a field of barley whose land I shoot over doesn't do it anymore, so no more opportunities. Would love a crack at it though. Only have a licence for 250 myself but definitely wouldn't want to shoot that through the side by side in a day either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

60 percent of them there garv why iswould there be a issue with not owning them once i have permission and im with the shooters for the day on the land so they are my guests for the day

Well they might not be so happy you making money off their land unless you would be paying them also? also even if you are there or not they might not like strangers shooting on their land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kennells

How much is it for the days shooting ?Might be interested ? Where u based ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

There are plenty of fellahs around the country bringing in guys in from the continent shooting woodpigeon, I don't think its regulated, there are some guys who run it properly as buisness, pay insurance, tax etc... but I think if you dig deep enough in the wildlife acts you will find some legal thing about it.

However I know 1 or 2 cowboys at it too... hungry *****.

ah jaysus lads so SORRY PUTTING THIS UP:mad: thught it was good idea for charging lads but to be totally honest it would kill me to charge fello shooters for pigeon shooting but i would like to hear fro lads that are interested and ill keep you on my contacts as it would not be the first time i got a group of lads out shooting from boards and it was a great day now my method is set up few hides in one field different postions in the field, so hope to hear from you lads im in the wicklow area by the way if you dont mind travelling more than welcome thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

In west Wicklow myself, would definitely be interested. Not had the shotgun out in ages so be good to see whether I can still hit anything with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

I'm on for it. When will the pigeons be attacking again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Some handsome devils in that photo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Chesapeake

pigeons over rape or early, on for that....................the reast of the OP .............no sense, no sense whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

If you accept money in return for service than you are responsible if something happens member own insurance wouldn be enough !

Seriously?? Your going charge lads for shooting pigeons hahahaha I tell ya I may start up a lamping outfitters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

To be fair to the OP its being done in other forms of fieldsports deer stalking fly fishing fox hunting etc
    I dont see it as workable though cos most people would have access to some fields to shoot in
    Back to the drawing board!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

To be fair to the OP its being done in other forms of fieldsports deer stalking fly fishing fox hunting etc
    I dont see it as workable though cos most people would have access to some fields to shoot in

I would beg to differ! i have a very good friend who stays in the east of Scotland and runs a shooting business ,Fowling Pheasant shoot and from March till late September Pigeon shooting and he does VERY well at the pigeons 40-60 bird average days/£35-£50 per day per gun and lads where to a good percentage of his guns come form yep the Green and Pleasant Land also a fair few from Abroad ,so there is a market for pigeon shooting and i would recon for the simple reason like myself i like to shoot new places not same old same old all the time

decoyer wrote: »

I would beg to differ! i have a very good friend who stays in the east of Scotland and runs a shooting business ,Fowling Pheasant shoot and from March till late September Pigeon shooting and he does VERY well at the pigeons 40-60 bird average days/£35-£50 per day per gun and lads where to a good percentage of his guns come form yep the Green and Pleasant Land also a fair few from Abroad ,so there is a market for pigeon shooting and i would recon for the simple reason like myself i like to shoot new places not same old same old all the time

Yea in England where getting permissions is in possible because most farms are big estates . Not in Ireland where ya just ask the farmer .

jaysus not sure bout that lad on the outside he looks bit dodgy lol lol lol lol

well thats a very good point its nice to swop and change instead same old same old in ither words you come to me for a day i go to you for a day maybe i picked that up incorrectly but it would be nice

a change is as good as a holiday :D

if you read all the form you would see that it was a bad idea there lad and in relation to you lamping outfitters that is done over in the uk as well foxing outfitters and fox training course as well 150 pound a night and all you can do is watch a lad shoot a fox and where to shoot a fox and how to skin a fox and no your not allowed bring a gun so make sense of that one cause i cant at all

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Yea in England where getting permissions is in possible because most farms are big estates . Not in Ireland where ya just ask the farmer .

PLEASE read the post properly mate SCOTLAND that is not England and is not all big estaes as you put it further north yes but not on East coast
    And i also have a good friend in north west England who has loads of Pigeon shooting not on estates either,and all got by simply chapping doors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Same for me as johnpearch would love a day out pm if I can go on your list and thanks again for at least making the offer thats what we all need a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

i think its a good idea as not all of us live have crops to shoot them over. id be interested as long as the fee isnt too steep

PLEASE read the post properly mate SCOTLAND that is not England and is not all big estaes as you put it further north yes but not on East coast
    And i also have a good friend in north west England who has loads of Pigeon shooting not on estates either,and all got by simply chapping doors

England Scotland Wales , most of the shooting ya pay for is on big estates or lad that has couple of hundred acres , the shooting papers are full of these advertisements , and of course ya can get permissions but like the fishing in great Britain :-) , alot of people have to pay because they don't have permissions . Getting shooting permissions is not as easy as it would be here

thanks there garv ill be in touch as soon as the crops are ready so keep an eye on your inbox lads and thanks again for your interests pigeon shooting great crack i belive and it would be nice to have a few more hides in a 1500 acre field thats only one spot then we dont get good shooting there we move on talk to yous all soon

England Scotland Wales , most of the shooting ya pay for is on big estates or lad that has couple of hundred acres , the shooting papers are full of these advertisements , and of course ya can get permissions but like the fishing in great Britain :-) , alot of people have to pay because they don't have permissions . Getting shooting permissions is not as easy as it would be here

It is VERY obvious you have no expierience of shooting in UK
    you seem to be under some strange self idea that it is all big farms
    and estates over here
    Trust me it is the same as Ireland i majority of Agricultural land
    farmers want lads who will turn up themselves or when called
    i speak from expierience
    As for fishing in Scotland you can fish any river you want private or not
    for Brown trout Grayling ect WITHOUT PAYING
    unlike Ireland where you must pay rod licence so i would recon
    it is a bit easier in Uk
    i got Deer Stalking on a large pheasant shot simply by asking the Keeper
    as he said in his own words i hae no time to deal with Deer

and estates over here
    i speak from expierience
    it is a bit easier in Uk
    +1 to that !! Not sure were he was in the UK but from my experiences of coursing and digging pre ban of course there is that the farmers come looking for you. Same goes for pigeons and lamping for vermin over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

There are plenty of fellahs around the country bringing in guys in from the continent shooting woodpigeon, I don't think its regulated, there are some guys who run it properly as buisness, pay insurance, tax etc... but I think if you dig deep enough in the wildlife acts you will find some legal thing about it.

However I know 1 or 2 cowboys at it too... hungry *****.

There are regulations concerning commercial shooting in the Wildlife Act(Ammendment) 2000.

A '“commercial shoot operator” means a person who either owns shooting rights on lands or has permission of the owner of those shooting rights and who uses these rights or permissions for the purposes of providing hunting on these lands to others for reward;

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2000/en/act/pub/0038/sec0036.html#sec36

You have to apply to the minister for a permit, obtainable from the district courts.

I don't think the OP meant any offence to anybody by suggesting they pay.....I just think it may have come across wrong....& also the way it was picked up................it didn't come across to me that he was doing it for the money.......to make a fortune from pigeon shooting.

I believe that the thinking behind it was a nice gesture - to give a few lads some good pigeon shooting that they don't have access to.

All legalities involved may not have been thought out thoroughly. The OP would be erecting hides, setting out decoy patterns, driving around locating flightlines.....bringing & collecting gear (lots of gear!!) and giving up his own time doing so...........can hardly expect anybody to continue doing this for free for total strangers throughout the decoying season!!

As previously stated, I think it is a very nice, thoughtful gesture by the OP to offer pigeon shooting to lads on the forum & any lads who take up the offer would, no doubt, be willing to make a 'gift donation' to the OP to cover his out of pocket expenses, petrol, etc. and ensure he's not at a loss for providing the day.

I do a lot of pigeon shooting & have plenty of land to shoot over but I know what it's like to be interested in shooting & have no land to shoot over. When I came to Dublin many years ago & clubs were impossible to get into I would have jumped at any opportunity like this & travelled any distance. Other lads who hunt do not have any tillage crops nearby and would love this offer.

As long as lads don't expect to turn up in the morning & expect the OP to have all hides set up, decoys out and they just walk to hide, shoot all day and then head home expecting OP to take down hides, gather decoys & clean up mess then it could be very successful. (Believe it or not this happened me once......2 lads invited...so called 'friends' .....got up at 4 o'clock to head home.....must collect kids etc......left me & friend to tidy up.....they can't understand what my problem is or why I never again bring them out!!!!!!!!!)

If lads turn up, give a hand setting up (& learn the craft).....give a hand gathering up at the end of the day.....throw the OP a few bob to cover his out of pocket expenses incurred (fill his car with petrol or provide him with cartridges for the offer!!) then I think it could work very well & be repeated again & again........building good friendships while having the 'craic'.

Keep it simple....forget permits, courts & all that hassle.........it's only a bit of 'craic' ..........just give a hand.....do your share and make sure the OP is not out of pocket for providing the shooting...my 2 cents anyway.

well lad thanks very much and you must of read my mind it happened to me one day as well where i was left with a very close friend (well i thaught so anyway) and i was over 2 hours cleaning up cartriges an all and dead birds and so on any way it helps to help out as they say,
    and any one very interested let me know more the merrier

Spunk84 wrote: »

and estates over here
    i speak from expierience
    it is a bit easier in Uk
    +1 to that !! Not sure were he was in the UK but from my experiences of coursing and digging pre ban of course there is that the farmers come looking for you. Same goes for pigeons and lamping for vermin over there

Il admit my experience in england was mostly in Yorkshire over pea fields where we got free pigeon shooting because a family member work as a farm hand . This place was huge and had it own games keeper , I was only 19 at the time . And at that time people were travelling from everywhere to shoot grouse , and phesent , pigeon .

Mayb it is simple over there, from any of the English lads I've shot with over here , they moved from england to ireland for that reason to shoot and fish with out paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Would never pay for pigeon shooting any farmer will let you shoot pigeons over their crops tell u what im against italian and french shooters being brought over here to shoot pigeons in large numbers even durning the summer months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

Would never pay for pigeon shooting any farmer will let you shoot pigeons over their crops tell u what im against italian and french shooters being brought over here to shoot pigeons in large numbers even durning the summer months

i have a lot of permissions down in my home area i was approached recently to take out Dutch and French lads pigeon shooting offered 50 euro a head a day but i turned it down Id take anyone out shooting pigeons dont believe in charging for it when im getting it for free.
    buddy of mine works up north a seemingly a lad outside glenavey owns a b&b on this farm and has lads in every weekend of the summer shooting over his crops and staying at wifes b&b making a fourtune at it
    i lad i shoot for here recently got 2000 hectares in france for crops and told me that the pigeon shooting over there goes to the highest bidder
    its worth hugh money every year
    sotg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Lads and Lassies please dont go down the road of charging fellow hunters for shooting your land it will ruin the sport this is Ireland not England they have a different laws on shooting and I differ on anyone quoting english laws they don't have anything to do with us here in Ireland so unless your shooting in England dont quote there laws if someone offers here on Boards thats there land and reward by buying shells or may be other work for them.