Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Williams moves to Japan

• 14-06-2012 8:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

‎Ospreys Rugby confirm that legendary winger Shane Williams will join Mitsubishi Dynaboars in Japan for next season.

Anyone else disappointed by this? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Klunk_NZ

News is older than Jesus :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

He has kind of sold out, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Samich wrote: »
    ‎Ospreys Rugby confirm that legendary winger Shane Williams will join Mitsubishi Dynaboars in Japan for next season.

Anyone else disappointed by this? :(

Williams had about 3 "sending offs" by club and country. That got to the point where it was over the top

Then the guy decides to keep playing anyway

Will Wales organise another test match to send him off again after his time there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Klunk_NZ

Japan rugby is easy scheduling less physical and pays mega buks. A perfect retirement home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

It's like Raul going to some Arab football club. Doesn't make them look as good imo for some reason. Can't blame him though I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

buyer95 wrote: »
    He has kind of sold out, imo.

He got a call after the BaaBaas offering a short contract for great money. He owes Welsh rugby nothing.

If you were him, would you take it? Calling him a "sell out" is ridiculous, you could easily say it was the WRU that exploited his "retirement" to get bums on seats.

He got a call after the BaaBaas offering a short contract for great money. He owes Welsh rugby nothing.

If you were him, would you take it? Calling him a "sell out" is ridiculous, you could easily say it was the WRU that exploited his "retirement" to get bums on seats.

Ya. I don't blame him for taking the contract but it's slightly annoying considering how his "retirement" was dragged out

Plus I don't like the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Shane Williams was a great servant to both his club and country.

How on earth fans can blame him for the fact his club and country both wanted to give him a big send off is beyond me. It's as if people think he organised it himself.

How fans can blame him for wanting to travel a bit after spending all his career in the welsh provincial system is even further beyond me!

Easy money in the Japanese second division while getting to see Asia. Fair play to him.

• funny how in one thread we have people giving out about Fitz looking for more money for a contract and someone pointing out that his career may only by 8/10 years long if he's lucky.

In another thread, someone who's (imo) too good to retire is offered a cushy ride for a year and is blasted for it.

This is their JOB. They get paid for it. They don't have years and years that they can play for (golf), if someone's willing to pay them when they feel they're no longer up to the standard that they previously competed at, then they'd be insane not to give it a go.

From a personal perspective, perhaps Williams would jump at the chance for a complete change in culture for a year. I know I would. Sabbatical's are usually a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Get every penny possible, end of career, need to pay the mortgage and pay for the gym he's opened somehow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

He can do what he bloody well likes. He deserves it.
    A short career comprised of putting his body on the line for his nation and region, while breaking appearance and try scoring records and being part of three Grand Slam-winning Wales sides . . . would entitle him to a testimonial/benefit season playing in Japan.
    Naysayers can dish out the begrudgery when they've even come close to what he has given and not before.

JustinDee wrote: »
    He can do what he bloody well likes. He deserves it.
    A short career comprised of putting his body on the line for his nation and region, while breaking appearance and try scoring records and being part of three Grand Slam-winning Wales sides . . . would entitle him to a testimonial/benefit season playing in Japan.
    Naysayers can dish out the begrudgery when they've even come close to what he has given and not before.

The whole Marcus Horan incident will forever tarnish his image here for a lot of people. Rightly so too

In saying that I don't blame him for taking the contract. The Welsh union bled his retirement dry though. They really love getting bums on seats. The Martyn Williams 100th "cap" was the most ridiculous IMO. Williams (Martyn) was a fantastic servant and one of my favorite players but I'm sure he would have preferred to earn his 100th cap legitimately rather than by virtue of a marketing exercise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

600k for easy, 2nd division Jap rugby....damn right you'd take it.

He owes no man anything. If anything, WRU owe him. Fairly shabbily treated by Steve Hansen around 2002-2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I'm just pissed off that he didn't retire before the rabo final.

Seriously though he is going to play in a 2nd division japanese side so I think we can pretty much still say that he has retired from competitive rugby especially for someone who is still at that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

In some ways I'd be disappointed if say BOD finished his career in Japan. It'd be weird to know that out there somewhere the guy was still a pro, but he wasn't doing it for fans or his desire to be good for Leinster.

That said I think BOD is much closer to Leinster then SW was to Ospreys.

errlloyd wrote: »
    In some ways I'd be disappointed if say BOD finished his career in Japan. It'd be weird to know that out there somewhere the guy was still a pro, but he wasn't doing it for fans or his desire to be good for Leinster.

That said I think BOD is much closer to Leinster then SW was to Ospreys.

BOD is going to get a huge lump sum if he retires in Ireland, no way he will go to Japan unless it's long term with big $$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I'd say BOD would be well able to get a job as a pundit, seems articulate and intelligent and clearly knows a lot about the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

BOD is going to get a huge lump sum if he retires in Ireland, no way he will go to Japan unless it's long term with big $$$.

I'm not worried it will happen, I study tax law :)

I am just saying that if he did I would feel a bit ****. I like to think of their careers like a story, and I feel finishing it in Japan is like selling the ending to someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Good luck to him I say, deserves a nice earner to set up his retirement after his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭Thud

good luck to the poor Division 2 Japanese wingers who have to mark him :D

You'd wonder how the club game in Japan will develop, all the clubs are backed by major companies and are loaded. It's a short season, you're paid extremely well. I wonder is this sustainable, little seems to be known about the game other than the players that end their careers there or go there for a well paid sabbatical... are the clubs well supported by fans, what's the quality of rugby like etc

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,737 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How cool a name is Dynoboars?

You'd wonder how the club game in Japan will develop, all the clubs are backed by major companies and are loaded. It's a short season, you're paid extremely well. I wonder is this sustainable, little seems to be known about the game other than the players that end their careers there or go there for a well paid sabbatical... are the clubs well supported by fans, what's the quality of rugby like etc

maybe we could pick a team for the forum to follow. Track them for the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    The whole Marcus Horan incident will forever tarnish his image here for a lot of people. Rightly so too

In saying that I don't blame him for taking the contract. The Welsh union bled his retirement dry though. They really love getting bums on seats. The Martyn Williams 100th "cap" was the most ridiculous IMO. Williams (Martyn) was a fantastic servant and one of my favorite players but I'm sure he would have preferred to earn his 100th cap legitimately rather than by virtue of a marketing exercise

my memory is on the fritz, what happened between them??

freyners wrote: »

Williams falsely accused Horan of a racist slur. Really low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

freyners wrote: »
    Following is taken from the indo.

After an ill-tempered Heineken Cup clash between the Ospreys and Munster , the Welsh side made a false claim that Marcus Horan had racially abused centre Elvis Seveali'i, with the Samoan's claims backed up by Wales star Williams at an ERC hearing. Though the accusation was thrown out, before the rematch Horan spoke about the pain the incident had caused him. "I haven't spoken to Elvis Seveali'i since the incident and I actually wouldn't bother going near him or Shane Williams. They didn't have the guts or the balls to look me in the eyes when they were spouting lies, so I don't think I would give them the time of day."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

Pighead wrote: »
    Following is taken from the indo.

[..]"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ofho-CKSXX8&feature=player_detailpage#t=111s

This is the same butter-wouldnt-melt-in-my-mouth Horan putting in a lovely tackle on his Irish captain yes?

Everything I've ever heard about Williams has been overwhelmingly positive. Fantastic servant to both his club and country. Don't think anyone can complain about him taking a nice little end of career cool-down season with a fat paycheck over in Japan. Looking forward to seeing some highlights reels of him from it too, I'd say he'll tear through teams there.

Blut2 wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ofho-CKSXX8&feature=player_detailpage#t=111s

This is the same butter-wouldnt-melt-in-my-mouth Horan putting in a lovely tackle on his Irish captain yes?

Everything I've ever heard about Williams has been overwhelmingly positive. Fantastic servant to both his club and country. Don't think anyone can complain about him taking a nice little end of career cool-down season with a fat paycheck over in Japan. Looking forward to seeing some highlights reels of him from it too, I'd say he'll tear through teams there.

Ah yes, an off the ball block is really equatable to trying to ruin someones
    reputation with a downright disgusting lie

Made worse by the fact that he didn't even try to apolagise when it was proved he'd flown all the way to Dublin to lie

If Williams wasn't such a "likable small guy" then he would have been rightly chastised for such a shameful act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 MBolgia

Looking forward to Shane Williams making his final appearance in a [ delete as appropriate ] jersey next season. Leaving is important. Leaving with some grace and dignity even more important.

I will always remember him as the reason we have independent citing commissioners at rugby matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Ah yes, an off the ball block is really equatable to trying to ruin someones
    reputation with a downright disgusting lie

Made worse by the fact that he didn't even try to apolagise when it was proved he'd flown all the way to Dublin to lie

If Williams wasn't such a "likable small guy" then he would have been rightly chastised for such a shameful act

Was it proved that he lied? As opposed to his statement not proved to be true?

durkadurka wrote: »

Is that not the exact same thing?! it's fairly black and white what happened anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I wish he left when he said he was going instead of fecking up our double. :(

Fair play to him though, fantastic player, one of the best in a generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

durkadurka wrote: »

I think it was proved that the accusations were false and in any case Williams was too far away from the scene to have heard what was said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Is that not the exact same thing?! it's fairly black and white what happened anyway

Totally not the same thing.
    So Williams alleged that he heard Horan say something.

Was it proved that he could not have heard it ?
    Or was the allegation not backed up by other evidence?

Edit : Shuffol seems to have answered it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

A lack of evidence showing that what he was claiming was true is not the same as proof of him lying.

With any "he-said, she-said" scenario like the Horan/Williams one above with no factual conclusion its best to take all sides claims with a grain of salt. Hence my point in my previous post that Horan isnt always as innocent as he makes out.

Blut2 wrote: »
    A lack of evidence showing that what he was claiming was true is not the same as proof of him lying.

With any "he-said, she-said" scenario like the Horan/Williams one above with no factual conclusion its best to take all sides claims with a grain of salt. Hence my point in my previous post that Horan isnt always as innocent as he makes out.

Microphone recordings were used in the inquiry that proved that Horan didn't say it and that Williams was too far away to even hear what Horan was saying

A despicable act of cowardice in my eyes, plain and simple

Here's a good summary of it:
    The Ospreys cited Marcus Horan for racially abusing Elvis Seveali'i in a Heineken Cup game (this was as a counter to Munster citing Mustoe for stamping on Horan's head - which required stitches). Shane Williams went to the hearing (got on a plane and flew to Dublin, so he had time to think about it) and swore that he heard Marcus Horan abusing Elvis. The mikes picked up exactly what Horan said and the cameras showed that Shane Williams wasn't close enough to Horan to actually hear what he said anyway. The statement from the ERC was very strong which stated that Horan never uttered the words in the first place.
    in the case of Marcus Horan, for an alleged remark made during the match to a player of the opposing team, the Committee did not find it established that Mr Horan, or anyone else on the Munster team, had made the remark complained of. Therefore the Committee dismissed the citing. Had the Committee found the remark had been made, the Committee would have regarded it as racist abuse and foul play. The Committee went further and held that the alleged remark had not been made.".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I think that if a player makes allegations of something as serious as racial abuse, and it is found to be complete and utter bullsh*t / lies (and not just inconclusive), the accusing player and anyone who supports them should get a 6 month ban.

If a player did racially abuse a player, it should be minimum 1 year ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Good luck to him I say, deserves a nice earner to set up his retirement after his career.

When he retires, again...next year, retires from the game, again, plays his last game, again...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 756 ✭✭✭4PP

You describe RCT,

QED :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

mfceiling wrote: »
    When he retires, again...next year, retires from the game, again, plays his last game, again...

Who cares how many last games he plays ? He announced his retirement then got a nice little offer for a trip to Japan, anyone in his position would have taken it. I certainly would anyway.

Absolutely ridiculous what passes for fact regarding that hearing now! Old Forum posts are credible sources! :pac:

Extremely one eyed view of things.

Absolutely ridiculous what passes for fact regarding that hearing now! Old Forum posts are credible sources! :pac:

Extremely one eyed view of things.

There's an Irish Indo article that says the same thing

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,737 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Aren't most Indo articles using boards as a source now?

It doesn't! This stuff about the ERC saying Williams lied is wrong, they never did. I remember it well.

Obviously the ERC didn't say he lied (did it say that in the post, must read it again). But the fact is they proved he couldn't have possibly hear what he was alleging Horan had said, which is really the same thing

Show me where any of that is in the report then!

It ain't online and I can't find the original Indo article either, although i think someone posted it in the Magners final thread

http://www.munsterfans.com/threads/29942-Shane-Williams

There are several decent accounts of what happened here. Granted Munster fans isn't the best source, and is biased as ****. But the bottom line is that Williams flew to Dublin to back up a barefaced lie, and I'm 100% that it said in the report that Horan had not said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Aren't most Indo articles using boards as a source now?

no the times are -- no bb in the zindo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

having looked into this a bit more it seems that the citing commissoners didnt start publishing their reports until nov 05 so i doubt anyone can link to the report. It has come across in other forums too

http://www.606v2.com/t16321p3-shane-williams

original indo article 04

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/munster-fume-as-horan-cleared-on-racial-charge-142615.html

irfu article
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/9646.php

basically the gist is thsat the commission found that the remark was never made which reflects very badly on williams and has coloured my opinion of him alot