Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Footwear with jeans

• 13-06-2012 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭

Having now realised im a complete square with my boots and bootcut jeans i thought i would start his thread to get some suggestions.

Need the input of tgc:
    What jeans do you wear - colour / style etc
    What footwear goes with them

Thinking straight jeans and runners, but can you get into clubs wearing runners?
    So long since ive been out and not in boots :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I am wearing brown jeans and shiny black shoes. Didn't think it would work out but according to others I have pulled it off.

Would not recommend wearing runners as it is something some bouncers will stop you for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

brown/tan leather shoes go nice with jeans. (bootcut jeans rock!!)

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

awec wrote: »
    I wear these:

http://www.asos.com/Diesel/Diesel-Darron-886Q-Slim-Jeans/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=1904959&cid=4208&Rf-400=156&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=-1&sort=-1&clr=886qblue

I wear converse with them pretty much all the time. You can get in to 90% of places in converse / plain dressy type trainers, so long as they are clean. Saying that, all my pairs are white, not sure what the story is with the different coloured ones.

Actual runners, like adidas or nikes etc you will probably struggle more with.

Boots are grand like, most people have a pair for the fancier places. Just avoid the steel toed type / the ones that look like the steel toed type. Otherwise you look like you should be on the building site or out on the farm.

But if you are getting boots, definitely get brown and not black.

They aren't bad. I personally wouldn't be a fan of bootcut, usually go normal. I like something that hugs the leg without smothering it. For shoes, anything could work; some people like a tan shoe, others like something else. Don't wear "running" shoes though, strictly for exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I wear black boots with blue or black "Wrangler Ohio Comfort Fit" jeans, or the Levi/etc equivalent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Jeans Brand: I don't know, not gonna take'em off and read the label as I'm in work right now, and I doubt that'd be in any way professional.

Jeans Style: Not a fecking clue, not skinny, that's for dam sure.

Jeans Colour: I don't think they even know. Some bits are pale, but mostly a navy / dark thing going on there.

Footwear: Nike something or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Jeans: normally dark denim, like a navy-ish colour.

Style: regular/bootcut. I wouldnt fit into skinny jeans, wouldnt wear them either if I could.

Footwear: depending on the venue, it'll be K-Swiss or Cons when a regular pub, and tan loafers or black shoes if somewhere with a more strict dresscode. I dont think I've ever worn trainers in to a pub/club, it doesnt look right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Jeans:
    Have taken to wearing regular jeans not really bootcut, and chinos in different colours.

Find what you're comfortable in - Next do nice chinos and so do Pennys actually

Shoes:
    I'm a fan of canvas shoes such as momentums like this

Or Lacoste do nice ones - have this pair by them.

Basically they're comfortable - look good and I've never had any issues from bouncers etc. over them.

Finally for trying to look nice/professional I have this pair of boxfresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Usually going out I wear boot cut jeans and a pair of these :(
    http://www.shoetime.ie/product/44/deck-shoe/dubarry-clipper-navy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Schnooks

Jeans are always Levi's 501s in various shades or guises, the cut suits my rather strange shape, but they have to be bought in US, if I buy them here they never fit the same, and cost almost 3 times as much.

Footwear is either white leather Reebocks, or CATs or Timberland boots. Since CAT got their act together and lost the weight issues their 90's boots had, they have come way up in my opinion again. I have loads of other shoes that I have been told would "look lovely on you" or "would be a nice change from your usual" that I never wear and have been gathering dust for a few years now.

I am not a fashion follower - obviously :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

I wear something like these most days....

bm3010-columbia-mens-frontier-peak-gtx-light-hiking-boot-color-mud-stinger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've worn these in loads of bars and clubs and never been stopped once

adidas-original-superstar-classic.jpg

jeans shirt and nice jacket and doesnt matter whats on your feet, I've gone out in cons and a suit jacket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

Skinny and cons. Go out looking much the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Shoes aren't really necessary in Dublin pubs and clubs, unless it's somewhere really fancy.

Vans/Cons or similar should be fine.

I usually wear a pair of brown shoes if I'm going to a nice restaurant but that's really just because she likes to get dressed up and wear her heels and we'd looked mismatched with me in a pair of skate shoes and a tee-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Get yourself some straight fit slimish cut jeans, paul smith do nice ones as do replay and diesel.

Tan shoes, go for a decent pair, its a false economy to skimp on shoes, try barkers or magnianni for classic styles that wont break the bank.

Seriously leave the bootcut jeans behind, those days are long over

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm rocking a pair of these
    789011752_260.jpg

Very comfy actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Cyrus wrote: »

Seriously leave the bootcut jeans behind, those days are long over

If you're 15-21 maybe. Tight, skinny jeans are wrong on so many levels on guys. Especially older guys and guys with more of a build on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

py2006 wrote: »
    If you're 15-21 maybe. Tight, skinny jeans are wrong on so many levels on guys. Especially older guys and guys with more of a build on them.

Couldn't agree more, skinny jeans on any guy just look stupid!! Are they dying out again, don't think I've seen anyone wearing them in quite a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

alan1990 wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more, skinny jeans on any guy just look stupid!! Are they dying out again, don't think I've seen anyone wearing them in quite a while!

There is a middle ground between bootcut and skinny. I could (physically) never wear the skinny/stretchy type but straight jeans are fine.

py2006 wrote: »

did i say tight skinny jeans? nope

i said straight slim cut, theres a difference.

Even if you dont like a slimmer cut pair of jeans then wear a looser straight leg

Bootcut is over for now, it went too far when people were wearing bootcut suits :rolleyes:made baby jebus cry

hardCopy wrote: »
    There is a middle ground between bootcut and skinny. I could (physically) never wear the skinny/stretchy type but straight jeans are fine.

which is what i was talking about

anyway bootcut refers to the bottom of the jeans not the leg, you can have slim fit bootcut jeans