Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long Daily Commute

• 07-06-2012 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭

How long is your daily commute and do you find it tiring ?

I'm starting a new job next week and I'll have a daily commute of 54 miles each way (108 miles in total).

This will be a mixture of 25 miles of crappy regional road and the rest a National primary route,

I have a good diesel car and love driving but not sure am I looking forward it hopefully it won't be to tiring :D

How do ye find the long commutes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

60 miles a day.. 50% twisty country roads, 50% M4..

Was worried that I would hate it, But I actually like it.. Get time to relax, listen to Newstalk (or iPod) and generally chill.. Only takes 30 mins each way and it's a nice time out with a cup of coffee :)

Cost of diesel is a pain in the ass though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's not too bad. I liked the mornings, you know when your getting up you can chill for an hour before work listening to the radio ect. I found the trip home hard going some days if I was tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Welease wrote: »
    60 miles a day.. 50% twisty country roads, 50% M4..

Was worried that I would hate it, But I actually like it.. Get time to relax, listen to Newstalk (or iPod) and generally chill.. Only takes 30 mins each way and it's a nice time out with a cup of coffee :)

Cost of diesel is a pain in the ass though :)

Drive a distance on those roads myself , quite relaxing , not a lot of traffic etc. Were it not for the cost it would be lovely , not quite as enjoyable on a frosty morning though ,, so enjoy the good times :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

shawnee wrote: »
    Drive a distance on those roads myself , quite relaxing , not a lot of traffic etc. Were it not for the cost it would be lovely , not quite as enjoyable on a frosty morning though ,, so enjoy the good times :D:D

Yeah.. its about 2 miles of solid twisty ice roads before I reach used/gritted road in the winter.. Even with a 4x4 L200 pickup it can be dicey.. Last year I slid 20 yards sideways out onto the Edenderry - Enfield road at my T junction..Luckily it was empty at the time :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

About 120 km every day, give or take. Bought the CMax in may 2010 with 130k km on it and now has nearly 220k km on it.
    No idea where the extra km come from, maybe I go sleep driving.
    Spend between 45 minutes to an hour in my car each way, listening to the radio, mp3 player, etc...
    If you're not a fan of either your home situation or your work your daily commute can become a haven away from it all, it's just the dread of arriving.
    But getting up early sucks donkeyballs. I believe if there was a law forbidding everyone to get up before 8, there would be less war, violence and murder in the world, because people wouldn't be so grumpy and tired.

130 kms a day. Fuel costs is the worst, then the N7, M7!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

130 kms a day. Fuel costs is the worst, then the N7, M7!

That's for sure.

I'd so long enough spins for work a few times a month, commuting an hour + ish to work every day I wouldn't be keen on tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

About 120 km every day, give or take. Bought the CMax in may 2010 with 130k km on it and now has nearly 220k km on it.
    No idea where the extra km come from, maybe I go sleep driving.
    Spend between 45 minutes to an hour in my car each way, listening to the radio, mp3 player, etc...
    If you're not a fan of either your home situation or your work your daily commute can become a haven away from it all, it's just the dread of arriving.
    But getting up early sucks donkeyballs. I believe if there was a law forbidding everyone to get up before 8, there would be less war, violence and murder in the world, because people wouldn't be so grumpy and tired.

I wake up 4:00 in the morning for work. I wonder how I havent killed anyone yet! :D

Less then 10 miles to get to work to, so avert short trip. Fast too as there deck all trafic on the road when I go to work. Sometimes I really want it to be a bit longer.
    Don't know about you guys, but when I go to work all i want is something comfortable and big, but when I drive home I always want something fun. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

140kms per day, 5kms of single lane back road and the rest is N2/M2/M50.

No fuel costs:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I've got a 6 mile trip to work so I'm pretty lucky, start work at 5.30am or 7pm so traffic is never a issue really.If it's not raining in the morning I usually drop the roof, helps me wake up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

15 miles, less minutes, in climate controlled, leather clad, fuel guzzling comfort.

Bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Backtowhite

15miles each way which takes 35-45 min in and out, Ashbourne to city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

130 miles each way 3 days a week usually. Need to follow the work! The other days about 5 miles. The long commute takes a little over two hours while the short one has often taken me more than an hour.

I like the early starts, good for clearing the head before the days work and the drive back means I don't take it back home with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

A college weekday is 70 miles round, once out of the city mostly backroads.

Weekends can be anything from 100 miles to 200 miles round (we feckin love driving here :pac:)

I've got a 6 mile trip to work so I'm pretty lucky, start work at 5.30am or 7pm so traffic is never a issue really.If it's not raining in the morning I usually drop the roof, helps me wake up :D

Ah feck sake, you actually drive that distance ?

sSig_noway.gif

sSig_heeheehee.gif

Madlad .....................CarriedAway.jpg............. with the smilies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Are we trying to drop a hint or what:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I do, how else would I get to work? :)
    Are we trying to drop a hint or what:confused:

No idea what you're on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I commute about 100 miles a day in total, takes between 45 mins and an hour and a half depending on time of day, the last 8 miles or so are in constant city traffic, don't mind the drive but the cost is a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

For me, it depends on where the client site is. Sometimes it's Dublin Bus, sometimes it's a trip to Cork, or in one case, a daily commute to Drogheda from D6.

I generally love the driving - it's a chance to listen to the radio, catch up on news and spend some time to myself. I have a comfortable driving car, and I find that it relaxes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

45 miles total each day, don't find it difficult at all, even being a shift worker and doing it sometimes with lack of sleep.

To be fair, roads good all the way. Takes 30min each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

sSig_noway.gif

sSig_heeheehee.gif

It would be "mad" not too!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Jesus there is some commutes above....

I cover 24 miles a day round trip but I drive a truck for a living atm and I only clock up 90kms a day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

2.4 miles per day, 3 or 4 times a week....it's a killer :D
    Used to do about 35 miles per day but since moved house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

124 KM each way every day (248 in Total)

Driving some days, especially in the Winter sucks. If I could get a Job within walking distance that I like i'd jump at it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

62km's each way to and from the office. Thankfully it's mainly all motorway/good quality R road, so takes roughly an hour each way.

Leave the house at 06.45 (or thereabouts) and if traffic is light on the way home I'm back for 18.30.

With no barrier's on the M50 it's cut at least 30 minutes each way off the drive, but it's still a long old day and begins to take it's toll eventually. I've been commuting similar distances since 2003 (was further originally) and I'm pretty fed up with it now, especially with a little un in the house now. His bed time is 19.00 so I only get a few minutes with him after I get home, and that's the real killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I commute 75 miles each eay day. But am moving late in the summer another 75 miles further down the country. so by September I should be commuting 300 miles a day! but trying to go 3 day week by then hopefully - can do 2 days at home.

Currently driving a Yaris! never intended for it to be a long distance car! and desperately need to buy a diesel. Wont have the money for a while and am hoping that the Yaris will do me - but its costing me 20 quid a day at the moment and not sure if I cant afford NOT to change the car.

I leave at 5:40am normally home by 4:30 5pm at the very latest. Dont think its so bad, its N7/N9 mostly.

We can get snowed in though and that would impact it, but once I can get to the main road its normally ok in bad weather.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Madlad .....................CarriedAway.jpg............. with the smilies :)

That's not a smilie...........

That's a Smilie!

OldWomanSmiles.jpg

sSig_aaarggh.gif

It would be "mad" not too!!!

HAHA

sFun_nahnahna2.gif

I do, how else would I get to work? :)

Eah, 6 miles, hmmm, Bicycle ?

sSig_lol.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

i drive about 6km to work and back again every day :)

It's a straight run too and takes only a few minutes. No traffic, ever. There is a lot to be said for working so close to home.

I generally only need to fill the tank once every 5 weeks and it costs me €80 :pac:

Elessar wrote: »

It's a straight run too and takes only a few minutes. No traffic, ever. There is a lot to be said for working so close to home.

I generally only need to fill the tank once every 5 weeks and it costs me €80 :pac:

Lol I wouldn't drive 6kms, and back. Just think of the health benefits of cycling that little distance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Bobsammy

I drive about 45 miles each way - mainly N roads and it takes about 55 minutes to an hour. Don't mind the drive really, a chance to listen to the radio and be alone with my thoughts but I wish petrol wasn't so expensive! Costs a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Lol I wouldn't drive 6kms, and back. Just think of the health benefits of cycling that little distance!

I bet you would!

In reality though, I work shift so it's not always practical or safe to cycle to work at 3am on roads with no street lights!

Plus I love my car too much (i.e. I'm lazy)

I bet you would!

In reality though, I work shift so it's not always practical or safe to cycle to work at 3am on roads with no street lights!

Plus I love my car too much (i.e. I'm lazy)

Well that's fair enough, And I probably wouldn't cycle at that hour either, but during the day I certainly would cycle in fact I would give anything to live that close to work!

Bobsammy wrote: »
    I drive about 45 miles each way - mainly N roads and it takes about 55 minutes to an hour. Don't mind the drive really, a chance to listen to the radio and be alone with my thoughts but I wish petrol wasn't so expensive! Costs a fortune!

Yeah it's a disgrace the price of fuel, Imagine what it's going to cost after the budget ? more carbon tax and fuel tax.

60 Euro's for 37 litres of Petrol, (what it cost me the last time) is just pure extortion! And even though the cost of oil has come down we won't see it at the pumps because the Euro is weakening against the USD, if it goes too far the other way we are screwed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

That's a bit short distance to drive IMO. I would rather walk that ;).

I used to drive to work every day. It is 22km each way, but after years of driving on the same boring, straight road (now with a camera van parked in few spots occasionally), I gave it up and started cycling last year. I now feel much better, fresher, lighter, younger, fitter, better looking and I like taking various different routes on my way home through some narrow, bendy country roads.
    I still like driving from time to time, but recently I mainly drive only if I have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

i use to live around 3 miles from work, now ive moved so im doing around 5 miles each way. The longer commute was getting me down so i got a motorbike to livin things up, im also working night so traffic is never an issue, oh an i only work 3 shifts a weeks too
    edit edit edit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

120 kms each day mostly M7, N7 and actually love the drive - particularly the early morning run to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Mine's about 80 kms round trip. It's around the M50 so not too bad unless there's an accident en route.

In the old days I used to do it through the city. It was a shorter distance, but with the traffic, it took a lot longer. Some days it was a 2 hour+ commute and I felt like a needed a sleep when I got to work.

It really depends on the type of driving rather than the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

When I move house, i'll live approx 1.1 miles from work.
    I could almost get in the front of the car and get out the back and i'd be there.

Not a chance of ditching the car, from my cold dead hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Not so healthy in this country.. lots of accidents with cyclists injured or killed and little or no regard for lone cyclists is shown by motorists.:o

shawnee wrote: »
    Not so healthy in this country.. lots of accidents with cyclists injured or killed and little or no regard for lone cyclists is shown by motorists.:o

Well as a cyclist and a motorist I can say the same applies to both cyclists and motorists quiet a lot of people have little or no respect for themselves or others on the road. Doesn't matter if they are in a car or on a Bike, same goes for motorcyclists!

I'm sure you could find plenty of reasons not to cycle such a short distance. The fact is most people couldn't be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

I drive my own van for a courier company,i do a min of a 150 clicks around dublin every day,but can go up to 300km if i get a run down the country,normally get away with 25euro a day in diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I have a 5.5 km commute each way, all stop-start city traffic (along the Clontarf Road to the city centre)

Driving - 25m and about 50c of fuel. €25 in parking is the killer.
    Bus - about 20m, cost of €3.66 for the day (cost of 30 day travel ticket, per day)
    Cycling - 15/20m depending on wind / red lights. Fuel cost : a cereal bar :)

I rarely drive, thank god!

Yakuza wrote: »
    I have a 5.5 km commute each way, all stop-start city traffic (along the Clontarf Road to the city centre)

Driving - 25m and about 50c of fuel. €25 in parking is the killer.
    Bus - about 20m, cost of €3.66 for the day (cost of 30 day travel ticket, per day)
    Cycling - 15/20m depending on wind / red lights. Fuel cost : a cereal bar :)

I rarely drive, thank god!

25 Euro per day or week to park?

You rarely drive so what do you actually do then or do you do some of both? lol I missed that or I'm not awake yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭tigerblob

I was wondering about whether I should rent in Dublin or commute to college in September. The commute is 165km/100 miles and takes about two hours. I've done it before and it's not too bad, I enjoy driving. Commuting is a bit cheaper than renting, though not much. I'd probably be doing it four days a week. I drive a Punto. What do you guys think, am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

172km a day. Sure its grand. :)

No fuel costs:P

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

During the college year I do 90 miles 4 times a week, 45 each way, 50% back roads and 50% main, an hour each way.

I was getting the train at the start if the year, but it just didn't work fit class times, plus it was absolutely soul crushing. I don't find the commute too bad I'm used to it at this stage, the morning is grand the evenings a bit harder especially when you have to go home and study or do college work. I drive a polo which used to like, but I have truly come to hate it, it's not a nice place to spend 2 hours a day and it costs me way too much on petrol!