Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRC/Lucan/Orwell/Tiernan's/UCD Club League - 7/6/12

• 07-06-2012 7:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭

Dripping wet after cycling into work. Not sure I'd be up for 60km round trip and racing in this weather (I know, I know, HTFU). Do the races generally go ahead even in heavy rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Only the swords ones get canned cos of the weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

buffalo wrote: »
    Do the races generally go ahead even in heavy rain?
    I'm on the commuter complete with mudguards and pannier rack due to race bike in the bike hospital for a sore bb.
    I presume that as much as those wanting to follow my wheel might disagree, I shouldn't race. I was considering heading out to marshall a corner, but given the soaking this morning I'll wait and see.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Idleater wrote: »
    I'm on the commuter complete with mudguards and pannier rack due to race bike in the bike hospital for a sore bb.
    I presume that as much as those wanting to follow my wheel might disagree, I shouldn't race. I was considering heading out to marshall a corner, but given the soaking this morning I'll wait and see.

I'm heading out with mudguards, turn up, large numbers, don't race, small numbers, race, get easy points, tell everyone you know how you got points with a pannier, mudguards and your commuter bike, [showing off]I done the hill climb last week with a dynamo and no one said a word.[/showing off]

CramCycle wrote: »
    I'm heading out with mudguards, turn up, large numbers, don't race, small numbers, race, get easy points, tell everyone you know how you got points with a pannier, mudguards and your commuter bike, [showing off]I done the hill climb last week with a dynamo and no one said a word.[/showing off]

Actually I did.

But besides, I may be wrong, but I *think* it's not allowed to race with mudguards in case of a crash. Maybe crudracers are OK as they're all plastic, but I wouldn't fancy being in a crash with anyone who has metal mudguard stays on their bike. Ouch.

kenmc wrote: »
    But besides, I may be wrong, but I *think* it's not allowed to race with mudguards in case of a crash. Maybe crudracers are OK as they're all plastic, but I wouldn't fancy being in a crash with anyone who has metal mudguard stays on their bike. Ouch.

I say mudguards when in fact they are those SKS ones I can pull off in about 5 seconds. I think your right about the mudguards, definitely for track racing, I presume at the very least its, frowned upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

So it's definitely on? I'm down for marshalling, and really don't feel like standing outside for ages!

Well it's not definitely off, if that helps any...

I'll be as quick as I can, maybe drop a few hints on arrival about keeping it short tonight due to the weather ;)

kenmc wrote: »
    Well it's not definitely off, if that helps any...

Great, thanks for that!

Seriously, I finished my degree in architecture last night, and so am currently fit only for the couch, so going out to marshall in this weather seems like the universe really is just getting a kick out of my hangover.

Great, thanks for that!

Seriously, I finished my degree in architecture last night, and so am currently fit only for the couch, so going out to marshall in this weather seems like the universe really is just getting a kick out of my hangover.

Congrats on getting to the finish line.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Congrats on getting to the finish line.

Thank you, a long ol' haul, that was! Delighted to be finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

Anyone know if/when we can expect to hear if this is going ahead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

QueensGael wrote: »

Why would it not go ahead? The weather looks fine from where I'm sitting.

Lucan is the organising club according to the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

QueensGael wrote: »

I imagine the clubs would've been alerted at this point if it had been cancelled. Nothing on the Orwell site, so I'd say it'll go head, and probably be short and sweet.

I'm sitting this one out, not worth the potential for harm for me, and done enough over the last seven days!

I'm working out in tallaght, not ideal but it's not terrible, should be lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

The MET website shows lots of yellow, and some pink, "clouds" rolling in from the east but they might miss south Dublin and Wicklow. Which is a good thing, 'cos while pink rain might sound pleasant, it really isn't.

I'm going to sit out this evening's race too for a bunch of reasons only some of which are weather related. Good luck to everyone taking part. And don't drink the yellow rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Only leaving work now, not a chance I'll make it, hope its sunshine next Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Should be extra points for the hard men, and one woman, that turn up in this weather. Best racing yet from semi limit. Good lot of us working hard together. It was thrice over the bridge. We caught limit on 2nd lap I think and it seems there were lads up the road. Got caught by semi limit then last time down the hill into Kilbride and by scratch on the main road. A couple of lads went off the front and caught the breakaway & stayed away, leaving the main bunch battling out for 5th to 8th, though I don't think anyone really knew it. Lots of lads thought there were more up the road and there were calls to just roll in.

Baker (IRC) took the win, fair play to him. I've idea who else placed.

Wet, fast, furious. June. Ireland.:rolleyes:

fat bloke wrote: »
    Should be extra points for the hard men, and one woman, that turn up in this weather.

Definitely a suggestion - 5 points for regular sign-on, 7 points for signing on when there's less than 50 riders total. Maybe an increasing scale? 8 points for <40, 9 for <30, 10 for <20 ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

Very wet race. I was in SS. We were caught by Scratch 2nd time over the bridge. I went off with Padraig, Scratch Lucan rider and we caught the main L/SL bunch coming down to Manor Kilbride. I went off on my own and caught the first rider up the road. Stayed away on my own until about halfway up the main road I was caught by Padraig and Shane Baker (I think? IRC rider). Rode together, catching the final Limit rider before the bridge. I managed 2nd in the sprint between us 3. Limit guy got 4th I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Wow, ye must've been hooring it, cos as we crossed the bridge for the last time we were told we were a minute down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Was in Limit. Group seemed to stop working after a km then most of the group took a wrong turn (first left) and almost caused a crash. Left 4 of us going the right way after we regrouped. 3 guys and the only woman racing (i think). Myself and herself were the only ones who seemed to want to work, two of us dropped the other two but after a few km I was on my own as I knew we'd to push it to have any chance. Was then joined by one rider from the wrong turners near manor kilbride. He stayed on my wheel for a while but dropped off. Rode the remaining two laps on my own. Got caught by 3 Riders at the bridge on final lap and couldn't stay with them but held on for 4th. Enjoyed the race, shocking weather!!

Congrats Grieves, back to Scratch is confirmed! And I see Lumen in the results as well, fair play! Tough conditions, so you must've beaten some tough riders to get that!

edit: and Dowee too, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MAWS

Dowee wrote: »
    and the only woman racing (i think). /Quote]

No, there were 2 women mental enough to show up this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Dowee wrote: »
    ... Rode the remaining two laps on my own. Got caught by 3 Riders at the bridge on final kap and couldn't stay with them but held on for 4th. Enjoyed the race, shocking weather!!

Great ride by Dowee this evening. I was doing lead car for limit & was rooting for him the whole way coming down the main road for the last time, I thought he might be able to hold on, but not to be. At least you held on for some points, well deserved.
    I managed 2nd in the sprint between us 3. Limit guy got 4th I think.

I think I may have inadvertently blocked you in the sprint Mr. Grieves :o. Sorry about that if I did, had a bit of a mechanical trying to get my banger up the hill at the finish. Well done this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Great ride by Dowee this evening. I was doing lead car for limit & was rooting for him the whole way coming down the main road for the last time, I thought he might be able to hold on, but not to be. At least you held on for some points, well deserved.

Thanks, you were the only bit of company I had for most of the race!! :)