Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car with no taxbook - Steer Clear ?

• 02-06-2012 6:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Lads - Need a bit of advice

Looking for a particular car - None available in this country , sorry rephrase that - Nothing but pure junk in this country.

I saw a car across in England - French registered, LHD off a dealer. FSH and very little milage 120k kms.

Its spares or pepair as there is no documents...

Would be be a nightmare to get it VRT'ed and registered ? What way does the French system for registration work ? Am I into a load of red tape ?

Its small money and would make a good runaround for me as I do very little mileage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

No paperwork at all for it?...... Run away!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I have a bridge with some turrets and a lifting mechanism I could sell you so long as you don't want any proof of ownership, coverage against theft, satisfaction against outstanding finance etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What sort of budget do you have, are we talking something like a smart car?

Sounds like a lot of hassle to be honest. I wouldn't bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

Looking for a particular car - None available in this country , sorry rephrase that - Nothing but pure junk in this country.

whats wrong with all the cars in this country? all made in the same factories,most of them have log books,most of them are Rhd which are cheaper to insure.

jjf1974 wrote: »
    whats wrong with all the cars in this country ,all made in the same factories,most of them have log books.

OP is looking at used cars. Irish tend to not look after their cars, our roads aren't the best in places either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

You won't buy the junk here but are considering a left hand drive, French registered car in the UK with no paperwork. I think your idea of junk must be very different to mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭ValerieR

Sounds like a weird setup. It does have paperwork as it has a reg number in France. It has an owner too ... somewhere.

I guess the French police should be contacted, so that they trace the current owner. Then new paperwork to be issued (probably a local NCT too -not sure) ...
    The car itself would probably have to physically be brought back to France for that.
    And all this to receive maybe some glory for contributing to the immense joy of the owners upon finding the car and hanging on to it! LOL
    Or the car might not be as good as you thought it was (abandoned?)

What car are you after specifically? You may as well shop on French website to find a normal car without such hassle.

But I drove a LHD here for more than 20 years, it certainly has its disadvantages.

Hth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I saw a car across in England - French registered, LHD off a dealer. FSH and very little milage 120k kms.

Its spares or pepair as there is no documents...

Would be be a nightmare to get it VRT'ed and registered ? What way does the French system for registration work ? Am I into a load of red tape ?

Its small money and would make a good runaround for me as I do very little mileage
    Ring up the VRO here and ask is there any mechanism for registering a car with no paperwork. I think they have a system in the UK where the car gets a Q plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

This is the car I am chatting about

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/130698503674?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1952.l2649

I was chatting to the seller and she says that the car came with no paperwork. She said it indeed might have to go for a VIC test and a Q plate to get a UK plate

Depends now if I can get in contact with the local Tax/VRT office on Tuesday and see what they say about the car.. If there is an easy way of doing it I will deffo buy it.

I could just bring it here and drive it without VRT, tax, NCT but I am a decent law abiding citizen and I want to do things half right.

I just want a runaround not a 10 reg ... !

And no I would never look sideways at a car in this country - My wife needed a car, fancied a 08 Civic, looked at a few here, dodgey, clocked, no service history, brains drove out of them. Pure and utter scrap. Went to UK, Full Honda service history, every option in the book, leather and absolutely stunning condition and saved about €2250 including the ferry- flights and stuff...

I Just look at DD to entertain myself now... !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Mother of God like ... there's no shortage of those things here. I was looking at buying them before I got my e46.

[EDIT]Unless it's the Diesel specifically you want, they're a bit rarer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

That's gas, all that hassle for a £1200 car, I thought it was something unique.
    Their is a proccess to rereg undocumented cars, but you would'nt want to be in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

And no I would never look sideways at a car in this country - My wife needed a car, fancied a 08 Civic, looked at a few here, dodgey, clocked, no service history, brains drove out of them. Pure and utter scrap. Went to UK, Full Honda service history, every option in the book, leather and absolutely stunning condition and saved about €2250 including the ferry- flights and stuff...

I Just look at DD to entertain myself now... !

That's bananas. I've bought a lot of cars from UK over the years, but theres better value here, now. And they're well able to clock over there, too btw.......

We've changed both cars at here at home in the last 3 weeks, and in both cases, bought here. I specifically did the maths both ways, and here was cheaper. Proof? I sold my car TO the UK.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

waste of time, as said above i thought it was something unique. the bother of no paperwork, getting it home, registering it and then being stuck with lhd for that yoke!! not in a million years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Jesus christ plenty of good cars on the bangeromics thread. The thought of the hassle buying that makes my eyes bleed.

£1200 = €1500

Vrt another €400
    Another €300 to get it back to Ireland
    Nct
    Etc etc

Waste of time for that money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Seriously, this can't be the best you can do.

$(KGrHqZHJEEE-nbG5wqKBPtRrILieQ~~_12.JPG

I'd widen my net if I were you. There's gotta be better than that to spend your money on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

AltAccount wrote: »

$%28KGrHqZHJEEE-nbG5wqKBPtRrILieQ%7E%7E_12.JPG

I'd widen my net if I were you. There's gotta be better than that to spend your money on...

x2, i'd hate to see the op's idea of junk looking at that thing!

i have a 94 tdi audi 80 wagon, great car, was at a vw show in limerick last week, saw another one there, thing was spotless and newly tested, its for sale, he said he's gonna put it on donedeal. was looking around the 1200 mark, gorgeous car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

After a rant about all irish cars beig junk ,clocked,drove into the ground and the op intends buying this 10 year old car which needs a new bumper,a tail light,has to be re registered twice,get nct and pay higher insurance.i fail to see any sence but maybe thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Weylin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭masseyno9

AltAccount wrote: »

I'd agree wholeheartedly with this. Broken wiper, dodgy tailgate..it's most likely hit/been hit by something. Headache with paperwork, and wallet-ache I'd reckon too.

I fail to see any attraction to that particular car. V40 is quite nice, but not that one.

I also find it hilarious that you used the word "scrap."

I was hoping this might be a thread about some interesting or quirky citroen/peugeot/renault!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

Weylin wrote: »
    and the second car (vitara) in the list has no log book, suit the op down to the ground :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Youre looking for a small money runaround and youre considering getting one in from the UK...?!! Good lord why on earth would you bother for something that worth barely over a grand?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

djimi wrote: »
    Youre looking for a small money runaround and youre considering getting one in from the UK...?!! Good lord why on earth would you bother for something that worth barely over a grand?!!

Looking at the condition, and the fact it has no paperwork, and it is not even in the country yet, it's not even worth over a grand. Tbh, with that budget in mind, i wouldn't even look at this. If it is supposed to be cheap runaround, it is the worst choice really.
    And i believe OP didn't even see the car?
    Waste of time and money in my opinion too.