Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangeromics xj with lots of test discussion

• 01-06-2012 9:38pm

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3411188

10 months tax, NCT until May, no miles specified though, new tyres and shocks too..... the tax is a big plus. If 'twas in Cork I'd be tempted to have a peak.

Full-11928228.jpeg

I've moved this from the bangeromics thread, deserves its own one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

If he just taxed it Im guessing their is something seriously wrong with that car.

Also new shocks and tyres? He would be making a massive lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

RoverJames wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3411188

10 months tax, NCT until May, no miles specified though, new tyres and shocks too..... the tax is a big plus. If 'twas in Cork I'd be tempted to have a peak.

Full-11928228.jpeg

Tax alone cost almost as same as the car... If the car is drivable then it is well worth it even for that 8 months fun for 1.7k eu :)

Possibly but you'd get one without tax for a lot less than his asking price (see yoke below), he's trying to recoup his motor tax and make a couple of hundred, if the car was actually w@nked he could just scrap it and get the tax back that way ... About the shocks and tyres, lots of folk sell cars claiming the tyres are new if there is 5/6mm on them, part worns are cheap too, if he did the shocks himself it mightn't have been much of a cost.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3305507

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Tax is €88 a year for that jag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Tax is €88 a year for that jag...
    How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

Ye it came up on motortax.ie when you put in the reg as €88?
    Should be over €1600

Psv, registered on one of the islands, or camper van.

Realistically, it's the first one

Must be a PSV so, I never checked as the NCT expiry and tax expiry are different. Always thought they had to be done the same time on PSVs and that :o

Can anyone explain me that 88eu tax? Surely it's some loop hole?

What this chap said sums it up............
    Psv, registered on one of the islands, or camper van.

Realistically, it's the first one

A PSV is a taxi, hackney, limo, wedding or funeral car etc, they have their own tax rate :)
    Once the car becomes a private vehicle the tax dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

No wonder there's no mention of the mileage, in saying that it might have been used as a Limo which would usually put far less on the clock.

A mate of mine bought an ex Hackney a few years ago with 3 months tax on it. When the tax ran out he went up to the motor tax office with what was the standard amount of money to tax a 2l car at the time. He handed the clerk the form and nearly dropped when your one said that'll be €82 please. He kept his mouth shut and got the 12 months saving him over €500.

I don't know how strict it is nowadays.

The tax class wasn't changed with the change of ownership, the same happened with an ole Merc I bought, by keeping his mouth shut and taxing a private car as a PSV he could have landed himself up sh1ts creek if caught.

I wouldn't fancy trying to explain that at a checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

The tax class wasn't changed with the change of ownership, the same happened with an ole Merc I bought, by keeping his mouth shut and taxing a private car as a PSV he could have landed himself up sh1ts creek if caught.

I wouldn't fancy trying to explain that at a checkpoint.

In fairness that particular model is one of best that Jag produced X300 - They gave very little trouble compared to the later V8 engine XJ ..

exador wrote: »
    In fairness that particular model is one of best that Jag produced X300 - They gave very little trouble compared to the later V8 engine XJ ..

That makes the tax dodge fair enough so :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

So any ex-Taxi will have €82 tax for a full year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Daniel S wrote: »
    So any ex-Taxi will have €82 tax for a full year?
    Yes if sold after renewing tax. Strictly, Its no good to new buyer though if running the car privately although many would be more than happy to run with it I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

i was looking at Xj's too, but more

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3432480

Pity it's a manky colour!

What this chap said sums it up............

A PSV is a taxi, hackney, limo, wedding or funeral car etc, they have their own tax rate :)
    Once the car becomes a private vehicle the tax dies.

Thanks. I did not knew what PSV stood for. It is useless so for any private person so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Thanks. I did not knew what PSV stood for. It is useless so for any private person so?

It is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

i was looking at Xj's too, but more

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3432480

Pity it's a manky colour!

Jesus thats tempting, but is it too good to be true at that price????

Yep, it stands for Public Service Vehicle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

griffin100 wrote: »
    Jesus thats tempting, but is it too good to be true at that price????

6 year old 2.7 Jag with 133,000 miles for 9k?

Possibly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Why does this have it's own thread? A 97 XJ with (more than likely) galactic miles and NO tax @ €1750 isn't particularly good value IMO.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Why does this have it's own thread? A 97 XJ with (more than likely) galactic miles and NO tax @ €1750 isn't particularly good value IMO.

It provoked a lot of discussuion which clogs the bangeromics thread so it was given its own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

MCMLXXV wrote: »

10 months tax was one of the reason this one is different than the others, but as we found out, it is not privately taxed, so not such a great deal at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It provoked a lot of discussuion which clogs the bangeromics thread so it was given its own thread.

Ah cool, thought it might have been a Jag Fanboy thing. Was thinking of starting a similar thread for 7er's! :pac: