Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bullocks ears . . .

• 31-05-2012 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭

noticed a couple of days ago, one of me black LMX has a funny ear. . . one back as normal, but the other seems to be hanging forward. . or like straight out from head. . . then this morn when i saw them, he was the only one lying down, the others may have just got up. . but when i went to get him up he was very very slow, then just stood there. . looked weak i thought? so i have him in shed with a buddy, . water clear. . .

did rain all night

hmmmm. .

over reacting?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Maybe under-reacting.

If it's Listeriosis you're already on the back-foot, big time. Contact your vet and see what he thinks.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Yeah sounds like listeriosis to me too.
    Does he tilt his head at you? Are his reactions to noises or objects poor?

If it is he's way to far gone now. In my expierence if you're not on the ball with antibiotics within 2days you'll never get them back.
    I got one within 12 hours of going down with it this year and he barely recovered but you can tell he's got some kinda brain damage from it.
    Start to keep a close eye on the rest of them. Its not infectious but in my expierence once one goes down the conditions are present and usually another few go down shortly after
    Get a vet out to confirm it, then factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

greysides wrote: »
    Maybe under-reacting.

If it's Listeriosis you're already on the back-foot, big time. Contact your vet and see what he thinks.

hmmm, no. was watching him all eve now, went made for the beef nuts while he wasnt really this morning. more lively also this evening. so i let them out, ate grass straight away . drinking loads of water to.looks stronger and fitter this evening, still clear water. . . could be a slight cold or something, that or i just came upon him in his final hours of rest.. . and disturbed him. .

his ears though. . . looping forward, both. .

i know i read something about an animals ears falling forward, and that it means something. . . wish they didnt look as big or heavy. .

must do a search. .

am I to fussy, . .. ..

this is the ear issue Im having. . .

i dont know what defines drooping ears . .

maybe you could help!

he was born Apr-11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

am I to fussy, . .. ..

maybe you could help!

he was born Apr-11

no he doesnt look right, i had a calf exactly like that in shed over winter, vet advised to give her a course of antibiotics and she came round but i dont actually know what she had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

am I to fussy, . .. ..

maybe you could help!

he was born Apr-11

looks likes an animal with raised temperature, nasal and eye discharges as well?

wouldn't rule out pneumonia

I would be treating this animal sooner rather later, best get your vet to check him out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Vet.
    Animal has some sort of problem that will only go one way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

They're worth too much to be taking chances with. If pneumonia gets ahead of an animal it's hard (maybe impossible) to get the better of. It'll give you peace of mind to have a vet look at him.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I gather from your posts that you are new to all this lark. But you're right to go on your gut feeling. He doesn't look right!
    If he has pneumonia, you should be able to hear his lungs gurgling if you put your ear up to his chest.
    Deffo get VET though.

Have you got a thermometer? I saw digital ones for sale recently in Tesco.

vet on the way, keep ye posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I Say it a virus or pneumonia I have given him neufleur or pen strep.

pneumonia

vet came, checked him out. temp 105, injected twice with brown liquid, and one clear.

wife was attending, i was unable to be there.

we have another injection of brown to give in morning. he said keep him in over night.

i have bought myself a digital thermometer. so ill check that when giving him the shot in the morning. looks a bit better this evening. ears kicking up a bit.

vet said, nuts and water.. . he took 1kg at 6.30, and another at 10pm. ..

he's in with a buddy. .

vet said, ears are a good indication, and i was right to think something was up.

what's a normal temperature? for a bullock 350-450kgs.

@ PAKALASA Yes I heard what you were talking about over the last 2 days. noise from a bullocks stomach like a human hungry. .

im going to post something in the next few days about what signs to look out for to indicate a bullock is not well. ..

the only symptom I saw first and it must be 4 days ago, was one ear hanging low, then yesterday the second. . . years gone by I'd be looking for red water. but this lad hadn't any.

listen, many many thanks for the advice, and gut instinct is never too far from right.

I done the right thing, so my plans for a weekend away were cancelled, and I hopped on me tractor and spent this evening topping. . :D

Thanks lads. .

ill keep ye posted how he does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Well done.
    Gut instinct is a great thing. The most important thing any stockman can do is recognise a sick animal and monitor them.

pneumonia

vet came, checked him out. temp 105, injected twice with brown liquid, and one clear.

wife was attending, i was unable to be there.

we have another injection of brown to give in morning. he said keep him in over night.

i have bought myself a digital thermometer. so ill check that when giving him the shot in the morning. looks a bit better this evening. ears kicking up a bit.

vet said, nuts and water.. . he took 1kg at 6.30, and another at 10pm. ..

he's in with a buddy. .

vet said, ears are a good indication, and i was right to think something was up.

what's a normal temperature? for a bullock 350-450kgs.

@ PAKALASA Yes I heard what you were talking about over the last 2 days. noise from a bullocks stomach like a human hungry. .

im going to post something in the next few days about what signs to look out for to indicate a bullock is not well. ..

the only symptom I saw first and it must be 4 days ago, was one ear hanging low, then yesterday the second. . . years gone by I'd be looking for red water. but this lad hadn't any.

listen, many many thanks for the advice, and gut instinct is never too far from right.

I done the right thing, so my plans for a weekend away were cancelled, and I hopped on me tractor and spent this evening topping. . :D

Thanks lads. .

ill keep ye posted how he does

Normal temp is 101-102
    Better a high temp than a low one. If he's had pneumonia for 4 days he's a real little fighter. As for the noise from his stomach its actually his lungs that are making that wheezing from a build up of crap on them.
    Usually the 1st sign of pneumonia is a clear nasal discharge,sometimes weeping eyes, then comes the wheezing, then the droopy ears.
    I take it from your username your new to beef so just a few tips. It aint gospel so anyone else feel free to correct

Usually see pneumonia not in cold conditions but contrasting conditions. Thats to say its not it being a cold day but rather a big and sudden temp difference. Weather lately wouldnt have been particularly bad but the rain prob gave him the initial chill so keep an eye out for warm days and cold nights
    The animal usually gets it at night then gives the day fighting it and midday/evening they'll have either gotten over it naturally or they'll need help. Thats why its a good idea to check cattle 2 times a day
    Keep a bottle of nuflor on the farm handy for treating. In my expierence if your in with nuflor on the 1st day your gonna save them.

Pneumonia is the absolute bain of my existence. Have several cases every year and each one is a little different. I've seen em wheezing with a temp of 101 and I've seen em chewing the cud with a temp of 106. The main thing is to trust your gut. If it doesnt feel right it aint right

Just a little trivia but I was once told by a vet that with breeding over the centuries cattle have gotten larger but their lungs havent increased proportionally. So you've got these smaller lungs driving a bigger body often being pushed hard. Thats why pneumonia is such a killer

Normal temp is 101-102
    Better a high temp than a low one. If he's had pneumonia for 4 days he's a real little fighter. As for the noise from his stomach its actually his lungs that are making that wheezing from a build up of crap on them.
    Usually the 1st sign of pneumonia is a clear nasal discharge,sometimes weeping eyes, then comes the wheezing, then the droopy ears.
    I take it from your username your new to beef so just a few tips. It aint gospel so anyone else feel free to correct

Usually see pneumonia not in cold conditions but contrasting conditions. Thats to say its not it being a cold day but rather a big and sudden temp difference. Weather lately wouldnt have been particularly bad but the rain prob gave him the initial chill so keep an eye out for warm days and cold nights
    The animal usually gets it at night then gives the day fighting it and midday/evening they'll have either gotten over it naturally or they'll need help. Thats why its a good idea to check cattle 2 times a day
    Keep a bottle of nuflor on the farm handy for treating. In my expierence if your in with nuflor on the 1st day your gonna save them.

Pneumonia is the absolute bain of my existence. Have several cases every year and each one is a little different. I've seen em wheezing with a temp of 101 and I've seen em chewing the cud with a temp of 106. The main thing is to trust your gut. If it doesnt feel right it aint right

Just a little trivia but I was once told by a vet that with breeding over the centuries cattle have gotten larger but their lungs havent increased proportionally. So you've got these smaller lungs driving a bigger body often being pushed hard. Thats why pneumonia is such a killer

update. meant to reply yesterday. tested temp yesterday morning and it was 101, gave him the injection i was supposed to and let him out, more livelier. watched him for the day, and let them all in to a new paddock at 8pm last night. all including himself were running, and kicking legs in the air.
    this morn i went out and they were all lying. .. got them all up, all clear water. his ears look a bit better, although i saw him again at 12 and thought his ears were funny again .. .

rained a lot last night, but i think the air temp is constant .. . he was out all night.

id love to take his temp again, but that means bring him down to the shed, + i dont want to start a habbitt. . . im going to watch him. . . every few hrs. .

3 questions,

can u get nuflor or any antibiotic like over the counter and inject yourself if u feel u need to?.

how many nights should u keep him in, did i let him out too early , , the vet said to do so?. ..

i know temp can go up and down, but should i have waited to get 2-3 normal temps, then let him out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

3 questions,

can u get nuflor or any antibiotic like over the counter and inject yourself if u feel u need to?.

how many nights should u keep him in, did i let him out too early , , the vet said to do so?. ..

i know temp can go up and down, but should i have waited to get 2-3 normal temps, then let him out?

If you vet runs a vetinary shop you can get direct from the shop by explaining to the vetinary nurse/vet what is wrong with the animal or if they do not have a shop you can get a prescription for the local animal pharmcey but most vets have a drugs buisness.

With the weather forecast I would not have left him out last night depending on time of year it could be 3 days and I had a sick bullock last october and I did not let him back out again until the spring

Gennerally it is gut feeling however as he was sick a while before your dignosis I would have have left in another couple day's to see his reaction to antibotic,

update. meant to reply yesterday. tested temp yesterday morning and it was 101, gave him the injection i was supposed to and let him out, more livelier. watched him for the day, and let them all in to a new paddock at 8pm last night. all including himself were running, and kicking legs in the air.
    this morn i went out and they were all lying. .. got them all up, all clear water. his ears look a bit better, although i saw him again at 12 and thought his ears were funny again .. .

rained a lot last night, but i think the air temp is constant .. . he was out all night.

id love to take his temp again, but that means bring him down to the shed, + i dont want to start a habbitt. . . im going to watch him. . . every few hrs. .

3 questions,

Well the vet's in a better position than anyone here to judge cos he saw the animal first hand. I would have been inclined to keep him in till like you said 3 consistent average temp recordings but every case is different. Nuflor has an ability to pep an animal up the day after its given (it was the clear injection the vet gave) so keep a close eye on him for the next few days.
    Would be interested to know what the brown injection was?