Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Octavia just died

• 29-05-2012 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,looking for advice
    I have a 01 Octavia tdi which up until last night started ok
    Went to start this evening & nothing but radio,ac worked ok which i switched off but when i tried again even less power

I got a it started when a neighbour used leads,so brought it for a 10/15 min spin but when i was nearly home lights got very dim & radio went off etc...

Turned off engine but it wouldn't turn over again,ABS warning came on & a warning which looks like an exclamation mark in a triangle with an arrow going around it
    Is it battery or maybe alternator
    Thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

stick in a battery, if it works, its either the battery or the alternator, which it is will be evident by how long the new battery lasts for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,699 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd say battery. Might be worth testing it with a multimeter to see it's charging first to rule out the alternator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

RIP

Even though I have never heard of Mr.Octavia before, I'm sure he was a decent and honourable man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Where To wrote: »
    RIP

Even though I have never heard of Mr.Octavia before, I'm sure he was a decent and honourable man.
    :D Thank you, your condolences mean so much at this sad time

Battery not holding charge, battery dead me thinks. If it was the alternator not charging the battery the alternator (battery) light would be on in the majority of cases.

Thanks folks for quick reply's,will try neighbours battery tomorrow,was more concerned with warning lights to be honest ,ABS & other one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

99.9% sure the slip ring is fecked in your alternator, regular problem on these units €80-€140 fix..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Alternator, very common problem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

My money would be on the altenator as well - very common in this model Octavia. You could have it refurbed & I see that they are about €150 new on mister-auto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

delw wrote: »
    Thanks folks for quick reply's,will try neighbours battery tomorrow,was more concerned with warning lights to be honest ,ABS & other one
    Don't worry about the ignition lights, they'll go off when the engine is running. :)

Got new battery & everything ok,thanks for the replies folks

How much driving have you done on the new battery?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

or how much do you know about cars...

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

also, shall check alternator, new battery wont go long, if alternator not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

I'm sure he was a decent and honourable man.

Salt of the earth lad

A God fearing man of the people

Would never let you down, unless you're nearly home after a 15 minute spin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Could always park it in the garden as use the boot as a garden shed :P

Nahh hopefully you sorted it with the battery :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Might be the hydroscillator (invented by Henry Ford's illegitimate half-brother)

These are secretly installed in every car and allow cars to be sentient and drive themselves if the car isn't being treated properly by the owner.

What the hell have you been doing to that poor car?

.............,ABS warning came on & a warning which looks like an exclamation mark in a triangle with an arrow going around it
    Is it battery or maybe alternator
    Thanks in advance
    bryaner wrote: »
    99.9% sure the slip ring is fecked in your alternator, regular problem on these units €80-€140 fix..
    Sobanek wrote: »
    Alternator, very common problem...
    bf wrote: »
    My money would be on the altenator as well - very common in this model Octavia. You could have it refurbed & I see that they are about €150 new on mister-auto
    bryaner wrote: »
    How much driving have you done on the new battery?

Just wondering lads, but I would have thought if it was the alternator the actual battery light would have been on, even with a new battery. As this wasn't the case (unless the bit I highlighted in bold is the battery light on an Octavia) why are ye all reckoning it is the alternator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

It's the alternator i had this problem twice over 5 years, basically everything tries to switch on at once car makes very sick noise then just completely goes dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭ValerieR

RoverJames wrote: »

Just wondering lads, but I would have thought if it was the alternator the actual battery light would have been on, even with a new battery. As this wasn't the case (unless the bit I highlighted in bold is the battery light on an Octavia) why are ye all reckoning it is the alternator?

I'd tend to think alternator too. The car works ok after jumpstart and a little charge from the donor battery and then goes dead, losing power. This very much feels like the car is working from battery power only and that alternator isn't charging up behind.
    Happened me twice. The light was on once but not the other.

... well if it is the alternator the OPs battery won't last too long so we'll find out soon enough, presuming we're updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

when the alternator packed in on my mk1 seat leon the battery light stayed on. !in a triangle with an arrow going around it is for traction/stability control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

RIP

Czechmate:p

1061008-dashlights.jpg

for audi but similar for most vag group cars

RoverJames wrote: »

When the slip ring wears out on these James the light doesn't show most of the time as the alternator will still put out just enough to put the light out but not enough juice to run the motor..

Cheers for that info Bryan and Sean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Is there a one way clutch in the pulley of these alternators which can go faulty? I vaguely remember something like as if the pulley would turn but the internal parts of the alternator would remain stationary when the one way clutch fails.

I could be wrong.

there is a clutch pulley on the leon so im sure there is on the rest too