Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas fare dodgers - do ticket inspectors have any real power?

• 29-05-2012 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

Can anyone tell me do Luas ticket inspectors have any power at all when they find fare evaders?

One time I saw people who got of the Luas and inspectors who were on the platform trying to check tickets - people just ignored them and walked by, when confronted, the ticket evader just keeps on walking. Ticket inspector shouted that he was on camera etc, Not sure if anything would ever come of it.

Also saw a few times when on the Luas, ticket inspector caught someone and seems to take out a docket book, take details and give the person a fine. The person who was fined just gave a fake name and details and threw the fine away once the inspector got off.

Saw it on the green line where loads of kids hop on around ballyogan, see the Luas inspector inside - they just walk off and wait for the next one.

I think the red line is even worse.

As someone who always has a ticket it feels like we're subsidising fare evaders :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm quite sick of it at this stage. Every bloody day there are people and bunches of kids getting on around Fetterkern on the red line. Its obvious that they haven't bought tickets. :mad:

I pay 31.50 for my weekly ticket and these little shites just walk on and off like they own it !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

They only fine the quiet office worker who won't talk back

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

KTRIC wrote: »
    I'm quite sick of it at this stage. Every bloody day there are people coming on to boards with the same old queries about ticket inspectors.

^^^

Where I thought you were going with your reply. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

mikemac1 wrote: »
    They only fine the quiet office worker who won't talk back

+1. I saw a ticket inspector ignore a gang of rough lads recently who obviously had not got tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭cyberspider

Many years ago I worked on a project for the revenue protection office of a transport company in the UK AKA the ticket inspectors. Interestingly I found out that it is not illegal to be on public transport without paying a ticket. It is only illegal to be on public transport without the INTENTION or paying for a ticket.

This may seem a very slight difference but the intent is crucial as this is classified as fraud, which is an illegal offence. For this very reason they have the concept of standard fares, which we also have in Ireland. So if you dont have a valid ticket they can charge you the "Standard fare". If you give a false name and address this is fraud which is a illegal offence.

A ticket inspector has the legal right to demand production of a valid ticket as this is a condition of your travel, which you accept by getting on the vehicle. If you refuse to produce a ticket you are in breach of the condition of carriage, which is a illegal offence for which the ticket inspector can summon the Garda.

Only Garda have the legal right to stop and hold people. Legally a ticket inspector can not restrain or hold people they can only request the Garda to intervene. For this reason there is little they can do if a person ignores them. Technically they could use CCTV to identify a person who committed "fraud" and in serious cases they would certainly do this and prosecute them. However this is highly unlikely in cases where there is little chance of a conviction, especially in the case of Minors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Only Garda have the legal right to stop and hold people. Legally a ticket inspector can not restrain or hold people they can only request the Garda to intervene. For this reason there is little they can do if a person ignores them. Technically they could use CCTV to identify a person who committed "fraud" and in serious cases they would certainly do this and prosecute them. However this is highly unlikely in cases where there is little chance of a conviction, especially in the case of Minors.

Cyberspider, certain transport staff do have powers of arrest for specified offences; it's written into law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Cyberspider, certain transport staff do have powers of arrest for specified offences; it's written into law.

I believed that too until I checked the RSA-2005 and LR-Bylaws-2012 yesterday and couldn't find any reference to it at all. Is there an another act or by law which gives them this authority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

markpb wrote: »
    I believed that too until I checked the RSA-2005 and LR-Bylaws-2012 yesterday and couldn't find any reference to it at all. Is there an another act or by law which gives them this authority?

Mark, it may be in the 1961 act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I'm quite sick of it at this stage. Every bloody day there are people and bunches of kids getting on around Fetterkern on the red line. Its obvious that they haven't bought tickets. :mad:

I pay 31.50 for my weekly ticket and these little shites just walk on and off like they own it !!!

KTRIC,these savages effectively DO own the Luas Red Line.

It's sad,but entirely predictable that the Red Line extension was going to throw up this scenario.

Facilitating,understanding and tolerating these poor young disadvantaged products of the mange ridden Celtic Tigers was once the sole responsibility of Dublin Bus but Luas offers them far more scope to strut their offensive,aggressive stuff.

There are two significant groupings along with some smaller challenging ones who have effectively dictated the Red Line extension's commercial reality for Veolia and the RPA.

Not content with dominating the actual Tram services themselves,these groups spend a significant amount of time in and around the Park n Ride sites,helping to ensure that these are largely never more than half-full as the more savvy motorist takes a look and drives off.

The current state of the Law on Juvenile anti-social behaviour is a shambles,with every attempt at active discouragement or punishment rendered null and void by a plethora of "safeguards" which are fully researched and utilised by the Juvies themselves.

Veolia,STT,RPA and even the Gardai themselves are essentially powerless to act against these young savages,a situation which seems set to continue until the Red Line eventually becomes unviable to operate normally.

Either we act to protect what we have or we leave the field,thats about the only choice we now have. :(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

i've only got the luas once out that way, well to citywest to be exact. as we got closer i noticed signs all over the place basically saying " if you notice anyone skutting please contact the guards or veolia immediately" just curios on how the fetter :D can anyone skut on a luas?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I'm still amazed how anybody thought it would be viable to run the LUAS through that part of Tallaght without envisaging major problems with the local gurriers,I'm not being snobby here either,I live in North Clondalkin.Just seems ridiculous that they expected the trams to pass through without any hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

i've only got the luas once out that way, well to citywest to be exact. as we got closer i noticed signs all over the place basically saying " if you notice anyone skutting please contact the guards or veolia immediately" just curios on how the fetter :D can anyone skut on a luas?.

Well d'ye see them there wiper arms......;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I'd imagine that the ticket inspectors should have an authority similar to a security guard who finds someone shoplifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Mark, it may be in the 1961 act.

Which act is that? I can't find any railway related act enacted in 1961 but I could easily have missed it.