Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talking Rugby Episode 42 - HEC/Rabo/AP/Ireland talk - with jacothelad, thomond, GerM

• 25-05-2012 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Link: http://talkingrugby.podomatic.com/entry/2012-05-24T19_21_11-07_00

This week Dave is joined by myself, jacothelad and GerM.
    Leinster were simply stunning in their Heineken Cup final victory over Ulster, Talking Rugby looks back on the All Ireland final in Twickenham. We also look ahead to the domestic playoffs and have our say on the Ireland squad.

Joining Dave is Alan from Luxembourg, Ulsterman William and also Leinster fan Ciaran who is back for his appearance since before Christmas!

COMING UP ON THE SHOW:
    0:00 - We look back on the Heineken Cup Final, where Leinster once again produced the goods and Ulster had no answer. H
    28:30 - Leinster are out for the double this year and this weekend host Ospreys in the Pro12 final.
    40:40 - It's also the Aviva Premiership Final this weekend where Leicester play Harlequins.
    49:15 - Alan talks Top14 and we also discuss Michael Chieka's imminent departure from Stade Francais.
    54:25 - We talk Ireland's summer tour, with some strong words from our panel!
    1:05:55 - Bet of the Week!
    1:06:35 - We finish the show by looking at London Welsh's situation regarding their fight for the right to promotion to the Premiership.

Talking Rugby is by the fans, for the fans. If you would like to advertise, sponsor or simply get involved with the show, drop us an email to TheWorldsTalking@gmail.com.

To make tuning in again easier for you:
    1. We’re available on the iTunes Store directory, type in “Talking Rugby” into the search bar and you’ll find the show and be able to subscribe.
    2. You can also subscribe via our RSS feed http://talkingrugby.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

You can find old episodes here: http://talkingrugby.podomatic.com/
    We are also on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Worlds-Talking/191923120895223
    And Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/TheWorldsTalkin

Happy listening!
    The Talking Rugby Team

Thoughts? 2 votes

great show
    0% 0 votes
    meh
    100% 2 votes
    poor
    0% 0 votes
    Y U NO HAV HUGH FARRELLY?
    0% 0 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 756 ✭✭✭4PP

The intro was no doubt inspired by 1066 :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 756 ✭✭✭4PP

Enjoyed the show but I have to ask the question, What stone are Irish media living under vis a vis the T14???? Btw I don't blame the panel/show, they can only go on the info they get!
    Cheika didn't get on with the squad, hasn't talked to his N°2 is weeks, he was advised he was fired over two weeks ago! This is common knowledge over here so you would assume some of the scribes (Irish/British) would have picked up on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

Fair play lads, I'm enjoying listening to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Ah you always wait to put these up until just before I'm getting on a plane. Ya dopes!

I wil have to download it for my return trip. Looking forward to it, some of the best posters we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Jaco - paddy wallace's 'migraine' not preventing him playing a few weeks ago, when the world and his wife suspected concussion.

How does that square with ihumph not playing due to having concussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

durkadurka wrote: »
    Jaco - paddy wallace's 'migraine' not preventing him playing a few weeks ago, when the world and his wife suspected concussion.

I'll send jaco a PM, I'm sure he'd like to reply to your Q.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

durkadurka wrote: »

Simple. iHumph was concussed, Wallace was not.
    Paddy Wallace suffers from occasional and infrequent migraine headaches. These attacks as you may know, take many forms. Some are triggered by everyday foods such as booze, chocolate, cheese, wheat products, some by stress and many believe it or not, by teeth grinding. Some are also triggered by very bright lights such as floodlights. I am quite confident that Paddy was suffering this way. One of my close friends and an ex-AIL coach talked to him as he left the changing rooms that night and it was clear to Mike that he was ill, not concussed. As far as I'm aware they got someone to drive his car home. If you've ever had a migraine attack you will know that on the whole you'd rather be concussed. If U.R. wanted to employ some chicanery to hide concussion - and I can't think why they would want to do so - they could simply have:
    a) denied a concussion
    b) said he measured up against his pre-season tests
    c) said the square root of feck all.

Paddy is an intelligent man and wouldn't be stupid enough to play with such a condition.

I don't believe for a second that U.R. would play a guy with concussion particularly when there is more than adequate cover at his position. We've all seen BOD clearly the worse for being the victim of swinging arm tackles from the likes of Scumbag Armitage. It doesn't mean a concussion took place. Even though many suspect that it did.

I would personally err on the very safe side of caution in this matter however and I think the IRB should introduce stricter controls in the governance of such injuries.

aaah, that explains why you got fairly passionate when I asked that question in a recent show! Cheers jaco.

This week's episode is being recorded, with at least myself and phatpiggins, probably Doc too.

We're planning a discussion on the future of Munster and also a look back on this season.

Any questions for us regarding Munster? It would really help to vary our Munster topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

This is probably a bit obvious but what do you think will be their first-choice centre pairing with the arrival of Downey + Laulala and Earls' insistance on playing 13.

Tox56 wrote: »
    This is probably a bit obvious but what do you think will be their first-choice centre pairing with the arrival of Downey + Laulala and Earls' insistance on playing 13.

a certain talking point alright!

Hmmm

Basically how good are Munster right now. Seems a fairly basic point but I mean are they a good team playing badly or an average team playing at their level?

Who will be the starting team in the first round of the H Cup? (that's a complete punt!)

And have a wee discussion on the Zebo debate!

We actually might postpone a 'big' discussion on Munster, it depends on time constraints. But we will cover the Munster newsbites tonight.

any questions on rabo final, AP, Top14 or summer tour stuff?

Conor O'Shea - Schmidt's heir or Deccie's heir?

@ Penney, what do you want to see, how long are you going to give him to deliver.

@ Anscombe, same question.

POC / Ferris needing break from the game etc , is this season the worst possible for this tour (summer tour following RWC)?

Thoughts on lack of baa-baa coverage.

thanks emmet

we're recording as I type, we might do a fans' questions section at the end.

so more quickfire questions please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Expect Quins to challenge in Europe after AP win?

.Will Nacewa manage to get past the NIQ rules? Should he be allowed? Is this the exact situation that the IRFU have managed to make a "deal" with the strict rules they've decided to begin to enforce instead of the "grey" area that they gave themselves and then didn't marshall correctly?

Speaking of Marshall, ideal super sub for the AB's?

Are we ever going to see clever use of a squad by El Diablo?

Thoughts on London Welsh's plight?

.Will Nacewa manage to get past the NIQ rules? Should he be allowed? Is this the exact situation that the IRFU have managed to make a "deal" with the strict rules they've decided to begin to enforce instead of the "grey" area that they gave themselves and then didn't marshall correctly?

Speaking of Marshall, ideal super sub for the AB's?

Are we ever going to see clever use of a squad by El Diablo?

Thoughts on London Welsh's plight?

We covered this at the end of the last episode Emmet, will cover the others though, thanks.

new news today on it though!

http://www.espnscrum.com/england/rugby/story/164856.html

The club are receiving legal help pro bono, including 3 QCs on the case, so they'll have no problem going all the way with it.

alright lads, we're by the fans, for the fans. The fans have spoken!

We'll cover it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

I'd be interested to hear anything the panel might know about Munster's new backs coach Simon Mannix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Pat butcher. Shag or die?

die

Thanks for the questions lads, a fans' questions section might be a weekly thing we could do!

Seriously, interact with us on twitter and facebook too, they could do with a bit more life. That would be class.

The show will be up tommorrow night, thanks again!