Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lumivision info needed

• 25-05-2012 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

I am set to have laser eye surgery in Lumivision Clinic on Lower Fitzwilliams street next week. I have done a good bit of scoping out on the organization itself i.e. checking if the surgeon is registered with the Irish medical board, checking out the surgery and website etc. But has anyone else on the forms actually had surgery done here before? I am just looking for some reassurance.

Many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭insebayguy

Hi, I dont even know if you'll get this but I was wondering if you went ahead and had your eyes done with these guys..?
    I had the exam last night and I'm suitable but I've never really heard of this place and I just wanted to do some homework before I jump into anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Caoimhin

No not yet, I did check them out and he is registered with the Irish medical board so that is good news. I am getting it done Thurs at 12:30, nervous and excited

My wife is getting her eyes tested there on Thursday evening with a view to us both getting it done, maybe a week apart and getting a bit of a discount.
    Best of luck, really hope all goes well. He was acool guy, met him last night at 6:30 and didn't leave until almost 8:30, there was no hint of irritation from him as I grilled the poor bloke over everything and I got the impression that he's have chatted about it all night which was nice.
    What are you going for..? I'm looking at Lasik with the Wavefront lark

Yep exact same treatment for me, I always go for the pain free option. I grilled him for two hours as well, he actually sat me behind the computers and explained every result to me. I will try post how I got on maybe fri morning if I can see, I got all the advise and legal forms and it states for wavefront you get a portion of your eyesight back within 8 hours

Ah great. I'm glad I looked it up on Boards (actually just joined Boards today so I could harrass good people like you ;) ).
    I was a bit apprehensive initially because everytime I call the place he answers the phone like its some kind of one man band or something. Then wasn't impressed with the exam area but he showed me the actual operation room (the whole down stairs area in fact) and I was a lot more at ease.
    I really hope all goes well for you and look forward to hearing about the results :)

Ha ha I joined for the exact same reason, hence my thread. Yeah he showed me around too and actually joked if I was nervous he'd hold my hand but he would charge extra for that. Still damn nervous but according to his customers comments and thank you cards it is completely painless and really quick.

lol, snap! He told me I could bring somebody into the room or they could watch from the door, whatever suits best. He must have smelled the fear! At the very end I mentioned my sister who's like minus 11 in both eyes, she's interested in getting it done but had been told years back from the Matter private that she wasn't suitable. Anyway he brought me to the reception area and pulled out roughly 25 files of people getting it done in the next few weeks (mentioned you on Thursday but not by name). Some of them were minus 8/9 and what impressed me most was that 2 or 3 of them were doctors...
    If doctors trust this guy with their eyes then he should be good enough for a lowly peasant like me!

Yep thats probably me im about minus 6 with astigmatism and I was actually quoted around 6 grand my the other clinics, thank god for that groupon voucher

WOW, 6 grand!!?? You'd pick up a ver decent car for that! I'm minus 1.75 and minus 1.5 so not that bad, just a disaster with glasses and hate contacts. I didn't even buy the groupon voucher but I called him before the offer ended to do some homework & forgot about it then he called me back (which again is something I like, it shows a real interest).
    Is the whole thing costing you the price of the groupon voucher or a little bit more.. (don't answer if you dont want too)

same price, which is feckin epic

That's incredible, really it is and I think 50% of that goes to Groupon or something. Goes to show what the others are at with their 6 grand price tag!!

Thats why I was shady, because i thought there is no way it can be this cheap especially the advanced wavefront surgery

Yeah but then he's not paying a fortune for TV/Radio adds and seems to run a tight ship keeping overheads to a minimum, no white coat wearing shams walking around with clipboards doing nothing much either which is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Caoimhin wrote: »
    Yep thats probably me im about minus 6 with astigmatism and I was actually quoted around 6 grand my the other clinics, thank god for that groupon voucher
    What price is it per eye, and does the surgery come with a lifetime warranty? I'm also around the six mark with astigmatism.

and you cant pay with credit card or laser, cuz he says that cuts out having to pay for commission so its each cash, cheque or transfer

for me it was 1800 for both eyes and i dont know about a warranty, but you have to go for check ups the day after surgery, 1 week after 1 month after then a year after. All included in the price.

Same for me, 1800.00 euro for both eyes with advanced Wavefront treatment. I didn't buy the groupon voucher but still got the same price, small deposit upfront (usually 20% but really whatever you can afford) and the rest on the day of surgery if you like. Surgery has to be done within 4 weeks, presumably in case eyse change or you have an injury between exam and surgery...

the healing process is the thing i am interested in

Yeah, me too. Having said that I play football with a few lads that got it done and I work with a couple of girls that had it done, they all say the same thing "Best thing they ever did" a bit sore for the rest of the day of operation, the following day like having some grit or an eyelash in your eye and thereafter brand new but with no specs.. Looking forward to being able to wake up, open the curtains and see in glorious detail all the stuff outside my window as if I had my glasses on! Also looking forward to being able to wear any old shades, not prescription, not so nice, shades but a proper pair of aviators and drive the car without having to poke lenses into my eyeballs 1st :)

Have you looked at any clips on Youtube or anything.? To see what we're in for..
    I just did a quick search on Youtube, there are loads but not sure if I have the balls to watch them...

eh i dont think i wanna scare myself, im going ask for a sedative on the day

Hi Caoimhin, I sent you a private message there. Let me know if you get it :)

Thanks for the message insebayguy, puts my mind at ease

Hey everyone got the surgery done yesterday, was so easy and with no pain at all. Well worth it please message me if u have a question

Firstly, kudos for going for it in the first place.
    I've agreed a price with Dr Jain and having heard your review I will DEFO be going for it and sooner rather than later.
    How many people (employees of the clinic) were present at the surgery itself..?
    Did you get sedated?
    How did you feel in the immediate aftermath?
    How's it so far today?
    Most importantly, how is the VISION..?

Congrats again and I'm glad you had a positive experience.

insebayguy wrote: »
    Firstly, kudos for going for it in the first place.
    I've agreed a price with Dr Jain and having heard your review I will DEFO be going for it and sooner rather than later.
    How many people (employees of the clinic) were present at the surgery itself..?
    Did you get sedated?
    How did you feel in the immediate aftermath?
    How's it so far today?
    Most importantly, how is the VISION..?

Congrats again and I'm glad you had a positive experience.

3 people were in the clinic.
    No i didnt need to get sedated, no pain at all even after it my eyes didnt hurt. I just tried to sleep loads, i only slept for 4 hours but it is really the next day u see the difference
    Even after less than 24 hours my vision is nearly 20/20 and it will just get stronger within the next week so super vision.
    The whole thing took about 20mins i am so pissed i didnt do it earlier.

That seems to be exact same thing that everyone I know who had it done has said "my only regret was that I didn't get it done sooner".
    What was the story for the day you had it done, I mean, say you left the clinic at 2:00 pm. What then for the rest of the day..? Was it blindfolded all day so collection at the clinic and brought home and basically sit in the dark and learn to feel like a blind person then sleep with bandages and huge goggles on them remove them the following morning to reveal that you can see again or how does it work..?
    Did you go back today for the next day exam..? Any sign of invasion, like shiners or anything..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jacakction

Hi guys i work in the industry and honestly would not go near this clinic you pay for what you get there is reputable surgery centres with years of experience not just a pop up centre like this that has shut its doors twice in 5 years the maher an other clinics that have data to prove their point are better options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 fairbridge

Those articles are completely unrelated to the surgeon at Lumivision. The Dr Jain at lumivision is Dr Kantilal Jain. A completely different person. Jain is a very common indian surname such as Smith or o'reilly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 3beanzz

What a delightful coincidence, you're the same Fairbridge who posted the spam

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78584998

how was that spam? I've just been following this thread and couldn't believe how ignorant your post was so I had to comment.

I had surgery at this clinic myself so was quite shocked to see your post but when I looked at the articles you have put up I realized the 'mistake' you had made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 3beanzz

I have to apologize for those links then as I found that the Jain referred to in the links is working in Virginia.

http://lasereyesurgeons.net/eye-surgeon/beach-eye-care-virginia-beach-va-23454

From the article I got the impression he was moving from place to place as he put a business under his wife's licence. Plus his name is Vikas K Jain which added to the other fraudulent activity made sense to me that he might use his middle name sometimes.

I'm cautious about practices like this because of Irelands lack of regulations in the area. It's also clear the clinic hasn't been around very long so I'm even more prone to find reasons to avoid the temptation of the cheap price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

3beanzz wrote: »
    I have to apologize for those links then as I found that the Jain referred to in the links is working in Virginia.

Ask a moderator to delete your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Glinner1

Hi there
    just looking at the same clinic. How has it all gone for you??? Hopefully all is good?
    G

Glinner1 wrote: »
    Hi there
    just looking at the same clinic. How has it all gone for you??? Hopefully all is good?
    G

If you're referring to optilase as you can see the other post was deleted. This is because optilase probably wrote that post themselves as they regularly do. You can judge for yourself if thats the sort of clinic you want to go to or not.

As for lumivision I agree with the previous sentiments earlier on in the thread, my treatment was fantastic, no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Glinner1

Hi there - i was referring to LUMIVISION - thanks for your feedback
    G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭merlinengine

Here's my experience with Lumivision and Dr. Jain.

I was skeptical at first because he was very cheap but I decided to check him out anyway. I researched Lumivision and Dr. Jain on the net and went for the free consultation. He showed me around, did my consultation and answered any questions. Now, not to sound like a pratt but money wasn't much of an object for me especially considering I only have one set of eyes and don't want to take a risk with them but after seeing Dr. Jain I felt like I was in good hands so after some consideration I decided to go with him. I was quoted 1800 for wavefront LASEK. Additionally, I work shift hours and Dr. Jain was very accomodating with meeting times etc.

I opted for Wavefront LASEK as I play sports and the proceedure itself was quick and completely painless. After the anesthetic wears off my eyes were stingy for the first day, the second day they felt like there was something in my eyes and the third day they just felt uncomfortable. The forth day I was up and about and they just kept getting better and better in the few days after that. This mightn't be the same for everyone because all people heal differently.

Its 2 and half months later now and the end result is that I have 20/20 (I was -2 in both eyes) and I'm delighted I got it done, I even feel a bit stupid for not getting it done sooner! So even if you're not considering Lumivision, just get it done, you'll be simultaneously happy out and feel stupid like me! As for Lumivision, I have to say I couldn't fault them.

Note to all: I'm not trying to pimp Lumivision, this is just my honest account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭monkey8

This entire thread is brought to you by Lumivision!

One person with multiple accounts talking to himself! + one or two real people thrown in there!

monkey8 wrote: »
    This entire thread is brought to you by Lumivision!

One person with multiple accounts talking to himself! + one or two real people thrown in there!

Care to prove how you know this?
    Moderator can you confirm?
    My account is my own personal one so don't detract from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭monkey8

If a company I was considering was involved in such amateur marketing like this I certainly wouldn't let them near my eyes with lasers!

monkey8 wrote: »
    If a company I was considering was involved in such amateur marketing like this I certainly wouldn't let them near my eyes with lasers!

If you're not going to provide proof then you're just trying to get a rise out of people so get off the thread.

Hi Folks, just to confirm I didn't get the surgery done in the end. I was provisionally scheduled to get it done on June 25th but bottled it. To be honest, I was definitely going to get it done, I was happy with the clinic, happy with the Doctor, happy with everything, I had the money there but in order to have a "paper trail" of some sort I insisted on paying by bank transfer which Dr Jain wouldn't allow. That got me curious and made me wonder why not. Was he doing these jobs as a "nixer"..? Being honest I might not have cared so much had he said that to me, "look I'm doing this so cheap cos it's a nixer and I can't put it through the books blah blah" Anyway, good luck to anyone that goes with them :)

Sorry for the delay,

it was about 1800 in total, there is no lifetime warranty as this would be impossible to do. But you get a 1 week 1 month, 6 month and year check up included

BTW, after all this time I am still able to see perfectly, it is class