Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 25th. May 2012

• 24-05-2012 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭

We're nearly there, brothers and sisters!

My god, it's been a hard slog!

It's the penultimate Late Late Show of the series! Confirmed so far:-

Tippi Hedren - star of that Alfred Hitchcock film. The one with Tom Hanks who suspects his neighbours are up to something creepy.

Mr. President Michael D. Higgins!

Glen Hansard!

Bronagh Gallagher!

And Katie Piper, the model who was disfigured when her ex-boyfriend arranged for sulphuric acid to be thrown in her face :eek::mad::mad::mad:. She talks to Ryan about her recovery and various charity causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is this Tubs last show or is he back next season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Tippi Hedren - star of that Alfred Hitchcock film. The one with Tom Hanks who suspects his neighbours are up to something creepy.

Which Hitchcock film was Tom Hanks in ? :confused: He was in one called the 'Burbs, not Hitchcock. Tippi Hedren was in one called The Birds, which was by Hitchcock and tended to feature more Birds than creepy neighbours. Case of mistaken vowels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

BirdsDiving.Gif

arrrggghhh.. get away ta fek, fekn birds..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

Mr. President Michael D. Higgins!

Glen Hansard!

And Katie Piper, the model who was disfigured when her ex-boyfriend arranged for sulphuric acid to be thrown in her face :eek::mad::mad::mad:. She talks to Ryan about her recovery and various charity causes.

and Jedward???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

and Jedward???

No he will have them on when they get back from Baku, for the last show of season, (i guess)!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is this Tubs last show or is he back next season?

I read recently that he has signed a new radio & tv contract, ending rumours of him emigrating to find work abroad!!! At least some people can get jobs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

The documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face is on Netflix if anyone is interested.

Going to watch it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

No he will have them on when they get back from Baku, for the last show of season, (i guess)!!!!

Might watch it then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Eh wut? I assume you are referring to Rear Window starring James Steward & Grace Kelly.

Facepalm tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Looks like The Birds/The Burbs joke went over everybody's head...that'll teach me to steal material from the Funny Friday gang.

Katie Piper will be talking about her new book 'Things Get Better'. Seriously, what kind of sick mofo does that to a person? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

U'hh, Higgins, I'm not a fan of that man. I wonder will dlb him ask why his aides salary is exceeding the cap imposed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Oh FFS! Another sob story. Its already been done, fair play to the girl and all but how about some entertainment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

DLB: So, birds was it?
    Tippi: t'was Gay.
    DLB: And how was Hitchcock to work with?
    Tippi: Grand.

DLB: So President of Ireland? Nice, any Irish in the family at all?
    Michael D.: No Pat.
    DLB: Do you think we're ****ed as a country?
    Michael D.: No, sure we're great people.

DLB: So the Commitments!
    Glen: Yeah.
    DLB: Once!
    Glen: Yeah.

INSERT: 'JAYSUS THAT'S TERRIBLE' SPOT

DLB: Bronagh Gallagher, this is your life! Come on back out Glen.
    Bronagh: I've a new album!
    DLB: So the Commitments!
    Bronagh: Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

God, I hope it's not loads of grief talk.....I'm happy.....

It's the summer....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

U'hh, Higgins, I'm not a fan of that man. I wonder will dlb him ask why his aides salary is exceeding the cap imposed.

That's President Higgins to you.

Hey Skid....Let's party......saw Erasure in Liverpool donkey's years ago.........LOL!....Best ever song.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

I read recently that he has signed a new radio & tv contract, ending rumours of him emigrating to find work abroad!!! At least some people can get jobs here.

Yes in these bleak recessionary times - jobs are going to the very best talents????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Micheal D is on?!
    WOOHOO
    I loved him in Harry Potter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Oh FFS! Another sob story. Its already been done, fair play to the girl and all but how about some entertainment

More "celebrities"? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Mr. President Michael D. Higgins! Nice to see he is still alive and kicking,he must be the most low profile President ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I fear a softball interview with Michael D.

hondasam wrote: »
    Mr. President Michael D. Higgins! Nice to see he is still alive and kicking,he must be the most low profile President ever.

Ah, he's just old school, Sam.

Before the Marys you never heard a squeak out of the Presidents from one year to the next.

Compared to Former President Paddy Hillary he is like the third Jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Just watched the Katie Piper documentary.

Incredible person, looking forward to the interview.

Skid wrote: »
    Ah, he's just old school, Sam.

Before the Marys you never heard a squeak out of the Presidents from one year to the next.

Compared to Former President Paddy Hillary he is like the third Jedward

Cartwheels Skid........I'd pay to see that...:D

Evening everybody...

Can wait to see what "spontaneous things" Ryan Tubridy scribbled on his cue cards for our entertainment tonight... I think he just gets better every week, dont ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I really enjoyed Michael D in the Leprechaun series of films

Did he just say he will have 'a man who has spent thousands turning himself into a Lizard' :eek::confused:

Hitchcock's Muse.....

Michelle Rocca.....Van Morrison's muse.....

What exactly is a Muse?.......

Just wondering....

Did he just say he will have 'a man who has spent thousands turning himself into a Lizard' :eek::confused:

He's in Fianna Fáil, it could be a metaphor for one of his cronies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I am a fan of President Higgins but I do have concerns about the salaries paid to his advisors. I believe the extra €30,000 should come from the President's salary.

President Higgins advisors' pay 'exceeds salary cap'
    Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 01:39 PM

It has emerged today that the Government has allowed another breach of the pay cap it established for high earners within the public sector.

The Sunday Times newspaper has revealed that two members of Michael D Higgins' Presidential staff, his special advisor and his communication's director, are being paid more than €20,000 and €10,000 in excess of the pay guidelines.

Fine Gael TD Paschal Donohue has defended the increase, saying that overall pay rates have decreased significantly, and also defended the fact that the President has a special advisor.

"President Higgins has a huge variety of additional responsibilities," said Donohue.

"For example he is the person that has the ability to make a decision about a piece of legislation, he has the Council of State, he has the capacity to accept or refuse a decision from the Taoiseach to go to a General Election,

"I mean, he has a huge variety of other posts and responsibilities, at home and abroad, not as public, but are of huge importance."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/president-higgins-advisors-pay-exceeds-salary-cap-552205.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Evening everybody...

Can wait to see what "spontaneous things" Ryan Tubridy scribbled on his cue cards for our entertainment tonight... I think he just gets better every week, dont ye?

Evening Johnny, Hi is growing on me.

Where the fcuk did he get that tie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening all, Michal D. is looking very sprightly tonight.

Ah ffs, Band should have played The Lord Of The Rings theme..

Turn the tie down Michael, for the love of god. Did you make it from a pair of old curtains ?

That tie has me wanting a Terrys Chocolate Orange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Even Jon Snow wouldn't wear that tie.

cml387 wrote: »
    Even Jon Snow wouldn't wear that tie.
    But George Hook might ;)

He is rather dull, but at least he is not Sean Gallagher.

He sounds like he would enjoy it in the aras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Aoife9

Hi everyone how are ya'll tonight? what glorious weather we are having?
    Right down to business! I have say our wee prez seems like a lovely man very ordinary no airs or graces about him. :)

oh come, I'm falling asleep already... Another Social Welfare means test interview from Tubridy..

Mileage???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Love the signature MrsD

He is rather dull, but at least he is not Sean Gallagher.
    Ah Tubs isn't that bad, Skid ;)

MrsD007 wrote: »
    But George Hook might ;)

Ah, the hook is a fun persona.....:D

Ah ffs, Band should have played The Lord Of The Rings theme..

Dec 23rd......me in the que...;)

Christ, this man's a bore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That tie is making my eyeballs bleed.

Dog from the pound my ar__se....they knew him....:(

But the doggie is gorgeous....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Good Evening everybody.

The tie is making the studio stand out a lot less IMO. Michael D is interesting so far.