Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I drove a....

• 22-05-2012 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭

Looking for a car for someone else today, popped into my local vw dealer

Polo 1.2 TDI 75PS 11

bit of a strange one this, on startup, idle and low speeds it sounds exactly like he 1.2 sewing machine petrol engine from the polo, like it's about to throw a piston, once on the move though,it sounds like an old 1.9 TDI, but when you're coating or slowing down, the death rattle returns. 5th gear is unusable under 120kmph
    All in all though it was surprisingly good but I couldn't live with that din from day to day
    What surprised me is that the diesel polos aren't overly expensive next to their rivals

Golf 1.6 TDI 10
    Drove one of these a few years back, but took another spin today, it's better than I remembered but still a bit lacking in shove and a bit lumpy in its delivery

Golf 2.0 TDI 110 09
    Wasn't overly impressed with the 1.6 so took a spin in the short lived 2.0 110 model, think they only ran them for 5 months or so in 2009. This was much better than the 1.6 but still not an animal of a yoke by any means. Nice and smooth though and better for overtaking than the 1.6

Also looked at the new kia rio, seriously impressed with it. The new optima and ceed are quite nice in the flesh too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

They say when you drive a small engines polo, you day little bit inside. True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Salesman mentioned that alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Today I drove my dads wobbly Megane. I asked him if the clutch had always been so eradic and he said he's noticed it going more and more over the years, he's just use to it so he doesn't bother getting it fixed.
    I swear, I never stall my instructure's, my mam's or my own car (as little as it gets moved) but this thing is just mad.

The steering isn't the best either, I HAVE to get my own car on the road before my test, just to be sure I'm not in my dad's. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sylvia S14 - Very fast

Saab 95 2.0t - Very comfy

Mercedes E240 - A good bit of both of the above, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Sylvia S14 - Very fast

Saab 95 2.0t - Very comfy

Mercedes E240 - A good bit of both of the above, lol.

Test driving by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

A 924 turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

This week a 2008 Fiesta and 2010 Focus.

Both pants.

I think I might start this car review thing full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

on the above effort, i would not recommend it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

....a truly great machine, has a good high riding driving position and a smooth auto box to go with it. It can be a bit noisy though but the turning circle makes up for it...

Does a fine job cutting the grass too....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭comanche_cor

colm_mcm wrote: »

Golf 1.6 TDI 10
    Drove one of these a few years back, but took another spin today, it's better than I remembered but still a bit lacking in shove and a bit lumpy in its delivery

Try the 1.6 with DSG ... far nicer, none of the issues with the lack of shove, is quiet smooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

My New Audi A4 I bought two weeks ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...a 225 Audi TT - 3 of them
    ...2 Boxsters.....one 2.5, one 2.7

...and then I bought the middle Audi.

I can't believe after 10 years from my last one..........that not only am I back in one, but that it's still so good. WTF is everyone else at, since ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Why didn't you buy Mammy's car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Why didn't you buy Mammy's car!

....would you believe.....'cos it's silver - sorry ! :cool:

Herself was the driver (sic) on this one, my sports-car buying has ended up in too many dead ends, so I was merely being used as a crash test dummy on this one.........we looked at Red, Silver, Green. She really wanted a white one, but they're as rare as.......whatever.........so she went with Green.

...at one stage I even toyed with the idea of buying a silver, and wrapping it.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

A BMW 318ti (e36)... Msport jap import so actually is quite nice inside and out. Far from exciting.

A BMW 520i (e39)... Like driving a big couch around. Lovely, again, far from exciting. Luckily, I'm not after exciting for my daily car now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

A Kabota 2350rx, 23hp beast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

2012 Irish Megane 'Dynamique' which is a full trim level down from the UK Dynamique. Typical paddy spec rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

What were the differences? It's rare to find significant differences these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

I drove my sisters 2008 mx5 hard top convertible while in Boston! Lovely car to drive and great craic dont care what anyone says. It was manual too which was cool only drove a left hand drive manual that was a saxo sh1tbox before in Greece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

A rented Spanish reg Skoda Fabia 1.2 petrol. Have to say as a Skoda hater and this one was bog spec it wasn't all that bad. Cruised on the autopista at 140-150kph not a bother. Lots of space in the back for the young uns. Engine a little rough sounding and it's pig ugly but all in all not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

What were the differences? It's rare to find significant differences these days.

Cheap upholstery, no interior chrome embellishments, no rear armrest or sun blinds, plastic steering wheel and gear knob, not leather, door handles painted, not silver. I am sure there was more. Old Irish Dynamiques were far closer to UK ones, no more in the Meganes case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Today i drove an executive 08 Accord..... And i fell in love :(

Tried to swap my Corolla for it.... guy was having none of it. A man can dream.