Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barman/Lady.....Help me please :)

• 22-05-2012 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭

Okay,

Here it is, I'm due to start a Bar course next Month after the European Championships. Reputable company in Dublin City Centre.

Anyway the idea was that I would do the course, get some confidence obviously in what I was doing and then go after a Barjob....I'm just home from being abroad by the way.

So that was the plan until this afternoon when I was asked if I wanted to go on Thursday to a bar which is quite local to me to try out for an hour or so....Getting past the fact that people there might know me etc I feel under a lot of pressure as I have pretty much no experience and I "tried out" for a bar in Melbourne in 2008 which ended in disaster....It was actually so bad it ended up being laughable but didn't help my case that is was a trendy type of cocktail bar rather than a normal pub.

I've had a lot more "challenging roles" but I'm so worried and nervous now that I'll screw up like I did in Oz. What I would have prefered was to wait until after the course so I would be confident in what I was going in to do but now Im in a situation where I have to completely wing it....and I can't back out either!

Has anyone got any opinions on this or advice/tips?

I need them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Typewriter

A bartending course sounds like a awful waste of money.

There is not must theory to working in a bar just a few on the job things you have to get the hang of.

Take up that offer in the local bar. After a little trial and error you'll be flying.

I've working in loads of bars and restaurants as a barman and as a waiter both in Ireland and abroad. I started washing dishes then clearing tables then helping out in the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Cheers, I agree with the money side of it but to be honest thats how bad my night in Oz went.

The Manager for Thursday emphasised on wanting someone fast which is probably what has my back up the most - I'm going to look inexperienced never mind "fast"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I've a fair bit of experience working as a bartender.

There's really nothing to it. It's a job where personality is important, not experience.
    Assumign your local isn't unusual, you'll just need to know how to do spirits, wine and pints with possibly the occasional cocktail.

I really wouldn't worry about your lack of experience. I still remember my first serious bartending job where I applied with very little experience and was taken on as "we can teach skills but we can't teach personality".

Any questions, feel free to ask away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

8 years barwork behind me, left it 7 months ago.

Pay to do a course? b0llocks!!!

Go to a few bars, tell them you want to learn the trade and will do for free, im sure someone will hire you.
    As said, once you master the actual serving its about being able to do it fast and to a high standard, then there are others tricks/skills you need...how to spot a dodgy customer, look after the regulars, be able to make conversation, make them feel at home. if your busy take an order even if your not ready, just to let the customer know your there.

No harm starting off in a small pub thats not too busy, then move onto a bigger place.

Cocktails- not too many places doing cocktails and the ones that do dont go overboard, they usually sell them cheap with little booze, you'lll master them in a week.

TIP! - IMO...stay away from hotel bars, normally dickhead customers and if they are guests-depending on manager- are "always right"

And the pay is **** lately so if your not great at getting on with customers or dont have big knockers tips aint gonna be great.

But! it can be great craic and you will meet great people and get to know where the late drinks are :D so enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

I agree that you don't need to do a course here. It might be different in Oz of the USA where you're expected to know how to make hundreds of different cocktails and other things.

Here in Ireland you just need to know how to pull pints and change kegs and you can pick this up in no time. Apart from that just use common sense. When its busy make sure you deal with customers efficiently and politely. When its quiet make sure the bar area is kept presentable and well stocked up (some places have young lads to do the stock, others don't). If you're unsure about anything don't be afraid to ask one of the other staff as everyone started somewhere.
    It's fairly handy really.....
    And i also agree to avoid hotel bars if you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I also worked in a bar before. Thrown into the deep end during the Christmas rush!

I found the actual making drinks part easy. It took me a day to get used to working with the till, figuring out change, etc., and probably about a week to be able to remember multiple drinks orders and read people's lips.

You don't need to do a course.

Here listen thanks a lot for all the replies, Very encouraging!

Bought all the gear today, the slacks, shirt,tie etc as my wardrobe consists of shorts/tshirts from being in Africa the past couple of years.

Anyway I feel a lot better about it now, Hopefully theyre an alright bunch that take me in from the start and support me rather than be P"$cks to me as I know this can happen.

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Luseifer

Good luck with the new job, just try and not be to nervous. Not much to it honestly! You will be flying in a couple of weeks. Just be prepared for the unsociable hours and odd drunk customer spewing ****.

Oh I lied for my first Bar Job many years ago got caught out as I started on the busiest day of the year. But the manager was impressed at the time by my work ethic and told me he would train up and not to tell anymore lies. Did not take me long to learn and then succeed . Was locking up the premises after 12 weeks cashing up etc... Just be friendly and chatty and make eye contact very important. And again best of luck with job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Sorry for the negative comment but why do you want to do a job that you tried and failed at? Is it something you really think you would enjoy or is it the only summer work in your area?

Thanks everyone, Apology accepted for the negative comment...FAILED AT....jaysus, It was 1 night and I had no experience....I made a mess of the night but FAILED AT? a little unfair...yes im annoyed at your comment!

As I said above I was planning a bartending course after which I've no doubt I'd be good at the job but this came up suddenly so it was a case of Should I just go for it or wait and maybe not get this opportunity again for a while.

I've been working in Africa for past two years Tour Leading 26 tourists across the continent (while holding their hands some of the way!!)....After doing something like that I cant bear the thought of going back into an office, I want to work in a sociable environment regardless of if they are unsociable hours.....Barwork fits for me.

Anyway, You got my back up...better get it back down and remain positive until the trial later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Cullen82 wrote: »
    Thanks everyone, Apology accepted for the negative comment...FAILED AT....jaysus, It was 1 night and I had no experience....I made a mess of the night but FAILED AT? a little unfair...yes im annoyed at your comment!

As I said above I was planning a bartending course after which I've no doubt I'd be good at the job but this came up suddenly so it was a case of Should I just go for it or wait and maybe not get this opportunity again for a while.

I've been working in Africa for past two years Tour Leading 26 tourists across the continent (while holding their hands some of the way!!)....After doing something like that I cant bear the thought of going back into an office, I want to work in a sociable environment regardless of if they are unsociable hours.....Barwork fits for me.

Anyway, You got my back up...better get it back down and remain positive until the trial later!
    I actually misread "I was actually so bad it ended up being laughable" in your first post. I was wondering why you want to do something that you admitted being laughably bad at. If it was just one night with no training then that's nothing to go by.