Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€3500 to bore a Hyundai Sante Fe engine or not

• 21-05-2012 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭

Hi I posted 2 weeks ago about my hubby's 2006 (current model) Sante Fe 2.2 litre diesel which suffered engine failure due to lack of oil despite being regularly serviced by a Hyundai dealer and well maintained.

No warning lights came on in dash and Hyundai cannot tell us why this might be. Have had no support from Hyundai. We feel very let down after paying €42k for a car and looking after it that the engine would fail without warning after 110k miles which isn't exactly excessive.

Hyundai dealer has quoted us €3500 to fix, which involves the engine being bored and oversized pistons put into the engine in place of the originals. Wondering if this will be money well spent or not????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You can take it that the garage is farming the work out, call some specialists as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Jane98

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    I wouldn't

Why not Jimbob 83?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Jane98 wrote: »
    Hi I posted 2 weeks ago about my hubby's 2006 (current model) Sante Fe 2.2 litre diesel which suffered engine failure due to lack of oil despite being regularly serviced by a Hyundai dealer and well maintained.

No warning lights came on in dash and Hyundai cannot tell us why this might be. Have had no support from Hyundai. We feel very let down after paying €42k for a car and looking after it that the engine would fail without warning after 110k miles which isn't exactly excessive.

Hyundai dealer has quoted us €3500 to fix, which involves the engine being bored and oversized pistons put into the engine in place of the originals. Wondering if this will be money well spent or not????

Did you price an engine (with less millage) from a breakers? Including fitting, I'd say it's be less than 2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

When it comes to serious mechanical work, main dealers tend to be both more expensive and less competent than a good independent. Or just more expensive if they farm the work out.

corglass wrote: »
    Did you price an engine (with less millage) from a breakers? Including fitting, I'd say it's be less than 2k.

Will it end up the same way though?

Why not Jimbob 83?

Main reason is you can get an engine from a breaking sante fe for less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭tomasL

dont understand why people buy them cars, for 42000 u can get japanese or german car,which is much better built,workmate has bmw 520 of year 98 with 350000 km and still drives no problem

tomasL wrote: »
    dont understand why people buy them cars, for 42000 u can get japanese or german car,which is much better built,workmate has bmw 520 of year 98 with 350000 km and still drives no problem

How many German or Japanese 7 seater jeeps can you get for €42k?

BMWs diesels have been known to have their own issues too.

u can get few years old for that and still be better

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Main reason is you can get an engine from a breaking sante fe for less

They seem to be very hard to come by - is that becuase there is problems with the enging?????

Im suprised at that is/was alot of sante fe's on the road, yours has a large cc than the original popular ones though as the sante fe in it's second generation jumped up a class size

u can get few years old for that and still be better

We sold a 3 year old touareg 2.5 that had a catastrophic engine failure within a few days of leaving, German stuff is not indestructible either, and it cost a lot more than 3500 to put right.

OP - Remember that a used engine from another car is an unknown quantity, whereas a properly rebuilt engine should be good for a long time.

what does it mean <catastrophic engine failure>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

At least she might have more power after this

what does it mean <catastrophic engine failure>

As in it needed a huge amount of parts to get going again, I didn't work on the service end so I couldn't tell you exactly what it wa, I know it had full vw history and wasn't high mileage. That's a good few years ago now.

Either way, telling the op they should have bought something else a few years ago isn't particularly helpful.

properly rebuilt still does not mean be good,diesel engines are more sensitive for rebuilding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

properly rebuilt still does not mean be good,diesel engines are more sensitive for rebuilding

Wouldn't particularly agree with that, yes a little bit different to a petrol but not any more difficult.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You can take it that the garage is farming the work out, call some specialists as well.

Colm, what kind of specialists should I contact or how do you suggest I go about approaching specialists in this line of work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=santa+fe+engine&_sacat=0&_sop=3&_dmpt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&_odkw=santa+fe+2.2l&_osacat=0&_trksid=p3286.c0.m270.l1313

Op it might be worth checkin gout that link. On another note, 42k for a hyundai, it beggars belief...

also see below Op, might be worth contacting nissan doctor and getting a quote / opinion!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056643716

was the car burning the ideal or was it leaking from gaskets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

.. I'd love to know why they are doing this as a fix! is this recommended from hyundai Ireland, surely this is altering the engine from standard? for 3,500 euro I would expect a spanking new engine. There seems to be a lot of oil issues with these, this case of hyundai that seemed to eat itself, and hyundai are not being very co-operative with investigations..

JJJJNR wrote: »
    .. I'd love to know why they are doing this as a fix! is this recommended from hyundai Ireland, surely this is altering the engine from standard? for 3,500 euro I would expect a spanking new engine. There seems to be a lot of oil issues with these, this case of hyundai that seemed to eat itself, and hyundai are not being very co-operative with investigations..

Should I ask dealer if they have consulted with Hyundai Ireland regarding the most appropriate fix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Knowing relatively little about there cars and looking at it purely from an economical standpoint - I can buy a 2006 2.2 L diesel Hyundai Santa Fe on CBG for under €10k with a 12 month warranty and half the mileage of your current car.

I reckon even if it was running OK you would be lucky to get more than €8k for it in a cash sale, probably less on a trade in. The €885 a year road tax is going to kill any resale value I reckon.

So, the most I would pay to repair the engine (assuming they will warranty it for 12 months) would be about €2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Should I ask dealer if they have consulted with Hyundai Ireland regarding the most appropriate fix?

I don't think you should because their answer will be a new engine which will cost more like €6500 fitted than €3500. The dealer is probably trying to do you a favour by quoting for the cheaper repair option rather than fitting a whole new unit.

Where are you located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Arciphel wrote: »
    Knowing relatively little about there cars and looking at it purely from an economical standpoint - I can buy a 2006 2.2 L diesel Hyundai Santa Fe on CBG for under €10k with a 12 month warranty and half the mileage of your current car.

I reckon even if it was running OK you would be lucky to get more than €8k for it in a cash sale, probably less on a trade in. The €885 a year road tax is going to kill any resale value I reckon.

So, the most I would pay to repair the engine (assuming they will warranty it for 12 months) would be about €2k.

Pointless post really. The value of the car has no bearing on how much it costs to repair the engine.

Limerick.

I would contact Hyundai Ireland ASAP, and as mentioned before get a second opinion about the repair cost. By the sounds of it you are the only owner of the car, if it has been back to a main hyundai dealer for regular stamped servicing, you might be entitled to some sort of part payment towards repairs from them.

It's worth feck all without an engine so I'd be inclined to agree with George

Pointless post really. The value of the car has no bearing on how much it costs to repair the engine.

Your eyes, use them. ;)

The OP's post - "Wondering if this will be money well spent or not????"

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's worth feck all without an engine so I'd be inclined to agree with George

I think it's more to do with the opportunity cost of what the OP could do with the €3,500 rather than sink it (and potentially more money) into this car when they could consider other options.

I would contact Hyundai Ireland ASAP, and as mentioned before get a second opinion about the repair cost. By the sounds of it you are the only owner of the car, if it has been back to a main hyundai dealer for regular stamped servicing, you might be entitled to some sort of part payment towards repairs from them.

I have already been on to Hyundai Ireland but have had little joy. They will give no money towards the fix, despite us buying the car from new and having 9 main dealer services and 1 non-hyundai service in 110k miles.

but if I wanted to trade my car for a new Hyundai I40 (for example) they would give €1000 to that but right now I feel I'll never touch another Hyundai.

Jane, did you say they will give you €1000 on a trade-in? Not ten grand, one grand? :eek:

I would consult your legal representative if you have a fully stamped log book, its unacceptable from them.

I have already been on to Hyundai Ireland but have had little joy. They will give no money towards the fix, despite us buying the car from new and having 9 main dealer services and 1 non-hyundai service in 110k miles.

but if I wanted to trade my car for a new Hyundai I40 (for example) they would give €1000 to that but right now I feel I'll never touch another Hyundai.

Meant an extra €1000. Offered a trade in of €5500 on car against an I40.

€5,500 is still a very poor trade-in on your current car. You're stuck between a rock and a hard place there.

Arciphel wrote: »
    €5,500 is still a very poor trade-in on your current car. You're stuck between a rock and a hard place there.

Tell me about it. Aside from the engine damage, the car is otherwise immaculate as it has been very well looked after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

I would consult your legal representative if you have a fully stamped log book, its unacceptable from them.

I was thinking along the same lines tbh.

Engine failure at 110k with full service history is unnaceptable in my book unless you did something silly. A manufacturers liability doesn't end with their warranty.

Have they told you why it failed?

You might want an independent Motor Engineer's opinion on this before stumping up.

Did it fail suddenly or just deteriorate to the point it was running badly?

Do a trawl of the internet in the mean time and see if its a common issue with your model.

So what happens in a couple of years if the i40 engine blows! same story we'll give you xxxx euro off your next car... ballix to that OP get represented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

My own non-legal opinion is that expensive things happen to 42K cars when they are 6 years old sometimes. It's out of warranty. Lawyers are the usual winners of every lawsuit.

I would not fix the car, if the Hyundai garage think its worth money after this fix, they should offer you a decent trade in and fix it.

They aren't offering, so they think the car will be worthless after it's fixed. They are the experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Ah get it bored out....

LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

I think more pressure needs to be put on Hyundai ... Eddie Hobbs maybe .?
    in the meantime
    I'd get an engineers report ... Sorry can't recommend one

find a publisist ! Then

If no joy from Hyundai , I'd advertise it in the damaged repairable section of done deal and put my 3500 to the amount received, maybe ask 4 k for it as is at the start and drop your price every three days, and put your 7500 to something else.

Even if you get a rebore and regrind for 3500 you'll still have the old clutch,old injectors,old turbo,old dual mass flywheel old injector pump etc etc which could all fail tomorrow .

If it ran low on oil it needs a new turbo.

So to answer your question no its not worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Bigus wrote: »
    If no joy from Hyundai , I'd advertise it in the damaged repairable section of done deal and put my 3500 to the amount received, maybe ask 4 k for it as is at the start and drop your price every three days, and put your 7500 to something else.

That would my my thoughts / reasonings exactly. Whatever you get for the car plus the several grand you would have had to spend to get the car going would be a big enough budget to get you a much better car altogether.

Latest is garage is only willing to give 3 months warranty on the engine after it's fixed and after I've given them €3500.

Does this suggest, even the dealer isn't convinced this will be successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭El Kabong!

There are those more knowledgeable than I on here but the very last thing you should be doing is using a main dealer to do this work.

Latest is garage is only willing to give 3 months warranty on the engine after it's fixed and after I've given them €3500.

Does this suggest, even the dealer isn't convinced this will be successful.
    Now that's a bit of a joke, IMO at least.

El Kabong! wrote: »
    There are those more knowledgeable than I on here but the very last thing you should be doing is using a main dealer to do this work.

Why's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Why's that?

Because they are generally much cheaper then a dealer and there no reason to assume that you'd get a better job done by a main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 benny_cakes

these lads are definitely worth a try.

http://www.murphyengines.ie/

not the cheapest but have a reputation of being very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

You have 42k tied up in a depreciating asset. Heres what i would do
    1. Find a competent diesel mechanic who works on diesels even trucks for a living and have the engine stripped in situ if possible. Pull head, sump and see whats damaged. Was failure due to sludge, poor fueling, turbo, whatever.Then you see where you go. You might only need 1 piston, or bearings new oil pump. The oil strainer in the sump ,ay have logged. Without a teardown you are only guessing. Good luck.