Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to copy Germany?

• 21-05-2012 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭

Can we learn from Germany, the most successful member of the EU, and apply a similar approach in Ireland? There appears to be a general acceptance among Germans of the importance of economic productivity in keeping them competitive over the long term.

A recent Forbes article attributes the latest German Economic Miracle to their apprenticeship scheme for the non-academic and to “reduced labour costs”: http://www.forbes.com/sites/timworstall/2012/03/05/the-cause-of-the-latest-german-economic-miracle/.

The German Government has also pumped billions into their economy to get it out of recession: http://www.spiegel.de/international/business/0,1518,707231,00.html

Other factors include their freely chosen structured political, societal, economic model: http://www.germanculture.com.ua/library/facts/bl_economy.htm.

The German labour movement is organised independently of political parties. The DGB is the biggest association of unions and represents industrial workers. Smaller associations, the DAG represents professionals / managers and civil servants are represented by the DBB (civil servants are not allowed to strike or engage in collective bargaining).

Although union membership has declined in Germany, the DGB negotiates collective bargaining agreements for 90% of the workforce. Some unions within the DGB are major advocates of social reform. Others prefer to cooperate with employers to achieve stable, sustainable economic growth (http://www.germanculture.com.ua/library/facts/bl_labour_unions.htm).

Looks like a “no brainer” to look at what works for successful economies, like Germany. We could, then, adapt and implement elements of their model to suit Irish conditions.

Are our political leaders, unions and employers capable of the German “grown up” cooperative, long term approach? Or are we set to be dominated by the inflexible short term “hold what we have” approach (Croke Park Agreement) we now seem to be stuck with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Wouldn'd work in Ireland there is no fiddle. If you commit white collar crime you go to jail we could not have that in Ireland. There government even keeps there promises imagine that.

Also people work for a living in Germany and if you do you are rewarded. What about the poor people on the dole in Germany they only get about half the Irish rate. As well as that consultants and judges are on only around 100K and some on less you cannot expect a consultant in Ireland to work fulltime for the HSE for 200K he has to have his private pratice as well. In all fairness you cannot expect that ordinary working people have access to a proper health service in Ireland like they have in Germany

Higher civil servants only earn half or less than there Irish counterparts not to mention politicians. I mean you heard from the young FG TD it is impossible to live on 140K.

No we can't have any of that. This is why we must vote yes on the 31st of May to preserve the Status Quo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

We should strive to learn from everyone, including our own experiences and not repeat our mistakes.

Germany has a different situation than we do, so this may limit the number of lessons we can draw. With ample coal and other resources and situated in the centre of Europe, Germany played an important part in the industrial revolution. Its 20th century history is quite different.

Germany's present position is slightly fortuitous. The Berlin Wall fell, rather unexpectedly, and Germany had to batten down the hatches to fund the reconstruction of the DDR. They needed cheap money, but that cheap money did not lead to irrational exuberance as it was needed to rebuild the East. Just as individuals in Ireland are in different shape now depending on when they bought their house, the timing suited the Germans.

As for a “grown up” cooperative, long term approach we had national agreements for 20 years. Now the economic geniuses on this forum refer to "feeding from the trough", but the main problem with that process was a faulty presentation of the state of the economy.

We should learn from many countries, from Denmark to Singapore, above all properly analysing our situation and the exact contribution to us of the models in these places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

The societal structure is different, but the welfare system should be copied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Icepick wrote: »
    The societal structure is different, but the welfare system should be copied.
    The welfare system is good, my brother has lived there 3 years never needed to be on welfare but his girlfriend lost her job this is how the ensuing weeks went on welfare for her there.

1.Signed on for welfare , meeting scheduled the following day with employment advisor.

2. Employment adviser seen she was highly skilled (Degree in IT) with loads of experience.

3.Employment advisor Got dates of any relavant 6 month education courses going on in the uni.

4. Gave her the option of taking a course and getting a topped up welfare amount on the condition she passes the course and seeks work immediately upon completion or look for work immediately and get a lower welfare rate.

5.One of the courses offered was to do with databases so she did that.

6. Finished the course , meeting scheduled with same employment advisor that week, big list of relavant jobs handed to her and told apply for these and report back if any come through.

7 Offered 3 jobs within the week.

See rewarding those looking to upskill in areas with job shortages, and penalising those who dont want to upskill. Smart way to do things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wouldn'd work in Ireland there is no fiddle. If you commit white collar crime you go to jail we could not have that in Ireland. There government even keeps there promises imagine that.

Also people work for a living in Germany and if you do you are rewarded. What about the poor people on the dole in Germany they only get about half the Irish rate. As well as that consultants and judges are on only around 100K and some on less you cannot expect a consultant in Ireland to work fulltime for the HSE for 200K he has to have his private pratice as well. In all fairness you cannot expect that ordinary working people have access to a proper health service in Ireland like they have in Germany

Higher civil servants only earn half or less than there Irish counterparts not to mention politicians. I mean you heard from the young FG TD it is impossible to live on 140K.

No we can't have any of that. This is why we must vote yes on the 31st of May to preserve the Status Quo.

Nail on head, entitlement culture here, Germans generally don't feel entitled. While everybody else was busy catching up with Germany in the 90's, Germany addressed productivity disadvantages in the 00's, low wage increases and increased productivity.

Germany has its problems and political dissent, they just don't have the cute hoor philosophy ingrained in society, from the white collar worker, politician to the guy on Welfare or doing a nixer fitting the wooden floor or fixing an engine. It's endemic here, it's all about what is in it for himself, not society and that feeds into the lack of protest.

Referenda are great things all together, we can blame the Germans as well as Government, now that we don't get any structural funds and can't be bought.

Role models are Sean Quinn, O'Leary etc., all it in for themselves.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

The welfare system is good, my brother has lived there 3 years never needed to be on welfare but his girlfriend lost her job this is how the ensuing weeks went on welfare for her there.

1.Signed on for welfare , meeting scheduled the following day with employment advisor.

2. Employment adviser seen she was highly skilled (Degree in IT) with loads of experience.

3.Employment advisor Got dates of any relavant 6 month education courses going on in the uni.

4. Gave her the option of taking a course and getting a topped up welfare amount on the condition she passes the course and seeks work immediately upon completion or look for work immediately and get a lower welfare rate.

6. Finished the course , meeting scheduled with same employment advisor that week, big list of relavant jobs handed to her and told apply for these and report back if any come through.

See rewarding those looking to upskill in areas with job shortages, and penalising those who dont want to upskill. Smart way to do things.

Piece of cake:cool: We have SOLAS:D , born out of that great agency called FAS!! With a pedigree like that, who needs to copy the boring Germans:cool:

BeeDI wrote: »
    Piece of cake:cool: We have SOLAS:D , born out of that great agency called FAS!! With a pedigree like that, who needs to copy the boring Germans:cool:
    Half of FAS/solas problem is too many managers/middlemen none of which can be realistically fired for poor performance.
    I did my apprenticeship through FAS/ and the institues of tech,
    cork FAS was fine but the stories lads would be telling you of some of the other training facilities.

One was of a training facility far in the south west of the country ;) where the apprentice plumbers would come in for training at 9am and leave around 11 and be signed in for and paid for the entire day.
    Totally shambolic stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

ardmacha wrote: »
    Germany's present position is slightly fortuitous.
    While Germany has benefited from a weaker currency, saying that their position is fortuitous is not really fair to them. It forgets the 6, sometimes 7 day weeks worked by Germans in the factories after the war in a desperate bid to rebuild their shattered country (they brought it all on themselves in the first place of course but that's another matter).

They worked literally like dogs post war for a good 20+ years to establish the country as the most productive nation on earth (I believe it lost that title to China briefly but regained it).

It also forgets the wage suppression that has been going on in Germany for the past 15 or so years while other countries have been demanding and getting wage increases across the board.

It also ignores the tough welfare reforms that Germany pushed through. They were and are extremely controversial but most ppeople agree they were required.

I think it has less to do with good fortune and more to do with their mentality tbh. They also produce things that are generally of good quality and are so desired around the world. They don't get the "ah shur'n it'll do" attitude, so they generally don't make any rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Any country that has four hundred year old beer purity laws and demand top quality is a country worth copying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Debtocracy

Time to copy Germany was 10 years ago. Copying the German model now will lead to another 10-15 years of stagflation, high unemployment (a harsh welfare system hasn't helped the Greeks), and rising social conflict.

Have we not yet learned the futility of glorifying economies that happen to be in the growth phase of the economic cycle? How willing will we be to copy the German model when their economy goes back into recession? Maybe the Icelandic economy will be taking off like a rocket then and we will be embracing the values of default rather than austerity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

The Germans are boring. You know its true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »

We're great crack aren't we. Alcohol fueled society, entitelment culture and I don't mean just SW but people who have been swallowed up by the Public Sector. I rather be boring than to have seen two recessions in my life, I'm in my early 40's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 159 ✭✭kermit_the_dog

i think its possible to have a solid work ethic while still regaining a distinct charechter , irish people traditionally are more than willing to work hard , where we fall down is a high tollerance for sub standard service , public and private , we also live in a country where insiders have all the options , we need to be more of a meritocrocy , from enda kenny to ryan tubridy to the four generations of doctors up the road who have an edge when a GP contract is up for grabs , its all about keeping power and priveledge ( not nessceserily wealth ) in a protected circle

Less than a decade ago they were saying that the Germans should be copying us Irish..

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Less than a decade ago they were saying that the Germans should be copying us Irish..
    They tried and to copy the bit that drove our initial boom....relatively low wages, by suppressing wage demands for over a decade to regain Germany's lost competitiveness. They did this quite succesfully but ordinary German workers became poorer relative to their EU counterparts. Better for Germany as a whole though, methinks.

While we Irish were getting "richer" and buying flashy German made cars, many ordinary German workers could only dream of ever earning enough to buy a new Golf! Germany is a country, that despite it's size is still almost totally dependent on exports.

(aside but slightly related: one thing we should definitely copy from Germany is their vehicle number plate system which does not indicate the year of first registration/manufacture. It's only done to encourage vehicle sales and this is a poor way to raise taxes with most of the cost of the vehicle leaving Ireland for good and only a % in taxes remaining)

There's no real magic to Germany's success. It's a combination of hard work and attention to detail basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

murphaph wrote: »
    They tried and to copy the bit that drove our initial boom....relatively low wages, by suppressing wage demands for over a decade to regain Germany's lost competitiveness. They did this quite succesfully but ordinary German workers became poorer relative to their EU counterparts. Better for Germany as a whole though, methinks.

While we Irish were getting "richer" and buying flashy German made cars, many ordinary German workers could only dream of ever earning enough to buy a new Golf! Germany is a country, that despite it's size is still almost totally dependent on exports.

(aside but slightly related: one thing we should definitely copy from Germany is their vehicle number plate system which does not indicate the year of first registration/manufacture. It's only done to encourage vehicle sales and this is a poor way to raise taxes with most of the cost of the vehicle leaving Ireland for good and only a % in taxes remaining)

There's no real magic to Germany's success. It's a combination of hard work and attention to detail basically.

“There’s no real magic to Germany's success. It's a combination of hard work and attention to detail”. Is it too much to ask why this simple message never seems to come from Government?

To create meaningful engagement between citizens, politicians, social partners, etc, at a minimum, people need access to “easy to understand” information. To my mind, a large part of the “entitlement” culture in Ireland comes from a deficit in communication regarding the real issues that affect all of us.

Is it just too old fashioned to expect political leaders to relate to age old values, such as having to earn our living, stay competitive and that there’s no such thing as a free lunch – especially, when this is the formula for real economic success?

In addition to appealing to values around hard work, we also need:
    • more resilient structures to gain social acceptance of the things needed for a more sustainable economy, affordable welfare system and public service.
    • an ability to inflict unpleasant consequences (not rewards) for recklessness / negligence by those in authority, etc.

Political leaders in Ireland too often take the route of treating the electorate simplistically, rewarding the “entitlement” mentality with too easy access to social welfare, unaffordable pay & conditions for public servants (not based on performance / value added), etc. They also prefer to give us good news and divert our attention from their own poor performance by blaming others for everything bad that’s happening – the Germans, Fianna Fail, Bankers, Developers, etc.

I believe most people behave rationally when presented with the facts in a way they can understand plus some sense of fair play for all members of society.

Why can’t our politicians set about achieving this? Maybe, it’s just too hard to break the old molds and, sure, isn’t it easier to go for the old reliable one-liners, sound bites and spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

A lot of people forget that Germany has economies of scale it has a population of 80 million I think. It is based in the center of Europe so has easy access to market.

Due to this they have a hugh car, engineering and heavy industry that allows them to pay good wage to workers. I agree that Germans work hard but so did paddy during the late ninties and early noughties. He also worked hard in GB and the US when he emigritated. I believe the obsession with property in Ireland is due to historical reasons and also to the fact that the majority of people who imigrated worked in the construction industry in GB and the USA.

The problem we have in Ireland is bar agriculture we now have no indeginous industry, tourism and fisheries are gone fishing due to neglect and tourism due to cost compeditive issues. This means in Ireland if you have not got a degree or have not the ability there is very limited work options for you. Most of our indeginous industry is minimum wage work and I cannot see how it will change as high tech industry needs little services and guess what they are minimum wage as well.

murphaph wrote:
    They worked literally like dogs post war for a good 20+ years to establish the country as the most productive nation on earth (I believe it lost that title to China briefly but regained it).

It also forgets the wage suppression that has been going on in Germany for the past 15 or so years while other countries have been demanding and getting wage increases across the board.

My point was that there is a cycle in the affairs of nations, as well as individuals. This can mean that the tide runs with you at certain times. The Germans worked hard for 20 years after the war because they needed to rebuild their country. But in the 80s they were increasingly inclined to be normal and enjoy some of the fruits of success, longer holidays etc. Their reunification meant that they had to tighten their belts a bit and have another 20 years of work. In recent years they have been in a position to move on from this phase, this timing was fortuitous to some extent.

Greece grew faster than any other European country from 1950 to the early 70s, there must have been some hard work involved in that too.

We in Ireland had good times partly caused by the juxtaposition of circumstances, as much as anything we did ourselves. It is important to acknowledge the role of these things.

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »

Maybe true, but would you prefer our exciting cavalier types like David Drumm, Sean Fitzpatrick & Co. of Anglo, Michael Fingleton of Irish Nationwide and Sean Quinn whose financial wizardry was “overseen” by Banking Regulator, Neary?

I guess the problem is that political economics is a balance between the boring stuff like balancing the books from existing activity and exciting stuff like stimulating growth from new activity.

The Germans seem to have grasped that reality and, hard and all as it is, we need to do likewise for our long term survival and prosperity.

Sure, we need growth and new activity - but through an acceptable level of calculated risk on long term wealth creation stuff rather than gambling the mortgage on domestic consumption (like property).

As I see it, the challenge for our political leaders is how to get this message across and gain consensus with key social stakeholders to implement such policies. We seem to be muddling through to some extent, but are we doing enough?

?????

femur61 wrote: »
    ?????

While we were booming, the Germans and French were lagging. How could they restart their economies? By becoming more flexible like us Irish, of course!
    If they are to act likewise, the central Europeans must be much tougher about cutting public spending, something that many governments in the region are finding politically tricky. And they also need to make their labour markets more flexible, instead of pursuing their current path of importing Europe's excessive regulation. For the central Europeans, in short, the road to prosperity is the same as it always was: freer markets, deregulation and smaller government.

http://www.economist.com/node/3286536

We were the toast of the town ten years ago; sure the Germans were too straight-laced to make it in the age of globalization. "Old Europe" etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'm all for charity, but I prefer to direct at those in genuine need than other European states whose electorates created their own mess. So I wouldn't be for copying them just yet, however their industrial and educational systems are worth a sconce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Not a great example, It's quite normal for an experienced IT worker to be snapped up rapidly.

The Daily Telegraph, a well known impartial news outlet, has the suss on Germany
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/9279921/German-efficiency-you-are-having-a-laugh.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭JoeGil

Very true. Back in the hayday of the Celtic Tiger the Irish media was outdoing itself in lauding the dizzying growth rates of the Irish economy and ridiculing the low growth rates of the basket case economies of Old Europe as they liked to call them.
    Little did they know ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

JoeGil wrote: »
    Very true. Back in the hayday of the Celtic Tiger the Irish media was outdoing itself in lauding the dizzying growth rates of the Irish economy and ridiculing the low growth rates of the basket case economies of Old Europe as they liked to call them.
    Little did they know ......

Like the Basket case economies of "old Europe" in 1945?

ninty9er wrote: »
    I'm all for charity, but I prefer to direct at those in genuine need than other European states whose electorates created their own mess. So I wouldn't be for copying them just yet, however their industrial and educational systems are worth a sconce.

I don’t think we have to copy everything German but, let’s face it, we lost the run of ourselves during the Tiger era. After years of credit driven property bubble, unaffordable public pay and social welfare rates, we now need to get back to more sustainable values.

This includes German style stuff like balancing our public finances on the one hand and providing an economic climate that encourage wealth creation on the other. We simply can’t afford such high numbers employed in the public sector, excessive pay rates for politicians / senior officials and so many people dependent on social welfare – significant change has to be implemented to reduce these overheads.

But to stimulate growth without much prospect of EU financial incentives, Government should encourage enterprise by making it easier to do business and find market driven solutions to peoples’ real needs. It looks like there’s little EU money for this. So it needs to be done within existing resources, spending cuts and reductions in bureaucracy.

The recent “yes” vote strengthens the mandate to balance the books (even with Labour constantly looking over their shoulder at Sinn Fein). All our leaders have to do now is get on with the job, quickly, tell it like it is and keep us informed of progress.

If we are to learn anything from the Celtic Tiger, it’s that we need to focus on the real issues rather than expecting the EU or anyone else to do it for us. Throwing borrowed money at problems and spending inordinate amounts of time “renegotiating” the resulting bailout is no substitute for tackling these issues ourselves.

In this regard, today’s Sunday Independent article on reaction to frank remarks by German Ambassador, Christian Pauls, back in 2007, makes interesting reading:
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/eamon-delaney-now-were-paying-for-ignoring-this-frank-ambassador-3126361.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Like the Basket case economies of "old Europe" in 1945?

Ssssssshh, Don't mention the war(s) or how long it took germany to pay it's debts (reparation) thereafter.(final payment was due on 3/10/10)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

As far as I know from friends and relatives in Germany, in times of recession. people were just hanging the bread basket higher, cutting down on luxury, such as a second car, weekend trips to the sun, getting groceries in discounters. It was all about concentrating on essentials.

And, maybe that was the key to recovery, the German banks found it easier to admit that the recession was in full swing, rather than ignoring the first warning signs and still giving out mortgages to almost everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The Germans make high quality stuff and have lots of natural resources.
    [Germany is] among the world's largest and most technologically advanced producers of iron, steel, coal, cement, chemicals, machinery, vehicles, machine tools, electronics, food and beverages, shipbuilding, textiles

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/gm.html

We don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

femur61 wrote: »
    We're great crack aren't we. Alcohol fueled society, entitelment culture and I don't mean just SW but people who have been swallowed up by the Public Sector. I rather be boring than to have seen two recessions in my life, I'm in my early 40's.

The only place I ever worked (and I have worked in a good few) where workers brought alcohol to work was in Germany.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Happyman42 wrote: »
    The only place I ever worked (and I have worked in a good few) where workers brought alcohol to work was in Germany.:D

With far more self restraint shown then Irish in a similar position. And yeah, there are a few here that you can do it in. Mostly very high profile company's with large quantity of professional staff.

I think the drinking in work thing is changing in Germany. We'd have a drink in the office the odd time (project milestone met etc.) but we'd wait until at least 4pm before cracking open the beers.

You do see tradesmen on their way to work drinking at 8am on the train (consuming alcohol is allowed on trains) but personally that smacks of alcoholism to me (and many Germany I know too).

Germany isn't really blessed with natural resources. It has some low grade coal (good coal is imported from Poland) and not much else. No oil, tiny bit of gas, bit of ore here and there but mostly imported and value added. It went to war largely to seize the natural resources it lacked, as did Japan.

We don't.

Like all things in life, it depends on how you look at it. Sure, there are lots of things we don't have compared to others but there's plenty we do have - it's just a matter of getting the best from what we have and minimizing the impacts of what we don't have.

Government have lots of resources to identify all these issues and then doing what is needed to make the economy work a lot better (e.g. SWOT Analysis, Unique Selling Points, Market Planning, Cost Reduction, etc., etc.).

It's really not rocket science - just requires political will and leadership to get things done.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

With far more self restraint shown then Irish in a similar position. And yeah, there are a few here that you can do it in. Mostly very high profile company's with large quantity of professional staff.

My experience would be amongst the trades. Crates of beer on a daily basis. No, you never saw anybody drunk but still must have an affect.
    The hard working German is a bit of a myth too as far as I could see, I would get more out of a squad of Irish plasterers, chippies or painters than their German counterparts and frequently brought teams over when the pressure was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭AVN_1

We don't.

1) We do produce high value-added goods & services: pharmaceutical/biotechnological products, medical equipment, IT goods and services, financial services, etc.

2) On a per capita basis our total exports (goods + services) are 2.5-3 times higher than German

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭AVN_1

golfwallah wrote: »
    “There’s no real magic to Germany's success.

Yes, there is no magic; it could be mainly attributed to the joint currency (Euro) manipulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

the beginnings of the eu.....was the coal and steel agreement between germany and france in the late forties.........

they still get their own way..

the beginnings of the eu.....was the coal and steel agreement between germany and france in the late forties.........

they still get their own way..

The only thing, I remember from that decade was the French occupation of the Saar region after WW2.

We don't.

The Germans have to lend us money in order to buy their items. Unfortunately, they haven't realised that so if they do keep imposing unrealistic growth stagnating conditions to the bailouts who is going to buy their BMS, or Mercs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SupaNova

Merkel looking for the Greeks and others to be more German. From Der Spiegel last year:

http://www.spiegel.de/international/europe/german-chancellor-on-the-offensive-merkel-blasts-greece-over-retirement-age-vacation-a-763294.html
    Keeping debt under control, Merkel said in a speech at an event held by her party, the conservative Christian Democratic Union, in the western German town of Meschede, isn't the only priority. "It is also important that people in countries like Greece, Spain and Portugal are not able to retire earlier than in Germany -- that everyone exerts themselves more or less equally. That is important."

She added: "We can't have a common currency where some get lots of vacation time and others very little. That won't work in the long term."

I guess she can add France to the list:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-18337884

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

We can take a page from the German book. We look at what we have logistically: ports, wind, water, educated population and location. If we worked with that we would need high speed rail links connecting Cork, Galway, Shannon and Dublin with minor stops in the SE and Midlands; focus on Galway as a major port town; reorganisation and possible demolition/rebuilding of Dublin City Centre as a business and residential hub (this would likely involve relocation of methadone clinics and social housing to be replaced with medium rise offices and housing); and, finally, large scale renewable energy production and sales to Europe (realistically it would benefit ourselves to cut our dependence on non-renewable energy to < 15%, sales would be an added benefit for oversupply which we would need to do as it can not be stored).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

If copying Germany was as easy as some suggest then wouldn't all countries be doing it ?
    It's not just about economic policies but a complex blend of history , attitudes , culture , etc.

Lets take as just one example the Trade Union movement which was vital in achieving the post war economic miracle - German unions operate on an industry-wide basis , in otherwords there is one union for all employees in the steel industry , another for all employees in the car manufacturing industry , etc. The co-operation of unions played no small part in the high output and productivity growth that characterised the ' miracle '.

Try that in Ireland ? No thanks ! I remember a couple of years ago Aer Lingus management saying that the reduction in unions operating there from 11 ( I think ) to just 8 would be a huge help in staff negotiations. How many unions operate in Eirgrid for example ?

WW2 and its aftermath had a profound impact on Germany and its people and did much to mould German policy and thinking , we in Ireland have no such collective experience to guide us , I would like to think our current economic crisis would have a similar effect here though that seems highly unlikely.

Trade unions in Germany? There is VERDI for example, they cover the public sector. if they go on strike, the whole country comes to a stand still, no schools, no public transport, no bin collections. Doesn't happen that often though, but when it happens, utter chaos. The government seems to be scared of them.

Not a great example, It's quite normal for an experienced IT worker to be snapped up rapidly.
    They are smart enough to offer people who have skills which arent necessarily in demand retraining options too , to help them get at least entry level in a different area where there is demand.

Its a fairly fluid system with courses introduced and cut as necessary.