Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht GAA prices

• 21-05-2012 6:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭

I generally don't bitch too much about money at GAA games, but would be interested in other peoples opinions of Connacht GAA's pricing versus that of other games nationally.

For my sins, I attended Hyde Park for the Roscommon/Galway Connacht PRELIMINARY round game yeaterday. General admission was €20 for an adult and €5 for juveniles. Compare this to Terrace admission to Leinster games yesterday of €10.

Connacht U-21 semi final and Final recently was €15(if memory serves), while AI semi was €10. Even the AI final in the excellent Tullamore was €15 with kids admission free. For example, myself and the young lad forked out €25 for yesterday, as opposed to €15 for an all Ireland final a fortnight ago!! Man and the missus and say 2 kids = €50 before even a fecking Choc-Ice!!!The above Connacht games i attended was at the antiquated Hyde park, and to add insult to injury yesterday we had a big screen telly blaring adverts for super Value/AIB at every opportunity.

What planet are the Connacht Council on? Is this all going towards the white elephant/COI outside Ballyhaunis? should Croke park dictate maximum pricing for provincial games?(At least I won't have to fork out again this year:()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

I generally don't bitch too much about money at GAA games, but would be interested in other peoples opinions of Connacht GAA's pricing versus that of other games nationally.

For my sins, I attended Hyde Park for the Roscommon/Galway Connacht PRELIMINARY round game yeaterday. General admission was €20 for an adult and €5 for juveniles. Compare this to Terrace admission to Leinster games yesterday of €10.

Connacht U-21 semi final and Final recently was €15(if memory serves), while AI semi was €10. Even the AI final in the excellent Tullamore was €15 with kids admission free. For example, myself and the young lad forked out €25 for yesterday, as opposed to €15 for an all Ireland final a fortnight ago!! Man and the missus and say 2 kids = €50 before even a fecking Choc-Ice!!!The above Connacht games i attended was at the antiquated Hyde park, and to add insult to injury yesterday we had a big screen telly blaring adverts for super Value/AIB at every opportunity.

What planet are the Connacht Council on? Is this all going towards the white elephant/COI outside Ballyhaunis? should Croke park dictate maximum pricing for provincial games?(At least I won't have to fork out again this year:()
    Ahh summer has arrived at last with the annual moan about ticket prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

The prices should be set across Ireland.

Connacht GAA centre of excellence & McHale park redevelopment cost of a lot of money prices are unlikely to lowered any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I didnt really notice the high price yesterday (due to my student card!).

However, I did think it was a poor attendance and I wonder if the prices contributed. Probably it being shown live on TV had a more negative impact on the attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Tickets for Kerry versus Tipp next Sunday are 30 quid!
    This is not meant to offend but it is game that Kerry should win easily so to charge 30 for a very predictable match is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Tickets for Kerry versus Tipp next Sunday are 30 quid!
    This is not meant to offend but it is game that Kerry should win easily so to charge 30 for a very predictable match is ridiculous

Its a double header with the Tipp v Limerick hurling match, yes a little unfair on Limerick and Kerry fans who would have little interest in the other game, but it is a good idea from the Munster Council to have such double headers imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Its a double header with the Tipp v Limerick hurling match, yes a little unfair on Limerick and Kerry fans who would have little interest in the other game, but it is a good idea from the Munster Council to have such double headers imo.

Ok well that doesnt make it as bad but I didnt know it was a double header because as you said- I have no interest in the hurling game!

Yeah I can understand the inconvenience for someone from Limnerick or Kerry, but to be fair to hte Munster Council, when Tipp proposed this as a double bill, in an attempt to further the ongoing promotion of Football in Tipp, they said they would have no problem but that they would have to get the approval of Limerick and Kerry, neither of whom had a problem with the idea.

Yes it is expensive for someone who is only interest in one of the two games but I think in the longer run and the bigger picture here what is been done in Semple Stadium Sunday can only be seen as a positive move.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Ahh summer has arrived at last with the annual moan about ticket prices

A very flippant remark in response to a very genuine comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Yeah I can understand the inconvenience for someone from Limnerick or Kerry, but to be fair to hte Munster Council, when Tipp proposed this as a double bill, in an attempt to further the ongoing promotion of Football in Tipp, they said they would have no problem but that they would have to get the approval of Limerick and Kerry, neither of whom had a problem with the idea.

Yes it is expensive for someone who is only interest in one of the two games but I think in the longer run and the bigger picture here what is been done in Semple Stadium Sunday can only be seen as a positive move.

Also, as a small aside, as a neutral fan with nothing better to do on a Sunday afternoon I was thinking about possibly heading down on the train to the hurling. The added bonus of a second match certainly makes it a bit more appealing.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Also, as a small aside, as a neutral fan with nothing better to do on a Sunday afternoon I was thinking about possibly heading down on the train to the hurling. The added bonus of a second match certainly makes it a bit more appealing.

its not two often you'll get to see the two prerspective AI champions in action in the same venue, on the same day ;) now thats value!

I've already been to a couple of Dublin hurling and football double-headers this year ;)

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    I've already been to a couple of Dublin hurling and football double-headers this year ;)

Ahh so know you fell you are ready for some of the real stuff, enjoy your trip to tipp Joe, its a special experience :p

Was down in Thurles with Lar for the League Final. Love the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Lapin wrote: »
    A very flippant remark in response to a very genuine comment.

I don't think it was - this comes up every year and in the last two or three years it's been very hard to say much bad about the general prices at GAA matches, they compare ridiculously favourable to every other major sport.

Would you (the OP) feel as robbed had we been the ones dishing out the hammering? The reality is you'd have been happy as larry you were there and price probably would not have entered into your mind once after the game. Sure, Leinster price may have been cheaper but I don't see a fiver for kids and 20 euro a ticket as anything close to anger-inducing.

Well done to the GAA, there's no point lambasting them for everything they do wrong if you're not prepared to congratulate them on getting something very, very right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Syferus wrote: »
    I don't think it was - this comes up every year and in the last two or three years it's been very hard to say much bad about the general prices at GAA matches, they compare ridiculously favourable to every other major sport.

Would you (the OP) feel as robbed had we been the ones dishing out the hammering? The reality is you'd have been happy as larry you were there and price probably would not have entered into your mind once after the game. Sure, Leinster price may have been cheaper but I don't see a fiver for kids and 20 euro a ticket as anything close to anger-inducing.

Well done to the GAA, there's no point lambasting them for everything they do wrong if you're not prepared to congratulate them on getting something very, very right.
    Of course it was a flippant remark.It shouldn't be brought up every year because the GAA should use common sense and lower the prices for the early round fixtures.

You'll find that most of these other sports are professional. We are in the middle of a recession most of the young people have to leave Ireland to find work. Roscommon v Galway was a first round game 20/25 euro is overpriced especially when the All Ireland quarter finals in Croke park when be around the same price.

To dismiss someone as having a 'moan' without adding
    any other opinion or comment is flippant to say the least.

I agree that the GAA offer good value when compared to other events but I think the inconsistant pricing structures between the different provinces is unfair. A match is a match regardless of where it is played..

And as a Galwayman, I also think the admission price into the Hyde on Sunday was excessive despite the favourable result.

Roscommon hammering Galway and Galway hammering Roscommon are on two very different levels of emotion, Lapin.

This is something that crops up year-in-year-out and too few are prepared to say the unpopular thing; the prices are fine.

Have to agree with Syferus here, the prices on offer from the GAA are very very favourable when compared with other organisations and a couple of other points, there were family tickets available, there is also the season ticket scheme - where you would have got to see the game for free!

As for the inconsistency, I'm pretty sure the conaught junior football fianl was on before the senior and as a rule they add on a fiver for finals??

My remark while flippant is still relevant. Year in year out someone will complain about the price of tickets this dispite the reduction in ticket prices since the recession and them being generally good value

As a comparison it cost me 15 to go to the cinema just last week plus 10 for food and finally 5 for parking now I enjoyed the picture and felt my spend was justified but compared to 2 games of hurling or football for the same price I was ripped off. All the money raised at the gate goes back into developing the GAA and our national sports

My remark while flippant is still relevant. Year in year out someone will complain about the price of tickets this despite the reduction in ticket prices since the recession.

Proof that the annual complaints are valid then.

If people didn't complain, the prices would never have been reduced.

My remark while flippant is still relevant. Year in year out someone will complain about the price of tickets this despite the reduction in ticket prices since the recession.

Proof that the annual complaints are valid then.

If people didn't complain, the prices would never have been reduced.
    I think it was more a case of people voting with their feet

Attendance on Sunday, 12,962 (in fine weather).
    Capacity, Dr Hyde Park, 30,000.

Looks like people are still voting with their feet. (And their wallets).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I knew some of ye would have me down as being a typical moany joe, so if i can respond please....

as i said in the OP i was questioning Connacht Council pricing in geneal compared to the rest of the country, and in particularly for a preliminary game like Sundays. Syferus your postings on this and other sites make me question both your impartiality and knwledge of real people, so i'm going to ignore your ravings from now on. Leinsterdub, i generally agree that a day at a game is good value, but if i was to compare the day fully with yours i would have included €3 for a teamsheet/program, as well as the overpriced choclate/coke fromm the stalls(i was in bad humour at this stage so i can't tell you exact prices:) ). I was at a number of games outside te province over the last few years ad in general it provides good value, and in most cases excellent enviorns too. also lads, if getting beaten was to prevent me going to games, i'd have stopped lomg ago, and the missus might get a few more jobs done about the house!!

Look it's not make or break either way, but i still think 20E is too much for general admission to a game like this (not an AI final after all). There was only 12000 or so there on sunday, and you can't say that the prices didn't feed into that. If children don't get brought to games like we were they will never develop the habit. With volunteer stewarding reducing the prices, or offering free kids tickets would have cost SFA.

Attendance on Sunday, 12,962 (in fine weather).
    Capacity, Dr Hyde Park, 30,000.

Looks like people are still voting with their feet. (And their wallets).

Not really. The Hyde would be lucky to even full on Connacht final day, the only reason its capacity is as high as that is because the Connacht Council make it a requirement for hosting said finals, hence the fact the ancient stone bleachers were kept and the new stand was built behind them.

For a preliminary match - in mid-May and on television - between a county split into hurling and football and a county with 64,000 people total, nevermind allowances for recessionary excuses, that was hardly a bad turnout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭IsMiseJoe

I wasn't happy with the €20 into the match on Sunday. Luckily I still have my boyish good looks and got away with the €10 student rate... No ID required ;)