Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you believe in karma?

• 19-05-2012 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭

Any good karma stories?

I had a job interview a few weeks back. The same day I was buying something in a shop when I noticed a five euro note at my feet. I stood on it, with the intention of picking it up just as I was leaving. I thought about it for a second, karma, the job interview etc and decided to hand it over to the cashier.

I didn't get the job. (Thankfully, I'm employed already though)

Just now I was in a shop and they forgot to charge me for a ten euro item I had gotten. I got as far as the door and started thinking about karma again. I headed back, explained and paid for the ten euro item.

I used to never be like this, a few years ago, I'd have said nothing! What's wrong with me! :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Lidls do a sauce of that name .Good product for a lazy cook like me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

No but I believe in luck. If you have good luck you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

paddyandy wrote: »

No no no, that's 'korma'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I think you're thinking of tikka masala

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Karma is for people who like to blame something, anything, for how their lives turn out rather than be proactive and take responsibility for their actions. I know gob****es who can play the system who rose to the top with very little effort, while those who slogged much harder are working in crap jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I believe in a thing called love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

There's nothing wrong with you. You're just getting wiser as you get older.:)

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_fVBp9nIB8hc/S3TA79uVisI/AAAAAAAAAE4/xXmXuIbM-7w/s400/karma.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I hope Karma gives the lying basterd who made a big personal injury claim on my wifes car insurance for a minor tip a major kick in the bollocks!!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Not if it's defined as an either/or dichotomy; e.g., good or bad, true or false, etc. I believe the natural world, or whatever you wish to call it, is by far more complex than such over-simplistic, mutually exclusive categorisations.

Given this, an occasional random act of kindness may benefit all concerned, so if you want to label this karma, or whatever, it would be grand if such acts occurred more frequently.

(Whoa! I've had way too much java in this coffeehouse hotspot. Makes me forget that this is AH)

lazygal wrote: »
    Karma is for people who like to blame something, anything, for how their lives turn out rather than be proactive and take responsibility for their actions. I know gob****es who can play the system who rose to the top with very little effort, while those who slogged much harder are working in crap jobs.

Surely those who slogged much harder, working in crap jobs weren't very proactive and taking repsonsiblity for the direction of their lives?

I don't see why playing the system makes someone a gob****e :P

Any good karma stories?

I had a job interview a few weeks back. The same day I was buying something in a shop when I noticed a five euro note at my feet. I stood on it, with the intention of picking it up just as I was leaving. I thought about it for a second, karma, the job interview etc and decided to hand it over to the cashier.

I didn't get the job. (Thankfully, I'm employed already though)

Just now I was in a shop and they forgot to charge me for a ten euro item I had gotten. I got as far as the door and started thinking about karma again. I headed back, explained and paid for the ten euro item.

I used to never be like this, a few years ago, I'd have said nothing! What's wrong with me! :pac:
    there is a vogue for dishonesty and lies in ireland and then we complain about getting bertie for taoiseach and dishonesty in high places . Against the Tide is always a bit difficult at first in a society that has very few taboos left and is sinking all the time . Youre good and never be ashamed of goodness and decency . You'll feel better about yourself long term and that is a real reward . Self hate is what a lot of people suffer from these days .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

1.the first fiver couldve been yours

2.You subconsciously thoutht about thieving the tenner item

3.Your pregnant,hence you can do annnnnnnnnnnnnnnything and blame the hormones.

Karma my arse,2 words ......child killers.

Wheres the karma for the child and dont say in the next fcuking life.

karma is a hippy word invented for the "itll be all right,even itself out shoite"generation.

sorry Im quite upset at the farmers spaying their crap in the next field and its coming in through fcuking closed windows......

wait...you may be onto something.I take it all back.

fckin karma......

Youre story has nothing to do with what you call karma....5 handed back=didnt get job and 10 paid for goods.Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Karma is a great concept for those outside of reality.

Radiator, this forum is around so long there's very few threads that haven't been done. The threads are the same, the opinions/people change.

All you had to do was not click on the description, in the main after hours page.

BUT GOOD WORK!!1

Black Swan wrote: »
    Not if it's defined as an either/or dichotomy; e.g., good or bad, true or false, etc. I believe the natural world, or whatever you wish to call it, is by far more complex than such over-simplistic, mutually exclusive categorisations.

Given this, an occasional random act of kindness may benefit all concerned, so if you want to label this karma, or whatever, it would be grand if such acts occurred more frequently.

(Whoa! I've had way too much java in this coffeehouse hotspot. Makes me forget that this is AH)

Interesting. I do believe in karma, in a way and despite my atheism. But it's a complex matter that I've explained once before, but I haven't the energy to try and find the post right now. It has a lot to do with with cognitive dissonance over the long term.:)

Come to think of it, do you believe in Black Swans?:confused:

there is a vogue for dishonesty and lies in ireland and then we complain about getting bertie for taoiseach and dishonesty in high places . Against the Tide is always a bit difficult at first in a society that has very few taboos left and is sinking all the time . Youre good and never be ashamed of goodness and decency . You'll feel better about yourself long term and that is a real reward . Self hate is what a lot of people suffer from these days .

OH,FFS,the op was almost out the door before "karma"(GUILT)slapped them in the face.You thought about thieving it which most people dont do.Dont try and portray this deviant as a moral fcking saviour.

Sounds like a self help book or an evangelist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

A small case of:

http://youtu.be/iDuMp2kDxos

Karma like many other new terms i'll bet there is money being made somewhere .
    The World without the nobility of a sense of wrong doing ?????
    what sort of a world is that ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I don't like to believe in karma because I'd keep expecting good/bad things to happen to me based on what I've done in the past. If I find money, I put it down to good luck and no action on my part. If I lose money, I say for f*cks sake, complain for a while and then move on.

Karma reminds me too much of book-keeping, a lot of hassle with the result that the final total would be unbalanced :mad:

cesc77 wrote: »
    OH,FFS,the op was almost out the door before "karma"(GUILT)slapped them in the face.You thought about thieving it which most people dont do.Dont try and portray this deviant as a moral fcking saviour.

Sounds like a self help book or an evangelist

I'd say you've read a few self help books!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Interesting. I do believe in karma, in a way and despite my atheism. But it's a complex matter that I've explained once before, but I haven't the energy to try and find the post right now. It has a lot to do with with cognitive dissonance over the long term.:)
    Well, whenever you feel motivated to dive into an indepth and serious discussion of it, perhaps you would consider launching an OP in the Philosophy forum?
    Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Come to think of it, do you believe in Black Swans?:confused:
    One for sure! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Nah its a load of rubbish. I'm a miserable c*nt and nothing bad ever happens to me.

Agreed Gone,mainly in the person pretending to be moral but really isnt section.

What a ridiculously self congratulatory thread to start on what should be the norm......being honest.

You werent even overpaid change and didnt get the job in the first fcuking place...

OP......google FCKING karma and read it please.

Bloody thread should read opposite karma.

Rant over now,feeling better....ahhhh:)

Don't really believe in Karma no, I've had too much bad crap happen to me and I'm a pretty good person.

What I do believe in is treating other people the way you want to be treated and you get it in return. I also think the feeling of good when you help people or when you give back the fiver or whatever is more than worth the good deed.

You said yourself that you wouldnt have been so honest a few years ago.Dont be projecting your guilt onto me.It took you a few seconds as you were approaching the door to fess up.You thought about thieving for a few seconds but chickened out.Dont judge me on your own morals.

As Ive said already this thread is an excuse to discuss karma without even a reasonable karma situation from the reformed OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Course not - mayaswell believe in god and the devil and the easter bunny and what not - complete bullsh1t.

In a way it could be kind of seen as true if for example a person is always cheating or stealing or whatever, sooner or later they'll probably be caught and get what's coming to them.

I do like korma, but I much prefer satay. Mmmm.... satay chicken...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

I'd like to believe in Karma but I'm afraid but all the evidence points to the contrary. It's common philosophy in the Far East. I remember buying something in Vietnam and bartered with seller. I got the price I was happy to pay and handed over the money. Our guide felt I was ripped off and suggested that the seller was bringing bad karma on herself. My view was the opposite. She did well and I went away happy. The money was worth a damm sight more to her than me. Good all round.

But in truth, far too many bad people who have stored up warehouses full of bad karma live out full happy and long lives.
    As far as I can see the OP simply threw away €15 which luck sent their way. Life is very random, a bit of a lottery really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Earl?

Well, whenever you feel motivated to dive into an indepth and serious discussion of it, perhaps you would consider launching an OP in the Philosophy forum?

Well, I might just do that. Or participate if someone else starts one.:)
    One for sure! :D

I didn't actually mean a big bird. More what Taleb (nothing to do with the Taleban) had in mind.:D:D:D

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I thought karma isn't supposed to effect you until the next life?

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I thought karma isn't supposed to effect you until the next life?

In the traditional Hindu view of things, that is correct. You are supposed to do your best in one life, to be a good whatever you are, and in the next incarnation you will have a higher status. If you are bad and mean in this incarnation, you might come back as a sewer rat in the next - or as someone like Bertie Ahern.:)

However, there is also a broader view of karma, and at its simplest it only says: Be decent and good and kind to others, because what goes round comes round, virtue is its own reward, and in the long run it pays to be nice.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cliffandclare

def believe in karma , that wheel is always turning too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

finding the fiver was good karma but giving it away was like spitting in karma's face, which is why you didn't get the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Chamone MF

Karma is consequence.
    Its being made here and now by your intended choices.
    It goes with you.
    And effects your next life.

Karma has been well marketed in the west and it's still making money .