Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stoner announces plans to retire from MotoGP

• 17-05-2012 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭

Casey has just confirmed that he will retire from MotoGP at the end of the season. Such a massive loss to the sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Was never a fan of his at all, and I find it odd for someone to retire at 26 (regardless of financial situations)

Wonder what he will do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

had heard the rumors a couple of weeks ago but thought nothing of it. yet another nail in the coffin of motogp?

i knew stoner wanted to retire early but 26 seems so early for such a massive talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Grim. wrote: »
    i knew stoner wanted to retire early but 26 seems so early for such a massive talent

You have to remember though that Casey has been racing full time at World Championship level for ten years and spent three years before that in England and Europe racing. It has to wear you down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

good luck to him, very talented rider, boring guy tho

frostie500 wrote: »
    You have to remember though that Casey has been racing full time at World Championship level for ten years and spent three years before that in England and Europe racing. It has to wear you down

oh i knew about his time in the UK and Europe thats why i thought he would retire early i was just expecting it when he was about 30.

fair play to him though.

it'll be interesting to see who honda puts on his bike next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,539 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I don't like the guy but respect his talent.

Retiring early can be a mistake, but a bigger mistake is making a comeback after a few years and never getting near to one's previous standard, I hope if anyone in his position makes the decision to leave the sport they then stick with that. Just look at Michael Schumacher embarrassing himself every two weeks...

As for the future of the sport, there will always be young, hungry and fast riders coming through, what matters is that there are enough teams running affordable bikes to provide seats for them.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Grim. wrote: »

it'll be interesting to see who honda puts on his bike next year.

Fingers crossed on Marquez!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Rossi to return to Honda in 2013?

Wouldn't bet against it, ststed a couple of weeks ago the Duke just didn't suit his riding style and that other riders would be better suited to it, he's much loved in Honda circles still, who knows ;)

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

bladespin wrote: »
    Rossi to return to Honda in 2013?

Wouldn't bet against it, ststed a couple of weeks ago the Duke just didn't suit his riding style and that other riders would be better suited to it, he's much loved in Honda circles still, who knows ;)

All we can do is hope! At least then he can prove the problem is the Duke and not him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

ninja900 wrote: »
    Just look at Michael Schumacher embarrassing himself every two weeks...

Seriously? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

heard that this morning, news here is that after "discussion" with the wife about new baby he made the decision, ie he got whipped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Magown3

The report on the Sky Sports red button seem to suggest he is disillusioned with sport (Moto GP). Perhaps he think's it's getting as boring as himself, :D

Would LOVE to see him on a World Superbike with Johnny Rea :eek:

Magown3 wrote: »

Would LOVE to see him on a World Superbike with Johnny Rea :eek:

Ah here!!! He cries enough in MotoGP, he'd be a blubbering mess if he was in WSBK FFS!!! :pac: :pac:

Just look at Michael Schumacher embarrassing himself every two weeks...

You sure about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

heard that this morning, news here is that after "discussion" with the wife about new baby he made the decision, ie he got whipped

Along with the health issues he's had, it's understandable to a degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Sorry to hear that he is retiring so early. Have many fond memories of watching him race up through the classes.
    Fondest memory is the 100 euro I had on him to win the MotoGP outright in 2007.
    Got it at 25/1
    Sweeeeet.
    Ireland was a different place then.
    Haven't two shillings to rub together now but will always be grateful to Casey for my win that Christmas.
    Good luck Mr Stoner, :D

You sure about that?

AUS Ret
    MAL 10
    CHN Ret
    BHR 10
    ESP Ret

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

AUS Ret
    MAL 10
    CHN Ret
    BHR 10
    ESP Ret
    Do you even watch F1? What about last year when he beat his team mate, the only person you can directly compare his performance to? And his retirement in China...caused by a mistake by a mechanic...hardly his fault, would you like him to get out and change the wheels himself? Just because he has 7 world championships in the past does not mean he is going to win every race. Give him a championship winning car and there is no doubt he will win in it...

AUS Ret
    MAL 10
    CHN Ret
    BHR 10
    ESP Ret

How's that embarrassing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Fingers crossed on Marquez!

Rookie rule means that won't / can't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Maby stfan bradl or bautista will get stoners ride ,rossi could move to one of there rides who knows ,when honda boss was asked about rossi returning to repsol honda he said you can never rule anything out, who knows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Do you even watch F1? What about last year when he beat his team mate, the only person you can directly compare his performance to? And his retirement in China...caused by a mistake by a mechanic...hardly his fault, would you like him to get out and change the wheels himself? Just because he has 7 world championships in the past does not mean he is going to win every race. Give him a championship winning car and there is no doubt he will win in it...

Fcuk off wit yer F1 crap..this thread is about (the death of) MOTOGP......FFS..:rolleyes:

Bradley Smith....sweet jesus...no....

Sids Not wrote: »
    Fcuk off wit yer F1 crap..this thread is about (the death of) MOTOGP......FFS..:rolleyes:

Really struggle to see how Stoner retiring is going to be the death of Motogp :rolleyes:

I've been hearing about it's so-called demise since Rainey was winning titles yet it's still the most watched and attended series.

Do you even watch F1?.

Do you even watch MotoGP???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

steve parrish on bbc just said stoner basically just wants attention and thats why he quit:)
    he was giving out about a lot of things in the interview with them, he really didnt sound happy, and he basically said he is never coming back,
    odd decision,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭tinyjiney

Really struggle to see how Stoner retiring is going to be the death of Motogp :rolleyes:

I've been hearing about it's so-called demise since Rainey was winning titles yet it's still the most watched and attended series.

I think its more a slow lingering death......:p

I was amused at Stoners interview where he said that all the fun was gone out of racing, saying that he might come back if they let 750 two-strokes race...mmmm two strokes....

Do you even watch MotoGP???
    eh yea...whats that got to do with anything? :confused:

Sids Not wrote: »

Bradley Smith....sweet jesus...no....

how in the name of christ is stoner retiring going to be the death of MotoGP? its not like his fans are going to stop watching at the end of the season and never watch a race again... Moto Gp fans will watch Moto GP regardless of whose racing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

how in the name of christ is stoner retiring going to be the death of MotoGP? its not like his fans are going to stop watching at the end of the season and never watch a race again... Moto Gp fans will watch Moto GP regardless of whose racing...

True. Football fans don't stop watching the Champions League when their team gets knocked out, same goes for all sports.