Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much would my laptop cost to fix?

• 17-05-2012 12:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

My laptop is, well, a bit fecked. I've had it since January 2009, a Sony VAIO.

It needs:

- a new battery (without being plugged in, it dies in about 5 minutes, maybe less)
    - a new DC port. This has been fecked for ages, the charger won't connect properly with it. The charger looks fine so I think it's the port. I'm not sure how this happened.
    - new headphone port (if that's what it's called). This one was my fault, as the laptop slipped off the bed and landed hard, knocking it out of place.

I'm just trying to figure if it's worth getting it fixed or just getting a new one. How much would it cost to fix the above problems?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭JackCharlton

Hi you will get a battery on ebay
    i own a laptop reselling company i have a guy that i use for all the
    board and componant level repairs i can pm you his number
    he does DC jack repairs for 60 euro and i reckon he could solve your headphone issue very cheaply
    cheers
    jack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Hi you will get a battery on ebay
    i own a laptop reselling company i have a guy that i use for all the
    board and componant level repairs i can pm you his number
    he does DC jack repairs for 60 euro and i reckon he could solve your headphone issue very cheaply
    cheers
    jack

Hi, I don't accept or send PMs on here, so some general advice is all that's required. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Hi, I don't accept or send PMs on here, so some general advice is all that's required. :)

Can I PM you to ask why you dont accept PM'S ?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

DT100 wrote: »
    Can I PM you to ask why you dont accept PM'S ?;)

you could catch something nasty :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

duckysauce wrote: »
    you could catch something nasty :p
    Ha..fair play for taking it in good spirits...I will be banned now for going off topic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭ben101

Jaysus sea filly ,if you can't trust Jack Charlton
    who can you trust?!?!??

You guys are all just so super helpful. :P

Ah no, I just have a no PM rule from a past experience on another forum.

Seriously though,have had nothing but positive experiences with boards.ie and PM's,always very helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

your being a bit ott op as Jack cannot post up contact details according to rules afaik so your kinda stuck. A normal computer company will charge you at least 70 ex vat for an origional part battery and you could be looking at a system board plus fitting for the other faults.
    My advice is take the pm for jack and have it fixed at a fixable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭johneire31

Well, you asked how much it would cost.

Go to ebay and try and price a battery for your model

Google DC jack repairs and this will give you indication of what that will cost on the repair sites.

again, google for headphone jack repair, probably not do so good with this one.

Add it togeather and you will have a price estimate. you could probably get a new one for 400 - 500. If the repair price is less than a third of a new one, repair. More than a third, replace

j

Can't believe there's such a big deal over a no PM rule. I shouldn't have to explain why I have it. Yeesh.

I think its because you are fairly new to boards,fair enough most sites i could understand no PM's but you may have noticed that a lot of the people offering help have been here a long,long time.Over the years BOARDS.IE has been one of the first places i go to for info about almost anything.Everything from banking to decking boards to PS3's.It's a really good site,promise!!!!!:)