Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slooooooooow Plaaaaaaaay

• 13-05-2012 10:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭

Looks like the slow play is still slowing. We hear about the 2.5 hour fourballs of yore from our grandfathers. Will we be reminiscing about our lighting fast 4.5 hour rounds when the typical 18 holes has become a 6 hour event ? I saw some teenagers (single figure handicaps) doing something similar a couple of weeks ago in a medal comp.

Stronger penalties needed to cut out this sort of nonsense. Na is unfit to be allowed on a course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭speeding

An absolute disgrace having to watch that last night. There is absolutely no need to take that long over a golf shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

In fairness that is just a form of tourettes.

He was honest after. It is hard to watch. Keegan Bradley has worked on his stuff.

It is an actual problem he has and very hard to overcome. I see lads on Irish courses with ticks like that, funny but not funny for them.

I would feel for this guy more than just pure slow play. That guy has a problem. Others are just slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Ben Crane is a very very slow golfer, Kevin na has a bit of a problem i reckon, very twitchy over the ball, wouldnt knock him for it to be honest. Seems like a real nice guy too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

I think slow play is a lot more than just being slow to hit the ball ...... you can be slow to hit the ball and still be fast paced around the course.

Slow players spend ages ambling around needlessly, leaving their clubs miles away and checking distances as if the world was on a pause button. I won't even go into the pointless chats over the ball, but rest assured some players seem to think their opponents need to hear about every shot they play.

I don't advocate speed golf, but once you lose a hole on the course you should be hanging your head in shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

i remember Sergio Garcia a few years ago saying that he was re gripping the club up to maybe 45 times before he could actually hit the ball. it was just a problem he had, he couldn't actually stop himself from doing it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

That was painful to watch alright, especially him apologising the whole time.
    In fairness he knows the camera's on him so probably makes it worse for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

That would do my head in. Slow play really frustrates me. I have no problem with people taking their time over a shot - within reason - as long as they waste no time with the other aspects of play, such as putting away clubs, etc. But Na there is just taking the piss and should really not be allowed a tour card until he sorts that nonsense out. Sorry, there are people classed as disabled golfers and are not allowed play on tour, and for me he falls into a similar class, albeit not a physical disability. He'll keep on doing it if he can get away with it, but a few warnings for slow play may give him the kick up the arse he needs to snap him out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Covering this on Sky Sports at the mo.... Has Na always been a particularly slow player or is it only lately this is happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Covering this on Sky Sports at the mo.... Has Na always been a particularly slow player or is it only lately this is happening?

He was slow that time last year when he took a 15 or 16 on a Par-4, but that can happen to anyone so we won't slate him for it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Su Campu wrote: »

He was slow that time last year when he took a 15 or 16 on a Par-4, but that can happen to anyone so we won't slate him for it! :)

Kevin isnt a slow player, id sayges the opposite, he legs it around the course and chooses his clubs quickly etc, its like ge takes aaaaages talkin to his caddy and being real indesicive changin clubs etc. he just has a but if a prob pullin the trigger on the tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Oilbeefhooked!

Su Campu wrote: »
    That would do my head in. Slow play really frustrates me. I have no problem with people taking their time over a shot - within reason - as long as they waste no time with the other aspects of play, such as putting away clubs, etc. But Na there is just taking the piss and should really not be allowed a tour card until he sorts that nonsense out. Sorry, there are people classed as disabled golfers and are not allowed play on tour, and for me he falls into a similar class, albeit not a physical disability. He'll keep on doing it if he can get away with it, but a few warnings for slow play may give him the kick up the arse he needs to snap him out of it.

I also absolutely abhor slow play, very nearly walked off the course at Luttrelstown on Saturday there, as a 4 ball of members managed to fall a full 1 1/2 holes behind a ladies 4 ball after onlt 5 holes!!!! Took a phone call to the proshop to get things moving!!

However i dont agree that Kevin Na should be lumped in with the Ben Cranes, Jim Furyks and JB Holmes of this world .
    As i dont believe he is intentionally "taking the piss", he is suffering from
    the full swing yips and have noticed it is now creeping into his putting stroke this evening.

I personally have one of my friends who after being a top golfer and getting down to 7 handicap, finally had to give in and stop playing the game he loves, due to chipping and putting yips.
    It is very hard to watch and no amount of - "just try this" or "just rock your shoulders" advice can help.
    He tells me that unless you have suffered it , you simply cannot understand it as it is not mechanical but totally mental.

So i personally feel very sorry for Kevin Na , and hope he can deal with this before it destroys his career.
    You could hear him apologising to Zack Johnson on every tee yesterday,
    that not the actions of someone whos taking the piss or doing it out of choice!!!!

I also absolutely abhor slow play, very nearly walked off the course at Luttrelstown on Saturday there, as a 4 ball of members managed to fall a full 1 1/2 holes behind a ladies 4 ball after onlt 5 holes!!!! Took a phone call to the proshop to get things moving!!

However i dont agree that Kevin Na should be lumped in with the Ben Cranes, Jim Furyks and JB Holmes of this world .
    As i dont believe he is intentionally "taking the piss", he is suffering from
    the full swing yips and have noticed it is now creeping into his putting stroke this evening.

I personally have one of my friends who after being a top golfer and getting down to 7 handicap, finally had to give in and stop playing the game he loves, due to chipping and putting yips.
    It is very hard to watch and no amount of - "just try this" or "just rock your shoulders" advice can help.
    He tells me that unless you have suffered it , you simply cannot understand it as it is not mechanical but totally mental.

So i personally feel very sorry for Kevin Na , and hope he can deal with this before it destroys his career.
    You could hear him apologising to Zack Johnson on every tee yesterday,
    that not the actions of someone whos taking the piss or doing it out of choice!!!!

Agree with all of that.

But the guy is in the top 3.

He has finished ahead of Tiger Woods, Rory Mcilroy, Padraig Harington etc, etc, etc.

Doesn't say much for the other lads.

Edit - That is the most premature post ever. :D

Agree with all of that.

He has finished ahead of Tiger Woods, Rory Mcilroy, Padraig Harington etc, etc, etc.

Yes , his head is ****ed

Agree with all of that.

Fair point , but it seems his problems are at an early stage where he can,
    by continually backing off the shot and giving himself a talking too -
    win the battle and eventually although not pretty to watch ,
    play the shot he visualised .Hence he may well to his eternal credit, win the Players Championship and outplay the great names in the field.

But as i said previously , he's now backing off putts as well as full swings
    ,which does not look good in the long term.
    All i can say is i wish him luck in his battle and ask the haters asking for his tour card to be taken away to give him a break.
    God forbid it happens to you, horrible thing!!

Fair point , but it seems his problems are at an early stage where he can,
    by continually backing off the shot and giving himself a talking too -
    win the battle and eventually although not pretty to watch ,
    play the shot he visualised .Hence he may well to his eternal credit, win the Players Championship and outplay the great names in the field.

But as i said previously , he's now backing off putts as well as full swings
    ,which does not look good in the long term.
    All i can say is i wish him luck in his battle and ask the haters asking for his tour card to be taken away to give him a break.
    God forbid it happens to you, horrible thing!!

Taking his card off because he has a mental problem is a bit silly, but, he should have shouted "fore" a few holes back.

Perhpas a head coach will sort him out. Hypnosis etc.

I know he looks slow, but as others have said he moves quick and is scoring quick.

Couldn't agree more re. the Fore shouting.
    Baffles me why the major percentage of pros , calmly watch their ball
    bulleting into a crowd of patrons and think a signed glove is the answer.
    Jesus, your man Harris English nearly killed some old fella yesterday and then handed him the old signed glove as the first aiders were mopping the blood off his head!!
    I always thought shouting fore was part of the etiquette of the game for
    amatuers and professionals alike:confused:

Jesus, your man Harris English nearly killed some old fella yesterday and then handed him the old signed glove as the first aiders were mopping the blood off his head!!

Was thinking about it, mad one. A bit off topic.

But is it ?

To save face, would not look cool as a top pro.
    To improve lie.
    Hard to know where crowd is, can't see them due to course height changes.
    Crowd is too close to play.
    Pure evil guys with too much money.
    Put other players off, next fairway etc.
    So much in the zone.

Couldn't come up with one that made sense. New rule required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

God I hate Kevin Na, if you cant pull the trigger, go away. I have better things to be doing on a Sunday night than wathcing some guy with the yips in HD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Subtle, "I have Sky HD" brag.

Until the crowd stop screaming dumb sh*t like, "Get in the hole!", the players should persist in raining golf balls down on them.

Tough love.

Come on Na. ;):D:)

Do it for Langer and Rainman.

Yes and for Paddy , too.

Come on Na. ;):D:)

Do it for Langer and Rainman.

Yes and for Paddy , too.

And for all Mad people , me too.

Just doing a double quote, for Na like.

Will, i post, no , yes

Fixdepitchmark - i personally think it is to maximise the chances of the wayward ball not going more wayward better chance with a bounce of an upright spectator , rather than a hunched over spectator protecting their head, where the ball would be more likely to hit the back and kick further into trouble!! Maybe im just cynical!!

WHBonney - players who have previously suffered from the yips include Bernhard Langer, Ben Hogan, Harry Vardon, and Sam Snead.
    Thankfully for the game of golf they didnt just go away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Was thinking about it, mad one. A bit off topic.

But is it ?

To save face, would not look cool as a top pro.
    To improve lie.
    Hard to know where crowd is, can't see them due to course height changes.
    Crowd is too close to play.
    Pure evil guys with too much money.
    Put other players off, next fairway etc.
    So much in the zone.

Couldn't come up with one that made sense. New rule required.

A number of them freely admit they don't want the crowd ducking and thus reducing the size of the "backstop" the crowd provides. I think Matt kuchar admitted as much last year (one of them did anyway, nearly sure it was Kuchar) that the players use the crowd to stop their ball in certain situations.
    Yer man English deserved to shoot 79 yesterday after not calling fore when he hit that old fella - disgusting behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

With the slow play, I reckon a one shot penalty would promote a miraculous cure for Kevin Na's issues. Little w--nker.

Russman wrote: »
    With the slow play, I reckon a one shot penalty would promote a miraculous cure for Kevin Na's issues. Little w--nker.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

WHBonney - players who have previously suffered from the yips include Bernhard Langer, Ben Hogan, Harry Vardon, and Sam Snead.
    Thankfully for the game of golf they didnt just go away!![/Quote]op

Seriously though, I hope Kevin Na fcuks off.

WH BONNEY wrote: »
    op

Seriously though, I hope Kevin Na fcuks off.[/QUOTE]

LOL.

Jesus, are we that bad in Ireland now ?

op

LOL.

Jesus, are we that bad in Ireland now ?[/Quote]

op

LOL.

Jesus, are we that bad in Ireland now ?[/Quote]

I'm not Jesus, also Ireland has no relevance to my observations. Finally, if Kevin Na is the future of golf, I hope he fcuks off.

LOL.

I'm not Jesus, also Ireland has no relevance to my observations. Finally, if Kevin Na is the future of golf, I hope he fcuks off.[/QUOTE]

Fair enough. If someone has a problem , just **** off.

How about, he won't , will solve it, come back and win again.

LOL.

I'm not Jesus, also Ireland has no relevance to my observations. Finally, if Kevin Na is the future of golf, I hope he fcuks off.

Fair enough. If someone has a problem , just **** off.

How about, he won't , will solve it, come back and win again.[/Quote]

If he solves it and comes back to win, happy days. In his current incarnation I hope he fcuks off. It's like watching rugby on TG4, it does nothing for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Some pretty ****ing retarded posts here... If you don't want to watch players play golf because they are slow, change the ****ing channel..

They are the best players in the work, they don't give a **** about you and you lame ass Sunday evening watching them play golf on the telly. If you could make millions and live the life of dreams and all you had to do way concentrate and play slow you ****ing would too.

These guys are the best of the best, coming on and bitching on a golf forum is just petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

God I hate Kevin Na, if you cant pull the trigger, go away. I have better things to be doing on a Sunday night than wathcing some guy with the yips in HD.

From your posts over an hour and a half period on an internet forum you definitely come across as someone who has a lot of exciting options for a Sunday night. That Na has some nerve wasting your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Ross Fisher just incurred a one shot penalty for repeated slow play... Unfortunate that it came to that but it will take a few pros getting penalised to rid the game of golf of the scourge of slow play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Ross Fisher just incurred a one shot penalty for repeated slow play... Unfortunate that it came to that but it will take a few pros getting penalised to rid the game of golf of the scourge of slow play...

Its tough for him but he knows the rules.

He got a few warnings so no excuses really. This will probably be the start of the crackdown now.

Don't think it will cost him the tournament which is some solace for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭abff

As you say, it's tough on him (and quite expensive), but he brought it on himself. Apart from being frustrating for fans watching the tournament, it must be very offputting for his playing partners.

So let's see more of it, I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

The R&A should bring in a rule that you have a set amount of time to hit your shot once you reach your ball
    lets say 20 seconds
    and you could get one extension per round a la snooker
    problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

mikeunt wrote: »
    The R&A should bring in a rule that you have a set amount of time to hit your shot once you reach your ball
    lets say 20 seconds
    and you could get one extension per round a la snooker
    problem solved

There is such a rule once the players are put on the clock. Cant remember exactly but its something like 45 secs for the first to hit and 30s for the rest of the group.
    Guess logistically it would be hard to put a ref with every group hence only timing coming into the equation once they are put on the clock

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

20 seconds for a two foot putt, fine.
    20 seconds for a flop shot across a bunker with two feet of green to the flag with the green sloping away, is that fine???

slave1 wrote: »
    20 seconds for a two foot putt, fine.
    20 seconds for a flop shot across a bunker with two feet of green to the flag with the green sloping away, is that fine???

extension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭abff

mikeunt wrote: »
    extension

But if it's only one per round?

abff wrote: »
    But if it's only one per round?

How often would you have a" flop shot across a bunker with two feet of green to the flag with the green sloping away,"

one extension is plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

What about the people that plod about from one shot to the next compared to those that walk at a brisk enough pace to their ball.
    Why should these both be put on the same "shot clock" on the fairway/green.

It will never happen anyways imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 anseo!

next you know we will have rangers hiding in bushes with a speed camera's handing out penalty strokes:):)