Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crow caller

• 12-05-2012 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭

Any of ye folks know thw name of the caller this hunting pro Kristoffer Clausen is using? I'm always amazed with this guys skills, techniques and videos :cool:
    http://youtu.be/k9kaoIqZRCk
    Field sports Britain aslo had him over some time ago to shoot crows for one of their episodes.
    Or even the caller in the second video sounds very realistic and seems effective
    http://youtu.be/9IrggPytw5I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

First call is a KLOUS DEMMEL crow call! The one that looks like natural timber! Not a bad call but i think the second one is better, but can't find a name for it! I WANT ONE! Say's it's a new call for 2011, so should be on the market by now! Another new call is SAM NITES (sorry about the spelling) crow call, excellent call but needs a lot of practice, and i mean a lot, to get it working right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Eddie B wrote: »
    First call is a KLOUS DEMMEL crow call! The one that looks like natural timber! Not a bad call but i think the second one is better, but can't find a name for it! I WANT ONE! Say's it's a new call for 2011, so should be on the market by now! Another new call is SAM NITES (sorry about the spelling) crow call, excellent call but needs a lot of practice, and i mean a lot, to get it working right!
    Fair play to you Eddie. Their's always someone somewhere that knows their stuff. Actually your right the second caller sounds better. See on the 1st video how he used a second caller making a call of a bird in distress which was very cleaver to give a more realistic atmosphere. Your 100% right about using the crow callers,its not about blowing into them,some of them you have to gargle your throat kinda while blowing to give the call more realism. I'm going to google them calls later and buy them on line if i can find one for sale.:cool: I know i might be chasing topic from calling crows to calling deer but he uses same make of callers you mentioned for everything including foxs. They must be top class as he's a world famous hunter. I see how he calls in the roe deer and i wonder wound the same caller be any good for calling in our species of deer cause i would buy one. My Mrs said she would buy one for herself to call deer to get them up close to watch them but not for shooting lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Have a read of this, i believe using calls for deer is illegal

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1976/en/act/pub/0039/print.html#sec35

35.—(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section, but subject to section 42, a person shall not—

(d) use an electrical or other instrument or appliance (including recording apparatus) emitting or imitating birdcalls or the calls of wild mammals for the purpose of hunting a protected wild bird or a protected wild animal which is a mammal.

But then the way the laws are written here 10 people could read that and all have a different interpretation of it, maybe somebody else will know exactly what the laws are but i always thought it was illegal to call them

ormondprop wrote: »
    Have a read of this, i believe using calls for deer is illegal

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1976/en/act/pub/0039/print.html#sec35

35.—(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section, but subject to section 42, a person shall not—

(d) use an electrical or other instrument or appliance (including recording apparatus) emitting or imitating birdcalls or the calls of wild mammals for the purpose of hunting a protected wild bird or a protected wild animal which is a mammal.

But then the way the laws are written here 10 people could read that and all have a different interpretation of it, maybe somebody else will know exactly what the laws are but i always thought it was illegal to call them
    Didn't know that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭aurin07

Have a sam neyt ft2 myself.

Fantastic piece of kit.. I just have to work on my hide more..

http://www.wildlandshop.com/hunting/game-calls-crow-call-ft3-p-228.html?osCsid=df5e72e12595f36cf7fa8861350cb399

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

aurin07 wrote: »
    Have a sam neyt ft2 myself.

Fantastic piece of kit.. I just have to work on my hide more..

http://www.wildlandshop.com/hunting/game-calls-crow-call-ft3-p-228.html?osCsid=df5e72e12595f36cf7fa8861350cb399

Yea have that call as well! The owl decoy in the video in OP is the key to success in my opinion! Any Gray's or Mags that come in2 the call will head straight for the decoy and so become easy pickings, and will be so pre-occupied with the decoy, that they won't notice the barrell being pointed in their direction!:D Good camo gear is also essential, mask, gloves e.t.c!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Bob Aronsohn

Hello lads,

I hunt crows across the pond in the USA.

Hey, can you fellas tell me if a rook and a common crow are the same bird?

Here are a few photos of some of the Piebald Crows in my Crow Museum in Kansas. These birds are part albino, even the one with beige wings and a chocolate body.

Sincerely,

Bob Aronsohn

Hutchinson, Kansas USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

Well Bob I can honestly say that's the first crow museum I've seen.
    The main difference between a crow and a rook is that the crow has a full feathered face generally black and the rook has light coloured skin arond the face down to the beak unless they are juvenile where they also have feathers on the face.
    Rooks generally travel in social flocks and crows will travel alone a lot more.

FOXHUNTER1 wrote: »
    Well Bob I can honestly say that's the first crow museum I've seen.
    The main difference between a crow and a rook is that the crow has a full feathered face generally black and the rook has light coloured skin arond the face down to the beak unless they are juvenile where they also have feathers on the face.
    Rooks generally travel in social flocks and crows will travel alone a lot more.
    Good information FOXHUNTER1

Hello Foxhunter1,

Here is a photo of two common crows and one fish crow. The fish crows sound much more nasel when they caw. They are harder to decoy than the common crows. The fish crows are roughly 20% smaller than a common crow. A fish crow at 30 yards looks like a common crow at 40 yards.

Bob Aronsohn

Well about the fish crow, how would you tell one from a baby crow not being smart. They all look same to me. I wouldn't be big into crows to know much about their breeds

4200fps,

By the time fall rolls around you can tell by the way they sound. If they do not caw that is differen't.

Here is a piebald fish crow with a common crow. You can really see the difference in the size between the two. The fish crow is on the right.

Bob Aronsohn

Hello Foxhunter1,

Here is a photo of two common crows and one fish crow. The fish crows sound much more nasel when they caw. They are harder to decoy than the common crows. The fish crows are roughly 20% smaller than a common crow. A fish crow at 30 yards looks like a common crow at 40 yards.

Bob Aronsohn

Why are they called a fish crow?
    I doubt if we have them here I've never heard of them before.

Hello Foxhunter1,

The reason they call them fish crows is because they (only part of there diet) eat dead crabs and fish along the Gulf of Mexico. In the USA the only states you see them in are North & South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi. They also go inland in those states and just don't stay on the coast. They also eat corn, milo, peanuts, and any type of mellon. They eat pecans as well.

Bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Longfellow

4200fps wrote: »
    Well about the fish crow, how would you tell one from a baby crow not being smart. They all look same to me. I wouldn't be big into crows to know much about their breeds
    If ya shoot crows then it's best to know all the different species. In Ireland certain type of crow species are rare as hen's teeth and can't be shot.

Longfellow,

What is the name of the species of crow that can't be hunted in Ireland? Is there more than just that one species? What do they look like, are they all black?

Bob

The Raven and Chough are protected, the chough is da rare one. It's all balck with red legs and a curved red bill.

Longfellow,

So are the Choughs in the crow family? Do they caw like a crow ? With curved bill mandibles they don't sound much like a crow, this is why this interests me.

Bob

Longfellow,

So are the Choughs in the crow family? Do they caw like a crow ? With curved bill mandibles they don't sound much like a crow, this is why this interests me.

Bob
    No expert Bob, but there crows alright. The brother lives in Mayo and one of the lads in da gunclub shot 5 of them years ago. THe fella got in a load of trouble over it and lost his licence. His excuse was that a crow is a crow and if he saw another one he shoot it.

Hello Foxhunter1,

The reason they call them fish crows is because they (only part of there diet) eat dead crabs and fish along the Gulf of Mexico. In the USA the only states you see them in are North & South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi. They also go inland in those states and just don't stay on the coast. They also eat corn, milo, peanuts, and any type of mellon. They eat pecans as well.

Bob

Jesus they eat better than me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Longfellow,

Bob

They are rather a distant relative of the likes of Jackdaws, Rooks etc. which are true crows as indicated by their latin names which all start with Corvus(hence the term "Corvids") - Choughs on the other hand have a totally different latin name which indicates they are only distantly related, though the have a body very like a Jackdaw(but with bigger wings) and sound like one. As LF said - their Red curved bill and red legs are quiet distinctive up close. The long bill is for poking around in cattle dung for tasty insect grubs, larvae etc.

Here is a photo where I had to go back the next day because I was running out of good daylight for a good photo. The coyotes ate a little over 100 of the crows I shot that afternoon once the sun went down.

Bob