Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just spent the morning snooping companies on Cashiq.net

• 10-05-2012 12:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

Lad on Matt Cooper last night making a big deal about this new website.
    http://cashiq.net/
    You can access filed company accounts for free for the first time.
    It's where I've just found that while the company wage bill dropped 50% since 2008 the 5 shareholders have been paying themselves the same. :mad:

You can also search by directors & find their company history.
    This could be a very useful tool or the work of the devil, I'm still not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

My mother told me never to click on links with misused qs in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Interesting... I logged in via Google id, and was able to see high level financial returns, lists of directors and shareholders of a few sample companies I picked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Bono is a director of a lot of companies alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Jaysus! :eek:
    It's kinda scary that this info is available so freely.
    Even our family business which closed a few years ago is up on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Lad on Matt Cooper last night making a big deal about this new website.
    http://cashiq.net/
    You can access filed company accounts for free for the first time.
    It's where I've just found that while the company wage bill dropped 50% since 2008 the 5 shareholders have been paying themselves the same. :mad:

You can also search by directors & find their company history.
    This could be a very useful tool or the work of the devil, I'm still not sure.

FFS don't send us sites that you have to register on, what a pain in the hole.
    The least you could have done was put up a generic login we can all view the site on.

I'm not setting up an account, what is this....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    The least you could have done was put up a generic login we can all view the site on.

You can use your Google login ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Jaysus! :eek:
    It's kinda scary that this info is available so freely.
    Even our family business which closed a few years ago is up on it.

What's so scary about it? It is information that has always been publicly available. Except where previously you'd pay the CRO or solocheck.ie it's now easily available online.

I saw my name there and I don't care (I won't reveal who I am though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I tried it and can't access any of the financial returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Very interesting site. I'll be busy snooping for the next hour. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

You can use your Google login ffs

Is that safe to be logging into sites called CashIQ with google details ?

smash wrote: »
    I tried it and can't access any of the financial returns.

Click on the vertical orange bar which says Financial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Stevieg08

Stiffler2 wrote: »

Check it out, it's free and you can log in with your LinkedIn, Google account or register with an email address, takes 1 min. It is free company information, financials, directors etc. You can look up your employer/potential employers, friends, family whoever, whatever in UK & Ireland..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

LordSmeg wrote: »

That's why you have a throwaway Google account.

Yes, this is a normal service most social netw sites provide...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Yes, it's safe.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Yes, it's safe.

I'll take your word for it, the others sound like they are trying to sell me somethin. Specially Stevieg, he's just way too eager.

Fcuk off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Click on the vertical orange bar which says Financial.
    And all it does is give a list of returns and dates. It doesn't let me open them.

Fcuk off.

Oooooooooh your missing all the fun.:D

It's actually great fun.

It's also terrifying at the same time (looking up businesses of friends and family).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Thankfully none of my sham businesses ever published legitimate accounts so I'm not on there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The "company" that owns my local is worth €4 - with fixed assets worth €2.6 million. Craftly little publican divil.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

This is fecking brilliant:D
    when the minus sign is gone from in front of the net profit im demanding a raise:)

The "company" that owns my local is worth €4 - with fixed assets worth €2.6 million. Craftly little publican divil.:rolleyes:

Our local publican has cash totaling €550,000 but only €20,000 in fixed assets.
    A lot of that cash is mine & we always thought he owned the pub, not so it would seem.
    Unless he leases it to himself, I know nothing about accountancy.:confused:

Fcuk off.

Register first THEN log in....

here's a good one: do a People Search (any name) then clear that name and enter a part of your address like street name, see what your neighbours are involved with/worth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Valdazzo Brothers Olive Oil

Stevieg08 wrote: »
    Register first THEN log in....

Makes sense :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

What does it mean by ''dissolved'' under company status?

tony007 wrote: »
    What does it mean by ''dissolved'' under company status?

Company was liquidated me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

Seachmall wrote: »
    Company was liquidated me thinks.

You sure? What does that mean exactly? I know Im slow in this area.

When a company is liquidated it sells off all it's assets and shuts down. I think "dissolved" is how they term a company that has shutdown this way.

I could be wrong, I'm sure someone here would know better than myself.

Edit -
    "Dissolution is the last stage of liquidation, the process by which a company (or part of a company) is brought to an end, and the assets and property of the company redistributed." - Wiki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's completely and utterly dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

It doesn't necessarily mean the company went broke. If a company was sold - then the original partnership would be dissolved - company sold, new owners & a new name etc.

While I was looking through some of the records - that seemed to be the case with some of the companies.

EDIT: from explanation above - I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 SharonLynch007

a company can be dissolved 'honorably' if it has agreement with its creditors to pay them off (or partly pay them off if they agree to a reduction). The CRO (companies reg. office) can also dissolve a company if they are behind with their legal obligation to file. A company can be reinstated but it will cost ya !

Stevieg08 wrote: »
    here's a good one: do a People Search (any name) then clear that name and enter a part of your address like street name, see what your neighbours are involved with/worth!!

Doesn't work for me :mad:

It does if you search first under company, then delete the company name in the results & type in address.
    Very revealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭JaManSnowFlake

How can they provide this information for free, is it available for free though other methods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

How can they provide this information for free, is it available for free though other methods?
    3 searches are free, then you have to register for a min €10 a month. The nosey git in me feels it might be worth it.:D