Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

56 Up

• 09-05-2012 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up. Newest ep airs 14.5.2012

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Up_Series

Many of you will know it but there's always new people finding out about this unique documentary series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I'm sure to forget this as I can't sky plus ITV. :mad:

I bought the box set of all the other up's a few years back. Rivetting viewing. The story of Neil from Liverpool is terribly sad but he seems like he was getting his act together in 49 up.

I wonder how many will agree to doing this one as they always threaten to pull out with each new series. Have all of them even survived to this point? :(

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

56 already!!!

Starting now on itv for anyone interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Jaaaaaaaazuz....I'm getting old...:Dremember watching this for the first time in the 1980s....it's a wonderful experiment - if I remember rightly things didn't work out for some of the boys. Looking forward and hoping that things are better now for them- at least one became homeless.

Sue has done really well for herself considering her humble enough beginnings. :)

In 49 up, Tony the cockney east end cabbie had bought a second home in Spain. I suspect the recession may have hit him hard. He seemed to throw around the money a bit too much. This is lad Michael Apted (the director) believed would end up in prison at 21.

I'm glad he proved him wrong. Tony usually appears first, well he did in all the other series, so strange Sue was first this time round...

Pauls ( person on right now)temperament was always quite gentle. He always seemed like a nice bloke

Its interesting to consider the fact that their partners also play a massive role in the series. The partners of Lynn, Paul, Suzie, John and Andrew have been in it since 28 up (i.e 1984/5).

Poor Neil. :(

telekon wrote: »
    Poor Neil. :(

He's in a better place today than he was in the earlier episodes.

Cicero wrote: »
    He's in a better place today than he was in the earlier episodes.

Yes, especially from 42 onwards. However, he seems a wee bit bitter here...

telekon wrote: »
    Yes, especially from 42 onwards. However, he seems a wee bit bitter here...

Ah, he's quite intense. It's also quite a private insight into someone who has had obvious difficulties through the years. I'm sure he feels that life could have dealt him a better hand. Not sure I would blame him.:)

His rocking back and forth in 28up was the clearest indication he was not all there mentally. I don't know what happened between 7 and 14up, he changed from all recognition.

Puberty's a bitch...

Well if Peter was criticised for his views on Thatcher at 28 UP , I think he might get criticised for pedalling his band now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I had never heard of this before, very interesting, does anyone know where I can watch it from the beginning?

Well if Peter was criticised for his views on Thatcher at 28 UP , I think he might get criticised for pedalling his band now:D

Fair play to him, don't blame him at all particularly since Michael Apted has peddled this series through the kids that have participated.

The posh boy with plums in his mouth John only participates to hawk his charity.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I had never heard of this before, very interesting, does anyone know where I can watch it from the beginning?

A lot of it is on youtube. :)

Edit: if you meant the previous series that is...

^^^ there's a DVD out there too...check the wiki link in the OP..

Is this on same bat time next week?

^^^ there's a DVD out there too...check the wiki link in the OP..

Is this on same bat time next week?

Tomorrow and wed night cicero.

My bad. Its actually on next Monday again. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭gidget

I thought this series was made by the BBC. I only started watching this series from 42up when i was a teen. I could have sworn the 42up was shown on that channel. Funnily enough Sue, Paul & Neil were the ones i always remembered from the first time i watched it. I also remember they had started a more newer version with a new group of kids where the last one shown was 14up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Ah feck, raging I missed it. Does anyone know if it is repeated

gidget wrote: »
    I thought this series was made by the BBC. I only started watching this series from 42up when i was a teen. I could have sworn the 42up was shown on that channel. Funnily enough Sue, Paul & Neil were the ones i always remembered from the first time i watched it. I also remember they had started a more newer version with a new group of kids where the last one shown was 14up.

It was. Then transferred to ITV
    jos28 wrote: »
    Ah feck, raging I missed it. Does anyone know if it is repeated

Check ITV I player thingy.. Failing that look out for ITV4 listings. They often repeat series from ITV 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Hey all just wanted to let others like me who wanted to watch this from the beginning it is all available on US Netflix, apart from the newest one I assume. I am currently on 42 up, truly an amazing series with some very important stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Love these shows.

It all seems to be slowing down. Not a lot of change in people's lives since the last show, but I guess there rarely is at that age.

I always think Paul, the Aussie guy has turned out to have the best life. Sure he's not a success with his job, and he still has confidence issues, but he's been married over 20 years, to a loving and supporting wife, and seems to have a really good family life.

Neil's an interesting guy, but I find him hard to watch. He seems to have a lot of bitterness towards the world. I'd like to see him find some inner peace.

Looking forward to seeing Tony the cab driver. Last we saw he'd opened up a bar in Spain, so it'll be interesting to see how the recession has hit him.

I have to say though, fair play to all the particpants. Can't be easy having such intrusion in your life every 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Blisterman wrote: »
    I have to say though, fair play to all the particpants. Can't be easy having such intrusion in your life every 7 years.
    The pressure every 6 years leading up to every recap must be immense. Evaluating your life every 7 years would be bad enough doing it in your own head, but to do it on national TV doesn't bare thinking about.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    The pressure every 6 years leading up to every recap must be immense. Evaluating your life every 7 years would be bad enough doing it in your own head, but to do it on national TV doesn't bare thinking about.

Indeed, it's quite an achievement - great idea though and much better reality Tv than the crap on these days

Only remembered it's on now. What did I miss so far does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Strange really how this has turned out. The participants all seem to have a little bit of resentment towards it as it's a very short snapshop of their lives and doesn't really give a full picture.

I found it nice to watch as I've been following this for the last two but I think it's inevitable that as people age, their lives settle and change less. In that context, we've just really gotten an update with very little change. They look slightly older, have persued things fully that they were beginning to persue last time but overall much less interesting than the first few.

I don't see much hope for this until we get to maybe 70 where they might end it. 77 up would be funny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Finished the final ep. As a general fan of architecture and cityscapes I thought it was a great touch to end it on the scene of Tony at the new Olympic Stadium in the East End of London. A real statement of "time just marches on relentlessly and that you can never tell what the future might hold".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Kurz wrote: »
    I don't see much hope for this until we get to maybe 70 where they might end it. 77 up would be funny though.

From a Guardian article on Michael Apted:
    He's now 71, which means that he'll be 78 if there's to be a 63 Up.

No one believes the series would survive Apted's departure, so how much longer can he and it continue? A couple of years ago he said that the only reason he'd stop would be if several participants pulled out.

Given that only two have turned their back on the programme, and one of them returns in 56 Up, that seems unlikely. So perhaps we might get to 63 or, if Apted maintains his health and energy, even three score years and ten. For those of us who have been following the story for decades, it would seem a shame not to reach that milestone.

There are probably no major revelations or life transitions to come, but there is the prospect of seeing how the various individuals respond to old age and the deepening awareness of mortality. That's not a concept that would win many commissions nowadays, yet it accounts for what draws audiences back to this monumental series: the fundamental journey from birth to death. It's always the same and, as Apted has so painstakingly shown us, always different.

Make of that what you will. :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭gidget

Just for heads for up anyone else who has been following this series through the years, 63 UP is on ITV tonight at 9.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E