Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birmingham City V Blackpool - Playoff Semi-Final 2nd Leg - Sky Sports 1

• 09-05-2012 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭

For anyone that is not watching the Europa League. Should be an interesting game. Birmingham need to score, while Blackpool will not be coming to defend. Should be an attacking game. Hoping for a Birmingham win, but can see Blackpool getting through. Prediction 1-1.

Blues starting XI: Doyle; Ramage, Ibanez, Davies, Murphy; Burke, Spector, Mutch, Townsend; King, Zigic.

Blues subs: Butland, N'Daw, Elliott, Rooney, Redmond

Blackpool starting XI: Gilks, Crainey, Evatt, Baptiste, Eardley, Ferguson, Martinez, Dobbie, M Phillips, Ince, Taylor-Fletcher

Blackpool subs: Halstead, Cathcart, Southern, Dicko, K Phillips.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Here's to a 120 minute game ending with 25 penalties and 3 red cards to the winners and a few niggly injuries that'll keep the players out for 10 days.

Either that, or a Blackpool win. I'd be much more confident against them in the playoff final than Birmingham. Though knowing us fecking Ince would score the winner for them.

Should be a penalty to Blackpool already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Excellent start to the game, really exciting stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

1-0 Blackpool

Has to be one of the most delayed crowd reactions to a goal ever. Looks like it's us against Blackpool on Friday week. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Matt Phillips and Thomas Ince look like decent prospects for the future. I'm surprised Liverpool let Ince go when they've such poor wingers at their disposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Should be that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Would love to see Blackpool get promoted especially if it means Kevin Phillips takes one final swipe at the Premier League. Phillips and Ince are some prospects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

James__10 wrote: »
    Matt Phillips and Thomas Ince look like decent prospects for the future. I'm surprised Liverpool let Ince go when they've such poor wingers at their disposal.

Like his dad, he's a bit of a big time Charlie. Saw himself as worth more than what the club did and wanted more wages, they sent him packing.

Delighted. It's by no means a foregone conclusion but having scored 8 against Blackpool this season I'm quietly confident. I think Blackpool's game plan suits us down to the ground.
    Less so if we happened to get Birmingham who seem to match the way we play. Also, the beanpole seems to always score against us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Would be delighted to see the Tangerines in the prem next season tbh didn't think they'd be near getting promoted this year. Fair play to them

Offside which will no doubt cost Blackpool

Great show from the Birmingham fans :rolleyes:

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

All Birmingham hard to see them stopped from here. What a turn around

Could be one of the greatest comebacks if this continues

Please god hold on Blackpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Do away goals count? 3-2 to blackpool on agg now?

Samich wrote: »

No

Samich wrote: »

No, not in play-off's wish they did!

Hmmm turns out Zigic's goal wasn't offside after all.
    Would not like to be facing Birmingham if they win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

No away goals in the playoffs

Hmmm turns out Zigic's goal wasn't offside after all.
    Would not like to be facing Birmingham if they win this.

Dunno why you're so confident about Blackpool, very often anything can happen in play-off finals. Even last season!

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Dunno why you're so confident about Blackpool, very often anything can happen in play-off finals. Even last season!
    Look at how they've crumbled under pressure in this game. The way we've been playing the last few weeks I'd be much more confident against them in the final than Birmingham.
    Though having said that, if we play to our potential in the final, we will win no matter who we play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Hope Brum don't go up, it's bad enough the chance of west ham going back up :P

Great second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Delighted for Holloway and Blackpool.

Hope they win the playoffs now.

Blackpool deserved it over the two legs.

That is most likely Hughton's last game. Probably going to be the last game for good few Birmingham players as well with the financial troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Hope Blackpool win in the final.

West Ham's 'we are too good to be in the Championship' attitude rubs me the wrong way, and at least Holloway has a sense of humour.

Hope Blackpool win in the final.

West Ham's 'we are too good to be in the Championship' attitude rubs me the wrong way, and at least Holloway has a sense of humour.
    Where exactly have you seen this "attitude"? From the fans? The players? The manager? We finished bottom of the PL last season so we obviously aren't "too good for the Championship". Having said that, if we win in 10 days time, we will have proven we are too good for the Championship, just like Reading and Southampton have done.
    Looking at Blackpool's defence today, I'm quietly confident. Matt Taylor's deliveries have been sublime recently and hopefully we'll put them to good use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Where exactly have you seen this "attitude"? From the fans? The players? The manager? We finished bottom of the PL last season so we obviously aren't "too good for the Championship". Having said that, if we win in 10 days time, we will have proven we are too good for the Championship.
    Looking at Blackpool's defence today, I'm quietly confident. Matt Taylor's deliveries have been sublime recently and hopefully we'll put them to good use

Many of your fans have given out about Allardyce playing 'ugly', and not in the 'West Ham way', even though he's a proven top level manager. Of course that led to him publicly having to keep their aspirations in check after one of your matches.

Some, not all, of your fans seem a bit spoilt,and act as if you have a divine right to be back up in no time.

Many of your fans have given out about Allardyce playing 'ugly', and not in the 'West Ham way', even though he's a proven top level manager. Of course that led to him publicly having to keep their aspirations in check after one of your matches.

Some, not all, of your fans seem a bit spoilt,and act as if you have a divine right to be back up in no time.
    What's wrong with fans wanting to see us play good football? To me that doesn't seem like acting like we're 'too good for the Championship'. Some of our games this year have been absolutely dire so you can't expect fans not to complain to some extent.
    And every team will have their share of delusional fans: West Ham, Man United, Leeds, Sheffield Wednesday. Doesn't mean you should base the entire club's attitude on the views of these fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

I don't know where you are hearing that but the majority of West Ham supporters don't think we 'deserve' to be in the premier league. We are used to playing attacking football and that is why people get annoyed seeing the play style of managers like curbs and allardyce when we have an attacking team on paper, but we in no way blame this for us not being promoted or staying up in the premier league. This image of us thinking we are better than everyone else comes from places like SSN.

Delighted to have got Blackpool in the final. With both our attacking sides, I am hoping we can come out on top like the league games and with both teams current forms it should be a cracking game! Playing Birmingham would of been a nightmare.