Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RD Pro12 Semi-Final: Ospreys vs Munster, Fri 11 May 7:35pm; RTE2/BBC2WALES

• 09-05-2012 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster Squad:
    F Jones,
    D Barnes, I Dineen, K Earls, L Mafi, J Murphy, S Zebo,
    S Deasy, I Keatley, R O'Gara,
    T O'Leary, C Murray,

M Sherry, D Fogarty, S Henry,
    D Kilcoyne, W du Preez, S Archer, J Ryan, BJ Botha,
    Donncha O'Callaghan, M O'Driscoll, D Ryan,
    T O'Donnell, Dave O'Callaghan, P O'Mahony, P Butler.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10476.php

I'd like to see:
    du Preez, Sherry, Botha, DOC, Ryan, DOC2.0, TOD, POM;
    Murray, Deasy, Zebo, Mafi, Earls, Murphy, Jones

Bench: Fogarty, Kilcoyne, Archer, MOD, Butler, TOL, ROG, Dineen/Barnes

Prediction? 77 votes

Ospreys
    0%
    Munster
    59%
    fitzHippoBadabingrrpcSpudmonkey[Jackass]prospectFeederMcCalvinmikedragon32frankie2shoeschris85dmapreludematthew8happydayz182andrewdcsmolloyjhCatFromHueGarseysseklly 46 votes
    Neil Francis / Don't care about Rabo
    40%
    tommycahirRattlehead_iejamiehcastiemornington maneyeball kidbudhabobBenny CakeTefralmurphym7redvedduckysauceCoDy1CIARAN_BOYLEcircosJudgement Daywillitthomond2006siltirockererrlloyd 31 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 iamnotacrook

Munster
    Pretty much agree with the team you would like to see, I would also throw Dineen in there aswell instead of Murphy/Mafi.

I know that will leave us lightweight on experience
    and its a Semi Final away from home against a good Ospreys side who have beaten us twice already this season,but IMHO it is a perfect opportunity to see what the younger guys are made of, we know what the old guard bring but if we scrape through with the usual suspects what have we actually learned for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭leftleg

Munster
    I'd like to see:
    du Preez, Sherry, Botha, DOC, Ryan, DOC2.0, TOD, POM;
    Murray, Deasy, Zebo, Mafi, Earls, Murphy, Jones

Bench: Fogarty, Kilcoyne, Archer, MOD, Butler, TOL, ROG, Dineen/Barnes

Why not ROG / Keatley?? Are they both injured??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Pretty much agree with the team you would like to see, I would also throw Dineen in there aswell instead of Murphy/Mafi.

I know that will leave us lightweight on experience
    and its a Semi Final away from home against a good Ospreys side who have beaten us twice already this season,but IMHO it is a perfect opportunity to see what the younger guys are made of, we know what the old guard bring but if we scrape through with the usual suspects what have we actually learned for the future.

I'm sure prize money would lure people to make winning a final important and Thomond's squad is radical enough already with Deasy at 10.
    leftleg wrote: »
    Why not ROG / Keatley?? Are they both injured??
    They're both in the squad so probably fit but both are coming back from knocks (ROGs in the QF and Keatleys before the Ulster match) and Deasy had a good game against Ulster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 iamnotacrook

Munster
    I'm sure prize money would lure people to make winning a final important and Thomond's squad is radical enough already with Deasy at 10.

How much money do you think realistically there is for getting to a RABO final(in all likelihood it would be away from home so you couldn't include for gate receipts)??

The problem at the moment I feel with Irish and to a lesser extent Munster rugby is a reluctance to give younger guys a go in relevant matches.

Its a Pro12 Semi Final, even if we lose its not the end of the world, but imagine the additional options it gives us if some of these guys step up to the plate...

How much money do you think realistically there is for getting to a RABO final(in all likelihood it would be away from home so you couldn't include for gate receipts)??

The problem at the moment I feel with Irish and to a lesser extent Munster rugby is a reluctance to give younger guys a go in relevant matches.

Its a Pro12 Semi Final, even if we lose its not the end of the world, but imagine the additional options it gives us if some of these guys step up to the plate...

Gate receipts from the semi-final are split and gate receipts from the final go to Celtic Rugby to help cover expenses such as referees, administration and prize money but I'm sure there is some money for it and I'm sure Munster could do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 padraig29

Hope Munster can win this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Anybody else wanna see Kilcoyne given a start? He looked the business against the Scarlets. The Hairsprays will be stronger in the scrum than the Scarlets, but I'd like to see him given the chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

CiaranMT wrote: »
    Anybody else wanna see Kilcoyne given a start? He looked the business against the Scarlets. The Hairsprays will be stronger in the scrum than the Scarlets, but I'd like to see him given the chance.

I dont know, i'm all for giving the young lads a chance, but to put him up against Adam Jones in his second start is a bit of a rough one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

No better test :)

Healy was being minced in his first few games against more experienced opponents, and look at him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I like Kilcoyne but hos scrummaging isn't the strongest part of his game and Adam Jones might just thrash him and that could be a setback. Maybe bring him on early in the second half so he can have freshness as an advantage?

I like Deasy and I've championed him in the past against certain nonbelievers, but Keatley is a better physical presence and Deasys defense is a question mark. Id have Keatley. ROG on the bench for sure, Deasy can shine another day.

I'm no.Munster fan but I'd have

WDP, Sherry, Botha, DOC, MOD, Ryan, TOD, POM
    Murray, Keatley, Zebo. Dineen, Earls, Murphy, Hurley/Jones

Henry, Kilcoyne, Archer, ???, Butler, TOL, ROG, Mafi

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It's a semi final and the only silverware munster can get this year. Some of these suggestions are silly - they'll rightly put out their strongest team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Where's Hurley??

I think Deasy deserves a start after a good performance against Ulster. And I'd start the 3 young guys in the back row, with Ryan in the 2nd row. We might as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Where's Hurley??

I think Deasy deserves a start after a good performance against Ulster. And I'd start the 3 young guys in the back row, with Ryan in the 2nd row. We might as well.

Dunno where Hurley is, I assume he's injured. He hasn't featured for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Dunno where Hurley is, I assume he's injured. He hasn't featured for a while.

Not voting in your own poll? And what's with ROG on the bench - he's playing until he is 48!! :D

In hindsight, Hurley should have played full-back against Ulster, I thought Jones was poor.

And his form hasn't been great at all, I'd much prefer to see Hurley at full-back until Jones hits form again. Pre-season will be good for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Munster
    Don't think Munster have enough for this one. Missing too many players and away from home is a very tough ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

From a Leinster perspective I hope Munster win this one.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,943 ✭✭✭✭phog

Can't see us getting the win especially being down POC, massive blow for us.

As for trying out or giving younger players a chance to see how they perform, not now when you're in knock-out rugby, while a win in the semi or final is miles away from us it's still a chance if we play our best team and in both Swansea or RDS we'll need as much experience as we can field.

Archer and his likes will get other days to be tested, an away knockout game isn't the place to be experimenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Fireball07 wrote: »
    In hindsight, Hurley should have played full-back against Ulster, I thought Jones was poor.

And his form hasn't been great at all, I'd much prefer to see Hurley at full-back until Jones hits form again. Pre-season will be good for him.

Yep, Hurley's offloading and timing of runs into the line worked brilliantly throughout the group stages. It contrasted with out flat wide attacking game, and Jones doesn't offer that.

I know Hurley was carrying a knock into the game, so I don't think Hurley v Jones was the costly decision.

I think having Hurley on the wing was the problem. You had Murphy, Jones and Hurley all going for 2 positions. Jones and Hurley might be the better rugby players, but Murphy is the better winger.

I'd definitely pick Hurley for the rest of the season. Give Jones pre-season to get up to speed because he's an excellent full back on his day.

Flincher wrote: »
    Yep, Hurley's offloading and timing of runs into the line worked brilliantly throughout the group stages. It contrasted with out flat wide attacking game, and Jones doesn't offer that.

I know Hurley was carrying a knock into the game, so I don't think Hurley v Jones was the costly decision.

I think having Hurley on the wing was the problem. You had Murphy, Jones and Hurley all going for 2 positions. Jones and Hurley might be the better rugby players, but Murphy is the better winger.

I'd definitely pick Hurley for the rest of the season. Give Jones pre-season to get up to speed because he's an excellent full back on his day.

I'd agree with that. But I think Hurley at full-back could have made a difference. I thought Jones was very poor going into contact. Hurley's offloading ability could have given us the opening we needed. I'm not saying we would have scored if he had been playing but I think he'd have been better at creating opportunities to break the line and gain ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Munster
    Munster team confirmed:

Munster: F Jones; J Murphy, K Earls, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray; W du Preez, M Sherry, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, M O'Driscoll; D Ryan, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony. Replacements: D Fogarty, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, Dave O'Callaghan, P Butler, T O'Leary, R O'Gara, I Dineen.

Munster:
    F Jones; J Murphy, K Earls, L Mafi, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray;
    W du Preez, M Sherry, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, M O'Driscoll; D Ryan, T O'Donnell, P O'Mahony.

Replacements: D Fogarty, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, Dave O'Callaghan, P Butler, T O'Leary, R O'Gara, I Dineen.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10478.php

Big chance for Keatley!

ROG still has a knock I take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Munster

Big chance for Keatley!

Massive. I just hope that people give him a chance, and that if Munster lose, we won't all rush to assume it's down to him.

Very strong Munster team but I just wonder about the quality/experience of the bench, whether there's enough there to turn it around if things go wrong.

Ospreys team:

15 Richard Fussell
    14 Hanno Dirksen
    13 Andrew Bishop
    12 Ashley Beck
    11 Shane Williams
    10 Dan Biggar
    9 Kahn Fotuali'i

1 Paul James
    2 Richard Hibbard
    3 Adam Jones
    4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)
    5 Ian Evans
    6 Ryan Jones
    7 Justin Tipuric
    8 Joe Bearman

Replacements:
    16 Scott Baldwin
    17 Ryan Bevington
    18 Aaron Jarvis
    19 James King
    20 Tom Smith
    21 Rhys Webb
    22 Matthew Morgan
    23 Tom Isaacs

Keatley/ROG need to target Fussell, he's a good player but prone to brainfarts and **** ups.

Munster's bench looks better than Ospreys, plenty of good impact players like DOC2.0 and Butler. However Rhys Webb is a brillant scrum-half who can make a break.

Is Hurley injured?

That Ospreys bench is strong too. This is a big ask for that young Munster side... Theyll relish the challenge I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Massive. I just hope that people give him a chance, and that if Munster lose, we won't all rush to assume it's down to him

Is this Keatleys first start in a high pressure game this season? If it is then he can't be to blame if Munster lose.

I hope Munster do it. We owe you one for last year.

I think the Osprey's back three will be on singing form. Will this be Shane Williams last game infront of a Welsh crowd in a club game?

Fussell, Dirk and Williams could cause Jones, Zebo and Murphy all sorts of problems defensively. Especially if their scrum gets going...

I'm gonna miss this match, anniversary dinner with the missus! :( Apparently that's more important...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Im almost sure Hurley in injured, he had been carrying an injury and although not the fastest was being burnt by people he should have been able to catch, his ability to turn in defence due to injury was critical and therfore Id say he is being looked after.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Teferi wrote: »

We owe them both in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

.ak wrote: »
    I think the Osprey's back three will be on singing form. Will this be Shane Williams last game infront of a Welsh crowd in a club game?

Fussell, Dirk and Williams could cause Jones, Zebo and Murphy all sorts of problems defensively. Especially if their scrum gets going...

I'm gonna miss this match, anniversary dinner with the missus! :( Apparently that's more important...
    Another Shane Williams goodbye? It's been going on for 6 months now, etting bored with it all now

Lelantos wrote: »
    Another Shane Williams goodbye? It's been going on for 6 months now, etting bored with it all now

Well he did say this was his last season... Just because he announced it earlier in the season is hardly his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

It's not like it wont be mentioned for MOD, TOL, Mafi if Munster end up with a(n) (unlikely) home final.

It's a big chance for Keatley...he really needs to perform. It's as close to a full-strength team as is possible. The pack should be solid enough, and if he can get the backs moving, we'll have a chance. People like Earls, Zebo and Jones have the potential to break the line on a regular basis if they get the right ball.

It'll be a tough one.

Teferi wrote: »
    Is this Keatleys first start in a high pressure game this season? If it is then he can't be to blame if Munster lose.

Yeah first start in a high pressure game, second start alongside Murray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Jaysus.

I think Keatley will do nicely to be honest. If he plays a tighter game he'll do well, as I think it's his strength.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Munster

Second start ever??

second start beside murray ever, yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Munster

I agree, problem is the little fecker has scored in each of his six 'last' games !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

.ak wrote: »

Well he did say this was his last season... Just because he announced it earlier in the season is hardly his fault.
    Sorry, not so much him, the media is what I meant. They're dragging it on & on
    Wasn't this much hoopla last weekend, MOD got a standing ovation & a dominoes pizza after the game from what I could see :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Up till 3-4 weeks ago they had never been on a pitch at the same time.

Shocking foresight in 'building for the future'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

How many PRO12 has Murray played this year?

7 or 8 I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

5 starts, 2 sub appearances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Been impressed with TOD so far, big test for him against Tipuric, if he can limit his influence he'll be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Munster

Seeing as Keatley plays mainly during the internationals and doesn't feature during the important HC games, coupled with injuries to them both this season its hardly that 'shocking'.

shuffol wrote: »
    Been impressed with TOD so far, big test for him against Tipuric, if he can limit his influence he'll be doing well.
    If he can limit his influence I'll be astounded.

Saying that, I've never subscribed to the belief that its the opensides job to deal with his opposite number.

Seeing as Keatley plays mainly during the internationals and doesn't feature during the important HC games, coupled with injuries to them both this season its hardly that 'shocking'.

:confused: Of course it is.

They were in about a 15-16 matchday squads this season together. For them only to be on the pitch together for the first time at the end of April IMO is ridiculous; particularly with Munster in somewhat of a transition period.

Pairing the Incumbent Scrumhalf with an ageing Fly half and pairing a departing Scrumhalf with the incumbent fly half, with regards to the future is very shortsighted. Shocking even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

ormond lad wrote: »
    5 starts, 2 sub appearances

No wonder his form has been so patchy. He's simply not playing enough rugby.