Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Studying more then one english poem

• 04-05-2012 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

Hey I was just wondering is there anyone that like myself that is just studying one poem for junior cert. Its what my english teacher recommonned and really fits at least one question a year ( btw I'm studying Dulce et Decorem). Im just wondering is there anyone like myself that is just studying in one poem?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Do you hope to go on to Leaving Cert.?
    Studying one poem is not much of a foundation to build on.
    Words fail me regarding your 'teacher'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

one poem isnt enough to pass that question. Im doing seven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭iliketwixbars

paddzdaman wrote: »
    Hey I was just wondering is there anyone that like myself that is just studying one poem for junior cert. Its what my english teacher recommonned and really fits at least one question a year ( btw I'm studying Dulce et Decorem). Im just wondering is there anyone like myself that is just studying in one poem?

One poem definitely is not enough. We are doing ten. At least do three or four in good detail and have a couple of back ups that you could use just in case. Having just one is very risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭paddzdaman

One poem definitely is not enough. We are doing ten. At least do three or four in good detail and have a couple of back ups that you could use just in case. Having just one is very risky.
    I know but I'm doing Dulce et decorem which really covers all questions in my opinion. Its pretty late now to be learning more but I really know it very well. We did a few more but they were quite small and I felt I really couldn't write a full question on it e.g. seamus heaney trout ( which in fairness is really nice but we really only went into detail on dulce et). Plus my english teacher said we will be most likely writing on dulce et. I was in fairness asking in this post towards people who were in the same situation as me. In fairness ( know this isn't gunna go down well ) but thats what i did for the mocks and it planned out really well (83%). Saying that I have seriously improved at english since my mocks. Just wondering did you spend much time on those poetry. We spent the week on the 'back-up' poems but two weeks on the dulce et. Did you spend long on them.

Yup, we spent from September to Christmas on them.

one poem isnt enough to pass that question. Im doing seven
    In fairness one question every year focus's on either poet's thoughts, technique , style, imagery, war and I feel dulce et covers them all. As the saying goes ' Be grand lawd' :D

spurious wrote: »
    Do you hope to go on to Leaving Cert.?
    Studying one poem is not much of a foundation to build on.
    Words fail me regarding your 'teacher'.
    Yes i hope to go onto the leaving cert :D I know what your trying to say and all but in fairness that was kinda an igorant reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

To be fair, for the past few years they've been rather general with their questions and you may well be able to get away with it (Although it is still ridiculously risky). The last paper that was in any way specific was the paper I did (2009) where it asked for War or Peace.

That said, your teacher's terrible. They're setting you up for an absolute nightmare in the LC.

Yup, we spent from September to Christmas on them.
    Serious ! We spent most of that time really on the drama (merchant of venice), then bit of poetry and then mock revision. In fairness our teacher is brilliant and really helpful towards correcting extra exam questions. Expecting an A now.

To be fair, for the past few years they've been rather general with their questions and you may well be able to get away with it (Although it is still ridiculously risky). The last paper that was in any way specific was the paper I did (2009) where it asked for War or Peace.

That said, your teacher's terrible. They're setting you up for an absolute nightmare in the LC.
    No shes in fairness brilliant. How does it cause nightmare for LC? Is it just the amount of poems you have to learn for LC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭paddyzk

No shes in fairness brilliant. How does it cause nightmare for LC? Is it just the amount of poems you have to learn for LC?

4 poets and like 10 poems or some shizz

Serious ! We spent most of that time really on the drama (merchant of venice), then bit of poetry and then mock revision. In fairness our teacher is brilliant and really helpful towards correcting extra exam questions. Expecting an A now.

We spent 1st year on personal and functional writing

2nd Year: Sept-Xmas: Roll of Thunder
    Xmas-Summer: Merchant of Venice

3rd Year: Sept-Xmas: Poetry
    Xmas-Pres: Media Studies
    Pres-Easter: Revising Functional and Personal Writing
    Now: Exam Papers

Hoping to scrape the A too :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

More or less, yet.

It's not that you can't learn the required amount of poems (Which i'd say averages 30) it's the fact that you need experience in reading and studying poetry to be able to handle the LC material. If you haven't done anything but Dulce et decorum est then you'll probably struggle due to lack of experience.

paddyzk wrote: »
    4 poets and like 10 poems or some shizz
    Alright thanks for that. Only problem is that there is two honors english teachers in our school. One of them is brilliant ( the one I have now) and the other is absolute brutal. I mean just sits at her desk the whole time and does nothing. But sure she could be retired by my LC time. Thank God for T.Y. ..... well lets hope :D

We spent 1st year on personal and functional writing

2nd Year: Sept-Xmas: Roll of Thunder
    Xmas-Summer: Merchant of Venice

3rd Year: Sept-Xmas: Poetry
    Xmas-Pres: Media Studies
    Pres-Easter: Revising Functional and Personal Writing
    Now: Exam Papers

Hoping to scrape the A too :P
    We did mostly functionally writing, media studies, drama, film studies ( kinda sh1t cause we studied twlight :(:D and novel)

Why did ye do film studies?

Just it kinda tied in with media studies. It was really fun and was class to do. Only bad part was we studied twlight :(. In T.Y. I think were meant to be doing a load of film studies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

It's really not advisable to do only one poem. Your really limiting yourself. This year could be the one year your poem doesn't fit in.

I personally have done 8 poems in class, and we studied them all in depth. However, we are only practising 6 for our exams.

My poems are:

Dulce et Decorum Est (War)
    Sonnet 20 (Love)
    Going Home to Mayo, Winter 1949 (Places)
    Mid-Term Break (Death)
    Early Purges (Childhood)
    Tich Miller (Both Death & Childhood)

Also, Mid-Term Break & Early Purges are both written by Seamus Heaney, so I'l be prepared for a poet question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭KirkCheated09

I only knew one for the mocks and it was grand and I got full marsks.. I'm doing 4 now though to be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

sorry, i should have said it doesn't guarantee youll get at close to full marks with just one poem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Staybeautiful

Hi !:) I would to learn 2 poems that relate to eachother just incase there is a comparison question :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭briant16

Are yous just learning the poem itself off by heart or just the notes to go with the poem ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Hannahbanana97

Yeah, I'm studying dulce et decorem est. But I'm also studying 5 other poems.
    But then again, there's only one studied poetry question. If you want to only study one poem i suggest you study a different one with loads of themes.
    Dulce et decorum est only has... War, maybe friendship, patriotic, and not much else?