Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday May 4th

• 04-05-2012 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

4.10 Wolves

Titus Gent 16/1

Quite like the look of Jeremy Gask's 7 year old whose 99 days off the track will have done him a world of good. Looking through his form, its a bit surprising that he has yet to win over 5f with all 10 of his career wins coming over 6f but I certainly think he has the speed to land his first victory at the minimum distance. Titus Gent was last seen in January over 6f in Kempton which was on the back of a busy campaign and given Gask has given him a little break would tend to validate this opinion. Two starts back over 5f at Kempton in January Titus Gent ran a very nice race to be touched off by just 1.5L off a mark of 81. He broke a fraction slowly and had to come from near last but was eating up the ground with every stride, emphasising that he's probably best over 6f. However, if things fall right, I have no doubt he's good enough for 5f. The form of that race looks solid with the winner coming out subsequently to win off a 4lb higher mark and the 2nd has put in some solid form off the same mark. The 5th Desert Strike, who re-opposes today and who is as short as 7/2, is 2lb worse off at the weights with Titus Gent today. Moreover, Raul Da Silva's claim means Desert Strike has 7lb to find with this selection and on the basis of this run its hard to see the vast difference in prices.

Titus Gent's last win came under todays jockey back in October at the track over 6f off a mark of 78, and today he is only 1lb higher than this success. That day, I thought it was a very impressive performance by this 7 year old and Da Silva seemed to have a fair bit of horse left under him as he was pushed out to win by 0.75L. The form of that race is consistent, but not brilliant, but it was the attitude I really latched on to. As I said earlier, I think the break will have sharpened him up quite a bit and he's proven in the past that an absence is no problem when finishing only a very narrowly beaten 2nd after a 6 month break. Trainer Jeremey Gask comes here in good form registering a couple of winners in the past few days which is a definite bonus. Racing here today off a mark of 79, he is only 1lb above his last win and I certainly think he's well enough handicapped on the basis of that and his running off a higher mark 2 starts ago. From the draw in stall 6, I hope he breaks out well and is able to grab a sit just in behind on the rail which should hopefully lead to his first 5f victory at what is a price that vastly overstates his chances in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

6.25 Kilbeggan

Cool Kid 25/1

This 4 year has a bit of a story behind him. He started out his career with the excellent Ger Lyons and only ended up ever having one start for him as he appeared a little bit of a nuisance as he refused to load on his final two occasions. However, its Ger Lyons comments posted on his Facebook page that first got me interested in Cool Kid. Prior to his proposed runs where he didn't enter the stalls, Lyons said "Cool Kid is a lovely big horse who has a knee action so should handle soft ground. If he does he'll run very well. Same family as Frederick Engels" and followed it up with "I like Cool Kid alot but he gets claustrophobic in stalls". As a result of his reluctance to load, he was subsequently sold and is has now embarked upon a career over hurdles as he was sold into the Eoin Griffin yard.

Cool Kid made his debut for Griffin at the Christmas Festival in Leopardstown where he refused at the last after being well beaten. That day he jumped horrendously to his right at every hurdle and it was clear he was still learning a lot about racing. He's had two subsequent starts of hurdles where he appears to have been well held and I thought after his first run that they'd try and get him a low handicap and attempt to exploit it on his handicap debut. In those two starts, his jumping was much better than his debut but still not great so I am hoping its a facet that Griffin has spent some time working on.

Today, Cool Kid makes his handicap debut off a mark of 95 as he is stepped up to 19f for the first time today. Its also very interesting to note that he wears first time blinkers and I really think they'll help a huge amount as he looks to have lacked focus to date. Raced over only 2m so far, I found it very interesting that the yard have upped him to 2m3f immediately and even more interesting that he's been entered into two 3m races so I get the impression that connections certainly feel he'll be better over further. Furthermore, Cool Kid was entered into a Grade 2 the day before he made his debut which he didn't get into which indicates to me that his new connections also think a fair bit about him (although what were they thinking as he was nowhere near ready!). Apprentice Mark Bolger takes the ride today and he has a decent enough record for Griffin with 1 win from 4 starts and this is his only ride of the day. Although Griffin is winnerless in this sphere since September, he does have a very encouraging record 21% record at Kilbeggan which somewhat negates this concern. Although certainly not one to go nuts on, Ger Lyons seemed to think a lot of this horse and if the blinkers and step up in trip suit he could land this at a very nice price on handicap debut

I would advise anyone backing him to do so on Betfair before the off as he's definitely going to be a much bigger price.

I have to have a small go on Oil Strike 40/1 in the 4.00 Musselburgh. I definitely think he is capable of winning off his current mark on what is his 3rd start for Mick Easterby. He's performed badly twice so far for his new trainer but he may well have needed those runs to get him up to full race fitness. Easterby has come into a bit of form recently and it represents his and jockey Paddy Aspell's only action today. More than likely he's going to be awful before Easterby lands a plot with him but I'll end up kicking myself if he goes in at a huge price.

rossom wrote: »
    4.10 Wolves

Titus Gent 16/1

Quite like the look of Jeremy Gask's 7 year old whose 99 days off the track will have done him a world of good. Looking through his form, its a bit surprising that he has yet to win over 5f with all 10 of his career wins coming over 6f but I certainly think he has the speed to land his first victory at the minimum distance. Titus Gent was last seen in January over 6f in Kempton which was on the back of a busy campaign and given Gask has given him a little break would tend to validate this opinion. Two starts back over 5f at Kempton in January Titus Gent ran a very nice race to be touched off by just 1.5L off a mark of 81. He broke a fraction slowly and had to come from near last but was eating up the ground with every stride, emphasising that he's probably best over 6f. However, if things fall right, I have no doubt he's good enough for 5f. The form of that race looks solid with the winner coming out subsequently to win off a 4lb higher mark and the 2nd has put in some solid form off the same mark. The 5th Desert Strike, who re-opposes today and who is as short as 7/2, is 2lb worse off at the weights with Titus Gent today. Moreover, Raul Da Silva's claim means Desert Strike has 7lb to find with this selection and on the basis of this run its hard to see the vast difference in prices.

Titus Gent's last win came under todays jockey back in October at the track over 6f off a mark of 78, and today he is only 1lb higher than this success. That day, I thought it was a very impressive performance by this 7 year old and Da Silva seemed to have a fair bit of horse left under him as he was pushed out to win by 0.75L. The form of that race is consistent, but not brilliant, but it was the attitude I really latched on to. As I said earlier, I think the break will have sharpened him up quite a bit and he's proven in the past that an absence is no problem when finishing only a very narrowly beaten 2nd after a 6 month break. Trainer Jeremey Gask comes here in good form registering a couple of winners in the past few days which is a definite bonus. Racing here today off a mark of 79, he is only 1lb above his last win and I certainly think he's well enough handicapped on the basis of that and his running off a higher mark 2 starts ago. From the draw in stall 6, I hope he breaks out well and is able to grab a sit just in behind on the rail which should hopefully lead to his first 5f victory at what is a price that vastly overstates his chances in my opinion.

Lovely stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Well done Rossom, super pick, wasn't on!

Any feelings on Legendary Times in Dundalk?

only1stevo wrote: »
    Well done Rossom, super pick, wasn't on!

Any feelings on Legendary Times in Dundalk?

Cheers mate. I'd go small as if he misses the break he won't have a chance over 7f. Definitely capable of landing this but he's not a horse to invest a huge amount of faith in.

rossom wrote: »
    Cheers mate. I'd go small as if he misses the break he won't have a chance over 7f. Definitely capable of landing this but he's not a horse to invest a huge amount of faith in.

Yes indeed, Im interested in Bon Accord in the race(16/1), big money on him lto in Navan, was very poor but blinkers applied today so might do the trick and Andy Oliver knows how to ready one... but I'm worried about Legendary Times, have a feeling he'll fly down the straight, might just dutch 'em both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Pre Tax Profit was 16/1 this morning in that race. Now 9/4. Apparently the bookies have been taking huge sums on it, heard 50k was bet with a major bookie this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Pre Tax Profit was 16/1 this morning in that race. Now 9/4. Apparently the bookies have been taking huge sums on it, heard 50k was bet with a major bookie this morning.
    Well, it was not Reggie Roberts money,maybe it was all the greyhound men he knows.He has a lot to do to beat Pat Fynns horse.50k on a horse in Dundalk????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Cool Kid refused again the little fecker.

Well done on Titus Gent. Lovely winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Yeah it's probably lies about the 50k but it was a serious move. 1st shows just out and it's back out to 4/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

only1stevo wrote: »
    Yes indeed, Im interested in Bon Accord in the race(16/1), big money on him lto in Navan, was very poor but blinkers applied today so might do the trick and Andy Oliver knows how to ready one... but I'm worried about Legendary Times, have a feeling he'll fly down the straight, might just dutch 'em both.

cheers for that had him e/w and went off at 20/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Well done OP, great pick.

Alas I didn't back it!

racso1975 wrote: »
    cheers for that had him e/w and went off at 20/1

Ye nice run. Would have won imo if he hadn't of encountered trouble early on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Great picking rossom, Fair play.