Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda cars coming to a NCT centre near you

• 30-04-2012 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭

I heard on the rumour mill today that although Garda vehicles are still excempt from the NCT, that as a matter of Health and Safety they can be put through the test. Has anyone seen or heard of such a thing? I wonder is this coming from the state claims agency and/or pressure from Garda reps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Aren't they maintained in house? Why can't they be tested in house too? Have you got a link or is this rumour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Onwardandupwar

MugMugs wrote: »
    Aren't they maintained in house? Why can't they be tested in house too? Have you got a link or is this rumour?

Garda cars used to be maintained in house
    That day has since gone and passed all Garda cars are now maintained by the local main dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They are exempt, always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I'd say there are a few members who would be happy for the patrol cars to be regularly tested. They are in constant use with multiple drivers, drivers that don't give a damn about the cars too. The worst concoction. Taxis are subject to a suitability test, so should Garda cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

Garda vehicles have been NCT'd for a number of years, have brought several of them to Fonthill myself.

M

Taxis are subject to a suitability test, so should Garda cars.

Yes but these are privately owned, there's commercial gain to be made from leaving the car go to the dogs, with the Gardaí the member of the force is not making a gain on the car being dodgy, infact the opposite is the case :D
    On 11 February 2001, a newspaper report alleged that senior members of the Transport Section
    of the Garda Síochána involved in the purchasing of tyres for the Garda fleet had been
    entertained on recreational trips abroad, paid for by Advance Pitstop, the principal supplier of
    tyres to the force. Enquiries into the allegations were commenced separately by the Internal
    Audit Unit of the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform and by Garda management.

Overpayments to Advance Pitstop
    The Garda Síochána should have ensured that the prices they paid Advance Pitstop were those
    offered by the company in their tender offer. Continental brand tyres increased significantly in
    price after the tender offer was made, but Semperit brand tyres remained at the tender prices.
    Consequently, the shift in brands supplied was very significant.
    The Garda Síochána also paid more than the tender prices for some of the extra charge items
    and services provided by Advance Pitstop.
    The estimated total overpayment on all goods and services supplied by Advance Pitstop in the
    period 1998-2000, relative to the prices offered in their tender, was around £208,000. This is
    around 10% of the total amount paid to Advance Pitstop in the three years.
    The prices paid for tyres by the Garda Síochána were much higher than those paid to Advance
    Pitstop by the Defence Forces, under the same tender arrangements. Moreover, the Defence
    Forces paid Advance Pitstop less than the tender prices for most of the tyres they bought.

http://audgen.gov.ie/documents/vfmreports/vfm-gardatyres.pdf

M

mcgarrett wrote: »
    Garda vehicles have been NCT'd for a number of years, have brought several of them to Fonthill myself.

Why are they if they don't display a disc and are exempt from the test, surely this is a waste of €55 of taxpayers money on each car? You sure it wasn't personal cars owned by members of the Gardaí you brought to be tested?
    5. Are any cars exempt from the NCT?

Motor vehicles used only on islands not connected to the mainland by road and motor vehicles belonging to the Armed Forces, the Garda Síochana or the Fire Service are currently not subject to mandatory roadworthiness testing. Vehicles registered before 1980 are also exempt from the test.

http://www.nct.ie/faq.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

True!

They only get a report after the test, no certificate. Most of them aren't actually too bad, high mileage but reasonably well mantained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭xxlauraxxox

the way they drive at times they should be ncted...i was on a country road today (called a bog road)going back to work after my lunch and when i pulled in to let another car pass a squad car out of nowhere ended up behind me slapping on his breaks well i swear i let about 5cars pass just to piss him off more...if we have to go by speed limits on these why cant they??it wasnt an emerency cus they had no sirens the cheek :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

the way they drive at times they should be ncted...i was on a country road today (called a bog road)going back to work after my lunch and when i pulled in to let another car pass a squad car out of nowhere ended up behind me slapping on his breaks well i swear i let about 5cars pass just to piss him off more...if we have to go by speed limits on these why cant they??it wasnt an emerency cus they had no sirens the cheek :P

41813_115303688516968_609_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Don't they usually change fleet before an NCT is needed?

smash wrote: »

Depends. A 05 Mondeo still covering Traffic in Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Organic Cavity

Not any more.

Think they keep them now if the mileage on them isn't too high after a number or years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Not anymore. The serviceable life was increased from 190,000km to 300,000km a couple of years ago and they're even struggling to get funding to replace cars over the 300,000km limit now.

No sirens does not mean they were not in a rush somewhere, they dont always turn them on. Well done though, holding up and p*ssing off people who are trying to do their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Fonthill NCT Centre again....:rolleyes:
    Is there anything they won't pass ?????:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Well done though, holding up and p*ssing off people who are trying to do their job.

"quick step on it,the batter burgers and chips are going cold,better get back to the station fast".

Give me a break with your comment above.:rolleyes:

Gardai break the law and abuse other road users all the time.:mad::mad:

And if you are going to deny this,then you need to go to specsavers .

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Not anymore. The serviceable life was increased from 190,000km to 300,000km a couple of years ago and they're even struggling to get funding to replace cars over the 300,000km limit now.

I mentioned before that they get a complete suspension rebuild at 150k.Everything including steering rack,shocks,springs,engine mounts,drop links etc.

Like a new car after that.Keeps them going for that other 150k.

No sirens does not mean they were not in a rush somewhere, they dont always turn them on. Well done though, holding up and p*ssing off people who are trying to do their job.

if the guards actually done work where i lived id say something but they dont ive nothing against them either but they have to take the consideration of other road users into mind so u can take back your comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

if the guards actually done work where i lived id say something but they dont ive nothing against them either but they have to take the consideration of other road users into mind so u can take back your comment

You were acting the maggot deliberately inhibiting other road users though.

no i had pulled in at a safe spot to let other road users pass safely as it is a small road the cop car just had to wait :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

they should be re-sprayed with camoflage.

I've seen so many garda cars recently hiding behind walls, hedges and other things to try and not be spotted by motorists while they have the speed gun set up.

non revenue collecting????? me arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

most of the cars are in a shocking state and would fail an nct horrendously.

they dont get complete suspension rebuilds after 150,000 km. if theres a major problem they usually get fixed after 3-4 goes at a main dealer.

they are exempted from the nct. generally they dont get put through the nct. if they somehow do get put through, even if they fail then they will more than likely still go back on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

no i had pulled in at a safe spot to let other road users pass safely as it is a small road the cop car just had to wait :P

You stated that:
    i let about 5cars pass just to piss him off more..

Which means:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

audidiesel wrote: »
    most of the cars are in a shocking state and would fail an nct horrendously.

they dont get complete suspension rebuilds after 150,000 km. if theres a major problem they usually get fixed after 3-4 goes at a main dealer.

they are exempted from the nct. generally they dont get put through the nct. if they somehow do get put through, even if they fail then they will more than likely still go back on the road.

Actually you're wrong.we rebuild every single Garda car at 150k.everything I mentioned in my previous post along with a full service is carried out.

I love how everyone here so far seems to ignore the fact the gardai use their garda cars and unmarked cars to jump traffic ques,break traffic lights and various other offences.

But hey,thats all perfectly ok though,isnt it???

paddy147 wrote: »
    I love how everyone here so far seems to ignore the fact the gardai use their garda cars and unmarked cars to jump traffic ques,break traffic lights and various other offences.

Not really topic relevant, is it?

But jumping on a poster here and having a go at her is though???:rolleyes:

Seems to me she was challenged over a statement she made..... :) Bit different than going off topic..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Have seen a garda 05 X5 in cork lately.

Seems to me she was challenged over a statement she made..... :) Bit different than going off topic..... :)

Ok,so I will challenge you then......

So do you think that a garda breaking all the rules and using his or her garda car in a dangerous manner,to skip traffic ques and break red lights is fair and right then??

How about a drunk garda driving down a motorway at stupid speeds and slamming other innocent road users and injuring them??

Or killing an elderly lady who was standing at a bus stop,because the garda/garda car was driving too fast (when not on call),lost control of his car and ploughed into her at the bus stop.

Are you going to answer me on any of that??

Are those actions of gardai right and fair??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Even if they are, they are better off on the move than sitting in traffic. It serves no purpose and eats up time that is being paid for.

What makes you believe I have an opinion on any of that? I didn't make a statement pertinent to that topic. A topic you seem eager to discuss.

Would you consider starting a thread in Emergency Services?

Back on topic, Im happy to see Garda cars undergo NCT. It will make the roads a lot safer for everybody. :)

Even if they are, they are better off on the move than sitting in traffic. It serves no purpose and eats up time that is being paid for.

They still have to abide by the exact same rules and road laws as everyone else though,(when not on call).

Thats the whole point.

What makes you believe I have an opinion on any of that? I didn't make a statement pertinent to that topic. A topic you seem eager to discuss.

Would you consider starting a thread in Emergency Services?

Back on topic, Im happy to see Garda cars undergo NCT. It will make the roads a lot safer for everybody. :)

Ah typical of you to ignore a post when you are challenged.

Yet you will happily jump on a band wagon and go off topic yourself to have a go at another poster though.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

This isn't a Garda bashing thread, go elsewhere if you wish to do so.

You`d want to see some of the stuff they come into us for.Then again money is no object when its safety related--they just get them repaired regardless of cost.

Id say the majority of them would pass an Nct without any fails as mechanically most of them are in tip top condition.

Hellrazer wrote: »

You`d want to see some of the stuff they come into us for.Then again money is no object when its safety related--they just get them repaired regardless of cost.

Id say the majority of them would pass an Nct without any fails as mechanically most of them are in tip top condition.

I'd hope so. At the end of the day we all deserve a safe workplace. Be it a company car or Garda car its still a few tonne of metal being propelled at speed. Nobody should feel unsafe doing their job. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Breaker19

So just as a matter of interest. Are the guards mondeos all petrol. I've seen 1 or 2 diesel unmarked ones but to be getting 300k (miles I assume) is quiet impressive considering they drive the crap out of them. The nature of their job. Anyone more detail on their spec?